Hyundai Genesis Coupe by Cosworth is SEMA-bound

SEMA’s always one for the tuning specials, and in many instances the show has provided motor manufacturers with inspiration for their future models and ideas of the potential of their existing vehicles. This year’s show will see a Hyundai Genesis Coupe tuned by famed motorsport engineering company Cosworth on the Hyundai stand, called the Cosworth Genesis Racing Series.

The Brit boffins have fettled with the rear-wheel drive coupe’s 3.8 litre V6 to result in 389 hp at 6,400 rpm and 440 Nm of torque at 5,100 rpm, “all with daily driving civility.” Brakes and suspension have also been uprated, although the company hasn’t gone into specifics. New wheels, too.

Outside enhancements include a retina-bending satin-gloss blue finish, aero front splitter, gunmetal-finish lightweight racing wheels, integrated rear spoiler, and blackout rear diffuser; while the interior gets a race-like environment with special steering wheel, gear knob and two-tone race seats.

We actually like its understated, purposeful appearance – a Subaru BRZ and Toyota 86 challenger? Knowing the kind of over-the-top stuff that usually turns up at SEMA, this could serve as a welcome break at the Las Vegas Convention Center at the end of this month.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• why are they trying to look like from the same mother?

• Hyundai Awesome??? on Oct 03, 2012 at 2:03 pm

Sadly this car is slow..
      Driven the new 2L and 3.8L while in the States recently..
      engine cannot project the written on paper HP/NM power when driven on real world real road..
      the suspension sucks and brakes un reliable..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • TurboMan!!! on Oct 03, 2012 at 11:38 pm

Slow compared to what?

Some ppl also say 325i is slow even with >200hp. Its because the throttle is linear as opposed to jap cars, which opens 80 percent of throttle at 30 percent pedal input.

Thats why Sprintbooster and PBX are such hot item in the BMW community.

• Sprinter on Oct 04, 2012 at 3:03 pm

I travelled in a 1.8L elentra 2 wks ago, the bloody car rolled extensively and couldn’t stay in the lane doing 130km/hr in a gradual corner, thats just poor compared to any proton models or a myvi.

• Sam Loo on Oct 06, 2012 at 8:43 pm

New Elantra looks wide from the outside, but dem cramp in the inside.

And you are right about the bodyroll. I tot Corolla Altis was Sampan, but Elantra is more like a kayak

• some ppl say nissan GTR is slow also…..compared to bugatti.

• Norrafi on Oct 03, 2012 at 11:53 am

This is 1 nice car. go hyundai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
    • Sam Loo on Oct 06, 2012 at 2:59 pm

Please buy. 2 years on when you sell, drink lots of water coz you will need to replenish your body fluids to make tears

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • only sohai will sell his car in 1-2 yrs time. either that or the feller is a millionaire- money is no issue.

• yus selidik on Oct 03, 2012 at 12:02 pm

cool …and simple…neat design..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • veezo on Oct 03, 2012 at 12:02 pm

where are all Korean car lovers who slate of japanese cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • Sam Loo on Oct 06, 2012 at 8:46 pm

Most Korean Car lovers that have been stung by low resale value of their kimchis are now licking their wounds with tails tucked in between their legs.

Those kimchi lovers that are stuck with a cabbage now will defend their superiority in hope that some sorhai will buy it off them at a premium.

Dreams are dreams, but unfortunately, I have to tell you kimchi owners that you are in a nightmare

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • matlimmutu on Oct 03, 2012 at 12:04 pm

exterior design.. BORING..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • Kalun on Oct 03, 2012 at 7:16 pm

No boxer or rotary? Can’t beat Nissan “Godzilla” GTR at corners, doesn’t sound like a Lexus LFA, sub-level handling. Doesn’t accelerate like a Honda HSV?
    Not worth as an asian sport car. But family car, worth it.

This comment is not ignotant at all. For Need for Speed hardcore, most of them doesn’t choose korean car and preferred Japanese car instead. Because JDM cars has a lot of tuners.

• TurboMan!!! on Oct 03, 2012 at 11:40 pm

Even porsches cant beat godzilla in corners and doesn’t sound like LFA.

However i have to agree on JDM cars having more tuners than koreans.

• Alex Chan on Oct 03, 2012 at 8:21 pm

my superb trd tuned vios can easily eat this for breakfast…toyota maah

• kusochon on Oct 03, 2012 at 8:33 pm

lol now they copy the gtr front

• Lbird on Oct 03, 2012 at 10:32 pm

Stop copying will ya?

• Sam Loo on Oct 03, 2012 at 11:01 pm

No RV and zero character

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • TurboMan!!! on Oct 03, 2012 at 11:41 pm

Yawwwn

RV again ah. THe record is still broken

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • David D on Oct 04, 2012 at 9:47 am

Bro, seriously, this guy really deserves to be beaten up for his stubbornness when it has all but been broken. I mean, if we are all so obsessed about resale value, might as well buy a house or invest in cash growth schemes from banks or insurance companies!!!

• Sam Loo on Oct 04, 2012 at 10:15 pm

One more, time.

Korean Cars have ultra low RV. Its a proven fact

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
        • TurboMan!!! on Oct 05, 2012 at 2:37 am

“Sam Loo is an idiot” is also a proven fact.

But you don’t see anybody putting that fact across on every paultan post. Or maybe some1 should start. Then only u get the message on how obnoxious you are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
        • Sam Loo on Oct 05, 2012 at 9:09 pm

Turbo man has less than the intelligence of a guppy to realize that his denial will only cost him his hard earned money, and that of the Korean Car buyers that buy impulsively

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
          • David D on Oct 08, 2012 at 1:59 am

Sam, seriously, are you looking forward to be beaten up? The fact that you keep crowing over the same old rubbish when it has all been proven to be total trash, makes it the all disgusting.

Seriously, low-life bastards like you should be really beaten up for your stupidity. Not to say the Koreans are perfect, they have their own share of problems which i also have, but it’s two thumbs up to them for improving alot.

Just because you had a bad experience with your old Kia, which you even don’t bother to mention the exact model you had, makes it the more suspicious and really pissing us car olovers off with your same old shit off the wire record. Grow up, you pathetic man, or we’ll bash your comments until you’re totally gone. Sheesh. =_______=

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • Sam Loo on Oct 08, 2012 at 8:34 pm

Beaten up for telling the truth that hurts?

Go get a life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
          • David D on Oct 08, 2012 at 8:58 pm

No. Talking about old facts that are being replaced slowly with newer, more substantiated facts. Yes, the old Koreans have horrid resale value, but with the new batch of cars like the Forte and the newer generations of Koreans, that fact is slowly being dissipated as the resale value is getting more reasonable, rather than rock solid.

A Kia Forte 1.6SX, 2010 model, approx 50-60k kms is about 60k on the used market before negotiations, and that’s way past 50% of the value when new.

Prime example, told right here. Still want to crow over the same old rubbish that has been proven wrong in the past year?

Yeah, i welcome you to keep telling me to get a life, because it’s the ignorant, bastard child in you who needs a real lesson on arrogance and ignorance. And mind you, you’re just a kid in a adults’s body.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • Sam Loo on Oct 09, 2012 at 9:31 pm

Selling price is not equal trade in price.

Try calling on a used car salesman with a 2010 Forte for trade in. You will be lucky if he offers RM40k

• Alan Tan on Oct 04, 2012 at 1:44 am

It give me the feeling of Toyata 86 DNA inside

• cruzer on Oct 04, 2012 at 9:56 am

much better than all those shit from Toyota & Honda

• Sam Loo on Oct 06, 2012 at 8:47 pm

Pls buy one. One year later, used car fella will offer you at 50% off purchase price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • sam loo is a retarded feller that sells his car after using for 1 year.

• Sam Loo on Oct 11, 2012 at 12:58 am

S is obviously a kimchi owner shiverring in fear of high losses when he sells

• CK Foo on Oct 04, 2012 at 1:57 pm

i saw GT-R’s shadow

• way to copy toyobaru BRZ-FRS

looks like a total rip off. hyundai cant do anything original these days. stupid gooks