VIDEO: The new Proton Prevé name – Proton Managing Director Datuk Seri Syed Zainal explains the name

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mister potato on Apr 04, 2012 at 6:06 pm

In a country where people living in a small island (*cough* Langkawi *cough*) can buy Honda Civic 1.8 at 77k, everyone else with 77k to spend on a car is indirectly forced to buy this since civics are jacked up to 116k. That 39k difference you say is for petrol subsidy, education, healthcare you said? People in Langkawi pay market price petrol, pay for education and pay full for government healthcare? Wake up!

• Prevé the’ é ‘ what’s is the point of it? French or what? Persona P2 sound better and easy to speak…P mean Protons and the 2 mean second gen and the next can put 3…

• amroll on Apr 04, 2012 at 9:12 pm

now already 3rd gen,,2nd gen was the gen 2.

• Lim Kopi on Apr 05, 2012 at 1:01 am

Bahasa Inggeris sudah tak nak belajar kat sekolah (utk Matematik & Sains).

Buat pe nak pakai Bahasa Sepanyol sekrg ??

Nak impress siapa ni ? …. Org Kampung ke??

Waste time doing insignificant things …. why not focus on making good cars for a change?

• farghmee on Apr 05, 2012 at 2:05 pm

u got so much time debating ’bout the “e”.

let it be la..i dun have problem with it.

• RON97 on Apr 05, 2012 at 2:09 pm

agree wit u uncle… as i said before..
            Proton only good at copy cat..e.g inspira now even name try to be mat salleh like Forte” (french word). Funny la proton.

• PakAbu on Apr 05, 2012 at 2:32 pm

From what I see, their focus is making good/better car.

But “language experts” around here like to focus on the name.

• _xXx_ on Apr 05, 2012 at 6:10 pm

Why just prevé?

Why not d’prevé, de la prevé or maybe el prevé or.. es ist prevé…mcm ade gaya skit maaa….

• if branding is not your main criteria. i think paying RM 75, 500 (thk RM 72, 000 in Langkawi) for Proton Preve premium spec is more worth for your money compare to RM 77, 000 Honda Civic 2.0. both car almost in same size but Proton Preve win if you campre luggage capacity, width, height both car. why Proton Preve are winner

1. 1.6 turbo vs 2.0 N/A. perfomance almost same but for roadtax and fuel, Proton Preve worth for your pocket
      2. premium cabin design vs modern cabin design. but the best part is Proton Preve came with soft touch material on dashboard.
      3. 7 speed CVT Protonic (means with manual function and paddle shifter) vs dinasour _ speed
      4. 4 airbag vs 2 airbag. plus ESC, all disc brake, ABS, EBD, BA on Proton Preve
      5. Push start button and keyless entry plus smart key
      6. multilink for rear Proton Preve suspension. Honda Civic i dont know
      7. 1st wifi in car come with double din dvd with GPS
      8. DRL@ day runnling light. OEM DRL not ah beng ya. Honda Civic?
      9. auto rain/ light sensor

and of coz proven Proton good ride and handling. Honda Civic. dah lama dah design tp Proton Preve kereta baru. design masih segar. so i choose of coz la Proton Preve over Honda Civic. I think Proton Preve in VW Jetta territory

• Tergolek on Apr 04, 2012 at 11:38 pm

Wah very good salesman la lu! What about american guy buying toyota camry for rm 65,000 in california? Should he migrate to kuala lumpur and buy proton preve like you?

• civic double wishbone only rectify bit of handling, but still cannot beat proton great handling

look like honda tries too hard to beat proton’s handling and sacrifices its comfort

nice try but still 2 generations behind proton

• Lim Kopi on Apr 05, 2012 at 1:04 am

huha ….

U really know jack about cars man, yet wanna type so much …. I feel for u.

• Unforgiven on Apr 05, 2012 at 8:35 am

If we vote for unchanged, how many years more to go to get a fair price?
        I meant to pay off the car loan in max 3 years time?
        All selling at the correct price without protectionism?

• fdisk on Apr 05, 2012 at 8:39 am

but if the tax isn’t there..i bet the proton prewel is far more cheaper than the current price..

• MoFaz on Apr 05, 2012 at 10:12 am

tax could be around 50-60% (waja with tax is RM63k, without is RM39k.. 60%). so original price of Preve Premium could be 2/3 of the final price, which is RM50k.
          or, could be even lower if national cars no longer enjoy 50% discount from excise duty… which means now Proton cars have 75% excise + 10% sales tax. if total = 85% tax, original price could be RM40k only.

• MrDDR on Apr 05, 2012 at 9:18 am

77k only ehemm 1.8 not 2.0. Should compare with 1.8 only

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari'sCousin on Apr 05, 2012 at 12:47 pm

wah…now the Proton salesman talks!

• Go there leh….sure you can drive there for hours. Errrr…can cover whole island in a day. I mean coverrrr

• wake up oredy. hmm civic wout tax is 77k.. apart from some middle east country, what country on this earth doesn’t impose tax on the car? haihhh

• Tergolek on Apr 04, 2012 at 11:40 pm

What an idiot!

• protonnogood on Apr 08, 2012 at 1:20 pm

Tergolek is ignorant baseless debater. its clearly you lose debate. simply saying other idiot after losing to justity your reason to hate. in term of tax, quality, price you cant justify what is good for you. you can go burn any proton car you find after this. Without this evil company of proton, we are just looked like Bangladesh or Burma by other country. Of course we will defend the car that we bought. we are not saleman. if you insult our car mean you insult our intelligence. that’s why proton buyer will defend.

• Tergolek, pls get out from here. I think u better suit to Honda site/blog than Proton. There you can praise Jepang car as much as you can. Here we want to give Constructive comment than can help Proton to be better. Not bang here and there like nobody business.

• Prismo on Apr 05, 2012 at 8:35 am

go and live there la… that “tax free” place just near ur place….. pack up ur stuffs and catch a next flight…

• nak murah beli viva la.. enjin dna toyota…
      Honda EX5 also probably suitable for you.. COD….
      RM5/ 100 km fuel consumtion..

If you think thailand car is cheap and thailand is best place for you, so apply for thailand PR la…

• semut on Apr 05, 2012 at 12:40 pm

En Kentang,
      Roads are limited in Langkawi. That is why r/tax only 50%. Even if you have a nice car, you can’t go long distance. Pusing2 dlm pulau ajer. it tooks less than 2 hrs to circle the island.

• ahmad a on Apr 17, 2012 at 9:34 am

kalau bukan kita sebagai rakyat malaysia, siapa lagi nak promosikan dan sokong buatan negara? mungkinkah indonesian or british? sindrom asian terlalu memuja produk orang putih tp bkn semua, malaysia sahaja kot. wlaupun mcmana baik atau buruk produk kita, saya berbangga!

ps: civic tak secanggih preve, city selalu mkn asap BLM aku! hehehe!

• AlfaRomeo=Ferrari'sCousin on Apr 04, 2012 at 6:07 pm

Initially i was sceptical about the name, but after DSZ’s explanation, am okay with it. BTW, I have a full respect for this guy DSZ…I think P1 has been transformed to be a better company under his guidance. Bravo DSZ..

• F Fiesta on Apr 04, 2012 at 6:08 pm

What global car? What to proved? The design copycat from Forte..Name also no style most Malaysian laughing at the name not even suitable for Malaysia identity.

I’m sure this car will bungkus so take Ford Fiesta has already proven the best car in 2010 no need cheap gimmick.

If someone buy it surely people call the driver is PERVERT driver! :)

• Mr Jimbits on Apr 04, 2012 at 6:56 pm

Oh man..you are everywhere in a Proton article comment section. Fine example of a desperate Ford salesman indeed.

• Omg!!! I drive a fiesta, its a great car to drive but…. Please x bring fiesta or watever car in here…and Please we x need any salesman here either..we are talking about proton.. I’m very excited for it’s launch. Can’t wait to test drive it

• Gabla on Apr 04, 2012 at 7:49 pm

I saw a trailer full of covered Prevé near Proton Shah Alam. However they put one uncovered Kia Forte on the same trailer. I guess that they want people to think that they are transporting Forte instead of Prevé.

• 4agze on Apr 04, 2012 at 8:08 pm

dude..you’re sooo 2010…no wonder you still worship the Fiesta
      it’s 2012 now..wake up already. it’s Preve time

• Absolute Rider on Apr 04, 2012 at 8:12 pm

Best car 2010? Come on read the news carefully…. it’s under sub-compact category! by the way now is 2012!!!!!

• Russia guy on Apr 04, 2012 at 8:17 pm

You are sick mentally. Please come to hospital I’ll refer you to a Psychiatrist.

• cruel on Apr 04, 2012 at 8:31 pm

i want to trade my fiesta for this preve. anyone??

• fazron80 on Apr 04, 2012 at 9:59 pm

what fiesta doing here?

• huhaha on Apr 04, 2012 at 11:43 pm

i’ve driven a fiesta when i was in the UK. nothing to shout about. more like for poor people over there.

• ford salesman detected!!!

• not pervert on Apr 05, 2012 at 3:50 am

If your Fiesta is good enough, you really dont need to do this. I guess Ford is not that desperate like you. Just let the cars speak for itself. Willing seller, willing buyer. Period.

• mizzuddin945 on Apr 05, 2012 at 12:09 pm

what’s with your fiesta..?

i never drove fiesta before but new gen proton handling are no joke…
      only if you have the balls to churn out their capabilities…

• farghmee on Apr 05, 2012 at 2:12 pm

fiesta cantik.
      preve pn cantik.

naik preve, boleh sumbat byk barang kt boot, with style.
      naik fiesta sedan, boleh sumbat juga, tp itu lampu blkg tarak masuk dgn overall car styling.

• No need explain DSZ. You can let the car explain itself when it gets to public hand.

• taboogen on Apr 04, 2012 at 7:41 pm

explain salah..tak explain salah

• jadi jangan explain la.. sama-sama salah, jangan buang masa..

The only time it matter is that the car delivers.

• felda on Apr 04, 2012 at 10:08 pm

DSZ not to be mistaken with DSK ( Dominic Strauss Kahn), ex IMF Chief who got sacked for trying to rape black chamber maid in New York Hotel.

DSZ , however, is a lame CEO of a protected-under-performing-crony-car company which is the only reason Malaysians pay pissed high prices for average cars.

I would rather have DSK

• RAVEN on Apr 05, 2012 at 12:10 am

hahahahaha..
        silly boy,
        DSZ is not Proton’s CEO lah….

lame??
        do u really know who DSZ was before joining proton????

yup, u may have yur beloved DSK anytime… -_-‘

• voiddance on Apr 05, 2012 at 12:12 am

You are so wrong. Current government imposed excessive excise tax on every single car including Proton and Perodua. That is the real culprit. Without excise tax, a Saga FLX only cost about RM28k.

• national cars get 50% discount on excise duties plus they get grant from the govt every year worth hundred of millions.

• crude on Apr 05, 2012 at 1:54 am

man u’d choose a rapist over someone who is trying hard to make an ailing organization to a new height? are you freaking kidding me?

you my friend are sick and sadly have a mentality of a potato. it is not his fault that the gov imposed a ridiculous tax over its people.he is not the law maker of our country so please stop with your antics or just go shoot yourself and die.your mentality is worthless in this new world.

• felda on Apr 05, 2012 at 9:25 am

Ailing organisation? new height? Wake up loser!
          That ailing organisation you love, proton , is part of a cartel that is hell bent on fixing car prices 200-300% above their real value. That “ailing organisation” is in the stable of Drbhicom isn’t it? Isn’t drbhicom also selling honda, vw, suzuki, citroen, audi etc etc. Don’t you call it market-rigging, loser?! Isn’t drbhicom also collecting subsidies from tax payers in the tune of around half a billion a year to “make proton a success? Don’t you see the conflict of interest?
          How can you justify a malaysian paying rm180k for a toyota camry when an american pays only rm65k.If proton is non existant , there is no reason the govt can give to impose high taxes on the camry.
          You belong in a mental institution or die before you bring more shame to your mom and dad, loser.

• Haiyo Felda guy.. Nak pakai Honda ke Toyo ke ikut suka la… Tp jgn salahkan Proton kalo tak mampu.. Tak pernah plak aku dgr org complaint Tata Nano lg murah dari Viva. Kalo tak suka Proton g la blog/site yg banyak citer pasal Camry ko tu.. Masa Hyundai/Deawoo/Kia mula2 keluar punya la hodoh rupanya tp rakyat KOREA support keta diorg sndiri. Tak payah nak tax 2 atau 3 kali ganda mahal keta2 luar. Siap pegi petrol pump, kalo bawak selain keta Korea jwbnya ko isi la sndiri tp kalo bawak keta Korea pump attendant akan tlg isikan minyak. Sbb mereka ada jati diri dan tak layan pengkhianat mcm ko.

PS: Mcm budak2 main mak bapak plak.

• Aiyo Taiko… Lu tau ka sape itu DSZ? Dulu dia bersama P2 pastu Proton hire DSZ to help Proton build better image in terms of quality wise. So dont go here and there bang this guy. He has done a good job with Proton.

• Reduan on Apr 04, 2012 at 6:22 pm

Hope not exchange accidently with Prevert.

• papa rich mama shop on Apr 04, 2012 at 6:24 pm

good step to make people confidence ,
    so please , hold people trust oh Proton Preve’ ,
    gambatte yoo….

• maybe the name is not so confusing, the MD dont even need to waste time explain it..need waste time to use few min and 1 slide to explain a 5 letter word.. sigh..

• I can imagine a racing team using this car.. The Proton Preve RT.. Inspiring..

• ahh…!!! apapajela…yang penting semua kereta kena ada nama…

• abc123 on Apr 04, 2012 at 7:21 pm

Mr. Paul, may I ask what is the safety rating of this car?

• Lol at fiesta on Apr 04, 2012 at 7:32 pm

Lol at you bro. Stupiak izzit?
    Copied from forte?
    What if i say Forte copied from accord?
    And Accord copied from other cars as well?
    Why you no ride 6 wheeler car bro?

• samsam on Apr 04, 2012 at 7:33 pm

give me back 4:56 min..

• sudonano on Apr 04, 2012 at 7:42 pm

I SEE TEST DRIVE IN THE FIRST SLIDE!!! :DDD

• ratu ligor on Apr 04, 2012 at 7:45 pm

nice name with local identity! sounds like ancient langkasuka says:”namo Phra-Ae-Veh”

• what la…use la bahasa. Not like its going to be exported to spain or we speak spanish.

• thelonely on Apr 05, 2012 at 8:06 am

honday midori, or toyota mizu anyone?
      lots of cars out there does not use their native language as the name anyways.

• billy on Apr 04, 2012 at 7:56 pm

give proton a chance to prove it this time…we shall all see then ok? stay tune folks!

• Prevé is Spanish word la Datuk Seri; just say Spanish so easier for public to decide common pronunciation. Countries like Vietnam, Cambodia, Mideast region, Africa, Europe, South America, Central America, Canada, Pacific all used to French/Spanish languages.

Global name; hopefully performance also global. Seemingly is better car than VIOS, Sentra, Fiesta sedan, Mazda2 sedan, City, Forte, Hyundai Accent, Altis, Sylphy, etc.

• Quattro on Apr 04, 2012 at 8:25 pm

Bila actual; date to launch ni?

• Edward Roti Canai on Apr 04, 2012 at 8:51 pm

This is what I call a car with vision, only for those with vision, unlike those Japs and Koreak pervert car owners. Can’t wait for the official launch and to test drive it. After test driving it, you will be tempted to drive it back home. Kudos!

• fadli on Apr 04, 2012 at 9:16 pm

i’ve always proud of the name saga, wira, juara,satria, tiara, putra, waja, persona. ni savvy, gen2, exora la kot yang started the ‘point’? why not take the example from vw/toyota/honda i.e. golf, polo, civic, prado, etc.. bentuk model and teknologi enjin bertukar setiap beberapa tahun, tapi, nama tetap yang sama. hence, perhaps, preve could just be named Waja 2012

• diff name because it’s in B-C segment which no proton cars in it before

• jerry tan on Apr 05, 2012 at 12:51 am

agree with you. a good example is GEN 2 & Persona. both also same car just different in length.

• Inikah agaknya kereta yang aku jumpa test drive kat LPT, try kejar tapi tak dapat, meter waktu tu dah cecah 200 km/h mungkin lebih.. powerfull car

• Rulered on Apr 04, 2012 at 9:59 pm

Preeve or any name is okay with me. The important point that I get is if this car going to be global, it has to penetrate America, Europe and at a certain point China. But the most important thing is, the price and spec should be global too, ie rakyat back at home should ‘enjoy’ what the rest of the globe gets. Other than that, I support Proton and DSZ is a good guy.

• wong ah yat on Apr 04, 2012 at 10:05 pm

Hi Proton,

The name is OK, Proton is trying very hard to prove something here, perhaps this is their last stroke while many of us has move on and given up on you. P1 is 1 generation behind Koreans, 2.5 generation behind the German and American, what to prove, global for who?Just work hard, build cars that people look forward to buy, worth the value of their money. P1 has failed to utilize Lotus design cue in their cars, why copy city+ forte+ focus+ a4… no identity at all… where is the spirit of cintai bahasa kebangsaan kita, you guys are so confusing at all, today bahasa, tomorrow Spain…

• “why copy city+ forte+ focus+ a4”
      say that to bmw, kia, honda too, they are look alike somewhere

“no identity at all”
      look carefully, teh cue design is mixture of previous proton cars
      else you are blind

• skiborne on Apr 04, 2012 at 10:10 pm

just saying..why cant proton carry with names of their existing / past models just what they did with Saga.

• RedBeanBun on Apr 04, 2012 at 10:14 pm

Have you all hear there is a P3-22A model? hatch back model?

• kivatt0024 on Apr 04, 2012 at 11:02 pm

will be in malaysian market on 2nd Q of 2013…

• sudah tahu on Apr 05, 2012 at 12:01 am

P3-22A itu Prevé Aeroback. ada P3-23A jadi Arena baru. P3-24A jadi Prevé crossover ala SUV.

• Jimmy on Apr 04, 2012 at 10:30 pm

If a name is good, it doesn’t need explanation.

• i support proton, i dont care about the proton basher. They never give chance to proton to prove themself

• Tergolek on Apr 04, 2012 at 11:49 pm

Inspira cannot sell at 70k, want to sell pree…at 70 k. Gerenti tak laku.
    But actually drbhicom not interested in making money thru proton, they just maintain proton so that they can use the non-saleability of proton cars as an excuse to further hike up the price of their other cars like honda, suzuki, audi, vw, citroen etc etc.
    The whole malaysian country kena timbang kati by drbhicom.

• MoFaz on Apr 05, 2012 at 10:19 am

mana ko tau tak laku? Inspira sold almost similar number as Honda City last year. so, Honda City also tak laku??

• nabill on Apr 05, 2012 at 12:58 am

if the car doesnt come out positively n doesnt satisfy consumer demands,thn definatly the name is the 1st thing that ppl wil be sarcastic of,on the other hand ,if the turns out to be better than expectation thn no mater what the name of the car is,its gonna sel well….!

• Good move for Proton…Hope this model will bring confidence from all purchasers around the Globe!

• skiborne on Apr 05, 2012 at 2:06 am

good introduction of the car. but im not so sure about the name…. next up hopefully proton considers turbodiesel in future! ;)

• I believe Paul and the team would have already test drove the car. Please share your overall impression about this car. Thanks

• what proton wanna prove? they can’t even make their own engine…
    dare to say tat out loud..
    such a shame…

• BadBET on Apr 05, 2012 at 8:51 am

err… welcome to year 2012.

• Faizul on Apr 05, 2012 at 9:48 am

proton is a joke to every one nowadays.its okay but you say proton cant make engine is a dump statement… campro is totally produced by proton and it is fitted in majority of proton models since 2005. you want to bash better get your facts right. otherwise you are making fool of yourself.

• shame on u, campro is proton engine

• Regina Shwartz on Apr 05, 2012 at 7:56 am

I believe that the bit about the name being derived from “the English word preve” is totally wrong. There’s no such word in English. Someone seriously duped Proton.

Oxford
    http://oxforddictionaries.com/spellcheck/?region=uk&q=Preve

Cambridge
    http://dictionary.cambridge.org/spellcheck/british/?q=preve

Miriam Webster
    http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/preve

• Regina Shwartz on Apr 05, 2012 at 8:03 am

Okay so I just confirmed it – Preve isn’t English, it’s Anglo-Norman.

• Pantun PREVE/Pura-Pura the great global car pretender:

Drive it to believe it,
    Pura-Pura jadi global car,
    Power window better fix it,
    Don’t solve it with Lifetime warranty lar!

Oh PREVE the great pretender,
    Pura-Pura jadi global car konon,
    But Saudi Arabia price far cheaper,
    Wait til become joke by Jeremy Clarkson!

Protongkat trying to prove again,
    That new PREVE ain’t crappy,
    Jangan kelentong jangan main,
    We buyer aren’t that foolhardy!

• nighttrain on Apr 05, 2012 at 9:29 am

Hahah… susah payah..

• have you ran out of ideas?
      just copied and pasted job everywhere!

• Ape kebendanya ni??? Ko taknak beli, JGN beli. Shooh pegi jauh2.

Power Window problem? Aku pakai Saga tak pernah buat hal pun power window aku. Elok je… Ko dok zaman mana ni?

U think Jeremy Clarkson the one and only person can give car review? And his review is the only thing matters? Aiyo… Nama Msia pun dia kata x pernah dgr? adik beradik Bush (fail geografi). JC is very bias when giving his review.

• matured man on Apr 05, 2012 at 9:01 am

in order to prove the car it need to be tested on the road for at least 5 years. prove by action not by word.

• “They never give chance to proton to prove themself-Juan”

Really?

Protongkat should be given chance again?
    Rakyat wasted RM billions 30 years later
    Yet still asking amal jariah donation
    But still crappy quality no better!

• Just launch that damn car and see how well it sell la.
    You are not launching atank with stealth capability.

Still buying time to excite the public while trying to solve your technical problem?

• Proton Prevé Owner Club. on Apr 05, 2012 at 9:24 am

from all comments (hate/like) above showed that Malaysian really care about Proton..

• hway de Cruz on Apr 05, 2012 at 9:31 am

wow, a lot of bashers here… hold ur horses, guys. wait for the launch, take that test drive n then give it a walkaround, then comment. i like some of the specs earlier reported, but refrain from commenting until personally taken the test drive. hv a great day… cheerio

• proton great handling?

puh.. obviously, you have never driven a german, french, english or even swedish car.

so sad.

if Proton is happy with their creation, remove all taxes. lets see how great this car really is.

we will let the market fight and price their car competitively.

then, we will see if a car company from a 2nd world country is good or not.

mind you, I’m not saying its bad. but you cant say you are good when you are the only one with the advantage.

• alf147 on Apr 05, 2012 at 10:56 am

how long german, french, english (errr) italy in the market? 10 years? i have these conti’s car at home. to compare proton for the past 10 years, they are improving…i have one suzuki swift last time and it has good RNH for its price and segment, but once drove the neo, i was surprised to see its match to the jappo. furthermore, conti’s car got a lot of prob.how many times i change the oil seal, power window, coolant system (radiator , hoses and all) for my e46?

• “puh.. obviously, you have never driven a german, french, english or even swedish car.”

lol…ford handlig is just plain boring especially at high speed cornering
      proton is better with dynamic response, can match those expensive one like bmw’s

• so sad, you still don’t drive a proton before

• vcegh on Apr 05, 2012 at 9:24 pm

“I expected the ride to be soft and bouncy, but instead experienced the total opposite. It rode towards the firmer side, much like how – dare I say – continental cars are setup. But unlike some of the European cars that crash into the road every time a bump or a hole happens, the spring and dampers dissipated the shocks with top marks. It was comfortable enough that I started to doze off when my turn at the wheel was called.”

so now, proton is better than contis in someway, what say you prot?

• thebosssedangbercakap on Apr 05, 2012 at 9:52 am

no matter what proton says, they should face the reality, if not for govt protection, proton could not survive at all in this fierce market. just look at kia, they have strong line ups of good looking cars, vw, audi, merc, all of those if not for the tax would be the no.1 choice of most malaysian.

• Product speak by itself, jangan gaduh…

• tommyyeoh on Apr 05, 2012 at 10:04 am

Why the need to explain the name i wonder if you have a good car like bmw 3 series no need to explain so much the market will rush to buy this car.

Look at the toyota camry wiothj such old technology also can sell like hot cakes that is call market perception and branding.

Proton just don’t have what it take to be global car player the product is substandard even in its home country people if given a choice would not buy its car let alone how to compete in the world market i wonder

The management and our government just have to accept the fact that we are not car builders just close shop and stop using our people taxes to subsidise this company.

Let the expert car builder country do what they do best lower the car prices and let the rakyat enjoy basic needs just like in australia normal car taxes are very low and luxury car taxes are high.

• Chris on Apr 05, 2012 at 10:38 am

anyone stating that rear lamp can’t be carried on from Tuah concept because of safety regulations should be axed from his/her job as Lincoln just showed how rear should look like with futuristic backside rather than the ugly one we have for Prea-vah..

if US of A can use this, why can’t Malaysia? memang Malaysia boleh.

http://www.autoblog.com/photos/2013-lincoln-mkz-new-york-2012/#photo-4940190/

• i just want to say things. i love the car, and it really looks a bit like kia forte. but the name….OMG, Proton preve its not sound “outstanding” when saying “preve”.

i mean, come on proton, they used to put good “name” on their car to reflect their image of a “strong” Proton like “waja”, “wira” “iswara”, “saga”. those are the name are easier to say in average malaysian people than “preve” (which i doubt whether its french or spanish). i wonder after this malaysian people would say Proton “pevert” as to refer to Proton “preve”. after all, not all Malaysians are fluent in french or spanish. if they want to make a global car, make it possible using english words…or sounds ‘english’ instead.

i really like the car and its improvements, its much cheaper than City or Vios in the C-segment category, with added gadgets and accessories. damm nice!. But the “name” it brings me down actually. :(

• at one time…they said its too costly to build a car from scratch. therefore they COLLABORATE with japanese to have Inspira….then they come out with a new car (to prove, What?) with old crappy engine + turbo. something to be proud? not at all.

• Ravin on Apr 05, 2012 at 12:41 pm

I do wish all Proton Basher would leave the comment page, if you nothing constructive to say, don’t say anything at all. You can show your unhappiness by buying other make and model. As a malaysian, i am happy with the current spec and pricing of Preve.

Proton still a long way more to go, however it’s good that they are headed in the right direction

Cheer’s Proton!

• jalan54 on Apr 05, 2012 at 12:48 pm

I’m not a big fan of Proton and never once was, I even hate Proton so much once because of Proton we were buying expensive car in the market right now.

But now, I have different view for Proton. First of all, DRB-Hicom took over proton and I have more confidence with DRB-Hicom than Proton, due to DRB-Hicom works together with VW. I believe this is the only one right decision from Proton so far… :P

Lets put everything aside and just look at the new Proton Preve. What I can see so far, it is a great car, and it might be the best of all previous Proton models (but of course have to wait till we see the real car and tested it out), I really have to give Proton a big thumb up on this and I believe if they apply their marketing strategies correctly, they’ll be able to sell well not only locally, but globally and this will be a big moment for Proton (Hopefully those old dicks in proton will not do anything to indirectly destroy this).

After the test drive and if it is good, this will be my next car, I’ll be definitely going for it.

• I agree that this may be a good car, or even great car. But at the end of the day, all the more importantly question is, have our livelihoods been bettered since Proton coming into the picture? Is there any good justification for the folks to continue to support Proton for the decades to come? The fact that it is transferred from the public domain to a private concern does not make an ounce of difference because, the fact of the matter is, rakyat will continue to be burdened with hefty tax to ensure the survival of Proton.

• jalan54 on Apr 05, 2012 at 3:00 pm

What you said is true and I totally agree with you, but do you have any other solution?

• Well, perhaps one of the solutions is to stop buying Proton… but hey, a brand new 5 series only costs around RM140k! Just go to the end of the clip and see for yourself! We have to pay more than double the amount for the same car here!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YSgTOryNq2Y

• in marketing, a product/model name must b simple, easy to pronounce, thats why even the most prominent auto brand likes to keep simple..if you need to explain in detail bcause no one understand ,find it difficult to pronounce or even make fun off then you have made a wrong choice. if Proton is selling this preve for 75k and have the chick to compare with a city or vios at highly inflated prices then they must think of msians are fools.

• anti-first on Apr 05, 2012 at 4:03 pm

i wonder went through Chacko’s mind when they thought of the name, seriously…it’s too gimmick-y to start with!

funny that there were no naming contest for this model but there was one for Exora!

Proton Speda would sound nice, don’t y’all think?

• jackson tan on Apr 05, 2012 at 1:31 pm

Why are people still buying s-h-i-t-s from this con company?

• bravo to drb hicom. just in months after took over proton, now proton come out with new model that looks great! fantastic job!

years protons was under khazanah, produced nothing!

• PakAbu on Apr 05, 2012 at 2:20 pm

:lol:

Good one!

• farghmee on Apr 05, 2012 at 2:43 pm

weh..ingat buat kete tu 3bln sudah siap?
      selalunya plg cepat 18bln(?).

kalu tau kira, sah2 kete ni dibuat sblm takeover.

• Sarip Dol on Apr 05, 2012 at 2:32 pm

Proton what? Proton Pervert? ooh its Perve… sorry. what a name. what ever it is i’m not going to buy a Proton, no matter how good the quality is. want to know why? because of the “Protectionism Policy”. i’m not going to spend extra for the tax just to protect Proton. they should compete fairly with other car makers in the market. and don’t give stupid excuses saying that Proton provides employment and business to the vendor or ‘patriotism’. i am a very Patriotic person, that is why i’m against Proton because they make the Rakyat poorer by RM20-30k.
    i rather buy a second hand BMW 3 series E36 or E46. which is a lot cheaper.

• bmw? try change the gbox oil and see how much the meccatronic cost..20k bro..haha

• briluc on Apr 05, 2012 at 3:24 pm

Bro… don’t go for BMW coz of the electronic problems. Buy a second hand mercedes instead :)

• fazron80 on Apr 06, 2012 at 11:51 am

unfortunately patriotism comes with that package. It what makes malaysia what it is. If not we’ll be singapore, indonesia, thailand, myanmar, japan. You think in other countries don’t have problem ah? This is Malaysia for bad or for worse. Live with it or be expatriate in other countries.

• Sarip Dol on Apr 10, 2012 at 12:38 am

@fazron80. u called oppressing & burdening the Rakyat to protect the few in Proton is patriotism? gosh… no wonder 5.2million head of households are eligible for the BR1M RM500. and our population is 28million. what a pity. i’m ashamed of that figure. what a package that comes along for being “Patriotic” (so-called). and one thing about Malaysian… they can’t be criticized. the usual reply is always “be expatriate in other countries”. what an ego and arrogant attitude. that explained why we were being colonized for 446 years. and maybe we still are… by our own people. the capitalist Malaysian.

• I don’t remember our Govt FORCE rakyat to buy PROTON car. So how come you said OPRESSING & BURDENING. Do you ever complaint the fuel subsidize to us? Now I bet if you are in Indon, you dont give a crap the price of car higher but petrol/diesel must be lower. Msian like u always want every single thing cheap. Now you r going everywhere talking like we live in North Korea. Wake up

• Sarip Dol on Apr 22, 2012 at 12:16 am

hmm… of course the Gomen doesn’t force us to buy proton la brader. why so stupid one? they imposed higher tax on other car makers so that proton can survive. that is the meaning of “Protectionism Policy”… duhhhh.
            and please don’t talk about petrol subsidy when you don’t know a thing about it. go to a book shop and buy yourself a book called “politic, economy, finance, bribery, swindling & manipulating for DUMMIES”. geez… some people are so stupid.

• faeiz on Apr 05, 2012 at 4:35 pm

it is just a name.. as long as the meaning is good, ok lar.. do we need to debate about it? i don’t think so.. when a baby get birth, their parent will give him/her a name that they believe suitable for their baby.. normally parent will give the best name for their baby & pray for their future..

if we still want to debate about the newly proton car’s name, maybe we should take a look at others brand too. For example: myvi, viva, vios, triton, d-max, unser etc.. are those names english or malay or chinese? Some of them are combination of word which the company have some believe on it..

so, let us focus on the product, not their name.. :)

• It rhymes with Forte :)

• Yousry on Apr 09, 2012 at 11:59 pm

Proton sucks, no I am not done yet. Proton WAS sucks, by that said, BEFORE. Because now Proton is wholly owned and turned out to be a PRIVATE COMPANY by Tan Sri Syed Mokhtar.

After so many years, Proton was not wearing a proper shoe walking a pile of mud. More over Proton is so really connected to Politics. The death of Tan Sri Yahya, the co-founder of Proton, tells a lot afterwards. Proton was NOT properly handled by good people. Suddenly Tun M. gave up, more or less perhaps. He asked the respectively Tan Sri Syed Mokhtar to buy Proton for the sake of its future. Here it is now.

If we look into the designs and to what they have come up with, Proton between those available models, they are so really unlikely to one another. The firstly built Saga was superbly design in its times IMO. Look how can that can really go even for tens of years! Engine works like wonders! Then it is like ‘Humpty had a great fall’. Wira to Perdana, it’s a waste of time to talk about it all the way through. We all have seen it.

Now this Preve looks promising. Why is it Preve which means “Proof” when supposedly Proton proven it earlier on with their Gen.2 which was an utterly and fugly failure?

There’s a tale behind this I believe and we’re not short of time. I believe in Preve. It may be well too early to confess something like that but since Proton is no longer under the politicians grasp, this could be a great change. I would like to see what’s happening. I want to be one of the first to drive it. If it stroke my heart, I’d get it.

I’m a young man who currently pursuing for marriage and like all times I would drive my current car at between 60 to 90 km/h. I would do the same with Preve. I am not one of those lads who drove their car like their stole it. Stupid Malaysians.

But anyway, I believe in this guy, Syed Zainal Abidin. I do also believe in Syed Mokhtar. This is something fresh, something salad. Forget the bad experience we had before. Your not having a bad experience with the car, but frankly, the guy who made it that matters.

• so.. its good to see that proton have proof its capability and can do better. now why dont you guys up there just start to cut down those ****ing and killing taxes that have resistricted malaysian people for years while sacrificing their own safety for your own good profit business!!! goddamn it!!

• bookie on Apr 11, 2012 at 11:18 pm

i just sold my 13 years old wira 1.6 for 8k to my brother..i,m lucky bcoz 2nd handcar dealer want for 6k only…just wonder Preve’s fate ….engine maybe excellent but what about other parts…

• amer harris on Apr 12, 2012 at 5:33 pm

actually the preve has 5 star rating crash test

• JPS North Borneo on Apr 17, 2012 at 2:49 am

here is the problem, first the boss pronounce it prevé or preveh/prever then when he goes on to explain the meaning he pronounces it PREVE or PRIV!!…Preve means proof but Prevé means forersight..tut tut

• niwde on Apr 22, 2012 at 8:57 pm

PREVE means Proton’s Reliability Eternally Very Embarrassing

• Dulu masa proton hanya terlekat dgn 1.6, adala org komen kutuk, proton slow, always stuck with 1.6, takda enjin berkuasa, sekarang bila proton dah keluarkan 2.0, kena kutuk jugak say that di malaysia tak guna buat keta power!! sama jugak kes harga. bila buat murah, kena kutuk proton keta murah, bila buat mahal, kena kutuk jugak!! inilah manusia yang suka mengkritik & mengumpat. proton buat A , kena kutuk suruh buat B, bila dah buat B, kena kutuk suruh buat A balik!!!

Now proton already DID BOTH!!, “TAKDA PAKSAAN PUN NAK BELI KETA APA”, kalo nak murah, dan tidak menutamankan enjin berkuasa, belila proton saga FLX, kalo nak beli mahal, belila PREVE. ITS YOUR OWN CHOICE! proton dah ekot kehendak ‘A’ and ‘B’. takda paksaaan pun. kalo tak suka, beli keta lain~ mulut kalo dah suka mengutuk, buat A,B,C sampai Z pun tetap kena kutuk.