Volkswagen TTDI is confident with larger Volkswagen car lineup in Malaysia

It’s a known fact that Volkswagen is bullish in its attempt to increase its market share in Malaysia, and we’re seeing this with the company’s latest model lineup. Buyers certainly have more Volkswagen variants to choose from, with no less than 13 models in the local range. In recent months, we’ve seen the arrival of the Jetta, Passat and Cross Touran, and just last month, the Sharan MPV.

Cars like the Jetta and Golf TSI are allowing more and more Malaysians to breach into the Continental market segment, with their attractive pricing and healthy specifications list, with things like ESP and a handful of airbags on the kit list. Things should get more interesting once the impending CKD assembly fires up, although we’re not certain when the move to full-scale production will happen.

The increase in models have naturally brought about an increase in sales too, and dealerships will need to cope with the increased demand, not just in terms of sales but also in after-sales service. Volkswagen TTDI, which is operated by Cergaz Autohaus, is set to tackle this challenge with relish.

For starters, it’s equipped for the task. The company’s 43,400 sq ft facility is a 3S centre which has a display area for eight vehicles and a workshop equipped with 10 work bays, as well as a spare parts store and a special tools room. The facility also houses a training room that’s utilised by Volkswagen Group Malaysia for training purposes, whenever a new model is introduced into the market.

The company says it’s confident that it’ll be able to handle the demands brought about growth and is confident that the increasing lineup will mean that consumers will simply have more choices in the end.

We were present at the showroom last week, when the dealership was having a test drive event for the new Sharan seven-seater MPV. The people mover is powered by a 200 PS 2.0 litre TSI unit and retails for RM245,888 in standard trim. In this form, the car is loaded with Park Assist with a rear view camera, ESP, nine airbags, Engine Drag Torque Control (EDTC), Trailer Roll Stabilisation Program (TRSP), among other things.

It’ll be interesting to see how the brand progresses through the next few months in Malaysia, and speaking of new models from VW, we could well see the introduction of the much-awaited Golf R sometime within the first quarter this year. :)

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Gavin on Mar 02, 2012 at 5:36 pm

i hope they don’t take customer’s car and claim test drive but pack four other dirty mechanics go for lunch.

• Pls lower the cost of parts coz the parts r overpriced ! body kits,wheels and the LED lights r so expensive ! they told me that those parts r made in Germany that’s y they r so expensive lolx but i must admit that VW is very high quality,fun,safety and easy to drive but too empty.

• Medusa on Mar 05, 2012 at 9:59 am

I was working with Siemens before, and then they will using the word ‘Germany’ to the core to justify their high-price for sparepart. Do you know that the Wira speedometer was made in Penang? The manufacturer is Siemens VDO. The reliability? You can judge it by yourself.

• Pls bring in the jetta hybrid… That’s the only hope for moderate income group people can own a Volkswagen…. Pls pls

• kerdil on Mar 02, 2012 at 9:25 pm

if moderate income people want to own VW, they can always buy VW Beetle. :)

• carwatcher on Mar 02, 2012 at 5:53 pm

unfortunately many people will have their loan appications rejected by the banks, so that will be a major damper on car sales for all the brands…….

• koochai on Mar 02, 2012 at 5:53 pm

assuming vw takes 2 hrs to svc 1 car…
    10 work bays can only serves less than 40 cars per day…

• If they take 2 hrs to normal svc 1 car, they will be roasted by the mother VW.

• pedobear88 on Mar 02, 2012 at 7:20 pm

normally those below mileage 10,000km servicing alot faster. tip top 1hr.

2hr for waiting is not bad. My experience with Toyota before was 4hrs. Which initially they claim was 1hr servicing.

• Hello! Here in S’pore , you have to book at least two months in advance for a simple servicing and worse , a whole day .

• Complain la.. You guys are king of complain what! Write letter to mother company and mother roast them.

• First service is 15k km how to go below 10k km? This isn’t a jap car which requires you to service 1k, 5k, 10k etc..

• Any idea when VGM would be possibly bringing in the VW Beetle 2012? Been rumoured to be coming this year since last year.

• TANKADO on Mar 02, 2012 at 6:19 pm

yes. it’s coming in this July, 1.2TSI at RM125k, 1.4TSI at RM140k ish, very attractive price

• @8250rpm on Mar 03, 2012 at 8:07 pm

R u sure? Dun tink beetle wil b cheaper than golf…the 1.4tsi must b at least 149k-159k…

• 'Thom'LEe on Mar 02, 2012 at 6:05 pm

You guys forgot to mention the VW Passat CC R and Beetle.

• Any idea when the VW Beetle 2012 will be possibly arriving? Been rumoured so since last year.

• Golf R is coming? I like…!!!!

• @8250rpm on Mar 03, 2012 at 8:09 pm

Golf R and Rocco R is coming….but out of reach of most ppl…previous R32 was 320k…..so it’s gonna b at least 335k…

• fahlahlee on Mar 05, 2012 at 10:08 pm

i take back my words…Golf R just launched today priced at 268,888…..i must say I’m surprised at the “affordable” price coz it’s now 2.0TSI instead of R32’s 3.2NA….still, it’s beyond the reach of most ppl….

• holy s... on Mar 02, 2012 at 6:31 pm

Iv got my brand new jetta wit rattling noise on the driver door panel..already complaint few time in 3R service center in 222..but nobody follow up my case.very dissapointed QC and after sales sux..

• Since Jetta made in Mexico so the quality not as good as the German made…hope VW don’t just focus how many units has been sold out but don’t forget the quality too coz the quality is the most important thing whether the brand is premium or not !

• Merc=Real Euro on Mar 03, 2012 at 9:15 am

bro it is like vios is made in thailand….dont expect too much… the price is gives a false impression….like i said before miti slapped a 40K premium

• daryl on Mar 05, 2012 at 5:19 pm

I’m having the same problem like you and even the safety belt panel got noise since day 1…….my car is Golf Tsi 1.4,15 months now.

• Mohd Zaihan on Mar 02, 2012 at 6:48 pm

Why the cost of VW spare part is much expensive compare with Singapore…? In Malaysia its double up the price even we convert RM to SGD…
    Thats the reason am always buying OEM parts in Singapore…buy 1 at malaysia can get 2 or 3 in Singapore…

• alldisc on Mar 02, 2012 at 7:51 pm

i am thinking the same. i mean, the cars are subjected to import tax, sales tax and duty excise right?

spare parts are not.

and believe me… many ppl had bad experience at VW TTDI. me included.

• kerdil on Mar 03, 2012 at 1:43 pm

how else they gonna afford fancy showroom and service bays without charging you VW proud owners premium on spare parts? :)

• kerdil on Mar 03, 2012 at 1:44 pm

it’s bait and slaughter marketing. hahaha…

• seancorr on Mar 02, 2012 at 6:52 pm

Showrooms looks good but I doubt the service bays can keep up within the next 5 years. 10 service bays is too few and might lead to lousy service as they try to cut corners to reduce waiting time.

• alldisc on Mar 02, 2012 at 7:52 pm

from the pic shows already not enough parking space, and all the cars parked just like that in workshop. you want to drive a car out from the bay, must move 3-4 other cars first.

• @8250rpm on Mar 03, 2012 at 8:18 pm

U r rite…been there 3 times and couldnt find parking all of customers’ cars r parked by both left n right side of rhe building n back oredi double park, front supposingly for customers but fully occupied by new cars n customers’ cars awaiting servicing….inside the service bays all full n oso double parked inside…they cant even accomodate servicing cars sumore where to expect customers n potential buyers to park????
        VW will need to add at least 5 more 3S centres to current demand and at least additional 3 more every year if they really want to keep up service level and sell more cars…wats the use if u can sell but cant cope w after sales???? Anyone who pays more than a hundred grand wud expect better (if not satisfactory) after sales service…

• pedobear88 on Mar 02, 2012 at 7:17 pm

I saw VW website that they now offering VW dealership out.

13 dealership for 2012? so they trying expand. Thats for sure.

• kenso on Mar 02, 2012 at 7:29 pm

Frankly, I don’t see why this particular branch is given emphasis as a VW dealer.

To emphasize the fact that have a huge facility with 10 working bays?

To emphasize on the availability of a training room which is not relevant to us customers?

To emphasize the availability of a test drive unit of the newly launched VW Sharan which other dealers also offer?

More often than not, it’s a challenge finding a carpark whenever I visit here. Sometimes, have to park as far as the defunct Suzuki Mofaz showroom just to come here. Can’t comment much about after sales services as I don’t send my VW here but on the sales experience, google up this dealership and be the judge yourself.

• Jolly_idiot on Mar 02, 2012 at 8:03 pm

Give me this model, give me that model. I still don’t have money.

• biggbro on Mar 03, 2012 at 1:19 am

lmfao…totally agree that VW is pricing out their vehicles from ordinary folk in msia..probably end up the way of volvo with all those hyped up german technology!!

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 04, 2012 at 1:59 am

for malaysia folk….. volkswagen = german brand = premium car when it’s actually a car (besides touareg and phaeton perhaps) that you consider with toyota, honda, hyundai, ford, peugeot etc mass market cars

• Conti Rulez on Mar 02, 2012 at 8:34 pm

Where are the Korean bashers or the Jap bahsers? Neither a peep from them here.

Cos these wankers know that the German marque beats them hands down & all they can do is bitch about how great & wonderful their jalopy amongst themselves.

Akin to mutual masturbation to make themselves fell superior.

• Merc=Real Euro on Mar 03, 2012 at 9:12 am

Your comments are uncalled. Here are some facts ….

http://www.cnbc.com/id/41831956/?fb_ref=s%3DshowShareBarUI%3Ap%3Dfacebook-like&fb_source=timeline

• lchlch on Mar 02, 2012 at 10:18 pm

Anyone any news on Passat CKD? price in particular.

• Say No To Lynas on Mar 03, 2012 at 10:38 am

SA telling CKD version will be 8-10% less.
      Not sure of the specs though.
      Out around April-May.
      Both JETTA AND PASSAT

• VOLVO FOR LIFE on Mar 05, 2012 at 6:10 am

what’s the point of a CKD if its 8-10% less only? it’s just as stupid as Volvo’s XC60 CKD strategy which didn’t see much of a reduction in price but a great reduction in engine power..

• VWPoloGTIm on Mar 02, 2012 at 10:28 pm

Any idea when the 2012 Polo GTI will be coming in ?
    I heard that 16 cars are due for delivery for the whole nation…..
    Definitely insufficient……Oh well guess have to wait 1 year ?

• quottro on Mar 02, 2012 at 10:38 pm

Serious? How bout the 2.0 TSI?

• Is true that once the CKD Passat come out VW will stop importing Passat CC or will only import Passat CC 1.8….. I hope this is not true. Please bring in the facelift Passat CC…….

• BeemerFreak on Mar 03, 2012 at 11:50 am

Not true. The passat cc will continue to be sold as a 2.0 tsi trim. The normal passat will not come with the 2.0 to keep the cc exclusive. The facelifted passat cc or known as vw cc now will be in likely in may.

Source fawagen sdn bhd(glenmarie)

• Car Driver on Mar 03, 2012 at 10:13 am

Jetta was once my desired Car but turnoff by the price tag and reliability issues when Googled. Customer service also sux when customer dress casually.
    Bring in more models will not help build up market shares but quality and affordable price speed it up.

• Insight kaki on Mar 03, 2012 at 2:57 pm

Customer service is a farce here in Msia. Personal experience when shopping for a city car for the wifey, first choice was in fact a Prius, but the sonofabitch salesman didn’t even bother to stand up and greet us when we walked into the showroom. Maybe we were both dressed in market wear and flip flops and drove in with our market car a 30yr old w123. Toyota’s god dammed loss. They maybe the most lean and efficient car maker in the world but with front line staff like, I will not for the rest of my life ever consider a Toyota!!!

• I think most of them think no one can afford their cars if wearing a t shirt with cheap slipper lolx unless u got a LV…Merc or upper class brands r even worst ! 2 years ago i drive a 10 years old Kancil and looking for the brand new Polo but that salesman serve me very well :) but all salesman r like that lah…some r good and some r bad so bro don’t just search google…

• Merc=Real Euro on Mar 03, 2012 at 3:47 pm

This post is like a paid add……all I can say is vw is overpriced in Malaysia.
    30-40K overpriced to be exact…..and we all know it cos of miti….
    I find it hard to justify Golf TSI vs Pug 308 Turbo, Polo Tsi vs Fiesta S, Passat vs Mondeo,
    Jetta vs too many to list.

If it is built to lexus quality and reliability and service then maybe worth the extra 30K premium…but with so many issue ……i dont know what to think……

• Gebang on Mar 04, 2012 at 3:05 am

Wat issue are u talking about?

• golf for life on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:48 pm

electronics bro..need to keep my car for 5 days at the dealer just for a simple wiring problem…my car is only 4 mths old!

• No worry, In Balakong Weng Hing is building up a showroom with 3S center, trust me, it would be another 20bay++ 3 S center just like it Toyota 3S Center beside.

• Say No To Lynas on Mar 03, 2012 at 11:06 pm

Wing Hin in Balakong will soon has its 3S center next to Senkenchang ikan bakar shop.
      Heard it will for temporary for time being,as they will be converting the current showroom into 5 stores building with 4S services.
      I wonder how could VW managed to train so many skilled mechanics in such short time.
      Hope not bangla or indon invading to this field.
      Damn where are all trained malaysian gone?

• alldisc on Mar 04, 2012 at 10:43 am

aiyaa.. wing hin got many mechanics at toyota, just pick several high skilled and transfer to VW enough laa..

• Gebang on Mar 04, 2012 at 3:06 am

All car in Msia is overprice maaaa…..haiyakkkk….

• Merc=Real Euro on Mar 04, 2012 at 12:48 pm

pls do some research local and overseas…then u make up ur mind whether it is worth the extra 30-40K… knowledge is power…

• Gebang on Mar 05, 2012 at 12:53 am

Yeahhhhh….always compare diff spec….normally base model…knowledge is power if u know how to use it…..

• Jack Leong on Mar 04, 2012 at 1:35 pm

sigh.. car industry in malaysia is just all about sales, sales and sales….