AES – Putrajaya mulls holding back implementation

speedtrap-cam

The Automated Enforcement System (AES) has certainly had its share of action, directly and indirectly. Since September 23, when the system was implemented, the JPJ says it has issued nearly 300,000 summonses, and around 10,000 motorists have paid up their AES-related summonses.

Along the way, there has been interdiction – the four Pakatan Rakyat-led states have certainly been opposed to the implementation of the system, doing everything within their means to halt it from being fully operational. Vandalism has been evident too, with cameras in Perak and Selangor getting damaged or splashed with paint.

Now, more news has come about. The Malaysian Insider reports that Putrajaya is apparently considering deferring the implementation of the AES to avoid duplicating the police summons system that will continue to be in place.

Following the pilot phase where 14 cameras have been running since September, the Road Transport Department (JPJ) is set to roll out the RM700 million privatised system and its 831 cameras by end-2013, but the cops have said they will continue enforcement and put up mobile speed traps near the AES cameras, which of course would mean double the fun.

Apparently, giving motorists the double-bore treatment is seemingly too much (!). A source told the Insider that “the government is considering putting on hold the implementation of the AES due to the duplication of the summons system. That will cause hardship.” The source added that several Barisan Nasional lawmakers have also asked the government to stop the implementation until all views are considered.

In a Bernama report earlier this month, JPJ director-general Datuk Solah Mat Hassan said that the number of traffic offences dropped by three-quarters since the AES cameras came about. “We will not postpone our plan to implement the AES because it is a noble effort and in no way a punishment to motorists,” he was quoted as saying.

As for the police, they are set to continue maintaining speed traps alongside the AES to catch speeding motorists, Deputy Home Minister Datuk Wira Abu Seman Yusop told Parliament last month.

“Despite the introduction of the AES, the government has no intention to abolish the old system. The police will operate (speed trap) cameras, while the new system will be operated by the JPJ,” he said, maintaining that the use of AES cameras and police speed traps would bring down the nation’s accident rate by increasing awareness and the “perception of being caught.” Ah yes, the more, the merrier.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• My friend’s house was broken in yesterday. The government should spend the money to fight crime and improving the security of the neibourhood, instead of attempting to impose more “saman”.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 161 Thumb down 14
    • Well, the problem is solve crime doesn’t generate revenue but “saman” generate income. Guess which 1 that our G chose.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 5
    • an cua on Dec 18, 2012 at 3:01 pm

Dude, free money collection from civilian v.s spending more money to fight crime. Which one you choose ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 7
      • Kelvin on Dec 19, 2012 at 9:41 am

BN will choose collection, but we must make sure next year they don’t have the chance anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
        • Hameed Koyakuti on Dec 24, 2012 at 8:10 pm

Will make sure this will be the fall of the idiots…..

Once the idiots is dethroned, i really want to kick JPJ DG since he is double the idiots….

• Vote anything but BN on Dec 26, 2012 at 11:57 am

couldn’t agree more bro! this year will be the last year for them to plunder our rakyat money like there’s no tomorrow..!
          We will take back what’s ours..! and if really wanted to implement this AES – re-do it in more transparent way.. and the collection goes back to local municipal council.. not the greedy green eye JPJ!!

• idiot G on Dec 19, 2012 at 2:31 am

totally agree!!! crime now day is worse ,as rakyat Daylight scare Polis JPJ ,at Night Worry robbery thief.what for?!

• twincharger07 on Dec 19, 2012 at 12:52 pm

Dual fines?? Another “Malaysia Boleh” achievement. Our current government will suck us dry whenever they can when it comes to auto vehicles.

• That is the problem with people. Everybody wants other people to change for them but ownself dont want to change!

• RejimKejamGanas on Dec 23, 2012 at 12:18 am

What kind of change are you expecting people to do to reduce crime? Catch the hardcore criminals themselves?

Cakap bukan main pandai!

• vee-oh on Dec 18, 2012 at 2:33 pm

AES no problem to my kancil..it cannot even hit the 110kmh speed..well it can actually but will take 2 weeks to do that

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 6
    • Bad news kancil, some AES snap picture at 60kph and I believe kancil can reach 60kph quite fast.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 1
      • rear light on Dec 18, 2012 at 3:13 pm

there is also AES at 30kph..unless you drive a bicycle, you cannot escape at all.. bad news aaa?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 4
        • sorry some bicycle can speed more than 30km/h, still kena.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
          • LatukBandar on Dec 18, 2012 at 4:49 pm

Usain Bolt top speed is 44.7km/h…

poor usain bolt cannot come to Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 2
          • vee-oh on Dec 18, 2012 at 5:07 pm

aiya drive rotten kancil oso kena

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
          • then we walk lorr..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
          • Mou Mou Ren on Dec 18, 2012 at 5:44 pm

Ayo, I scare the snail also kena AES….. Huhuh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
          • hafiz arsyad on Dec 20, 2012 at 4:41 pm

semua komen kelakar. .lol

• coolguyz_26 on Dec 19, 2012 at 10:48 am

soon this AES will implement in recreation area. so u can’t jog more than 30km/h.

• MoFaz on Dec 18, 2012 at 2:55 pm

only Malaysian Insider, no other newspaper or portal reporting this, yet?… and i never read anywhere that the cops will put up mobile speed traps near the AES cameras side by side. yes the police said they will continue maintaining speed traps alongside the AES, but ‘alongside’ does not mean side by side. if i’m the minister, and has to choose between AES or police, i would choose AES for traffic and get more police do more crime prevention patrols…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 4
    • alldisc on Dec 18, 2012 at 3:49 pm

and the police should also be stationed at where ppl normally cut ques, or stop in yellow box.. or not stopping at pedestrian cross…

or at least the AES saman should apply to cars without ABS and ESP as they have even higher chances of collision when not enough distance to stop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
      • MoFaz on Dec 18, 2012 at 4:47 pm

i’ve heard a better idea, which doesn’t need taxpayers money to hire a traffic cop and catch such culprits.
        most people now have camera-phone, so let the passenger snap pictures of the cars which cut ques and not stopping at ped crossing, submit their pic to JPJ and get their rewards, just like Beta Tegap and Ates get from AES… even a mere RM16 per ‘approved’ pic will make people happier after some inconsiderate drivers make them angry…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
      • i_swear on Dec 18, 2012 at 5:49 pm

Don’t try to BS on cars without the ABS and ESP need to kena saman.

The G should saman those car company that come out the basic model car that without ABS and ESP?

As commercial business they can raise the fine to 5 to 10K per car each car that didn’t have these features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Hi MoFaz,

No need reporting on the news. This happened to me recently. The camera system between Bangi toll & Kajang toll snapped some cars going faster than 90kmh, then not 500m away under the overpass near Kajang toll, there’s a police man with his camera.

It’s not exactly side by side, but this is what the article meant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
      • idiot G on Dec 19, 2012 at 2:35 am

juz beware , many motorist after AES thought it safe after it then speed up, but many police or JPJ await or ambush a front, we call it Trap of Trap

• That does not cause any problem. This is an age of computers. An extremely simple solution that any programmer can implement is : For a given time period, put all offending car numbers from the traffic police in file tp.txt, put al offending car numbers from AES in file aes.txt, then do “sort tp.txt > tp.sorted.txt”, “sort aes.txt > aes.sorted.txt”, “comm tp.sorted.txt aes.sorted.txt”. Column 1 in the comm output shows all the car numbers to be taken are of by the traffic police. AES takes care of those in the original aes.txt.

• izzie on Dec 28, 2012 at 3:07 pm

well.. before you can do that, PDRM and JPJ first need to talk to each other and SHARE their data. Do they talk to each other? Then, if and only if they do talk and share data, after doing your routine, who are going to get to issue the saman (read: get the monies).

In short, dealing with computers and files are easy, but dealing with humans with ego and self-interest is not.

• It is very easy to make the traffic police and JPJ coordinate their summon issuance. We should not make such a thing sound difficult. Even ad-hoc email communications works. Summons are issued by the respective organization that take care of the offending car numbers, that same as what has been done so far.

I would say this matter has nothing to do with ego or self-interest. The traffic police raised a valid concern, which is drivers speeding immediately after passing a AES speed camera whose location is static and publicly-known. So, the traffic police deploys mobile speed cameras nearby to discourage the exploitation of the loophole. What the deployment may cause is the possibility of double issuance of summons for the same vehicle at almost the same location. But as described earlier, this is very easy to solve.

• Henry on Dec 18, 2012 at 3:01 pm

I will believe when it happens. But since it is such a great money I doubt it will ever happen. Another election ploy.

Facts:
    274,000 summons issued since AES was implemented on Sept 23. Pilot stage, only 14 cameras.
    Multiply by RM300 each and it totals 82 million. 10,000 already paid.
    Imagine what kind of money they will net when the 831 cameras are fully implemented.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
    • carlos on Dec 18, 2012 at 4:36 pm

With so much summonses will the private co will get their money back faster and handover the system to the government earlier?? Maybe, maybe not. The concessionaire payment are capped at certain amount, so more summon does not mean more profit. Their income are fixed payment based on the financing cost they have spent in advance without the gov paying upfront.
      One thing for sure, traffic offenses has dropped drastically. MAybe we need more cameras like singapore and other countries. more on traffic lights. And yes, when there is a 30 kmh speed limit, it does mean 30kmh. Especially places like in front of my house, where cars can roll out of driveway safely and schools

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
      • are u sure that is a fixed amount of return?..from what i heard is opposite.. and 30km/h is ridiculous, if u drove along kampung road, the traffic is slow enough, how if AES is there, some ppl drive 30km/h all the way(day/night), cant imaging. usually sch operates at day, but i doubt the 30 km/h AES will stop operates at night.

• carlos on Dec 18, 2012 at 6:33 pm

You heard from where? Do you understand what PFI is all about? Say the summons were not enough for the scheduled repayment, Government will have to fork out money from somewhere.
          Have you ever wondered why 30kmh? Studies shown chances of survival for pedestrian related accident is very unlikely for speed above 30kmh? go try yourselves. It is not about what speed a car can go, it is about pedestrian and they get knock down everyday, you selfish drivers!!. Next time you knock someone dead, you would have wished you had observed your speed. My brother got knocked down when he was 5yo and he got very lucky.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
          • alldisc on Dec 19, 2012 at 12:11 pm

i am with carlos. i am shocked to see many people do not know the effect of car collision with pedestrian. look at the number of thumbsdown.

paul tan can do better at educating these ppl.

• _xXx_ on Dec 18, 2012 at 7:15 pm

300k summonces issued is some kind of achievement or what? I thought I should hear something like…no of fatal accidents has dropped by so and so percentage since the implementation of AES.

• ahchai69 on Dec 18, 2012 at 3:06 pm

Those paid fine will get refund?

• jolly_idiot on Dec 18, 2012 at 3:22 pm

Haha. Joke of the day. You think G will refund?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • an cua on Dec 18, 2012 at 5:11 pm

Yes can when they are begging for your vote. Give free $$ to buy smartphone some more.

• For me, AES system is good,.. and I repeat, THE SYSTEM. Put aside all the politics aside and look at the system itself, it tells you where the camera are at.
    Most European countries had this system installed on where they think most accidents due to speeding occured.
    I think AES is more in preventing accidents due to speeding rather than punishing like the current system where police hide in bushes. If you got ticket from AES then its all your fault as they had signs telling you where those cameras at.

So I vote for AES and please scrap the “hiding policeman with camera” system. Send them to do more important police work like TY said, fight crime and improving the safety of our nation.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 5
    • rear light on Dec 18, 2012 at 3:17 pm

AES is good.. Privatisation of it is a no-no..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 2
    • agreed…but put the camera where it belongs….not at some open wide 4-lane-road where accident never happened, just for the purpose of entrapment e.g. the one heading to kajang/bangi area.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 7
      • even 4 lane road have speed limit so you need to obey that. if not you got snap…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
        • Stupid speed limit on Dec 18, 2012 at 5:42 pm

Tat particular stretch speed limit is 80kmh. Isn’t tat a SKIM CEKIK RAKYAT???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • gOOsh on Dec 18, 2012 at 4:17 pm

betul la bro… i just got the ticket last month… need to pay RM300 arrr…

• mustafa on Dec 18, 2012 at 4:38 pm

enough signs…but wrongly placed…they should put the signage so that those in he fast lane can see easily …currently the signage is on the left, so most will miss the signage…

• don’t u get it… it supposedly to be like that.. if everyone can see it, ppl will reduce the speed.. when reduce the speed then no summons, NO summons No money maa..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • I oso missed the speed limit sign on sg besi kena flashed by AES, limit 80 kmh, damn

• Megane on Dec 18, 2012 at 5:04 pm

For you info “hiding policemen with camera” are called traffic police and they do not fight crime bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • _xXx_ on Dec 19, 2012 at 5:07 am

THEN WHY DO THEY CARRY GUN FOR? WHY CALL THEM POLICE? MIGHT AS WELL CALL THEM TRAFFIC WARDENS? AND CARRY BATON IS GOOD ENOUGH THEN!

• Predator on Dec 18, 2012 at 6:48 pm

AES is good but the location and speed limit is wrong. Besides traffic police hide under the bridge 500m “side by side” without the mention of their own sign. Their are sharing the same damn sign!!!

• Maybe u paid too much attention to the back of a Myvi which just overtook your car. Too many stickers..hahaha.

• sean zx-10 on Dec 19, 2012 at 12:15 pm

I think JPJ should go to conference or do some pHd journals. topic is…which is more dangerous to drivers –> to drive below 120kmh or above on 3 lanes very wide ruler straight highways.
      sometimes I feel Malaysians are dummies. not even a winding dummy. accepts everything even the case study/solutions were 100years back.
      let see:
      facts: roads are getting straighter.
      : roads are getting wider
      : roads are in highway design not trunk roads
      designs.
      : cars are better built
      : driving 100kmh even in small cars feels like
      cruising at 50kmh in today’s cars.
      : malaysians are getting tired with stress,
      low incomes, high cost living, traffic jams,
      etc thus resulting inability to focus in
      driving.
      : malaysians need to shorten travel time
      because of traffic and a lot of thing to do.
      : malaysia have the highest luxury cars
      concentration in South east asia.

solution by JPJ…drive 80kmh
      Conclusion …. malaysian drivers accident because drowsy and bored and lost focus. kita semua bodoh

• Pandamonium on Jan 02, 2013 at 12:58 pm

since it’s about focus, don’t know why JPJ thinks it’ll be a good solution by having drivers split focus on both the surroundings AND the speedometer on a freaking straight & wide highways…
        with that decades old speed limit which has not been revised before against the ever-improving performance of vehicles in the road, a great solution it is (NOT)…
        why not instead just enforce a speed limiter on vehicles allowed on the road? regardless of brands/models/types… since any vehicle on the road that moves above 110kmph is illegal…
        definitely saves more rakyat’s money & increase authorities’ productivity…
        instead of safety campaigns aimed at drivers, shift bit more focus on pedestrians so they know not to “jalan lenggang-lengkok” when on the middle of the road cause their “flesh-bumpers” ain’t really that hard lo…
        most of them times it takes 2-hands to clap…

• yellowschoolbus on Dec 21, 2012 at 5:00 pm

Finally, someone with sense. I dunno why most of you are against the system. They tell you where they are. Just follow the damn rule and you’ll be fine. People die from accidents, you get angry, now traffic offenders lessen, also angry. C’mon, seriously, malaysians can be mindless on the road. Hit you in the pocket is the only way to save your life. If you’re within the rules…why complain? PFFFTTT!!!

• AES is better than saman ekor polis. At least there is a warning board.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • comrade on Dec 18, 2012 at 3:44 pm

speeding starts after passing the AES camera… but last time after slim river AES about 1-2km I saw traffic policeman under the overhead bridge with speed radar… luckily did not speeding during that time

• Roger Tan on Dec 18, 2012 at 3:33 pm

Bullcrap

That’s the most pathetic excuse that they could’ve come up with the chicken out. They think they use the “concern for the people” excuse will avoid admitting that they’re giving in to public (aka election) pressure.

Isn’t the obvious solution simpler? If they’re concerned about duplicating summons, just reassign the mobile units the places where the static units don’t cover!

Also, with more areas covered by the automated system, couldn’t the use their manpower more efficiently elsewhere? The last I heard they claim to have “insufficient manpower” to man intersections during rush hour, or to clamp down on queue cutting/illegal parking/illegal u-turns.

Even if the traffic division has enough manpower, they should reassign the resources to combat crime!

The thing that makes my blood boil is that the excuses given are so blatantly bullshit, as if they’re trying to con kindergarten kids!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
    • Jilbaber on Dec 18, 2012 at 4:04 pm

I agreed with 1000% ! In every aspect, managing resources is what our Gov seem fail to do

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • carlos on Dec 18, 2012 at 6:41 pm

The news was misleading – “alongside” does not mean literally side by side. It is really stupid to do that.
      Just like saying: “besides” PDRM speed trap operation, AES will be operated by JPJ ( on different location of course). It does not mean AES will be installed right by the side of PDRM speed trap. Ada faham ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
      • Fed up on Dec 19, 2012 at 10:53 am

Nobody said that the cameras are “side by side”. what we are saying here is if you are going to implement it alongside, then spread out the resources so things like “hidden camera, crouching policeman” does not happen. Instead of using it as a tool to trap the rakyat, the policeman could be doing something else like managing traffic, saman those cut queues and what not. Now the police are complaining that they do not have resources yet they can hide after AES cameras? isnt that wasting resources and typical malaysia mis management?

• sepul on Dec 18, 2012 at 3:34 pm

the problem is, who is actually the foundation that should be in control of the traffic system; polis trafik or JPJ? then there is SPAD.. apa kes ni

too many people controlling the same thing, and both have their own saman system on us motorist.. terrible

• SPAD for public transportation nothing to do with you unless your owned the express bus company…
      other country also like that that got police then they DOT..

• rickyll on Dec 18, 2012 at 3:45 pm

The police is certainly not going to back out from the summoning exercises. It’s just too lucrative for giving up such big “lubang”. Even in Penang, the traffic police is competing with city council enforcement officers in issuing summonses for wrongful parkings in non-parking zones. For the Penangites, its a blessing to get summons from the council because the penalty is just RM30 and you get 50% discount if you pay up within two weeks. For summonses from ‘Police Di Raja Malaysia’, sorrylah, it will cost you at least RM100.

• Way to go AES, snap all the speed demon n samseng jalan raya, at least causing their driver license suspended if not paying summonses.. Shud be ok for snail driver like me n obedient one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 37
    • Snail Driver Lagi Dangerous on Dec 18, 2012 at 5:48 pm

Snail driver at right lane also dangerous and causing accidents.

Have considerations, stay at the left lane. If others wan to drive fast then let them do it. DUN BUTTHURT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
      • alldisc on Dec 19, 2012 at 11:38 am

dont call ppl driving at 110 on right lane as snail, u feel they are slow when u drive at 140. the fact is they driving at legal speed, they are not road hogging.

be considerate!!

• AntiDriverBodoh on Dec 30, 2012 at 10:02 pm

haaa this is the comment ive always been wanting to shoot at..

Abang, the signage says IKUT KIRI JIKA TIDAK MEMOTONG. So, if you are not memotong, regardless of how holier your speed obeying the rule, that does not permit you to continue driving on the right lane.
          if you do so, you will definitely be hogging others, regardless how you want to put it.

None of us common drivers has the right to indicate how fast the other drivers should go, but your last line in the comment should also sound; be considerate to those who want to go fast, in other words, who wants to potong your car.

So, be considerate too, Ok?

• wuttaheck on Dec 19, 2012 at 12:05 pm

Snail driver cruising on the fast lane like nobody’s business…causing traffic jam and whatnot. Min speed limit should be implemented as well.

• apalagibising on Dec 18, 2012 at 4:10 pm

The police approach is better, since it uses human approach, whereby if you were caught speeding, they will ask why, and emergency cases will be let go with some advice. AES means NO MERCY, RM 300/- maximum. So, better buy a Kancil.

• MoFaz on Dec 18, 2012 at 4:36 pm

you can still explain in court if you have valid reason why you had to drive fast during that time… some people were let off with ‘warning’ after they explained in court..
      http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2012/12/11/nation/12441586&sec=nation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • an cua on Dec 18, 2012 at 5:17 pm

Why make is so complicated, take the money build a better public transport system or infrastructure, but guess what, our government themselves always not sure where all the money went to. My best bet is ada hantu curi.

• or better use public transport…

• mustafa on Dec 18, 2012 at 4:42 pm

I believe most accident on the hiway is not cause by speeding but the difference between the spped of one vehicle over the other….so beside having maximum spped limit on the hiway we should also have minimum speed limit….

• mystvearn on Dec 18, 2012 at 4:44 pm

It is still about the money. If the gomen was not under big pressure, they will just let police and AES do their own work. Then maybe some sort of vehicle GPS to monitor speed. Once saman AES and police same area – RM600. No need GST, this one free money.

• polo saga on Dec 18, 2012 at 5:06 pm

i dun think government wil defer the implementation of this AES (Automated Earning System) since this the fastest cash machine benefits BN n its cronies. after this coming general election, AES will be rolled out more in time, and we rakyat will be paying all the bills despite whatever hardship is doubled.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • carlos on Dec 18, 2012 at 6:50 pm

fast cash – compliments of traffic offenders – Not rakyat OK. Be clear on that, don’t twist.
      Just like any other law breakers – drug traffickers, conmen, corrupt men, rapist, sodomite, pirates etc etc. they pay fine or go to jail .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • I didn’t hear AES snap Motorcycle!!

• Sazali on Dec 18, 2012 at 5:15 pm

No point driving holiday in Malaysia. Fly to Hatyai cheaper

• MatLimMutu on Dec 18, 2012 at 5:15 pm

why so afraid of this AES? drive ikut speed limit la, all will b ok maaa.. many Malaysian drivers r so f@#king rude, drive so fast n dangerous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 34
    • disagree with u, driving at low speed at 2nd & 3rd lane also rude… driving slowly becoz of texting & on the phone also rude… so, slow also dangerous to other road user…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • MatLimMutu on Dec 18, 2012 at 6:47 pm

agree with u on the slow also dangerous. drive so slow/fast n dangerous.

• U mean drive 110km/h at fast lane is slow, is it???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • I only hope for lower crime rate here. Not crazy blood sucking system. It’s always good thing new system to control the motorist. But never a good system to lower down the crime rate. Polis sekarang malas tangkap dah… biar camera tangkap. Jom, minum kopi dulu…

• Ok, u belanja.. ;)

• Queen on Dec 18, 2012 at 5:49 pm

This is only 14 cameras! If they go ahead with 831 cameras…..driving will be like walking in a mine-field. You don’t know when they gonna get you but they will get you.

HOI!…TAKDE JALAN LAIN CARI MAKAN KE?

• Let me try to enlighten the mood
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6tOI5ZZEQfs

• Megane on Dec 18, 2012 at 9:54 pm

Thanks AVH for propping up our mood …i was laughing my head off , which episode year was this ?

• kakipukul on Dec 18, 2012 at 6:14 pm

Why not incorporate a feature in Nissan GTR in all cars and the govt subsidize the costs? A GPS-based system that tracks the speed limit in a particular area and prevent the car from exceeding it.

• JembePower on Dec 18, 2012 at 6:23 pm

JPJ is working on their own, the police is also doing their thing…at the same spot with the AES cameras…the government can’t seem to control this two departments….what in the world is going on?

ahhh….Welcome to Malaysia! This is TRULY ASIA :)

• maybe JPJ and police is not in one ‘geng’?

to those working in law enforcement maybe can explain this

• MatLimMutu on Dec 18, 2012 at 6:54 pm

or maybe the saman rate is according to your income. the rich pay more.

• Dun like AES on Dec 18, 2012 at 7:01 pm

Should put such good HD camera at the high crime area to catch robber and so on…. what a waste rakyat money..

they dun have the basic protection now they want sucks rakyat money..

Rakyat bayar didahulukan……
    Rakyat Dirompak juga didahulukan

• We used to worry the robber attack us at night.
    Now even broad day we might get rob by…gomen
    AES

• longkai on Dec 18, 2012 at 7:08 pm

hahaha..speeding no longer cheap thrill for heavy footer. better do bungee jumping or absailing. no risk to other ppl summore..hahahaha.

• people's suara on Dec 18, 2012 at 7:13 pm

If the AES is created for noble causes such as saving people lives by reducing speed. I am wondering why the AES are not install at the LDP highway which was incidentally noted as the most accident prone highway in Klang Valley.

Hmmm…. Maybe LDP always jam and not viable (profitable) to install there?

The AES is for saving lives? You better think again.

• bagero on Dec 18, 2012 at 7:45 pm

IF ur human.. have heart!! I beg you watch this.. For yourself, ur beloved kids, family or anybody u love..:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W4-UfcfMwRU

ps: else there’s something morally wrong with u.. :(

• Speedster on Dec 18, 2012 at 7:56 pm

Should enforce minimum speed limit on the right lane la. . Those buses n lorries are the biggest cause of accident. . Slow n like to lane hog. . Dont care about other ppl. . Especially the old wooden lorries n small lorries

• I always try my best according to speed limit to my known, so it is ok for AES, go for it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • bagero on Dec 18, 2012 at 8:03 pm

It could happen to anybody.. it might be u.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H5EyOnccJLg

• So sad. 1 thumbs down and only 4 (including me) thumbs up?

Is this how we have become???

• sean zx-10 on Dec 21, 2012 at 8:03 pm

dei…of course la must limit the speed in housing area…the video totally pointless for huge highways. ok! dont be too generic will you?

• theknight on Dec 23, 2012 at 12:50 am

small girls fault.never look right and before crossing the road.

• think on Dec 18, 2012 at 8:44 pm

why do the goverment is acting so stupid .really stupid ..do the top management at the jpj is brainless. first of all i do not oppose the aes system .can anyone eat without preparing the food .this is a problem with road and vehicles .first of all look at our road .It is totally damaged .THose ministers cars who escorted by police officers ,pls come awake .DOnt simply make a law when you can’t find the root problem .REpair all the roads .maintain it’s quality 95% all the time .Do not talk about aes ,speed traps and saying that speed is the main reason for accidents when you cant maintain a good road .think……….

• darker marker on Dec 18, 2012 at 9:49 pm

We got so many unresolved transportation problems in hand……year in, year out. Never resolved.

Examples:

Kopi o license drivers.
    Bangla Indon driving lori hantu
    Bus drivers high on drugs. Accident involoving innocent. Any action taken?
    Lorry overspeed and overload.
    heavy vehicle polluting exhaust
    Mat Rempit
    Car theft every where. Day and night
    Road bullies
    Road pot holes everywhere
    Road flooding during rain
    Ultra uneffective and unefficient public transport
    Over charging taxi drivers, Impolite drivers
    Monopolized taxi business at KLIA
    More than often defective traffic lights system. Trafic light gone crazy after rain.
    Road hogging.
    Illegal parking everywhere, etc.
    Illegal waiting, loading unloading, etc.

So many problem that the Govt FAILED miserably to solve….and now introducing have the cheek to introduce AES??

You know who to vote in the coming GE….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • keluangman on Dec 18, 2012 at 10:15 pm

this AES…u know whose “golden pole” retirement benefits and trust fund this is project lah! Further milking the rakyat somemore. I say this and this again, traffic light junction YES, 80kmh 3 lane highway NO!

• Expatriate VN on Dec 18, 2012 at 10:26 pm

Look like AES enroached into mata-mata cari makan territory. No wonder both side of elephant will fight for the turf but the tikus (i.e. the road user) died at the center (need to pay saman to both party).

Maybe someone from the cop lobby for deferment of AES, that is good to road users!

• The most pathetic about AES is the said system failed to address MOTORCYCLE since the registration numbers located in the side of mudguard instead in the front (like car). Death accidents contributed about 60% by motorbikes.

2. The implementation was kick off with 14 areas in Selangor, WP and Perak to eliminate police graft BUT the theory was rejected by dual fines, by both PDRM and JPJ instead.

Sleepy A-GC do nothing but today they only realized that they must do something. Perhaps, put on hold after GE13.

• sean zx-10 on Dec 21, 2012 at 8:11 pm

do your studies again…motorcycle fatality major percentage contributed by dumb ass car drivers like you. factors that make those bikers hit the cars and died was bcoz bunch of idiots like you dont give signal when turning..emergency brake with no apparent reason what so ever. drive crazy in rain and splash to the motorcycle beside you..overtaking on emergency lanes in traffic WITHOUT giving signal…run the red light..

not to forget that sick full of potholes and nails on motorcycle lanes. use your head before commenting yeah.

• RejimKejamGanas on Dec 23, 2012 at 12:46 am

Please lah, motorcyclists driving between lanes and cutting in and out of traffic as though they are all pizza delivery boys had it coming.

It cuts both ways!

• abu, ah chong & muthu on Dec 19, 2012 at 12:57 am

Have any one noticed that lately, express busses and lories are flying on the highway? Especially after aes? Thanks to 10 tears of research our gov has done before implementing aes. Aes will only strike if you drive above the spped limit of 118kmh. The official spped limet oor busses is 90km on hway. So now the gov has officially upped the speed limit fir busses and lories to
    118kmh. How brilliently 700 million of our money spent.

• gOOsh on Dec 19, 2012 at 8:22 am

hehehehe… with current updates, i can hold my RM300 for a while… boleh la buat belanja anak sekolah next month…

• i am driving weekly from kl to Penang and realized that speeding a little above 120 for a car is the not the main factor for an accident. Sometimes need to be a little bit faster to get rid of the speeding lorries that seem dangerous. I think attitude, car condition and road condition. ( small emergency lanes are too small for a car and “worse” for a lorry)and should be looked into seriously. So many buses speeding and overtake on the left side of the highway and even speeding like a bullet at certain places. The speed limits are also a kind of obsolete for some roads that was used to 1 or 2 be lanes long time ago and funny too.

• Expatriate VN on Dec 19, 2012 at 9:48 am

Most of other countries in the world have Traffic Police to handle road safety covered road block, speed limits, facilitate traffic flow, vehicle registration, issuing of vehicle number plate, speed traps etc.

But in this Bolehland, semuanya OK! Create more rules and regulations and divide into more departments, so that create more jobs in the civil service, together with extend “long-arm” to crony the unending gravy train: –

1) PDRM Traffic division mainly enforce traffic laws.

2) JPJ mainly for vehicle registration and issuing of number plate.

3) PUSPAKOM for vehicle inspections.

4) And now AES by cronies companies to korek-korek further wang rakyat!

WTF, there are still blind supporters up there support this cronies venture treating traffic offenders (i.e. read as over-the-speed)as their cash-cow.

Remember that majority of road fatality is motorcyclist! Can AES reduce death for motorcyclist???? They know that most of vehicle owner can afford RM 300 fine (kira-kira on the spot reduce to RM 50), but Mat Rempit motorcyclist will feel the pain even ask to pay kira-kira RM 50.00.

• Expatriate VN on Dec 19, 2012 at 11:27 am

5) One more thing to mention is allowed any Ah Beng car or motor shops to make car/motorbike number plate, instead of steel base with alphanumeric stamping on it! This should be the privilege of Traffic Police so that to reduce false plate number use by robber on car or motorbike to do their robbing!

• make_me_a_sandwich on Dec 19, 2012 at 9:55 am

haiya just abolish the present gomen la, we all can live happily ever after

• Hadi75 on Dec 19, 2012 at 10:30 am

Got nothing against AES…just got issues where they placing the camera and the speed limit….also the camera should be bright in color so that motorist can see it from afar….and the signboard…

• dmake on Dec 19, 2012 at 12:48 pm

AES seem like a fast and fat cash-cow rather than an implementation purely for road safety. The implementation of AES haphazardly, lack of transparency made it more suspicious in the eyes of the Rakyat.

Whatever and whenever possible, the govt are REALLY getting desperate to milk money out from the rakyat….

• mayonis on Dec 20, 2012 at 12:08 pm

last few month ago i got one speed trap summon which state that i speeding at bangi ( below kajang toll flyover). then i realize that near kajang tol, speed limit for 4 lane highway at that highway is just 80km/h. and my speed at that time ( capture by police camera) is 86km/h. i feel very regret that i should speed up at 186km/h with my 1.0 cc car so when i pay the summon, i can smile and can proudly show to my friend about my f1 style driving.

now since AES is implement…i start driving 60-80km/h only at any road with my 10 year old car.
    thank to AES, you make me realize that speeding will kill my pocket. i dont care other people mad at me when i drive slow. cause i want to save my pocket for my family instead pay for nothing.for other driver, you hantam my belakang car. you have to paid. :)

• kucipan on Dec 21, 2012 at 7:10 am

the solution is,please vote for other government they are more concern about rakyats prob

• ChRiS on Dec 21, 2012 at 7:05 pm

This is a 700 million project, not kids building sand castle at beach. (Simply start and delay/stop) Really don’t understand how they do their planning, feasibility study and etc.

The only thing good is, its implementation at Traffic Light can really save life.

• Kena AES at 80kmh highway, BN, u just got a vely vely angry voter now

• Pandamonium on Jan 02, 2013 at 1:00 pm

since it’s about focus, don’t know why JPJ thinks it’ll be a good solution by having drivers split focus on both the surroundings AND the speedometer on a freaking straight & wide highways…
    with that decades old speed limit which has not been revised before against the ever-improving performance of vehicles in the road, a great solution it is (NOT)…
    why not instead just enforce a speed limiter on vehicles allowed on the road? regardless of brands/models/types… since any vehicle on the road that moves above 110kmph is illegal…
    definitely saves more rakyat’s money & increase authorities’ productivity…
    instead of safety campaigns aimed at drivers, shift bit more focus on pedestrians so they know not to “jalan lenggang-lengkok” when on the middle of the road cause their “flesh-bumpers” ain’t really that hard lo…
    most of them times it takes 2-hands to clap…

• idiotic act by bunch of crooks,playing with toys like this, what the used ? accident isnt caused by speeding driver, mostly caused by those kampung drivers which drives once in blue moon, no insulting ! salesman from north malaysia until the west shall be consult by AES group to get their views. stupid action slow down everything in the country,what a joke, why normal days accident is less than balik kampung time? what a majestic country run by kiddy. we need to be fast and efficient to earn a living, and of course safety first, drivers on the road shall be educate with better knowledge is the most important thing, PANDU KIRI KECUALI MEMOTONG,then frustration for other driver will not be there, therefore no speeding meant.
    P.S. imagine yourself driving 110 in a proton in malaysian highway ! will this fall asleep? will that cause accident? harmful to EARS? everyone driving a continental car will be best to against death poll, instead of cars from corrupted manufacturer ! what a joke which is the same as inventing virus and then create another antivirus to counter.