2014 Mercedes-Benz E-Class facelift headlamp teaser

Here’s looking at you, kid – from Mercedes-Benz comes this short teaser clip, which offers a peek at the facelifted-for-2014 E-Class‘ new headlamp design. It looks like the quad headlamp arrangement of the current-gen car is to be merged into two one-piece units, with LED ‘eyebrows’ creating the illusion that the headlamps are still separated.

Reports impart exterior changes in the grille, bumper and bonnet, with the rear mildly reworked. The sedan is also said to be ditching its rear ‘haunches’ – yes, those sculpted rear wing extensions. Elsewhere, new wheel designs are expected, as are an updated interior and new body colours.

As always, expect more specifics to trickle in closer to the expected January launch at the Detroit motor show. Until then, feel free to share your thoughts of the E-Class facelift’s new eyes in the comments section – do you like the way they ‘look?’

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Diamler on Nov 21, 2012 at 8:17 pm

better than VW. Benz for life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Terrible ! how came the original of E class 2 round eyes r gone and become 1 with 2 daytime running lights ?! Mercerdes looks like Korean cars this day…pls bring back German design !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 29
    • AudiMenz on Nov 21, 2012 at 11:41 pm

Why all cars keep copying Audi’s DRL designs & technology ?!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
  • akula on Nov 21, 2012 at 8:57 pm

Sorry…Merc design only suit for UNCLES

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 60
  • DArkerMarker on Nov 21, 2012 at 9:25 pm

Nice to see, nice to operate….once broken, may break wallet.

Anyway, big boss company car owner may not feel the pinch….

• I like the teaser more than the car. Too bad the Mercedes Benz logo towards the end spoilt the suspense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • crank on Nov 21, 2012 at 9:34 pm

Hopefully the rear design is changed drastically. In my opinion the E200 CGI looks really like an “old man’s “car compared to the 5 series and A6.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • lollipop on Nov 21, 2012 at 10:00 pm

iconic is gone…Double Headlight is iconic Of E-series ,now they use brilliance LED ‘eyebrows’ creating the illusion that the headlamps are still separated as pual say, Bold move

• Funniman on Nov 21, 2012 at 10:29 pm

Have you seen the E300 with exterior sports kit? Don’t play play.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Jimmy on Nov 21, 2012 at 11:27 pm

When can we get back the 2-pair round headlights?

• Felix Lee on Nov 22, 2012 at 1:46 am

I like the new look! I think it adds a cool factor to an already great car.

• If this is a facelift. it will be the fourth facelift for the current E-class. Why keep chasing over other designs instead of coming up with their own. Being a super luxury brand in the market.

• Funniman on Nov 22, 2012 at 9:01 am

The only thing I dun like the E300 is the hand gear at the steering wheel. Always forget that it is there.

• W212 E-class is actually a nice car except for the back light. well, it doesnt oni cater for uncles. Ppl who are in their 30s oso can have it. But E-class with Brabus body kit is just a bomb. There is one around my neighborhood and whenever i see it, i just drool..

• Robert on Nov 22, 2012 at 3:28 pm

I’m loving the look of the new headlights, I go gaga over full LED lights. Haha, but the current W212 is a good looking car especially in the E250 configuration, low stance and those dual exhausts. Fantastic.

• mirror mirror on Nov 22, 2012 at 9:05 pm

“The details are not the details. They make the design.” Wow, sounds very Zen to me. The new front lamps look very innovative.

• Guys, anyone can tel me why is the E250 has a new exhaust design of an E500? even E300 oso the same. Nowadays, I’ve seen many E250 with dual square exhaust tip rather than the initially launched single oval pipe. If E-coupe E250 has the same design then it will be nice.