Toyota Prius reaches 3 million unit sales milestone

toyota-prius

The Toyota Prius has reached the milestone of three million units in global sales. The Prius started life as a quirky saloon in Japan back in 1997 and has grown to be the symbol of hybrid cars.

In its progress through three generations, Prius has benefited from improvements and innovations that have made it kinder to the planet, cheaper to run and more practical to live with. Official CO2 emissions figures have fallen from 114 to 89 g/km and the cost of its hybrid powertrain has been reduced by two thirds. In the process of developing the current, third generation model, Toyota filed more than 1,200 patents.

In the past two years, Prius has grown from being a single model to a family of cars. In Europe the range includes the Prius+ seven-seat MPV and Prius Plug-in. Here, we have the smaller Prius c (Toyota Aqua in Japan), while Europe gets the Yaris Hybrid.

Toyota has made hybrid a core technology and it continues to make significant investments in the tech. In the financial year ending in March 2014, Toyota is expected to spend more than 790 billion yen on R&D and facilities for developing hybrid and other cutting edge technologies, as well as strengthening development of new platforms and components.

Projects include a new 651-hectare R&D facility and a new 12-storey powertrain development and engineering building in Toyota City.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• vios so ugly and slow… my vios can smoke prius anytime

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 57
    • suzuki swift on Jul 05, 2013 at 3:50 pm

wow.. your vios is ugly and slow and can smoke prius (Y)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
      • meng meng on Jul 05, 2013 at 3:56 pm

Yup. Really can smoke prius.
        Coz dun know which part spoil and making a lot of smoke to smoke the EV mode prius.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
        • carlies on Jul 06, 2013 at 12:11 am

I am not worshipping Toyota but the fact which we can’t deny is this Prius is a great achievement and a big success of Toyota. It is a hybrid leading car. Bravo Toyota keep on giving us surprises on hybrid or even full EV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • aduhhhh on Jul 05, 2013 at 4:03 pm

hybrid is to save fuel..if you want to compare like this, then pardon me to use F1 compare to ur vios :P hahahaa

• alldisc on Jul 07, 2013 at 2:17 am

wrong. the main purpose of hybrids are to reduce carbon footprint.

great FC is just the bonus. hybrids like toyota prius will often switch off engines during drive and stationary and therefore able to achieve zero CO2 emission.

• bodoh on Jul 05, 2013 at 4:08 pm

he envy that prius doesn’t have smoke like his vios whenever press on the oil pedal, lots of smoke coming out hahahahahaha…like a expired sushi hahahahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Can tell that u really don’t know about PRIUS

• axel_stig on Jul 05, 2013 at 4:33 pm

fail…………

• namanama on Jul 05, 2013 at 4:52 pm

some comments really interesting…better than the article.hahaha..

• Cutter on Jul 05, 2013 at 5:02 pm

Haha, your comment make me laugh~ XD

• Bet u haven’t met a prius on PWR mode. Did u overtook and smoke him while he’s on ECO mode and going uphill?

• suzuki swift on Jul 05, 2013 at 3:49 pm

nice

• Meanwhile Proton hybrid car started at -100,000 units…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • mat ejam on Jul 05, 2013 at 4:28 pm

3 million????
    after a year, the toyota pull back certain their car from market due to technical error…
    ha3 so funny.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
    • Cutter on Jul 06, 2013 at 4:23 pm

At least they admit the error they made, better than some car maker let u call them when ur car broke down, sometime they don’t even care~

• Carl Wong on Jul 06, 2013 at 1:14 am

Still over here my Honda Hybrid is much much better, I should be psychologically & financially secured since I now have a whopping 8 years/unlimited mileage warranty for my Hybrid battery, where as Toyota is only offering a pitiful 3 years warranty………

The warranty period is even longer than my loan repayment :)….!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 23
    • StupidCarl on Jul 20, 2013 at 3:31 pm

Typical Honda sales man and please dont compare honda hybrid with prius. Honda technology is suck. As for your loan repaymen, if you cant afford the hybrid car, pls take a cheaper car.

• interesting on Jul 08, 2013 at 10:24 am

Good for environment but not a looker. The CT200h is hot but beyond my range. The Honda is within range as well and looks good but it’s a MILD Hybrid