Suzuki Jimny previewed at DRB-HICOM Autofest

Suzuki Jimny Front

The Suzuki Jimny is back, and it’s on display at the DRB-HICOM Autofest currently on going at Setia SPICE (previously known as PISA) in Penang from today to Sunday.

The Jimny hasn’t been launched yet but sources on the ground indicate that it will be priced within the RM90k range. The Jimny is powered by a 1.3 litre engine, mated to either a 5-speed manual or a 4-speed auto. The unit that we saw at JPJ Putrajaya last month had an automatic transmission.

DRB-HICOM Autofest 2013 showcases a wide range of vehicles under DRB-HICOM distributorship – Proton, Lotus, Audi, Volkswagen, Honda, Suzuki, Mitsubishi, Isuzu, Modenas and Can-Am. Other than the Jimny, the Mitsubishi Concept G4 sedan will also be there, a concept car that previewed the recently unveiled Mitsubishi Attrage, which is essentially a Mitsubishi Mirage sedan.

Visitors will also stand a chance to win a prizes in a special lucky draw such as three Modenas CTric electric motorcycles and other attractive prizes up for grabs during the event.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Roger Tan on Jun 28, 2013 at 5:24 pm

I might be slow on this – didn’t know there are still 2012 stocks of Inspira!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 28
    • what if i told you there are also stock for 2011 lamboghini.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
      • Roger Tan on Jun 30, 2013 at 3:46 am

Didn’t want to stoop low but couldn’t resist –

In which planet do you think Proton should be compared with Lamborghinis?

Try to resist brainfarting even though this is the internet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
    • carazy on Jul 01, 2013 at 9:35 am

Can I get 20% off for P1 DRB-HICOM?? I mean Mclarent P1 not Proton-P1 ya..

• infinity on Jun 28, 2013 at 5:31 pm

Hi, do u guys think it is worth it to get the 2012 inspira model at 20% off? are there any string attached?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Jimmy on Jun 28, 2013 at 5:39 pm

Yes, worth if you keep using your cars for more than 5 to 6 years. It is like RM17000 off, bank interest also less. Read the details, if any.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • Zeroshift on Jun 28, 2013 at 5:46 pm

Sure it’s worth it. The highest discount offered i know last time was only up to 10k. This 20% can easily can you 15-18k discount depending on the model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • P1 user on Jul 01, 2013 at 9:32 am

kns, i bought last year Oct 2.0e p1 just discount rm4k. now if disc RM17k, worth to buy if u like inspira coz lot of mod can b done

• Jimmy on Jun 28, 2013 at 5:36 pm

Old design? Any safety cell like Maidas/zone body etc? Rear seats dangerous during rear impact, no?
    Underpowered for an SUV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Steve on Jun 28, 2013 at 5:38 pm

Paul,
    Any test drives available and for which brand?

• Wow.. 20% discount… Fast grab than late

• Johnny on Jun 28, 2013 at 5:46 pm

Those that buy 2.0E and 1.8 recently. I really feel for you bros.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • xenogearz™ on Jun 28, 2013 at 5:50 pm

Proton is clearing off old stocks of Inspira that they didn’t manage to sell because of sales cannibalisation by their own Preve, I guess. But at a 20% off discount, the price of Inspira 2.0E becomes RM69,520 only. Quite an attractive buy I’d say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
  • Jessica on Jun 28, 2013 at 5:52 pm

Inspira sales really slowed down… 7mths of old stock… wow. For those who want to buy, why not! 20% off. T&C have to go there and ask…

• old dog on Jun 30, 2013 at 1:54 pm

how many people buy MT now? I hardly see any in klang valley..

• _xXx_ on Jun 28, 2013 at 6:10 pm

What as-it, where-is basis? Auction cars or what?
    Bear in mind. No free lunch ok…

• RON97 on Jun 28, 2013 at 6:25 pm

Why Penang??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Aurora on Jun 28, 2013 at 6:32 pm

Does anyone know if I register the Inspira in KL if I make the booking in Penang? Any status on the available stocks as of today?

• More details please on 20%, color available, interest rate ? I have to travel to Penang from KL !! Anyone insterested , can car pool & share cost !!!!

• protonsucks on Jun 28, 2013 at 8:38 pm

i suspect all the thumbs up for praising
    proton are only proton employees And all the proton employees will thumbs down this comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 38
    • i suspect all thumbs down for praising proton are only perodua employees. and all perodua employees will thumb down this comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
      • Freemarket on Jun 29, 2013 at 8:08 am

Thumbs down to both proton and perodua! Because of u both all other car price is so high. In open market u both will be dead. Always depend on G to protect u!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
        • WhoYou on Jun 30, 2013 at 2:29 am

Thumbs down to all of you! Public transportation is cheaper.

• 20% for inspira?..woah!!

• Sgt Scoop on Jun 28, 2013 at 10:03 pm

Are they going to have this event in KL soon or do you have to go to Penang to get the 20% discount?

• seilo on Jun 29, 2013 at 12:14 am

then the recent buy the lancer lagi mahu jump?

• sambalbabi on Jun 29, 2013 at 1:12 am

damn the new Jimny! a “mountain goat” capability highly suit for people who go animal hunting! droooooooooolsssss (of course you ppl who never go hunting won’t understand)

• Looks like not many PT readers from the north; okay, this is what I gathered : color is only brown ( the mistaken color) ; why , coz is meaningless for those who want to convert to LGT. very fake…but RM17,000/- off is a steal…

• Abdullah on Jun 29, 2013 at 11:49 am

DRB-HICOM want to monopolize the market for all

brands of cars.

It is against free market competition.

• hi, currently plan to look on the inspira after hearing the 20% discount, but only got time tomorrow afternoon to go there, can i know some info about it from those going there? like if it for limited booking only?

• Hi… I just place a booking on inspira2.0E. They only left brown color with around 20 cars to go. The interest rate is 2.5% bank muamalat and minimum 30k loan with 5 yrs or 2.7% for 4years

• What are the terms & conditions ??
        any more free gifts ? u know M’sian…
        btw, Proton staff get 20K off for d same offer

• No T&C. If you want pay by cash also not a problem. It is as it stated. Btw, I manage to get full tank petrol and Smartag from salesman. Nothing more than that.

• Any1 hv contact number of the sales guy there? Would like to get more info. Interested in 1.8MT. Tq

• swell on Jun 29, 2013 at 8:52 pm

This thread is derailed to Inspira thread ady, it shows that noone cares about G4 or Jimmy

• old dog on Jun 30, 2013 at 1:52 pm

With majority of the cars dealership in malaysia monopolized by either DRB or Sime, why in the world will they drop car price in the next 50 years? LOL..

• howler on Jun 30, 2013 at 2:48 pm

I just bought one 2.0E . Only brown colour available. 20% discount is only for these 3 days

• know ur Damon role on Jun 30, 2013 at 8:23 pm

No thanks. Would not buy any vehicle from drb hicom group. Don’t wanna fatten sheik mohktar pocket anymor!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • hicom on Jun 30, 2013 at 11:04 pm

From the autofest , I learned that drb-hicom is selling Honda, VW , Audi , Suzuki, Mitsubishi, Proton, Suzuki ……
      whose pocket should be fatten ?

• batumudo on Jul 01, 2013 at 9:22 am

Paul, front wheel stil using axle or not? previous one is a legend cause all 4 are using axle

• I am writing this to thank you for the information that save $$ for quite a number of people on the 20% (incl me)!!

Great work ! You are still very much still in IT but in a diff way…