VIDEO: Proton P3-21A teaser video at Proton Power of 1

UPDATE: Hi-Res video added.

We’re here at the Proton Power of 1 event and sighted this Proton P3-21A teaser video being played on the TV screens at the event hospitality lounge. It reveals a few things about the car, such as the confirmed inclusion of an electronic stability programme system, the first time in a Proton car.

Former F1 racing driver Jean Alesi is featured in the video driving the car. Alesi is the Lotus ambassador, and it seems like Proton has roped him in to endorse the P3-21A.

Stay tuned for more updates from the Proton Power of 1 event at Bukit Jalil, which is running this week, or better yet, come on over and check everything out!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Dragon on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:02 am

With 70% Made in China contents…

• Malaysian on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:27 am

Where did u get that info? Mind sharing? nowadays people want proof .. not just simply talk

• Arzaq on Mar 14, 2012 at 2:03 pm

LOL! another owner of T or H car butthurt

• long term test would be prove the worthy of this car. the specs are nothing spectacular if you compare with euro or korean makes today, it seems to be on par.

• mllui on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:52 pm

on par? which one has turbocharged engine?
          civic? forte? altis? lol
          all cannot beat this beast

• Lj Dragon on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:32 am

STFU , n drive ur kancil pls

• your iphone is 100% made in china y u no complaint?

• Lj Dragon on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:00 pm

Because he is just using nokia 8310

• Edward Khil on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:19 pm

iphone quality > Proton quality

• JeremyNg on Mar 14, 2012 at 7:16 pm

Bro how can you compare smart phone with car ??!! Bit civilized abit la …… the comparison just like compare a plane and a bike =.= or Ipad and Laptop

• Obama on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:52 am

LOL….at first i thought he was driving a F30

• lizzam on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:53 am

Just like your iPhone.

• Punch Motive is adik beradik to ZF la, maker of BMW/Merc/other conti car’s gearbox.

you still want talk cock ah? lol.

• Pauline Tan on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:16 pm

Aan 100% cheap plastic.

• Pauline Tan on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:16 pm

And 100% cheap plastic.

• SureRock on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:17 am

Tease…tease…dan tease….launch jer laaaaa…..

• lim guan eng on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:21 am

interior look messy

• jsooz on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:34 am

In this video..the rear looks nice

• whocare on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:35 am

\alo, interior look solid, 0:10 the top dashboard and aircond design look elegant(if add chrome would be perfect) , some more 7 speed ,if price right ,oh i might turn to be proton owner :p

• his ‘i believe’ doesn’t sound convincing.

• Edmond on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:07 pm

It looks like, someone is forcing him to say something he contradict…

• Lim Kopi on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:02 pm

Why do they keep reminding people that they are

Committed to be better ??

• soundsfishy on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:12 pm

coz they are catching up with other makers and still trying to solve issues

• Kaiyo on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:03 pm

First video, 0:12. Did the dashboard just rattled??

• Edmond on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:05 pm

Yes! Proton. Your car now is very competitive with others brand. Please ask the government to remove the tax on other brand car so you can prove to all that you are same level with other Japan and Europe car technology and public acceptance.

….. I have been waited long for new and cheap BMW…^^ Quick! Quick Proton! I believe you!

• Kaiyo on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:13 pm

I believe cheap is not the correct word to use for BMW bro..

• Edmond on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:40 pm

Kaiyo bro, well…. cheap is a comparison.

If you pay for BMW now is 200K, now without paying tax, 100K for same model BMW. can you say is cheap?

I am driving 130K Altis now.

• mansor demam on Mar 15, 2012 at 4:24 pm

cheap is not for bmw…i agree

but no matter what type of car u buy i always believe that u tend to choose a ‘value for money’ ride…for your hard earning reward

unless u r one of the forbes top listed person

• Malaysian on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:58 pm

If the government remove the tax on cars they’ll start new tax on other things or increase on what we already have. This year we have the new 6% gov tax on services.. u want more? This is income for the gov. I’m sure they’ll stop subsidizing petrol and other necessities if they stop tax on cars.. then you’ll have a “cheap” bmw in your garage that will go no where since u cant afford to pay for petrol. Work harder and earn more.. that i believe is the answer if u want to own a bmw

• Edmond on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:47 pm

Bro Malaysia, what I want is every car brand have same tax rate. If the government impose other tax, please also impose on the so called Proton car.

Let the consumer buying statistics show itself.

But only if Proton is dare to urge the government…:I believe my cars are good, I dun want “umbrella” anymore, I want o have a real fair “fight”…

Proton! I believe you can do it! I support you to urge government to do so.

• nas-T on Mar 14, 2012 at 1:04 pm

Westerner pon tengok BMW as a luxury brand bro.

• pak jagos on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:11 pm

xlama lagi perutdua akan keluarkan mybi super extra extreme nak lawan dgn p321a..

• kivatt0024 on Mar 14, 2012 at 12:34 pm

sure they will be like cry baby requesting the YRV turbo engine for the Mega Xtream Myvi….mihahahaha…

• I bet this is so cool. Cant wait for the launch!

• The size looks almost same with Persona. Doesn’t look like the size they claim previously

• need to see the quality on this one..looks promising just like all the previous launches.

• Ninja on Mar 14, 2012 at 3:48 pm

To all readers here who bashed Proton, I believe your time of in-mature Proton bashing is over. Proton has impressed big time here and I believe this is the best car money can buy for now. The Japs and the Korean are nowhere close to this awesome new Proton model. Unless the Japs and Korean can response positively to reward their loyal Malaysian slaves to their brand with high spec car with reasonable price soon, it makes the Japs and Korean cars crappies a mere ‘kereta lembu’, just looks good on the outside and empty with no soul in the inside, just like a prostitute. So to all those Japs and Korean slave car owners here, sweet dreams. You’ll never beat the performance of this P3-1A. Rest in Peace!

Syabas Proton. I just booked one and am paying full in cash!!!

• soundsfishy on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:25 pm

ckp byk tarak guna bro… tis car not even launched and not proven on the roads yet… u think people will convince with ur sales talk?? Pay in cash…mmm no so smart i guess

• fraz006 on Mar 14, 2012 at 11:15 pm

duit die bro, ape nk kite kisahkan? cash ok ape, save gile takde interest. not proven on the road, yes. but, the CFE turbo torque curve is promising, same engine which pulls exora bold effortlessly, this time is pulling lighter vehicle.

ESC is rarely been in any korean/japs same class cars.

so many other features to list down, but those are th really important ones. normally spec like this cost u over 100K. unless u want fiesta. but fiesta engine torque cannot beat CFE.

I just have a feeling this car will make it worldwide. i am not really a proton fanboy, but I am talking based on facts.

• monkok on Mar 14, 2012 at 4:29 pm

pay full cash…fuh dasyat…maknenye bro dh dpt real price or byr dulu lumpsump kendian proton refund kalu harga sebenar lebih rendah dari jangkaan?

• Littlebear on Mar 14, 2012 at 8:03 pm

Pakai lah beberapa bulan dulu sebelum beri comment… Kalau confirm tak ada bunyi ‘tikus’ then I believe PROTON ada improvement. :P

• TheStig on Mar 26, 2012 at 10:05 pm

even japs and korean model still got ‘bnyi tikus’…wakakakaka

• bongek on Mar 15, 2012 at 10:56 pm

how proton going to sell this global item outside there , proton had improve their quality,,, maybe not as par as jap and conti …but now i proudly say at same quality of those korean…. please proton, your quality not at jaguh kampung anymore,,,u should go outside there. ,, we are tired being your only source of income … please DRB help this proton…. don’t make proton just as car assembler company,,make it global automotive company….pleasee

• wanmi16 on Mar 14, 2012 at 8:42 pm

good job moving foward~! :thumbs:
    will buy one if i’d ever get a chance :)

• i am still feel comfortable with my honda.. never ever will pay a penny to this kind of so called local car…