BMW Performance Diesel Power Kit for 320d – 197hp!

Fantastic news for BMW 320d owners – with BMW Performance’s new Diesel Power Kit, you can now boost up your turbodiesel engine to 197 horsepower and 420Nm of torque, an increase of 16 horses and 40Nm. Best part is even with the additional power, BMW claims that your average fuel consumption will remain unchanged.

The BMW Performance Diesel Power Kit for the E90 320d includes a combination of hardware and software, unlike other third party tuning kits which usually just up the boost via a software update. BMW’s kit will provide you a new ECU with upgraded software tied to your car’s VIN number, as well as a bigger intercooler, a more powerful 600W electric fan, a new fan frame and a new plastic air guide. As this is an official BMW product, your warranty will be intact.

“Our fleet of BMW Advanced Diesel vehicles now account for more than 25% of the total vehicles delivered by BMW Group Malaysia. The vehicles have also played an integral role in our BMW EfficientDynamics strategy here and demonstrates our commitment in introducing Clean and Green technologies that perform remarkably well with the fuel specification currently available for the Malaysian automotive industry.” said BMW Group Malaysia managing director Geoffrey Briscoe.

Now if only the Performance Diesel Power Kit was available for the 520d as well, but I am guessing it’s something to do with the kit only being approved for cars with the 6-speed auto for now, as the F10 520d (available in Malaysia with an 8-speed automatic) can be fitted with the kit in Europe only if it has a manual transmission.

There are also a few new BMW Performance parts available to be specced onto your 320d or 320i. You can spec a set of BMW Performance front brakes, which are larger and more powerful. There’s also a new set of wheels available – the BMW Performance Style 269 which are 19 inch in size. For a sportier sound, you can install the BMW Performance Spor Silencer. For aesthetics, there’s a new shift knob with a new shifter boot, aluminium pedals, and sticker strips.

Here’s a price list of all the new BMW Performance items:

BMW Performance Diesel Power Kit – RM 6,800.00
BMW Performance Sport Silencer – RM 3,412.29
BMW Performance Selector Lever Grip – RM 668.18
BMW Performance Selector Lever Boot – RM 396.53
BMW Performance Steering Wheel Cover – RM 351.70
BMW Performance Steering Wheel – RM 6,427.98
BMW Performance Sport Brake – Front – RM 11,175.67
BMW Performance Hand Brake – RM 676.95
BMW Performance Aluminium Pedal – RM 613.35
BMW Performance Wheel – Style 269 – 19″ – RM 24,206.20
BMW Performance Strips – RM 670.13

The wheel set is a package that includes four runflat tyres.

These prices do not include installation.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Gavin on Sep 03, 2011 at 1:35 am

Now this is what I call a proper mod. Taking into account extra cooling and not just a simple remap. 7k seems worth the extra power. Shame on others who still hesitate on diesel engines with the outdated ‘fuel quality’ excuses.

Talking to you toyota,honda,kia,hyundai.

• Paul Tan on Sep 03, 2011 at 1:39 am

hyundai has the very nice 200 horsepower diesel Santa Fe here… you should test drive it, the power is very nice!

• right paul!! when are u going to do a review? i own one and still thinking people not knowing the true performance of santa fe…

• gavin on Sep 03, 2011 at 11:53 am

yes this is true, the R diesel beats even the german, but they should bring in more of it not just the Santa Fe but also for the Tuscon / ix35

• Paul Tan on Sep 03, 2011 at 2:30 pm

yup, the tuscon has a tighter suspension so with the 200hp diesel it can be a “pseudo hot hatch SUV”

• Angel on Sep 05, 2011 at 3:51 pm

BMW Malaysia, where is your F10 twin turbo 2.0 petrol? Globally already selling but Malaysia, we still have the 9 year old N52 outdated engine. Got no time to update your engines but got time to bring in diesel performance kits?

Get your priorities right.

• Chin Soon Tat on Sep 06, 2011 at 9:13 am

Nearly all F10 owners got conned lah. They were given an old engine in a new body. The car is EXACTLY the same as a E60. Biasalah, those who know about engines realise this. But most BMW buyers are loaded, so they are not really bothered about getting good value and getting the latest product.. Anyway, talking about diesel, why the hell BMW Malaysia not launching the 525d? Its the same engine as the 520d but with higher bhp and better 0 to 60. Also nearly same FC.

BMW Malaysia so kolot lah. I think they are scared to into the new petrol F10 2.0 cause, they cannot be selling it at RM383,000 as they do in the current F10 2.5. They cannot be giving the same excuse, blaming the government for higher taxes being a 2.5.

• Hyundai already has turbo diesel engine many years back.

Talking to you Gavin

• Gavin on Sep 04, 2011 at 3:36 pm

Stupid. Here in malaysia there’s only one diesel engine in their lineup with the most advanced technologies inside it

In europe their entire lineup of vehicles can be had with a diesel option.

Why not here?

• ray_jay on Sep 03, 2011 at 1:45 am

totaled all.. can buy new car

• looking-good on Sep 03, 2011 at 1:57 am

now this 20D engine is so tempting!!

• drMpower on Sep 03, 2011 at 2:33 am

7k for 16 hp?
    Thats roughly about…420rm per 1 hp
    Recessions…? What are people on about?

I know there’s 40 more torque but ideally the initial figure is more than enough so I exclude it from my logical scientific justification
    Another reason is I want it to look urgently stupid n makes me look bright all at the same time

And the wheels..? 25k a pop?
    What? Rolling stones come out n play for me?

After all this is diesel. A Satan work. Dressing it as priest, still it wont weep for Mary.

• gemini on Sep 03, 2011 at 10:31 am

‘After all this is diesel. A Satan work. Dressing it as priest, still it wont weep for Mary’

sorry, but lost you there…

• drMpower on Sep 03, 2011 at 12:02 pm

Diesel is lucifer
        They don’t belong here in our peace petrol world
        Well, at least old type of diesel engines..

Maybe a bit heavy on the Mary weeping thing.
        I am just saying equip with all u want but it still a diesel

• Hadi75 on Sep 04, 2011 at 3:18 am

What’s so bad about diesel that u hate it so much???

• Diesel on Sep 05, 2011 at 9:30 pm

did kidnapper paksa u drink diesel?

• droll on Sep 03, 2011 at 2:49 am

i have test driven the x1 2.0 diesel…good torque numbers but when i floored it, it didn’t feel very fast??? some setting that i failed to engage?

so with this kit, what’s the 0 to 100 numbers?

• wow 6k for a new steering wheel. whats wrong with the standard one?

• 25% of acceptance i see from consumers. Good numbers. The kit is reasonable i think based on the ratio to its car price. I wonder which manufacturer is testing their diesel here Malaysia as claimed by anthony before.. Hurmm

• ONGWC5 on Sep 03, 2011 at 10:22 am

Whole package need 55k, so ‘cheap’ !

• mirror mirror on Sep 03, 2011 at 10:27 am

The Range Rover is launching the new Evoque sometime end of this year. The spec and pricing and the image of the new Evoque could well threaten the BMW 3. Maybe that is why BMW is upping the ante on this one.

• Paul Tan on Sep 03, 2011 at 10:30 am

Evoque pricing is more like BMW 5 Series and X3 price.

• VW_fan on Sep 03, 2011 at 11:54 am

I am guessing the price of the evoque to start from RM340k up and the fully spec-ed version going up to RM400k. Its a shame cause its the first range rover that I actually like.

• Paul Tan on Sep 03, 2011 at 4:23 pm

Quotes from our previous story

http://paultan.org/2011/05/23/range-rover-evoque-to-arrive-in-the-fourth-quarter-this-year-salam-kuala-lumpur-campaign-launched-today/

To be launched here in the fourth quarter of this year, Land Rover’s latest product will be priced between RM300k and 400k. It’s a big ballpark, but Land Rover Malaysia will be trying hard to price it at the lower half of that scale.

Launched at last year’s Paris show as a three-door ‘coupe’, Land Rover uncovered the five-door version at the LA show – both variants will be brought to Malaysia. There will be two engine choices for us to choose from – a 240 bhp 2.0 litre Si4 turbocharged petrol engine with direct fuel injection and twin VVT, and the SD4 2.2L diesel engine with 190 PS and 420 Nm. The SD4 is already in Malaysia powering the facelifted Land Rover Freelander.

• mirror mirror on Sep 03, 2011 at 12:42 pm

I heard from Range Rover salesman the Evoque 2.0 turbo petrol and 2.2 turbo diesel will be priced below RM350k, is that right ? Surely they can’t price it at RM400k, that would be competing with their Disco 4. So I presume the Evoque is around RM50k more expensive than the 3 on the average. Is a premium of 50k big enough a factor to deter potential 3 buyers to consider the Evoque?

• RedBeanBun on Sep 03, 2011 at 4:21 pm

30K pounds to RM400K, how good it is to get AP in Msia. Expect it will be flooded by AP holders.

• Paul Tan on Sep 03, 2011 at 4:24 pm

I am expecting this as well. Most people will go for AP import.

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 03, 2011 at 10:43 am

Price of the power kit looks like a steal given how overpriced these bmw accesories usually are. I mean look at the other cosmetic stuff..

• Jonathan Lim on Sep 03, 2011 at 11:42 am

Who wants 325 anymore??

• BeemerFreak on Sep 03, 2011 at 11:58 am

Haha those wheels cost a Viva.
    Wonder does BMW offer a discount if i want all of those in one package

• niuhje on Sep 03, 2011 at 12:45 pm

i think i can just about afford the decals… it’ll look good on my hyundai i10, no?

• SaveTheEARTH on Sep 03, 2011 at 1:01 pm

Warranty still intact with…… we appreciate BMW Malaysia, we love you. Unlike VW :-(

• Klbloke on Sep 03, 2011 at 5:45 pm

Au revoire… if you kit up ur VW with official ABT kit from FAst s/b, VW will honor it’s warranty!

• SaveTheEARTH on Sep 04, 2011 at 12:08 am

KLBloke, mapping ABT itself warranty or VW 5 years warranty intact? Even those VW’s salesperson unsure about it and FAST not mention at all.

• KLbloke on Sep 04, 2011 at 5:15 pm

SaveTheEARTH, I remember reading from a mag recently but I’d forgotten which one… On The Road? Hypertune? other mags? Can’t really recall leh… sorry!
          I’m not boasting nor trying to bluff here…

• droll on Sep 05, 2011 at 9:47 am

true to a certain extent. 5 year warranty from VW. but if you remap with ABT, warranty becomes 2 years (or 3 – i can’t recall exactly). so they are already telling you something about the remap.

• nabill on Sep 03, 2011 at 1:19 pm

ya agree…the power kit seems very resonably priced ….considering the car warenty will be intact as well….the others seem to be overpriced if u look at it on standalone basis…bt if ur buying the diesel 3 series which is around rm250k…thy dont seem THAT unreasonable…..

• TurboMan on Sep 04, 2011 at 11:01 am

Agree. A simple brabus map for my ride costs around RM8k.

That is just a map. This includes a fan and other stuffs and its only for RM6.8k.

Agree RM 6k++ is a lot of money, but look at what u r getting.

• Jolly_idiot on Sep 04, 2011 at 1:20 am

A real big boy toy. Only big big boy can afford this price of mod. Anyone here can afford those?

• l3ryan on Sep 04, 2011 at 3:23 am

I’d go for the engine power kit and also the sport brakes upgrade. Looks good value judging from the benefits.
    I’ll pass on the other stuffs tho.

• DArkerMarker on Sep 04, 2011 at 5:56 am

BMW Performance Strips – RM 670.13???

If I install the stickers only, will it give me extra hp oso??

• insperut on Sep 04, 2011 at 5:37 pm

sure mehh…
      put M badge also add few HPs

• greasemonkey on Sep 04, 2011 at 7:28 pm

If add sticker on a national car,everyone will bang endlessly! Why dun they bash BMW? DAMN BIAS!!

• BeemerFreak on Sep 05, 2011 at 4:52 pm

Too bad that is the reality. The grass is always greener on the other side

• mirror mirror on Sep 04, 2011 at 1:18 pm

Really cannot wait to see the new 3 series.

• now the bmw’s 2.0 liter diesel can match the hyundai slightly bigger 2.2 liter r series diesel…yes, all this power but honda insight like fuel consumption!..diesel rocks!

• where got match maa??? try remap hyundai diesel and see what happen… r diesel was develop in germany as well

• droll on Sep 05, 2011 at 9:46 am

yes, it does. but at rm260k. ouch.

• Dunno what BMW Performance Selector Lever Grip & Lever Boot are.. but it fit my viva x?

• I’ve got a question. Why hasn’t proton implemented diesel technology to it’s vehicles? I like the new direction Proton is taking and it’s inspiring new confidence in the brand and the vehicle.
    Any idea?