BMW Concept Active Tourer: Munich’s B-Class competitor is front wheel drive!

Here’s the BMW Concept Active Tourer, a car that’s pitched straight against the new Mercedes-Benz B-Class. And like the B-Class, it’s a front wheel drive car in a line-up that’s predominantly rear wheel drive. It’s finally happened – BMW has gone and created a front wheel drive car. It’s still a concept for now, but we’re betting the front wheel drive architecture will continue with the production car.

Not that their engineering team hasn’t already got a great deal of experience with front wheel drive models. MINI is predominantly front wheel drive, except for the new Countryman which has an all wheel drive system called ALL4. It’s just that before this, BMW was adamant that a BMW without xDrive should drive the rear wheels, even when front wheel drive made so much sense in that particular segment. Yes, I’m talking about the original 1-Series, which had a really cramped rear passenger area thanks to a huge transmission tunnel.

The new BMW Concept Active Tourer measures 4,350mm long, 1,834mm wide and 1,560mm tall. Wheelbase is 2,670mm. As a comparison, the new B-Class measures 4,359mm long, 1,786mm wide and 1,557mm tall, with a 2,699mm wheelbase.

After design disaster that is the 5-Series GT, BMW’s designers have redeemed themselves by proving that they indeed know how to design a non-SUV tall hatchback body. The Concept Active Tourer is a looker, and the exterior looks pretty much production ready. I’m expecting some tamer wheels, less concept-liek wing mirrors and less aggressive bumpers for the production car.

As for the interior, it’ll probably still have some taming to do, though I don’t doubt that the production interior is pretty much already finalised sitting somewhere in the BMW FIZ, if not close to being finalised. As always a concept car’s interior tends to look very complicated in photos so I recommend you watch the video above as it offers a flying camera tour of the interior – the design is easier to digest in motion.

There’s also a new “Cool Shade” panorama roof, which kinda sounds like Mercedes-Benz’s Magic Sky Control sunroof. The composite glass roof has Suspended Particle Device (SPD) technology. The occupants desired brightness or temperature effect can be created at the press of an electric button – either being darkened to the level of powerful sunglasses or raised to crystal clear brightness.

Occupants can achieve a special lighting effect by manually adding a large-area leaf structure design to the glass roof. Electrical impulses cause the molecular structure of the glass to change at continuously varying levels between light and dark according to preference. The play of light and shadow thus created highlights the sense of space, thereby generating a pleasantly atmospheric lighting effect on all seats.

A centrally located vertical metal track is integrated in the back of the front seats. This innovative clip-on track system allows folding tables offering a range of convenient adjustment options to be attached by means of a quick fastener, and additional storage bags can also be suspended.

Use of all common models of tablet computer is especially convenient from the rear seats. Tablets can be fixed to the clip-on track system in either portrait or landscape format.
Rear passengers in the BMW Concept Active Tourer can experience fascinating technology hands-on with the new iPad app “Seismic Surf”. “Seismic Surf” creates a game world in real time.

It is an exciting ecological racing game which draws on the acceleration figures, engine speed and other data supplied continuously by the BMW Concept Active Tourer. Each real-life driving situation is interpreted and used to generate an infinite variety of new challenges in the computer game.

The aim of the game is to collect as many points as possible along a virtual route and record the most efficient driving style. The driver can directly influence the level of difficulty. Anticipatory driving simplifies the game, while a sporty driving style creates a winding and more difficult virtual route in the game. Only perfect interaction between a fuel-efficient driver and a skilful player at the rear can maximise the point score and achieve a podium position in the BMW games universe.

The instrument cluster is a full 10.25 electronic display, instead of mechanical gauges. The familiar look with four circular instruments is still retained, but the use of extended Black Panel Technology gives the drive a whole new range of display options. For example, the screen shows the drive experience modes COMFORT, SPORT and ECO PRO with differing indicators and in distinctive colour schemes. The iDrive system also switches themes to match the drive mode.

The BMW Concept Active Tourer is a plug-in hybrid electric vehicle. A new three cylinder 1.5-litre petrol engine works with a synchronous electric motor. The motor is derived from the six cylinder 3.0 litre unit, basically half a 335i’s engine to over simplify things. We’ll get into more details on the engine in another story. In this car, it drives the front wheels. An electric motor is installed on the rear axle, and can power the car on its own in limited capacity. So I guess that it means the Concept Active Tourer transforms into a traditional rear wheel drive BMW only in EV mode! EV mode is about 30km when fully charged.

Peak torque of 200Nm is available from standing from the electric motor. The motor’s power isn’t mentioned, neither is the combustion engine’s standalone torque. Combined system output is 190 horsepower with no mention of combined torque. 0 to 100km/h acceleration is less than 8 seconds, while top speed is rated at around 200km/h. In spite of these impressive performance figures, the average fuel consumption is less than 2.5 litres per 100 kilometres, with a CO2 emissions level of less than 60 g/km.

Look after the jump for a full gallery of the new Concept Active Tourer.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Ramun on Sep 15, 2012 at 11:44 pm

Isn’t last time Beemer really against FF drivetrain? If i’m not mistaken

• I think this BMW’s B-Class competitor thing is just lame. Same goes to Audi’s crossover to compete with X6, BMW’s M3 sedan to compete with Audi RS4 and some other cars produced for a segment out of a manufacturer’s tradition. I know this is about marketing, and some of them like C63 AMG Coupe to compete with M3 coupe really doing well, but why don’t car manufacturer just stick to what they’ve been good at? BMW stick with their amazing M cars, Merc with high-powered AMG supersedans and Audi with the sedan with famous Quattro system.
      #just my 2 cents.

• municher on Sep 16, 2012 at 9:23 pm

i will buy this for my daughter’s birthday, if not i would buy her a B klasse merc

• afifi on Sep 16, 2012 at 12:22 am

im more surprised with the a-pillar design (small window). i think its the first from bmw.

• kingston on Sep 16, 2012 at 1:48 am

It’s not very special looking for a BMW,something’s not right with the proportion of it.And I’m sorry this is not a proper BMW,it’s just a car with high price tag because it has BMW badge.That is,if it were to be made.

• Looks promising :D

• Bell&Ross on Sep 16, 2012 at 8:51 am

really ungainly looks + fwd….meh

• RedBeanBun on Sep 16, 2012 at 9:06 am

this might lead the new design of high-tech feel and many touch sensor for the interior.

The iDrive control seems touch sensor, currently we need to push the control North East South West to select, but I think the finger sensor on top of the control button will do in the new model. (watch from some other BMW tech Youtube, I think intro in 7 series first)

B Class is a nice car, and this time, BMW is playing catch up…on the other hand, i would like to see Merc comes out an X1 comparison model..

• seancorr on Sep 16, 2012 at 10:07 am

Looks good to me on the outside, will wait to see how it looks on the inside. Hope BMW includes driver aids like the B Class with a decent engine line up!

• Unforgiven on Sep 16, 2012 at 11:12 am

Better looking than Benz B class…

• Sabahman on Sep 16, 2012 at 1:14 pm

Glass roof = very hot in Malaysia

• Jimmy on Sep 16, 2012 at 11:05 pm

If you are very rich, I am very certain that at least one of your many cars will have sunroof because you love it, same with convertible. In fact you want different kind of vehicles, eg S-class, X6, Fairlady, etc.
      BTW, this is much better looking than B-class. Unfortunately BMW chosed to go FWD for it.

• droll on Sep 16, 2012 at 3:19 pm

the proportions don’t look right. the kidney grille and lights look too big for the rest of the car.

• mizan on Sep 16, 2012 at 4:32 pm

lawa….

• Black Dog on Sep 16, 2012 at 6:03 pm

Much better looking and proportioned that other BMW cars, especially the X1, yilkes!

Cross Tourer, Cross Over, SUV, MPV…I feel they are slowly merging into one.

• venven81 on Sep 17, 2012 at 8:15 am

personally, i think that this is a nicer looking beemer than any other model lineup. well it’s a concept and we’ll never know whether this will be produced in future.

• the fully digital meter panel i saw once at proton’s power of 1 event in bukit jalil

looking forward to seeing that kind of panel in proton cars

• AhBeng on Sep 16, 2012 at 11:52 pm

Why the steering looks so weird? Looks like steering lorry maa.

• The glass roof really deserve the name Magic Sky but too bad Merc took it first….
    For looks however, i personally think B class looks slightly better b more elegant..but who knows the final production model may be still better looking than this…..as for FF…..hmm…well there’s always a first n hopefully it will prove critics wrong…..so now its FF, is the rear cabin floor flat?

• Should this is the look of current X3 rather than the piggy-looking one, the car is easily a hot seller!

• thequestion on Sep 17, 2012 at 1:28 pm

the front copying Peugeot 308, even BMW also out of idea nowaday

• the glass roof is too big, it’s not really suitable for malaysia’s hot weather. maybe for asian version, it has some cover from inside like naza citra