VIDEO: Toyota 86 does the dirty in the Phillippines

Ah, yes, it’s that car again. The Toyota 86 has certainly been making its rounds on the video front, with plenty attempting to capture the sports car’s winsome abilities in motion. One of the latest happens to be from our neighbours in the Philippines.

Commissioned by Toyota Motor Philippines, Area 86 is a short film shot during the Philippine launch of the car. Filmed at Subic International Airport, and directed by Sid Maderazo, the video showcases an ensemble of 86s doing what it does best: having fun. We enjoyed more than a modicum of what’s on the video when we had the car, but Danny was right – we should have taken a video of our glorious antics with it on the skidpad!

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Bello on Aug 28, 2012 at 1:54 pm

Found from internet that this piece of 86 is selling at PESO1,860,000 which is equal to RM137,269. Hmmm.. Must be saleable in Philippines.

• Jason on Aug 28, 2012 at 3:49 pm

Nice update. any news on when the winners of the contest gets to test drive this car? Thanks.

• AlexLkManuel on Aug 28, 2012 at 4:15 pm

Great vid………..ruin by a Auto Gearbox
    86 are meant to have a manual Gearbox, maybe thats why it could’t sustain long drifts

• Stop acting smart la…how you know they not using the manual in the video?from strong already can see the manual stick….
      Trying to stand out from post or what?pity you

• in Malaysia,the price really make people feel like ‘fucked’ by the gov

• main reason for GT86 selling at RM130k is simply because people in Philippine are relatively poor than our people in bolehland. hmm…Seems legit

• i'mDrivingPreve on Aug 28, 2012 at 11:41 pm

what about the american! they are driving camry 2.5 at rm80k.. american are rich,
      ur opinion arent legit.

• and their petrol price 3.776 per gallon or 1 dollar per liter. convert to rm, 1 liters petrol cost RM3.23…wah!!! malaysia petrol still cheaper…. even though US ranking 3rd in the world and malaysia ranking 27…
        Just A Reminder…Work Hard To Earn More Money… :)

• a.car.fan on Aug 29, 2012 at 1:10 pm

It makes no sense! Toyota is just trying to gain customers for the 86 worldwide so they priced it competitively from market-to-market not because The Philippines is a ‘poor’ country. And by the way, we, Filipinos, aren’t as POOR as you think!

• Your country’s import taxes for foreign cars are very high, that’s why. Don’t be stupid.

• a.car.fan on Aug 30, 2012 at 1:13 pm

Sir Fred, with all due respect, I still don’t get the logic that the 86 is salably priced here in the Philippines compared to Malaysian SRP and this was because the Philippines is a ‘poor’ country according to Sir 2012 (above). It makes no sense!

And FYI, import taxes for Japanese cars here in the Philippines, are relatively lower than that of the American and/or European car imports. Plus, the 86 uses a 2.0L engine which enjoys a non-100% of customs tax, etc. here. Import taxes for foreign cars are only very high (as you speak) for bigger cars using a 3.0L engine and/or larger. So tell me, how was I stupid?

• sHawTY on Sep 02, 2012 at 3:55 am

Dude, Fred is talking about Malaysian’s import tax lah, not Philippine’s import tax.

I’m a Malaysian & I’ve been to Phils twice, I know the car prices there are 100 times cheaper than in my own country.

Every country has it’s flaws.

I hate my country for uber high taxes.
          I love your country for uber low taxes.

I hate your country for weird and unmanaged traffic jams and horns sounding everywhere. Because to you, horns are normal.
          I love my country for managed traffic jams and horns only used when needed.
          Because to us, horns are annoying / rude.

• a.car.fan on Aug 30, 2012 at 1:22 pm

And may I add, how come other luxury car manufacturers as Audi, BMW, Mercedes-Benz and even Ferrari and Maserati are investing and marketing their cars here in the Philippines if we are ‘relatively poor than the people in Bolehland’? I just can’t accept Mr. 2012’s statement, it’s just wrong and it’s very insulting IMVHO.

• a.car.fan on Sep 02, 2012 at 7:57 pm

Ooh, my bad. Sorry Fred! I thought you were talking to me.

Thanks sHawTY for properly informing me. I can’t reply to your comment here so I posted a reply on what I’ve commented upon. You’re probably right though, actually, I also do hate the endless traffic jams and blowing of horns of the Filipino motorists everywhere. It is also annoying and rude for me.

P.S. I’m still pissed off by 2012’s comment.

Selamat sejahtera!

• Bell&Ross on Aug 29, 2012 at 9:21 pm

wow my maid can afford this car?