UMW Toyota achieves all-time record sales in 2012

Datuk-Ismet-Suki

2012 was a very fruitful year for auto brands, and non-national car segment leader Toyota was among the gainers. At a recent media appreciation event, UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) announced that it achieved record sales in 2012, and currently commands a market share of around 17%.

“Last year has been a memorable year and it was a year that UMWT is proud of. We closed the year with an all-time high sales record close to 106,600 units, out of which close to 1,500 units came from Lexus sales with a total market share of about 17% despite the challenging market condition,” said Datuk Ismet Suki, president of UMWT.

“Our two top models in terms of sales are the Vios and Hilux representing almost 30% and 27% respectively of total sales for last year. Despite the many product launches last year, we do anticipate this year to be another challenging year for us at UMW Toyota Motor,” he added.

In the pic above, Datuk Ismet Suki (left) is seen introducing UMWT’s new executive director, Masato Kuriyama and Senior Coordinator, Wataru Yoshimura to members of the press.

This year, UMWT is aiming to upgrade most of its facilities to be full-fledged 3S centres. Currently, the brand has 92 sales and after sales outlets including dealers across the country.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• vincent on Jan 21, 2013 at 12:13 pm

Only in Bolehland, where Toyota is seen as the ‘best’ car in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 27
    • Expatriate VN on Jan 21, 2013 at 12:40 pm

Only in Bolehland, where Proton is seen as the “jaguh kampung” car in the locally!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 26
    • Sam Loo on Jan 21, 2013 at 12:44 pm

UMW is losing market share with the Camry. Nobody is buying the Camry because they have realised that UMW has shortchanged thm and taken out the most basic important safety feature – the ESP. This alone can and will cause your life. It is as good as driving without safety belts.

Buyers have realised that UMW increased their prices to RM180,000, near BMW prices but taken out this safety feature just to safe on cost and compromise on safety.

Yes sales have increased but that is with the Hilux and Vios crowd, many of whom don’t know about the ESP. Infact in overseas ESP is compulsory. Yes Compulsory. So, the VIOS not having ESP itself makes no sense as the car is about RM80,000. Hyundai Elantra also got ESP at RM90,000 and we laugh at the Koreans.

Do not believe me how important ESP is, read this excellent write up by Paul Tan. Once you read this, you will know how you are being conned by UMW.

http://paultan.org/2012/06/27/esp-stability-control-is-a-must-malaysian-motorists-deserve-better-active-safety-in-their-cars/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 17
      • The Camry is a woefully disappointing product, the problem isn’t the fact that it has no VSC, but the fact that it was omitted from the previous ‘handsome’ Camry. It’s not surprising there wast a mention of the Camry in the statement above.

But we have to admit, if you are going to compare differences, RM10 k is a lot of cash for an Elantra upgrade for the most of us. Furthermore, I like to point out that the Vios is an aging product, its smiley face has been smiling since 07, almost 6 yrs , and it was launch from a time that its safety spec is considered decent. The new Vios will be out either this or the next year, if that car has the same or worse safety spec, that part of your argument is valid.

I would usually blame on our road safety standard, the Guv should require all cars for sale to have a standard of 6 bags and VSC like America( think America require ten airbags)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
      • Sam Loo on Jan 21, 2013 at 4:44 pm

Fake Fella

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
      • kadajawi on Jan 21, 2013 at 4:55 pm

As far as I know ESP is not compulsory in Germany. At least not by law. It is not necessarily, customers usually just avoid cars without or tick that option themselves. But Malaysians over and over proof that safety doesn’t matter. Cars that have ESP sell much worse than similarly priced same segment or lower segment cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
        • Jimmy on Jan 21, 2013 at 5:47 pm

Kadajawi, as in previous posts, usually sounds intelligent (good to you, not sarcastic), please educate our friends here the items omitted in the current Camry vs previous generation. Many people thought it is ESP only.

• i disagree..
        only cyber trooper like us take ESP seriously..
        other people who can actually buy these car (130k++), they dont care much..
        they only care about brand, looks, and engine..and when they see simple safety features (ABS,EBD).. they think that it’s good enough..

btw new camry is too expensive..and the older one looks better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
        • Sam Loo on Jan 21, 2013 at 11:29 pm

Yeah, the ACV40 is the one that is most sought after.

Maybe I should sell mine at get a 2010 2.4 Sonata at RM60k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • underskinned on Jan 21, 2013 at 1:53 pm

It might not be the ‘best’, but being a #1 global car maker is really saying something. Not just here in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
    • In ASEAN countries ,Toyota is considered as a decent and obvious choice for a foreign car.

If a buyer has 70-100k for a car and really have not much knowledge in cars, they want to look for something reliable, efficient and good service center. The first car that pops into mind :Toyota. And almosy all Toyota owners have sour experience owning a P1 or P2.

This apples to America and

• i like ur “have not much knowledge in cars” statement. If u say reliable, i doubt it coz my frens new vios n altis also have faulty issue. but toyo and honda really have good service center.

• I really have not much knowledge in cars, I don’t drive many models, I only read articles and ask people for opinions from actual owners. Than I come here once a while to waste some time. As far as the Toyota owners I’ve met, they say their cars are quite reliable if you maintain it well and in a proper service center, go service it when it’s due. Spare parts are cheap too.

As far as faulty issue goes, all cars have it, VW have that DSG issue and BMW has that rusting seats issue. Is just to see weather 1 in how many cars sold has major issue, the American reports the last I read;Audi fell by a few places while no.1 and no.2 are Honda and Toyota.

I know Honda and Toyota have good service centers, I’ve been there. As for really good, I don’t know, I have’t been to many. all i know is The Honda SC I usually go is miles better than the Perodua in my area.

• Jimmy on Jan 21, 2013 at 5:50 pm

Once you have owned a Toyota and you become more prosperous, you want something higher grade. I hope you will have chance to experience this, good luck.

• That’s true, the major stepping stones in a car ownership life, or in Malaysia at least, is P1/P2 > Japanese T,H,N&M makes [or if you’re flamboyant K&leaning H] > continental makes [where you can go as far as a Bentley or more if you’re doing well]

I’ve met many Toyota owners and for the price they’re paying it’s quite a good and reliable car, spare parts are easy to come by and service are decent. This are the reason why they buy Toyota, they don’t get excellent products, but the overall ownership is rather decent. But all will admit that a Conti make is much better if you can afford the ownership [spare parts & service cost].

Well at my age, I got my rather trusty Saga, which has been with us since it came out of the factory.

• Sam Loo on Jan 21, 2013 at 11:31 pm

Once you go Jap, opting for kimchi is a default 2 step downgrade

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
        • theanster on Jan 22, 2013 at 9:47 am

my father mitsu galant>pajero>perdana se>perdana v6>alfadana v6>boom! pug 508. sorry no toyota or honda. hahahaha.

• Sam Loo on Jan 23, 2013 at 12:49 am

I am more than sure that your family has a fleet of tow truck operator numbers in your speedial list

• In ASEAN and American countries ,Toyota is considered as a decent and obvious choice for a foreign car.

In Malaysia, If a buyer has 70-100k for a car and really have not much knowledge in cars, they want to look for something reliable, efficient and good service center. The first car that pops into mind :Toyota. And almosy all Toyota owners have sour experience owning a P1

But in Europe , this decent and obvious car would be Volkswagen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • tokmoh on Jan 21, 2013 at 12:22 pm

Sam Loo bangga la hear this news?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Expatriate VN on Jan 21, 2013 at 12:42 pm

Yes I am also bangga, finally the consumers “make-a-kill” on cronies crap quality car! Hidup rakyat, go to bawah katak tempurung jaguh kmapung no. 2!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • Richard on Jan 21, 2013 at 12:37 pm

They are probably one of the best mass car manufacturer in the world. Not just Malaysia. Their car are build to last and low maintenance, even when my dad had his in the 70’s & 80’s. But I must agree withbsome that Toyota is not an “exciting” car to own

• kadajawi on Jan 21, 2013 at 5:05 pm

Wrong. Toyota has made great cars in the 70s and 80s, 90s too. Since then… Not really. Especially not in Malaysia. Here they sell the ancient crap they can’t get rid of in other markets.

Also I believe Japanese cars are so reliable because their servicing interval is so short. If I send a Citroen to service every 5k it will be problem free too. Overseas these contis are sent to service every 30-35k, Japanese makes usually 15-20k. Obviously problems are found much much earlier then, before they can cause trouble. Things are fixed before they escalate and cause more damages.

• Richard on Jan 22, 2013 at 10:14 am

I merely said one of the best mass car brand, not the best. Was wondering who would be your best mass car brand? Regarding servicing a Citroen or any French marque did you send yours for 5k servicing without any problem?

• Expatriate VN on Jan 21, 2013 at 12:38 pm

Listen, listen, listen ……. Jaguh Kampung No. 2…

Watch out backside, Jaguh Kampung No. 2! Toyota trailing very near behind you. Just a matter of time Toyota become No. 2 best seller in Bolehland and downgrade poor cronies Jaguh Kampung to No. 3!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • gr34ts4g3 on Jan 21, 2013 at 12:42 pm

Without Proton, Malaysian people can enjoy more quality brands with a lot cheaper than Proton. Why choose to defend Proton instead of our people. Cut the Proton price and lower the excise duty on imported cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Farid on Jan 21, 2013 at 12:45 pm

Hope UMWT can add more model on the road. Hoping to see the new Vios to land in Msia. This year is not an easy year for auto industries as Kia, Ford, Mitsu, Honda will introduce new model in the market also. Hope after GE13 can boost more sales.

• hope we hav more new roads n not tolls as KL really flooded with new cars.

• Grant on Jan 21, 2013 at 1:16 pm

Well done Toyota. Your cars are high quality and trouble free (which is what most people want), rather than having to spend the weekends in workshops repairing the useless Proton!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 18
    • you should see how your Toyota is made in Shah Alam, ASSB before you say high quality. from my perspective, having visited many car plants around the country due to the nature of my job, the Vios made is no better than a PRoton Saga FLX.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
      • Grant on Jan 21, 2013 at 4:20 pm

I have been in the automotive industry for 10 years now. When I say high quality, it encompasses everything … part build, car build, reliability, customer service, after sales etc . Don’t compare a Vios to a Saga. You know they are classes apart.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
        • fair enough if u talk about overall ownership experience. but specifically i am talking about the process of making the car itself is not any better.

• Grant on Jan 21, 2013 at 9:13 pm

Dude, the assembly process might not be any better but the end product is still different isn’t it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
        • What you see at ASSB is only assembly process. But This is the last process in making cars. I myself works with Toyota development team and you should see how Toyota develop their parts. Each parts need to go through multiple test and approval before can proceed with mass pro.I’m not sure about other car maker, but you cannot judge a car just by looking at the assembly process.

• Congrats to Toyota. Continue to work harder for better results. Wish you all the best and never rest on your laurels, the competition is not keeping still.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • droll on Jan 21, 2013 at 1:35 pm

mock all you want…these toyota buggers know their target market well.

for better or for worse……..haih!

• Sam Loo Jr on Jan 21, 2013 at 1:40 pm

yes…everyone is shown the Hilux…thus the high sales figure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
    • Expatriate VN on Jan 21, 2013 at 3:22 pm

I also like Hilux despite not owning one!

• Sam Loo on Jan 21, 2013 at 4:46 pm

I like the Hilux because it saves me a lot of time explaining to kimchi owners that come into my car yard to trade in their cabbage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
  • Davinnci on Jan 21, 2013 at 1:49 pm

Dugong got 30 % of total sales UMW. So many dugongsssss

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
    • alldisc on Jan 21, 2013 at 2:47 pm

despite all the bashings… all efforts wasted.

this has proven that majority of malaysians still stick with peace-of-mind theme when it comes to buying and owning a reasonable sedan.

• Sam Loo on Jan 21, 2013 at 4:48 pm

If new kimchi’s can gain 10% of Malaysian Market share, many co. will be public listed very soon because trading used kimchis are really profitable.

Ultra low trade in value, pretty decent selling price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
      • If the next gen Vios are a any a bit more handsome than the current one. Expect sharp price drop for the current Vios because of no demands and over saturation… Ahahahahahahha.. Ultra low trade in value, ultra low selling price.

• ae101 on Jan 21, 2013 at 2:01 pm

so umw staffs got bonus kaw kaw?

• alldisc on Jan 22, 2013 at 5:35 pm

up to 10 months for management level (execs & above) and 2+2 for unionised staff

• Megane on Jan 21, 2013 at 2:12 pm

Sam Loo sure buat kenduri kesyukuran 40 hari 40 mlm dgr berita nie …sembelih lembu 4-5 ekor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • ben yap on Jan 21, 2013 at 2:19 pm

wow! so many malaysians got ripped off by UMW!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • Grant on Jan 21, 2013 at 4:21 pm

Jealous

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
      • kadajawi on Jan 21, 2013 at 5:13 pm

Nope. Driving 2 contis, couldn’t be happier. One is overseas, but the one here also trouble free. Parts are cheap and always got stock, SC is good, the car much better than the Japanese alternatives. If Toyota would bring in their EU models I may consider them. But those ASEAN cars are not even worth considering. Nothing more than death traps no one would by overseas. The GT86 and both Prius models are the only ones being sold here and there.

• Grant on Jan 21, 2013 at 9:05 pm

Ask the government to lift ALL of the restrictions, then we can get the EU models.

• Sam Loo on Jan 21, 2013 at 11:33 pm

I am sure the tow truck operator could not be happier as well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • ABTguy on Jan 21, 2013 at 2:28 pm

emm…. a total of 57% coming from only Vios and Hilux, all I can say is wow there are so many Ah Pek supporting these 2 models out there.

Is Malaysia heading for ageing problem like that of Japan already ? Haha just j/k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • alldisc on Jan 22, 2013 at 5:38 pm

most hilux sales come from Sabah and Sarawak where 6 speed and powerful turbodiesel engine is pretty useless, the only reason consumers there purchase Toyota for its ultra reliability.

• No wonder they still install old technologies in and remove VSC from latest Camry. Kudos UMW!!

• That’s what we call the POWER of brand. If you have no name, peoples don’t want to buy your products. Toyota, Merc, bmw are well known brands.

• I won’t be a spoil sport and criticize ppl success but, no matter how hard it pains me to say, congratulation UMW Toyota..

We really expect better products instead of your current product and buisness strategy. For exp: We really expect the next Vios to be better speced and look, if you can’t compete the kimchis and Ford for USP, at least make 2 airbags, ABS and all round disc standard across the range.

• observer on Jan 21, 2013 at 3:30 pm

Wow. No wonder they can give 10 months bonus to their staff. Any new vacancy.?

• Fukuoka on Jan 21, 2013 at 3:30 pm

But the Japanese have had enough of the ‘Vios’. Here in Samurai Land, it is known as Toyota Belta with smaller cc and better specced. The engine is 1.3L, CVT gearing, auto air-cond, curtain airbags, VSC and ISOFIX.

Bad sales forced Toyota to cease production in Jun 2012.

• Which is a good news, if the Japanese is facing disappointing prospect for their Toyota Belta, than the big bosses from Japan will need to do something so that they will not faced the same disappointment from the next gen version of the Belta which in some way will result to us having a better version of the Vios. The other reason I think the Belta is phased out of production is because the new Vitz or whatever is called in Japan has been launch and the sedan version of it (the Vios or Belta) is coming soon so they are retooling for the new model.

• Dr Advisor on Jan 21, 2013 at 3:40 pm

1. Congratulations to UMW Toyota. From humble beginning as sole agent for outboard motorboat engine Yanmar targetting the poor nelayan folks until now still targeting poor income folks on albeit different products eg. Toyota cars. My good friend the late Tan Sri Eric Chia ex UMW boss must be happily dancing in heaven now.

2. It shows that Toyota is one of the most fan-proof product just like Apple products or those die-hard fans of Star Wars movie camping day and night just to get the first ticket. It is unbelievable. Nothing can shatter the reputation of Toyota. None. That’s the ultimate result of kaizen continuous quality improvement well over 50 years and people exactly buying just that – quality.

3. Quality sells by itself. And it is quite infectious too, even to its licensed imitator eg. Perodua. This is also another unexplained yet unexpected results of selling pseudo Toyota products under different name – it still sells just as great in big number. A combined sales of UMW Toyota and Perodua now easily over 60 percent or 6 out of 10 cars sold here is basically a Toyota.

4. One of the reason I introduced Proton was to suppress the growth of Japanese cars namely Toyota and Nissan Tan Chong group. And also the various hidden tax, duties to keep Proton artificially cheaper. Initially it works and I thought why not bring another similar local brand too for more choices to the poor rakyat, hence the Daihatsu group was the perfect partner.

5. Little did I know that in long-run what I have done no matter what Toyota still the king and Perodua only make it a virtual 2-horse race leaders in car market. Here is the lesson – you cannot stop people buying a truly quality product even the half-branded of it. It is a matter of time that UMW group will take over cash-bleeding Proton from DRB group and finally admit that good factory (Tanjung Malim, Shah Alam) should only produce good car eg.Toyota (and Perodua too). Do not waste good factory and good metal anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
    • Sam Loo on Jan 21, 2013 at 4:51 pm

Toyota owners never worry about being shown the Hilux when trading in their vehicles

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • tokmoh on Jan 22, 2013 at 10:10 am

Actually reading this comment with tun’s voice hahaha

• jalan54 on Jan 21, 2013 at 4:06 pm

Their sales reps still sucks big time!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • kadajawi on Jan 21, 2013 at 5:17 pm

I am looking forward to the day when the buyers of 2012 Vioses will realize that the new 2013 Vios is much better and the RV of the older model will drop a lot.

• Toyota is expensive. So does P1 and P2. I still can’t afford 4-wheeler. My Boon Siew still up and running.

• Sam Loo on Jan 21, 2013 at 11:35 pm

You need to look at TCO. In Malaysia, RV is one of the key components of TCO

RV is something which kimchis do not have

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Pro-San on Jan 21, 2013 at 6:56 pm

diu nia sing so proud announce what 1.5k lexus, if you see the breakdown probably 90%+ is ct200h the cheapest and most stupid car.

• Toyota with so low tech and greedy is selling so many. Proton with so high tech sure sells more. How many again did Proton sold last year?

• breezehaw on Jan 25, 2013 at 5:41 pm

toyota cars cheapest in among the same range cars, but not fun and safe for drive. Bad handling n boring interior design. That’s why its cheap. Just my 2 cents