SPIED: Subaru BRZ, by the transporter load

SUbaru BRZ spy 04

Last week, a Subaru BRZ was spotted at JPJ Putrajaya undergoing type approval evaluation, suggesting that the car was on its way to showrooms soon. Well, it definitely looks very close now, actually.

Earlier today, Paul was driving on the NKVE and saw a transporter carrying four examples, all uncovered, like a sampling of sorts. The lot even offers a complete set of exterior shades – blue, red, white and black. Ads for the BRZ have been popping up on oto.my, all listing the car at RM239,800.

The introduction of the BRZ in Malaysia is more than well due already; we were originally told back in 2011 that the car was coming in sometime in Q2/Q3 2012, and during the first impressions drive in Singapore in April last year the arrival was pushed back to Q4.

The BRZ’s sibling, the Toyota 86, has of course been around for nearly a year now, having been introduced in June last year.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Modesto.hann on May 21, 2013 at 7:06 pm

Toyota targets this car to a tiny little market segment here in Malaysia, which now subaru wants to tap in…what’s the sense in that

• Good drivers car…but its overpriced…200k would be an ideal price for this and its japanese partner… Interior low quality all plastic crap…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • frenzyaustin on May 21, 2013 at 10:03 pm

It priced lower than a Pruis/Camry INTERNATIONALLY. But here, cost nearly double. Overpriced car of the year.

• I’m really no idea why they bring in a same car with different badging? So the price will be judge by a badge? lols..

• GT-Rider on May 21, 2013 at 8:37 pm

This is definitely not my contender

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • rm240k?? Brunei sell for B$50k only!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • armandd on May 21, 2013 at 9:11 pm

Then go and buy the car in Brunei lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 34
      • _xXx_ on May 22, 2013 at 4:59 am

don’t whine, be competant…but, anyway u r not so bad as some may as ppl to leave.

• Hadi75 on May 22, 2013 at 7:05 am

He’s just pointing the price difference la…..

• Jimmy on May 21, 2013 at 10:03 pm

Camry’s price range.
      Acceleration of BRZ is better than 86 ya?
      Turbo please.

• kev413 on May 21, 2013 at 10:12 pm

overpriced jap

• TopGear on May 21, 2013 at 10:14 pm

Hopefully we can get cheap recon units soon..from AP holders

• _xXx_ on May 22, 2013 at 4:56 am

have not seen any in my life yet…

• PauKaya on May 25, 2013 at 1:04 pm

Got lah. Mudah.my had a few listings, though i wish they bought in the nonsense-free J version though

• Carfanboi on May 21, 2013 at 11:02 pm

Actually the BRZ can be viewed at Subaru showroom in PJ near Hilton Hotel, (Motor Image Sdn Bhd)..saw it when attending the Subaru No Reason Celebration Party last weekend :)

• The toyota SA told me, i have to wait for a long q to order the 86, even to test drive is difficult bcz not many show room have it. imho it is bcz UMW did not bring this model in big quantity and not bcz it was so hot item like pisang goreng. with hard plastic feel here and there, rear passenger got no room leg make it is not practical for msian buyers. yes, many would says this is for drifting and donut not for speeding on NS highway…but who drift everyday to office..i think Tengku Djan also did not do that.

but i believe there is still people looking and waiting the BRZ for many reasons. anyway…we see…the fate of this car in next 2 or 3 years…hope both UMW and Motor Image will achieve their sale target.

• Subaru dealer also want to make profit, that’s why brz in Malaysia. This is an iconic car, regardless of the price. It generates interest for people to visit Subaru showroom.

Saw 86 on the road, it looks nice. I would be very interested to test drive one to feel how good the drive is as mentioned by many. Manual please.

• In the 1st place, both Toyota and Subaru would NOT be counting on the Malaysian market for the sales volume of 86/BRZ.

And for the pricing, whether we like it or not, that is the price STRUCTURE. What is the damn point of comparing it with USA/Europe/Japan/Brunei?????

• so far only seen once the gt86 in pj