Mini MINIs help out at London Olympics

Sometimes the little things mean the most. BMW has put three of these small radio-controlled MINIs to field duty at the Olympic Stadium: to ferry javelins, discuses, hammers and shots back from the field to the throwing area, saving time during competition and marshals having to run back and forth too.

The 25 kg, 10 hp cars are about a quarter scale of full size, and the sports equipment is simply placed in the car through the sunroof. Maximum capacity is 8 kg, with batteries holding out for 35 minutes of continuous usage before being fully recharged in 80 minutes.

BMW is London 2012’s Official Automotive Partner, and as such has a fully-electric vehicle fleet currently serving the Games which also comprises 160 1 Series ActiveE’s and 40 MINI E’s.

Imagine these little cars replacing ball boys and girls at Wimbledon.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• BeemerFreak on Aug 03, 2012 at 9:25 am

BMW always does things for advertising. Don’t think they do it out of their good heart and free. Its purely advertising.

• Who doesn’t know that? Tell me which car maker company (or any profit minded company) that only does charity and never has any form of advertisement? can you say our Mr .Tony Fernandez bought QPR football club becoz he only wants to feed the footballers?

• Badut Rempit aka Samseng Jalanan on Aug 03, 2012 at 11:33 am

So cute. MINI XXS.

• udean on Aug 03, 2012 at 11:59 am

if i’m not mistaken during Commonwealth game at m’sia, we use the same method right.. using RC car to bring back the javelin in the javelin throw game..

• 25kg? that’s equivalent to Unsalted Australian Butter.

• Black Dog on Aug 03, 2012 at 1:00 pm

Did Lotus take advantage as a British Heritage sports car in the London Olympics?

I bet they’re still engrossed in their own mess! They don’t have to try hard to lose!

• 1Malaysia on Aug 03, 2012 at 1:00 pm

comel… 10hp oooo :) … awesome :)

• armandd on Aug 03, 2012 at 2:01 pm

haha, nice and cute!

• 1000horses on Aug 03, 2012 at 6:32 pm

Can i buy 1???

• StephT on Aug 03, 2012 at 9:14 pm

I want one!

• Yes, we were the first to employ this method for the throwing events during the 1998 Commomwealth Games.