Mercedes-Benz C-Class: more upgrades for the W204

Yup, it was facelifted in 2011, but nothing better than adding more for the 2013 model year. Mercedes-Benz has given its W204 C-Class a set of upgrades to keep things bubbling for the premium executive sedan.

The C 180 BlueEFFICIENCY gets a new engine, a 1.6 litre direct-injection turbocharged petrol engine as well as electric power steering to further bolster economy. The new engine is the M 270 DE 16 AL, as seen on the new W176 A-Class, and output numbers for it are 154 hp at 5,000 rpm and 250 Nm of torque at 1,250 to 4,000 rpm.

There are also new interior and exterior features, including revised colour options, repositioned cruise control and indicator stalks and easier-to-read silver graphics for the telematics screen. The telematics system, in conjunction with COMAND, now includes eCall to report the car’s position to a call centre via GPS in the event of an emergency.

New trim structures abound for the saloon and estate models, and these are called Executive SE, AMG Sport and AMG Sport Plus, and the Coupé is now available in AMG Sport or AMG Sport Plus form.

The Executive SE is the new entry point to the C 180 BlueEFFICIENCY, C 200 CDI BlueEFFICIENCY and C 220 CDI BlueEFFICIENCY saloon and estate variants, and revisions includes a sports grille, new 16-inch alloy wheels, Artico upholstery and LED daytime running lights.

A new optional Luxury Package is available for the Executive SE models to replace the former Elegance trim option, and the packages incudes a three louver grille with bonnet-mounted star, 17-inch alloy wheels with a seven twin-spoke design, automatically dimming rear view mirror and folding exterior door mirrors.

Meanwhile, the new AMG Sport and AMG Sport Plus variants have their own bag of stuff. For the AMG Sport, items include 17-inch AMG wheels. As for the AMG Sport Plus, there are 18-inch bi-colour AMG alloys, bi-Xenon front lights with Intelligent Light System and Adaptive High Beam Assist, AMG sports seats, black Artico/Dinamica upholstery with contrast red stitching, red seat belts, AMG floor mats with red edging and silver gearshift paddles on the list.

The C 63 AMG performance models continue as is, and remain unaffected by the 2013 model year revisions.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• donna on Jul 31, 2012 at 11:30 am

fuyoooooooooooo~~
    but preve better

• Badut Rempit on Jul 31, 2012 at 12:18 pm

I can smell that you are calling for Preve bashers.

• Kalun on Jul 31, 2012 at 1:32 pm

Common man! You are comparing a luxury brand with some sort of unheard brand.
      Now, you are comparing a Direct injection engine with a MPI engine. It’s
      Iike comparing an Air conditioning with a ceiling fan.

• GTR 2.0 on Jul 31, 2012 at 9:28 pm

Agreed. Like comparing air conditioning with inverter technology with a ceiling fan (not with the remote controller).

• at least better than no turbo at all..again why so butt-hurt with preve?

• C Class on Jul 31, 2012 at 11:38 am

cool, a small 1.6liter churning approx 160hp & 250nm torque (from very low 1,250 – 4,000rpm)…cheap road tax & should be frugal since no need to rev the engine much

• Just me on Jul 31, 2012 at 2:29 pm

Yeah, with some tuning chip or remap, it can easily churn out 200bhp and 280Nm may be 300Nm. That is more like it for 1.6l turbocharged engine.

• Badut Rempit on Jul 31, 2012 at 11:43 am

Wow! But I’ll stick to my EX5.

• Enrico on Jul 31, 2012 at 12:02 pm

Look at the multimedia screen position, A4 copied C Class, C Class copied back A4 LOL

• Welcome to the troll club. where else would they put the screen? between the legs?

• Enrico on Jul 31, 2012 at 10:23 pm

Well i used the wrong word, not the position but the screen itself. But then it still shows that you have no idea.

The pre-facelift c class had the flip up screen. And now they changed it to exactly like a4. It too is positioned about an inch deep into the dashboard.

http://s1.aecdn.com/images/news/gallery/2013-audi-a4-facelift-revealed-photo-gallery_16.jpg

• Enrico on Jul 31, 2012 at 10:25 pm

Well i used the wrong word, not the position but the screen itself. But then it still shows that you have no idea. The pre-facelift c class had the flip up screen. And now they changed it to exactly like a4. It too is positioned aboutan inch deep into the dashboard.
        http://s1.aecdn.com/images/news/gallery/2013-audi-a4-facelift-revealed-photo-gallery_16.jpg

• Enrico on Jul 31, 2012 at 10:27 pm

Well i used the wrong word, not the position but the screen itself. But then it still shows that you have no idea. The pre-facelift c class had the flip up screen. And now they changed it to exactly like a4. It too is positioned deep into the dashboard. http://www.autoevolution.com/news-g-image/2013-audi-a4-facelift-revealed-photo-gallery/60479.html

• Enrico on Jul 31, 2012 at 10:27 pm

Well i used the wrong word, not the position but the screen itself. But then it still shows that you have no idea. The pre-facelift c class had the flip up screen. And now they changed it to exactly like a4. It too is positioned deep into the dashboard.

• Enrico on Jul 31, 2012 at 10:29 pm

The pre-facelift c class had the flip up screen. And now they changed it to exactly like a4. It too is positioned deep into the dashboard.

• orange on Jul 31, 2012 at 12:05 pm

Though turbocharged with high torque I bet that 1.6T gonna roared miserably when tucking its fat ass while climbing.

• rally_fan on Jul 31, 2012 at 12:33 pm

you contradict yourself by saying “high torque” and then saying it cant climb..

• orange on Jul 31, 2012 at 2:28 pm

did I ever mentioned ‘it cant (can’t) ?’

• no you didn’t.

it’s just the “I bet that 1.6T gonna roared MISERABLY when tucking (you mean dragging?) its fat ass while climbing (what?)” part that makes you the biggest joke of the day.

• Just me on Jul 31, 2012 at 2:34 pm

Obviously this guy doesn’t understand what’s Torque means.

• C Class on Jul 31, 2012 at 2:42 pm

hehehehehe…guess “orange” dont understand what torque is…just look at the peak torque of 250nm from low 1,250rpm all the way to 4,500rpm. For comparison, the new 2.5 liter camry have a weaker 231nm at high 4,100rpm…based on “orange” comment, the 2.5 liter camry will roared miserably when tucking its fat ass while climbing due to its lower torque output plus need high revving to reach peak torque ; )

• YEAH, IM LOOKING ORWARD FOR THE UPGRADE OF C180 COUPE TOO. 1.6 ENGINE WILL FURTHER LOWER THE ALREADY LOW COST.

• C180 turbo should come to malaysia

• its already in malaysia in coupe form. they wont bring in sedan as it will eat up c200 sales. as u noe malaysian are only care about engine displacement rather than performance.

• Paul Tan on Jul 31, 2012 at 9:07 pm

C180 Coupe in Malaysia is powered by the 1.8 turbo not the new 1.6 turbo.

• thank for clearing it up but i was mentioning to Dp dude that Malaysia does have C180 but in coupe form. and its 1.8.

• V12Kompressor on Jul 31, 2012 at 12:56 pm

there’s always the option to go “grey”

:D

• damage digital on Jul 31, 2012 at 1:38 pm

oo wow…but korean did better.

• Rachel on Jul 31, 2012 at 1:39 pm

What about Mercedes GLK?Shouldn’t it be here years ago?

• seancorr on Jul 31, 2012 at 5:08 pm

One last upgrade before the new generation C Class comes into the picture. I doubt MBM will bring in the C180 but I’d sure pick one if they did offer it here.

• preve is good like celling fan, go go buy preve, crap supporter

• Dr Mamak on Jul 31, 2012 at 5:34 pm

1.6L pfftt

i’d wait for skd F30 M Sport.

• chocolate)head on Jul 31, 2012 at 6:47 pm

saw that estate model near Nirvana… choy!

• droll on Jul 31, 2012 at 7:25 pm

a little bird @ ccb @ the curve told me the C180 is coming! about time too. they will gain a lot of new customers (like what the ct200h did for lexus).

if they price it right, the competition (bmw, audi) will be left in the dust.

• Insight kaki on Jul 31, 2012 at 10:01 pm

It’s MBM you’re talking about, as long as there are people willing to pay top dollar to be seen in a three pointed star, they will keep milking this cash cow.

• cosmo on Jul 31, 2012 at 8:20 pm

sorry to say… it looks boring…

• 1.6 turbocharged Mercedes benz!!…….meaning that preve also on a right track..if quality good preve could be people car….

• Just me on Jul 31, 2012 at 9:48 pm

preve 1.6 turbo is for school boy lah how to compare to this?

• biltd on Jul 31, 2012 at 10:49 pm

of course can compare, anytime can beat this engine if twin-charged, 160hp 250nm is nothing to shout about, just a tad near prince

• what do you have in your stable? a bus with 16,0000cc? lol

• pomen keto on Jul 31, 2012 at 9:52 pm

comparing mercedes with preve???lol…what the hell are you talking about???proton still far far away from mercedes in terms of technology…

• ketosport on Jul 31, 2012 at 10:53 pm

other auto makers also can put those things, but the price and parts will become expensive

• 1 Malaysia on Jul 31, 2012 at 10:32 pm

Can anyone tell me what is the excise duty for CKD Mercedes model in Malaysia ? Sales tax is also 10 % of the selling price right ?

• 1 Malaysia on Aug 01, 2012 at 12:25 am

Manage to calculate the tax structure for this car. It’s 112 percent for a 1.6 CKD for all taxes ( import duty, excise duty and sales tax )

• C class specs not impressive if compared to 3-series.. C200 elegant and c250 avangrade- rim stil 17 inch different steering and alluminium trip and add 20+Hp.. Compare with BMW 328i and 320d….

• Jimmy on Jul 31, 2012 at 11:23 pm

Spending > RM500OOO on any car, we would expect the following airbags as minimum: front & side airbags for 1st row, front and side airbags for the 2nd row, all-round curtain airbags and knee airbag for driver.

• oh no,
    even merc C-class is following preve’s footstep!!!!
    gogo turbo

• farizY on Aug 01, 2012 at 12:54 pm

Dude, Merc has turbocharged its engine longgggg before Proton does…aduh…

• Richard316 on Aug 11, 2012 at 4:19 pm

C180 or C200? The dealer advised me to buy C200. What is C200 2013 model? When will the C200 2013 available? What is W204 and W205? Is the W205 the latest model for 2013? Can anyone comment?

• My c200 2011 had changed cable connector to overcome stalling on slope, two absorber changed, full transmission changed costs rm40k, all these changes are covered in the three years warranty, can any expert tell me what’s wrong with this car.