Three-way fight for Proton stake shaping up – DRB-Hicom, Naza and Proton chairman Datuk Mohd Nadzmi involved?

Three-way fight for Proton stake shaping up – DRB-Hicom, Naza and Proton chairman Datuk Mohd Nadzmi involved?The marketplace is buzzing with news of a three-way tussle for a stake in Proton that’s currently owned by Khazanah Nasional Bhd.

The three parties are said to be DRB-Hicom, which is controlled by tycoon Tan Sri Syed Mokhtar AlBukhary, parties linked to the Naza Group and a management buyout lead by Proton Chairman Datuk Mohd Nadzmi Mohd Salleh. All three parties have been previously linked with the national carmaker.

Currently, Khazanah has a 42.7% stake in Proton, and should a party succeed in buying over the Government’s stake, it will trigger a general offer. Business Times quotes a source involved in the bidding process as saying that the bids were in the range of between RM6 and RM7 per share. The same source added that “whoever is buying Proton is getting the company on the cheap” based on Proton’s March 2011 book value per share of RM9.84.

This development is drawing in the speculators, and Proton’s share price went up by another 89 sen yesterday to close at RM4.50, with over 20 million shares changing hands. DRB-Hicom, thought to be the front runner in the bid, also saw its shares rise. The counter gained 20 sen to end the day at RM2.20, the highest point since August. DRB-Hicom is of course the company that is assembling Volkswagen cars at its Pekan plant.

Proton’s share price might still rise, since OSK Holdings Bhd and RHB Capital Bhd have upgraded the stock to a “buy” with a fair value of RM5 per share. It will be interesting to know more about the plans each of the bidders have for Proton. Nothing is out at the moment, but we will keep tabs on this.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sproc45 on Dec 06, 2011 at 7:23 pm

screw all la. Partner with VW, we want TSI, TFSI, DSG, TDI !!

• Eyesore on Dec 07, 2011 at 11:06 am

Screw VW la…Suzuki partner with them.. see any TSI, TFSI, DSG, TDI in Suzuki aaaa?

• Suzuki say TDI engine cannot fit. Takkan VW build a special line for them meh. They should be the one tat change the engine bay to fit the engine, not the other way around.

• sproc45 on Dec 07, 2011 at 12:06 pm

You should visit Seat and Skoda website.

• mulah on Dec 06, 2011 at 7:36 pm

lelong2, mulah2… buy 1 get 1 free

• battle for what? sell it off, is a burden for our car industri.

• jimmyc on Dec 06, 2011 at 8:59 pm

Dejavu?

• Expatriate VN on Dec 06, 2011 at 9:02 pm

“3 Musketeer fighting for jaguh kampong”, anyone control it will lough all the way to bank knowing very well it is gravy train that have diehard blind followers feeding unending $$$$, as well as those innocent consumers force to buy over inflated junks.

• Rilroy on Dec 06, 2011 at 9:53 pm

not for Naza..

• Naza and Hicom umno crony , fear proton will go bankrupt.
    dato nadzmi n william chong during eon time sudah makam banyak oooh duit aksesori. They fit all rubbish and forced you to buy .

• bobdbilder on Dec 06, 2011 at 10:22 pm

This has been in the news for sometime. It is no secret that Khazanah is trying to divest its shares in companies. Its for the better, in the long run. Why it took that long for speculators to dive in is beyond me. Maybe they were waiting for investment calls.

In the pipeline is a new model. If agreements with vendors have been signed, then those speculators are short sighted. Nothing can be done. The top Proton guys would know. All indications show nothing significant has been cast in stone.

The timing is immaculate though. Report of lower profit should have dragged prices down, but smart punters were waiting for it to go down after the quarterly results. Which somehow puts OSK and RHB in a bad light. It was all in the papers and nobody picked it up. Not even when Tan Sri Azman mentioned about it in CNBC’s Managing Asia in May.

Prior to this it was POS Malaysia. Tried to sell RHB to Maybank/CIMB when we all know it was junk. But its all good; freeing (allegedly) up business from Government links.

• RedBeanBun on Dec 06, 2011 at 10:48 pm

so all the protong buyers felt? where the $$ gone?

• Lim Kopi on Dec 06, 2011 at 11:08 pm

aiyah …. all this speculating …. whoever playing their shares are now making money over night ….

Keep FRYING those shares lah!!

• alfie60 on Dec 06, 2011 at 11:31 pm

After 25+years of evolution in the automotive we are back to where we started. A car company owned by Malaysian and making cars for Malaysians. Without a foreign partner’s input these wankers won’t learn much, except inbreeding of ideas will take place.

All these 3 wankers are nothing more than ‘hand-out’ businessmen enjoying special government assistance and privileges in some form of monopolistic or protected business.

If any of these wankers get they hands in this shitty car company,they will try to milk the public more for this shitty car by increasing their profit margin!!!!

Delay in AFTA and extensions of the NAP era.

• we always think that these companies are so big and so powerful that we’ll never be able to change things but look at the tobacco industry, it had huge control over public policy and that control has been broken – the battle with the tobacco industry is a perfect model of how an industry’s irresponsible behaviour can be changed, someday we’re gonna change things and we can start by voting with our dollars!

• alfie60 on Dec 09, 2011 at 1:08 am

Agreed Bro! If its broken up and owned by real business people who are driven by profit rather than politics to run the company we the public can VOTE with our money should they fail to deliver on quality and value in their cars!!

The little money we have we should be able to get at least get a DECENT car and not a shitty Proton.

• Baba O'Reilly on Dec 07, 2011 at 4:48 pm

VW is not receiving any govt. assistance?

• Expatriate VN on Dec 06, 2011 at 11:51 pm

The only long term solution for this jaguh kampong is either sell off or JV with foreigner. This 3 muskeeter are just cronies act as “front-man” to maintain their gravy train and use as future lame excuse to extend NAP.

• autojohndoe on Dec 07, 2011 at 9:13 am

instead of keep complaining… why dont you buy the shares, become the major, then sell it off to VW or to other…

You kan orang kaya… tax only, 5 figures…

• bobdbilder on Dec 08, 2011 at 7:26 am

Our economy will be worst when we do not make anything. Look at the UK or even Greece. When a country makes nothing, it cannot afford anything.

When as a country, we do not get foreign income, our money is less (UK, Argentina)
      When we buy more than what we make, our money is less (Greece)
      When we loan more than what we can pay, our money is less (US, Greece,)

We desperately need to make our own products to be sold overseas. How effective they are doing it is secondary. We need to create. Why did the Obama administration bailed out their own national carmakers (with the exception of Ford coz they were not too bad)? They are simply too important to create jobs and foreign income.

We cannot depend on financial services to keep us afloat. The western world is in deep mehr because of financial services. NOBODY wants to admit it.

• shawal on Dec 07, 2011 at 1:56 am

Proton Chairman taking over Proton?
    This is crap. What kinda synergies has he got up his sleeves
    for Proton besides getting gaji buta every month?
    For all you know he is the one creating this rumour
    and jacking up the shares and disposing it at a premium.
    SC has to investigate the buyers behind this price spike.
    Don’t be fooled by this so called takeover storyline.
    Proton is going nowhere cos the crony vendors & suppliers
    would be screaming murder once the gravy train is chopped.

• bobdbilder on Dec 08, 2011 at 8:01 am

If the link to the Government is untethered, they don’t have to entertain those vendor-lobbyist. Or is it too much for you to think. Don’t. Coz you might hurt yourself.

• Jonathan Lee on Dec 07, 2011 at 3:38 am

Love how they closed off any sort of foreign investment.

• Naza=Kia

Future Protons with Kia engines?

• protonforeva on Dec 07, 2011 at 7:36 am

you can keep on bashing proton to the hilt and you will still see more people using them (cheap good cars).

and you bashers will still be using be your miserable, overpriced cars, and look at proton cars with hatred and injured ego.

• blue-traveler on Dec 07, 2011 at 12:44 pm

wooooou—aaah!!!!! You take the cake dude. You must be some seriously f@#& – up – hard – core P1 dude. I propose you to be the P1 front & spoke men here for Paultan. Any new insider news from P1. And btw the way can you get extra discount for my company next years new cars. For me it will always be the very 1st batch of Proton saga owned by my grandma, may she rest in peace, and all the rest are crap till now the new saga again. After 25 years, back to M and saga again. wou! Circle of life. “Ha ku-ma-ta-da” — all the P1 tigers sleeps in the jungle well tonight………..sing-a -along guys…ah-wiiiiiiiiie.
      (you can bash me now, and thumb me down, so that others can’t read this. Just having some fun passing the boring time in office. think i will go and find the disney song now”)

• bobdbilder on Dec 08, 2011 at 8:07 am

They will end up with more expensive depreciating assets AND more compounded interest. While the rest of us can spend that extra money on food, education, investments and park some savings. While they get to have expansive metals and plastics.

Its all ok. Its the survival of the fittest.

• makeitmine on Dec 07, 2011 at 8:07 am

DRB-Hicom should own part of Proton and as a group offer design/manufacture of all kinds of vehicle engines or vehicle assembly or provide engineering services to other foreign car manufacturers. In return, bargain with foreign car manufacturers to buy the rights to use of their technology in Proton cars.

Proton will not be able to grow by making cheap or subsdized cars for Malaysians.

If allowed VW to own Proton, VW will kill Proton first but keep Lotus. VW Group now owns the Audi, Bentley, Bugatti, Lamborghini, SEAT, and Škoda marques and the truck manufacturer Scania. VW Group doesn’t need Proton brand but need Lotus because VW intend to enter Formula 1 in 2018.

• “If allowed VW to own Proton, VW will kill Proton first but keep Lotus”

Why everybody thinks that the whole world is interested in Lotus?

VW already have the Porsche, Lamborghini and Bugatti brands, what shall they do with Lotus? They need Lotus for Formula 1? Need for what? The market for sport cars is not that big and sharing platforms is not that easy when it comes to sport cars.

Renault i.e. purchased Dacia, but closed their ‘Renault Alpine’ sports car division (which build very nice cars, i.e. the A310) some years before? They even don’t use the still well-known ‘Renault-Alpine’ brand for their Formula 1 activities?

P.S. You forgot that VW is the main shareholder of MAN trucks too… ;)

• makeitmine on Dec 07, 2011 at 6:36 pm

VW already has a mature production base in China. But VW need Malaysia to surpass Toyota. The target is ASEAN market.

If Proton have a JV with Mitsubishi to assemble Mitsubishi cars, there may be little capacity left for VW in Malaysia. This will complicate future collaboration with VW due to intellectual property.

If the VW investment which is at least 1 billion ringgit is considered very attractive to the Malaysian government, DRB-HiCom and Khazanah should team together and inject capital into Proton to buy up Perodua / Naza Group and buy some equity of VW Malaysia. All become one entity. There will be enough business generated for everyone to benefit.

Having said above, there will be also a reason for selling some equity in Lotus F1 to VW and with Lotus/VW technology challenge other teams in F1.

• Pak Mat on Dec 07, 2011 at 8:23 am

This shows Proton utter stupidity bodoh sombong.

Proton should dispose irrelevant Lotus off and stop wasting cashflow to Lotus. Changing main investor will not improve anything as Lotus keep on bleeding Proton cash like fools. Where got Lotus help Proton to design better modern updated style except to themselves? Proton still show boring giler design. Lotus habiskan beras Proton ada lah.

That’s why I bring another bet.

If Proton can dispose Lotus, reuse the cash sales into better product developments, capture at least 50pct local market share like before, I will walk wearing bikini in Lotus Green and Yellow from Proton Tanjung Malim to Proton Shah Alam.

Serious bet, any takers?

• LatukBandar on Dec 07, 2011 at 10:44 am

Since u never mention time, i guess it is a matter of time before proton ditch Lotus. I’ll take ur bet coz i have all the time i have.

my offer is I’ll buy a proton saga and smash it with a sledge hammer in-front of proton shah alam.

• autojohndoe on Dec 07, 2011 at 6:55 pm

so buy and bash la latuk… let it become headline in metro…

talk is cheap…

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Dec 08, 2011 at 6:03 pm

And here comes another Malaysian Jeremy Clarkson who shot T with HPG and blown P2 with Dynamite and Crush P1 with a Tank….

• autojohndoe on Dec 07, 2011 at 1:12 pm

menulis dalam internet semua boleh Pak Mat…

i also bet… i will jump off the penang bridge naked, slit my own throat for the same offer you made…

any takers?

• Expatriate VN on Dec 09, 2011 at 4:42 pm

No focus at all, your crap bet is anythig to do with the topic?

• Wheeler on Dec 07, 2011 at 3:16 pm

Pak mat, tak baik ckp macam tu. Istighfar banyak2..

• Bertaruh ni satu bentuk judi – haram
      Kalau kalah kena berjalan pakai bikini tu menyerupai perempuan – haram
      Pakai bikini juga bermakna buka aurat – haram

Bawa le muhasabah diri wahai Pak Mat, hidup ini bukannya lama untuk disia-siakan.

• Hameed Koyakuti on Dec 07, 2011 at 8:41 am

P1 make shitty cars, but y-o-y fat profits……tough call for AMokh.

• Give each of them 33.33% share. Break up and rebuild.

• tan ah kow on Dec 07, 2011 at 10:22 am

The government should just lelong it off to the highest bidder instead of just three cronies.
    What if they get it? Sell it off to a foreign manufacturer at a higher price.

• Aiyo!
    feel bad for proton.

DSZ is doing good, proton is in the right direction, and then the 3 musketeers come…

• Yappun on Dec 07, 2011 at 11:25 am

What DSZ can do? He is also makan gaji maa….tho he has the directorship on Proton board..the most he can do is angguk2 like burung kakak tua regardless who is his boss be it Naza or DRB…

• kerelbort on Dec 07, 2011 at 12:25 pm

that’s y Proton need to buy back their share so they could make their own decision instead of getting consent from their shareholder

• Stephen on Dec 07, 2011 at 11:09 am

Look into the good side.

Let them all in DRB-Hicom/ Naza each have big European contract (Benz/ Pug/ VW)
    not surprise they fight for Tanjung Malim plant capacity (I doubt they see much potential or Respect Proton as a brand) and future capacity since there still so much vacant land there that they can use for new plant.

Get those staff there for CKD. Utilize the land and let Lembah Bernam grow as it was HYPED. If reading other PaulTan articles…it seem like most Japanese car maker/ component maker opt for Indonesia. So just hope this time don’t screw up in getting all the europe car maker here. It might not be perfect but at least it utilize Tanjung Malim plant which seem like a ghost town.

• VoidDance on Dec 07, 2011 at 11:57 am

I agree with you. Naza & DRB-Hicom interest on Proton are mainly because of the under-utilised plant in Proton City, plus the high value of their plant land in Shah Alam. If succeed, they probably use Proton’s plants for CKD. This will make a lot of sense in the long run.

BTW, what makes you people believe that selling or shutting down Proton will makes cars any cheaper? The gov. will surely find ways to tax you more even after AFTA as this is one way to make money for them. Plus, if they don’t dump money into Proton, they will find ways to dump the same money to somewhere else which will not benefit us.

• Nakal on Dec 07, 2011 at 12:36 pm

Double no to naza – they are good in sale/marketing, but know nothing to develop car.

DRB Hicom – can be considered – i just hope the smart DSZ can ‘utilize’ VW by ‘utilizing’ the DRB Hicom

All proton need is R&D and technology transfer, not rebadging

• Stephen on Dec 08, 2011 at 9:36 am

Nakal

that is why Naza interest in Proton.
          when you cannot do something but you got the $. Just buy the technology/ skill

• roadrunner on Dec 07, 2011 at 11:37 am

I pray for Proton to make quality n good car (give us Turbo or supercharge..hehehe),remove all the people who ckp byk kerja tak buat, remove all the vendors yg spoilkan image Proton…remove all the bad things in Proton…because i believe if Proton can give n produce good and quality car as par as the T, H &V,all M’sian will not bashed Proton blindly….I pray for any bad intention from ANY party to Proton will go down to drain…Aminn

• bobdbilder on Dec 08, 2011 at 8:16 am

Ya rabbal- alamin!

That’s the whole hope about this merger/acquisition. It would enable to flush out the rent seekers. However, the new owners must have the will to do it and bring back efficiency.

A management buyout is the best as the existing top guys already know what is the problem. A new management team would take time to learn and risk being mislead. Time is not a luxury they can afford.

• kerelbort on Dec 07, 2011 at 12:35 pm

No to Naza, No to DRB.

Proton should buy back their share and make decision on their own instead of getting approval from their investor share holder for what ever business decision they need to make.

yey! i all in for Proton to buy their own share!

• Mohd Hafiz Yusof (@_hafiz) on Dec 07, 2011 at 12:41 pm

What ever it is, I hope DSZ will remain at the helm. I have faith in him above others

• pondan tua on Dec 07, 2011 at 1:05 pm

aiyoo..apa mau susah susah

kasi jual itu Proton sama dia punya adviser lah…Tun Mahathir

Bila Proton untung ini worang dulu2 tunjuk muka..bila rugi batang hidung pun tarak nampak…ini Proton dia punya idea..so suruh Khazanah jual sama dia la…itu Mirzan, Mukhriz. Mokhzani, Marina semua boleh jadi itu director sama ini Proton…

• Stephen on Dec 08, 2011 at 9:37 am

This is the best solution. Sell the land to him. If he want to declare himself as a ruler at Proton City. Let it be. Confine him there and don’t let him get out of Proton City is the best for Proton and the country.

• samsam on Dec 07, 2011 at 1:06 pm

so much rich chinese indonesian invest at malaysia ma..sell to them la.. why wan money fight?

• papadom on Dec 07, 2011 at 5:36 pm

oh come on, chinese do know how to design car lor. go sell pirate cd much better lor.

• I see what they are doing now. They are aiming for the short time gain from the stock price with all these rumours which has happened like 10 times already? Bastards Perhaps…

• papadom on Dec 07, 2011 at 5:33 pm

DSZ & DN, i’ll join you guys in buying the shares. maybe next year my money will clear around 500mil. if you guys wanna wait, let me know ok. :)

• douche on Dec 07, 2011 at 7:44 pm

hi there idiot, if u want to talk to them, call/email them or meet them personally. Not comment here in paultan

• Paint on Dec 07, 2011 at 6:52 pm

Last time, these were the same group of people who fought tooth and nail so that Proton wouldn’t ‘fall’ into the hands of foreigners, ie Volkswagen AG.

It appears that, after government has pumped in so much money to save them, and things are starting to look up for Proton (not to mention the entire national automotive industry sacrificed that it loses out to Thailand, for the sake of protecting Proton), the same group of people too were the ones proposing to buy out Proton.

Well!! Well!! Well!! A coincidence or a well-thought out plan?

Patriotism only lies at someone’s tongue. After it exits the mouth, it just vanishes into thin air.

• So sad abou this Proton. the company has has been around for about 25 years, and the dynamic of the company has progressed does not reflect the span of years it in the business. I believe DSt the wrong strategy prior to his appointment, were to deep.

Apart from that, the government also part to be blame. These people only know to sign on the dotted line and go ‘makan angin’ and get the limelight from the press. For example let me ask, where is the supporting industry that we have builin tandem with our national company??? eg moulding industry for example.

On Proton part having Lotus is exciting and can raise Proton profile. in reality, it is not. I really not agree to the Lotus strategy. They came up with dissapoint design is one, but all cars are sports car and in the niche market. How could u survive these day just by building such car??? I can say very difficult. Only Ferrari can do that. What i am saying about is Lotus must come up with model to compete in the mainstream with car such as BMW 3-series, Five series, 1 series and cross over, CLS. That should be the way…all sportcars co. either been taken over or defunct. eg TVR, Triumph.. etc

• Hiya..macam mana tak kena jual!! semua makan gaji buta. Dont know how to do work..syok sendiri saja. especially the engineers and directors!
    25years know how mean nothing.

Committed to be better! hahaha…no “walk the talk “.

• DArkerMarker on Dec 07, 2011 at 11:55 pm

—-yawn—

what’s new anyway? just cronies and the gang……and the suckers being malaysian…

• donno on Dec 08, 2011 at 1:31 am

Aiyooh, even Paultan fall for this and publish this story ka???????

Its a ploy for those controlling putrajaya to get some money for themselves lahhh…

1st declare low profit…. Share price fall… now buy millions of shares at cheap price…

2nd Spread rumors of takeover… Use all media’s, blogs to spread it (incl Paultan)

Suddenly Proton Shares rise…. Selloff now and vollia! Instant money for PRU13 campaigns!

• Inimah on Dec 08, 2011 at 9:41 am

All this just to hick up share price and some one is making an easy money, and maybee it proton itself to pull the capex for next project.

Lotus is not dried Proton money but Proton lose control on own money on vendor and waste a lots of money of technical consultant beside Lotus for each their project. P1 must learn and learn how to manage the group and control expediture wisely in current economic.

I don’t see a future Proton can compete with global car with current senario coz everybody is buzy full their own pocket.

Not business minded or Proton…huh

• donno on Dec 08, 2011 at 11:06 am

aiyyyoo… all of you fell for the cheap trick ah?

Now nearly GE13… Ruling Parties need cash for campaigns… So what to do? Use Stock market loh…

1st – Declare low profts for proton… Suddenly proton shares drop like stone…

2nd – When Proton shares drop rock bottom, buy all you can get.

3rd – Spread rumors of takeover by govt media and free blogs will repeat it (incl Paultan)

4th – Suddenly buying frenzy begins and Proton stock prices go up like crazy…

5th – Now sell off stock for handsome profits! When the public realises it, it will all be too late… Now got some cash for campaigns in General Election!

• SAGA BeLum Masak on Dec 08, 2011 at 5:48 pm

Same thing happened to PCG shares 5 days before Swk Election. Price shoots up and then 2 days before election, they dropped it like crazy….

• Littlefire on Dec 08, 2011 at 12:13 pm

http://star-motoring.com/News/2011/DRB-HICOM,-Volkswagen-likely-to-share-control-in-P.aspx

DRB-HICOM, Volkswagen likely to share control in Proton

Latest news, seems they are going back to the same buyer but add another “middle” guy.. U know laa…

• curiouszz on Dec 08, 2011 at 12:33 pm

my honest opinion regarding P1..

1. stop all the current model production except satria neo/r3
    2. change their car design direction towards more up to date design/modern, for example like what KIA and hyundai been doing.
    3. Hired some well known chief design exterior/interior for their new car design direction.
    4. Use turbo campro/cvt for all their new model.
    5. Stop using saga,satria, etc..name already, it’s so kampung! the reason im saying this because why p1 change the name when they import their car to overses? why not just change the whole name concept?? its much better..

do you guys have anything to add up? feel free!
    peace!

• uzair on Dec 08, 2011 at 1:23 pm

don’t you think that that name is somehow differ us and showed our own identity. being kekampungan is not bad after all

• curiouszz on Dec 08, 2011 at 2:46 pm

the idea is right, is just p1 didn’t stick to the idea..what i mean is if p1 wanna show our own identity like u SAID then they should not change the name when they import their model for overseas market…
        Proton Saga – MPi
        Proton Satria – Proton Compact
        Proton Putra – Proton Coupe/Proton M21
        Proton Waja – Proton Impian
        Proton Arena – Proton Jumbuck ..WTF??

why change name for overseas market? shy with the kekampungan name? as u SAID what’s wrong being kekampungan rite??
        this is you called differ us and show our identity?

• I think, Protong should be sold to Milo.