Lexus ES now in Malaysia – specs and prices released

lexus es fb

Lexus Malaysia has updated its Facebook page’s cover photo, and the new image teases a new model – the Lexus ES. The upcoming model has also appeared on Lexus Malaysia’s website. Readers of this website would already know that the ES is coming – we revealed a Malaysian official brochure earlier this month, and you can see it here.

The Lexus ES will be available in three variants in Malaysia – the ES 250, ES 250 Luxury and the ES 300h. The former two are powered by a 2.5 litre Dual VVT-i twin-cam four-cylinder engine that produces 181 hp at 6,000 rpm and 235 Nm of torque at 4,100 rpm. With the aid of a Super ECT- and AI Shift-equipped six-speed auto, the Lexus ES 250 does the century sprint in under ten seconds and can exceed 200 km/h.

es-09

The Lexus ES 300h sees a 2.5 litre single VVT-i twin-cam Atkinson cycle four-cylinder unit (158 hp at 5,700 rpm and 213 Nm of twist at 4,500 rpm) joining hands with a 105 kW electric motor that’s fed by a 650V nickel-metal hydride battery for a combined 202 hp output. Equipped with an eCVT system, the ES 300h does 0-100 km/h in 8.5 seconds before maxing out at 180 km/h. Its boot holds 425 litres of luggage (ES 250: 490 litres).

You can view the technical specs and specifications in full below. Prices have been released, and the range starts from RM259,800 for the ES 250, while the ES 250 Luxury costs RM279,800. The hybrid ES 300h variant is priced at RM353,000. Quoted prices are retail without insurance.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Does anyone know which car is the ES rivals?

• only drive continental on Aug 30, 2013 at 6:39 pm

i would say Volvo s80 or audi a6 hybrid (from size,price range and front wheel drive)

• only drive continental on Aug 30, 2013 at 6:40 pm

except that volvo s80 is rear wheel drive i think.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
        • MackyMac on Aug 30, 2013 at 10:18 pm

the S80s are FWD… long gone are the old RWD volvos…think the last were the 900 series… although am quite happy if someone were to correct me.

• Car Crazy on Sep 02, 2013 at 10:24 am

Yes you are correct. Volvo got rid of the RWD platform with the introduction of the 850 and has been making FWD cars ever since. The rational is that Volvo actually uses the transverse arrangement of the engine to act as a barrier/ crumple zone to protect the cabin and occupants from a fatal/severe crash. In that arrangement it also prevents the engine to slide into the cabin as a dangerous mass hitting anyone.

• Car Crazy on Sep 02, 2013 at 10:25 am

In fact the gearbox arrangement is also in the transverse direction too with the same purpose. Image the engine and gearbox actually protects the driver and passenger. This is exactly while Volvo is miles ahead of most manufacturers in terms of safety.

• drrif on Sep 01, 2013 at 1:10 am

Car rivals are usually linked to length – it is important…get this, ES is slightly longer than GS! (see lexus website).

So the real rival of the ES is the GS. Toyota eating their own fingers..

• Sam Loo on Sep 01, 2013 at 4:42 pm

And Volvos breaks down all the time, costs a bomb to maintain and will make you cry more than kimchis when traded in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
        • Driver on Sep 02, 2013 at 10:21 am

It goes to show you buy a brand new Volvo because you are rich enough to afford the depreciations!

• only drive continental on Aug 30, 2013 at 6:43 pm

hard to say exact rival because the nature of the car is quite special… its targeting people who wants spacious car,luxurious, comfortable n does not care about the dynamic of the car like (rear wheel drive, usage of CVT instead of 7 speed gearbox)

in other word its like u want a “premium luxury brand” but without the decent perfomance, nice gearbox,rear wheel drive n other driving dynamics. so why people buy this car? for brand snob “lexus” n space to ferry their kids

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
      • frenzyaustin on Aug 30, 2013 at 8:26 pm

Lexus ES has a Rolls-Royce rivalling smootnest, quietness and ride quality with 1/10 of the price.
        But we are all petrol head here, ES is really a grandpa mobile, not for us. If it can really sell, I bet 9/10 of the buyers are all above 50 who hates to drive but travel a lot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • Gajen on Aug 30, 2013 at 6:43 pm

ES is an executive car just like the GS. but it is positioned under GS. ES is more of an ‘entry level executive car’.

• alldisc on Sep 02, 2013 at 11:00 am

i agree with you Gajen, ES is 1 level below GS. Lexus ES started life as Toyota Vista or Camry Prominent (frameless windows). At that time the difference in terms of size was more obvious compare to Toyota Aristo – which is the equivalent of Lexus GS – which competes direct to BMW 5 series and Merc E class…hence the reason for FR. though it never affect the sales of the rivals at all.

the GS is excellent though, in its own way.

the ES on the other hand.. is not much different from Camry, except perhaps more toys thrown in and maybe better sound insulation.

• Star Dust on Aug 30, 2013 at 6:45 pm

The Toyota ES

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 24
    • Bugatti veyron ^_^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • steve on Aug 30, 2013 at 7:50 pm

VW Passat CC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • dugong on Aug 31, 2013 at 1:06 pm

Toyota ES rivals the honda accord and nissan teana. Camry can rival proton perdana. outdated looks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • Audi A6 looks miles better! this is not ugly but way too simple!

• Sam Loo on Sep 01, 2013 at 1:26 pm

Lexus ES is way above sui kwan Euros E Class/5 Series/A6

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
      • Sam Looser on Sep 01, 2013 at 5:00 pm

But lexus always kwai tai wor…very poor RV too same like volvo.

• only drive continental on Aug 30, 2013 at 6:38 pm

erm what? looking at the pricing doesnt seem premium at all. its like overpaying for toyota camry by 100k. targeting brand snob uncles who cant afford a real GS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 29
  • The most un-Lexus of the new Lexuses, or more specifically, a Lexus from the pre-spindle grill days….In other words, rather dull and mundane in looks and powerplant. I’am actually struggling to see the relevance of the ES when there is an already brilliant IS on sale, considering that price and spec is almost similar and please correct me if I’am wrong, this is FWD right?. Maybe its here as an alternative to those that wants to be more inconspicuous among the crowd.

• frenzyaustin on Aug 30, 2013 at 8:31 pm

But ES outsold IS and GS in America. The most boring RX and ES are the best seller over there, new GS which is much sporty is struggling to sell and the sales is very bad compare to previous generation. When someone try to change to a more sporty car, it will lose it’s original customers. And funny is new GS has better handling than F10 5-Series, which is a proven fact and easily can be found online. If Toyota group managed to put in a new generation engine and gearbox, Lexus GS will be the class leader.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • ‘And funny is new GS has better handling than F10 5-Series, which is a proven fact and easily can be found online.’

Yes, in the US with a 55mph (88km/h) speed limit… :D

• sudonano on Aug 30, 2013 at 6:45 pm

Interesting new model from Lexus. I’d assume that many of the current XV30/XV40 Camry buyers finally have an upgrade option if they want to move to a luxury brand, instead of getting the VW CC.

• beemer on Aug 30, 2013 at 6:47 pm

Nice..those who intend to buy 3 series or c-class can now have alternative option…worth to consider I think

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • this car is slower than i expected

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Chris Ong on Aug 30, 2013 at 6:55 pm

ES will be against E class, 5 series and A6

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • MaserratiJKC on Aug 30, 2013 at 9:47 pm

It is the category of Perdana V6 please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • MackyMac on Aug 30, 2013 at 10:23 pm

not quite chris… its an interesting slot between the GS (5 series, E class etc) and IS (3 series etc). Admittedly I think Lexus has hit a jackpot with the placement of the car. A tarted up Camry with extra lux and without the driving dynamics and priced as such (in other countries sans exorbitant taxes lah)

• Chris Ong on Aug 30, 2013 at 11:56 pm

Second thought, after I search thru my archives of Car & Driver HK, Car Plus HK.
        ES is above 3 series, C-Klasse and A3, but not quite 5, E and A6. In HK spec, a full kitted ES beats entry level of E, 5 and A6, but any full kitted of the latter beats ES in and out, GS will be the true competitor.

Also, previous generation of ES is actually a Toyota Windom, which is above Camry and below Mark X.

Now I am completely confused.

• nope, it’s the GS which competes directly with these cars..

• Sam Loo on Sep 01, 2013 at 1:28 pm

Lexus ES will be the much better option compared with sui kwan Euros.

Just imagine having the Luxury without the worry of breaking down and RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • Sam Looser on Sep 01, 2013 at 5:05 pm

Camry is better. More luxurios than this ES junk. Better RV too.

• Alpha on Aug 30, 2013 at 6:59 pm

Wait, isn’t ES sits higher than the IS, lower than the GS?

Why is the ES cheaper? Can anyone explain this to me?

• sexylosers on Aug 31, 2013 at 5:46 pm

The gigantic margins of these luxury carmakers have been revealed. A reduction in margin to suit Malaysian market product positioning results in it being able to be priced cheaper. These luxury automakers all claim high taxes etc but the reality is the taxes have been phased out long ago.

• Fahmi on Aug 31, 2013 at 9:54 pm

ES is front wheel drive, Avalon (stretched Camry) based, comfort biased… While IS and GS is rear wheel drive, sportier, own chassis….

• no offence to Lexus fans but this car reminds me of camry.

• frenzyaustin on Aug 30, 2013 at 8:33 pm

Hi, I’m am a Lexus fan and I half agree with you.
      It feels like a Camry but it’s Avalon. And this is the car that people keep saying Lexus=Toyota.

• _god_ on Aug 30, 2013 at 7:07 pm

Who the heck would buy this over Lexus IS ???

• Joseh on Aug 30, 2013 at 7:14 pm

The Toyota Avalon

• Tanah Merah on Aug 30, 2013 at 7:17 pm

Isn’t the ES supposed to be higher level than IS ?

If it is I don’t understand the pricing.

• _god_ on Aug 30, 2013 at 7:17 pm

Who the heck would buy this over the Lexus IS ? ? ?

I mean this “Lexus” ES shares same platform with Toyota Avalon and looks like a bloated Camry and is a Front Wheel Drive , meanwhile the Lexus IS platform is not shared with any other Toyota Vehicles , looks a lot more sporty and stylish, rear wheel drive and I bet it would be better to drive , more of a driver’s car than this . Prices are similar so be wise people

• frenzyaustin on Aug 30, 2013 at 8:35 pm

Lexus IS is too exciting for my datuk to drive, IS and GS probably give him heart attack due to exciting driving style. So ES is a safer choice, slow throttle response means he won’t lose control of his car due to accidentally step on the gas pedal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • _god_ on Aug 30, 2013 at 7:18 pm

Who the heck would buy this over the Lexus IS ? ? ?

I mean this “Lexus” ES shares same platform with Toyota Avalon and looks like a bloated Camry and is a Front Wheel Drive , meanwhile the Lexus IS platform is not shared with any other Toyota Vehicles , looks a lot more sporty and stylish, rear wheel drive and I bet it would be better to drive , more of a driver’s car than this . Prices are similar so be wise people . Also Lexus IS produce more power !

• BlueV12 on Aug 30, 2013 at 7:19 pm

Probably the D-segment cars. But since it’s also a hybrid i’m guessing the closest rival is the Audi A6 hybrid.

• Sam Loo on Sep 01, 2013 at 1:30 pm

But Audi is under the Sui Kwan euro category with low RV and breaks down all the time

• this is a camry wearing lexus badge and styling, underneath still a toyota, even engine is not the 6 cylinder unit used in IS250

• Why toyota makes beautiful Lexus cars while remain very stagnant in the design department of Toyota brand cars.
    Does this car looks a bit m6’ish to you?

• Empire on Aug 30, 2013 at 7:50 pm

The close rival for this model is only Acura TL.

• BMW 5-series / Merc E-class / Audi A6

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
    • Heng Lee on Aug 31, 2013 at 9:32 pm

With a top speed of 180km/h?

The last BMW that had a top speed of 180km/h only was sold 35-40 years ago.

And the only Mercedes the ES compete with in terms of top speed is the Mercedes Sprinter market vendor van

• alldisc on Sep 02, 2013 at 11:40 am

that is the manufacturer ‘gentlemen agreement’ with the govt in Jaapn, you have problem with that?

• Turbo charge pls…….300K car but slow in pick up…so sad!

• MaserratiJKC on Aug 30, 2013 at 9:48 pm

Overprice car, this car is the price of passat in oversea. Both are so so cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • to idiot on Sep 01, 2013 at 8:48 am

so only can buy Maserati is it?? please… it is for ppl who cant afford a bentley or RR..

• Gordon on Aug 30, 2013 at 8:03 pm

This is essentially a rebadged and overpriced camry, not made to compete with the German executive cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Richard5500 on Aug 30, 2013 at 8:22 pm

I will reserve my comment until I see the physical car which is due to arrive by mid Oct in showroom. I have test driven the IS250 today and I would give it the thumb up for superb handling, spaciousness and power. When you pushed the button to off the engine, the steering wheel and seat will readjust for easy exit. For realiability and luxury wise will go for the Lexus. Will only decide once I see the ES250.

• frenzyaustin on Aug 30, 2013 at 8:37 pm

I’m sorry to say but ES isn’t a car you looking for, it’s drive like a Camry, except it’s Lexus level quality and refinement.

• alldisc on Sep 02, 2013 at 11:49 am

i second frenzyaustin, since ES has FF layout. just like a camry. or sonata. or teana and accord. and mazda6.

IS and GS has the 3/5 series and C/E class as its benchmark. they are there in terms of product but still lacking in terms of image and finesse.

• Ahmadfaris93 on Aug 30, 2013 at 8:30 pm

Can anybody explain where does this car stand in the Lexus line up ? Does it stand higher than the IS or is it lower ? And who are the obvious competitor ?

• kenot on Aug 30, 2013 at 8:54 pm

i thought lexus had IS, GS and LS only. never know they got ES.

• aerotourer on Aug 30, 2013 at 9:08 pm

My opinion this ES is same class with new Honda Accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
    • jolly_idiot on Aug 31, 2013 at 12:13 am

Paying extra 100k to have same class with accord? Then where goes camry? Beating the civic?

I’ll take the accord /camry anytime over lexus. Not because cannot afford but I don’t see the value of paying extra but getting same shit with just different packing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 28
      • Obviously, you have never sit inside a Lexus before. Idiot!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 41
        • jolly_idiot on Sep 01, 2013 at 12:23 am

Even if you did. Do you feel it worth the extra 100k?

I wouldn’t say lexus is bad. But if toyota wanted to compete with german rival like bmw/merc. At least they come out with a complete different range with no sharing across and with high refinement.

What’s the point of using camry engine in lexus or vice versa? Can’t they just split the range and to make it premium all the way? Sharing is cheap when first place will thought of cost cutting.

They charge extra 100k for lexus and still want to cut cost?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 21
          • How about put a VW engine into Porsche and jackup 300k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
          • jolly_idiot on Sep 02, 2013 at 1:41 am

VW do technology transfer with proper protocol

Porsche -> Audi -> VW -> Skoda

Always new and high end will goes to Porsche then only Audi.

Lexus & toyota are crap. They just mixed around the tech and sell in different price range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
          • How to transfer from Porsche to VW when you put a VW engine to Porsche, is more like VW->Porsche. And blind people like say this is proper protocol.

• Obviously you havent sat in a camry before. Its the same as lexus!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 18
          • Go and see doctor to check your butt, it may be already numb.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 23
          • But 1st u need to check your brain.

• Sam Loo on Sep 01, 2013 at 4:40 pm

Your opinion carries less water than the moon as you have no idea how to differentiate between apples and oranges.

Camry and ES uses a different chasis, suspension setup, acoustics, steering and suspension setup. On top of that, it is CBU, so thanks to the ultra high taxes of a full import, the car price is artificially inflated

• shawal on Aug 30, 2013 at 9:41 pm

Next year IS will available with a 2.0 4 pot turbo to phase out the 2.5 v6

• PT, maybe can do a comparison of es250 vs Camry 2.5.
    Got to see the real car then compare

• jolly_idiot on Aug 31, 2013 at 12:09 am

Lexus camry and toyota es?

Hey, both using the same 2.5 engine yet difference of 100k? Where do the extra $ goes? Cosmetic changes and some upholstery upgrade? I doubt both car is using the same chassis underneath.

But wait. The performance is gutless. Same as what camry is offering. Getting the es over the camry is solely showing off on richness that stupid enough to fork out extra $ for same shit? With just different packing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 22
    • nope, it uses the avalon chasis, not camry, it’s bigger..

• jolly_idiot on Sep 01, 2013 at 12:25 am

Bigger but still toyota engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • alldisc on Sep 02, 2013 at 11:56 am

extra 100k comes in the difference of CBU versus CKD.

• At least once they are able to compete in F1, numerous 24-h races, drifting etc.
          Yes it still toyota engine. But please remember friend, there are still a lot of Corolla KE running strong in Malaysia & other countries. Plus our very prince of drift once using AE86 for his main car for competition.
          Yeah right. Toyota kan?

BTW. I personally do not prefer Toyota but I admit their engine made for last & tuned for good FC

• Jules on Aug 31, 2013 at 6:36 am

A tarted up Camry ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • The ES300H is probably the closest we’ll ever get to Camry hybrid here

• bob123 on Aug 31, 2013 at 8:00 pm

For all its cosmetics, this is basically a luxury Camry 2.5.

This is not Lexus!

• Fahmi on Aug 31, 2013 at 8:26 pm

To sum it up
    Lexus ES – Entry level luxury (FWD, comfort biased, bigger)
    Lexus IS – Compact executive car (RWD, sportier, smaller)
    Lexus GS -Mid size executive car (RWD, sportier, bigger)

In the US, Lexus ES is about the same price as IS but Lexus GS is more expensive… They are meant for diff. market altogether…

Lexus ES competes with other entry level luxury such as Acura TL, Buick Regal/ LaCrosse and Lincoln MKZ… To some extent competes also with fully loaded Chrysler 300, Ford Taurus and Chevy Impala…

Lexus IS meanwhile competes with BMW 3 Series, Merc C-Class, Audi A4 and Infiniti Q50..

While Lexus GS competes with BMW 5 series, Merc E-class, Audi A6 and Infiniti M..

• I really don’t get why people would refer an ES as an E-Class or 5 Series rival. The GS is the one that slots in that place, and I guess the ES is more like an entry level GS with the price of an IS. The IS is a C-segment whereas the ES and the GS are both D-segments, with the former having lower specs. It’s not a Camry either, the ES is more of an Avalon I suppose?

• yap yw on Sep 01, 2013 at 11:44 am

It’s Marketing & I guess there’s nothing wrong. Consumers are irrational and businesses will try to exploit. The West are doing it unashamedly for time immemorial. Just look around some of the goods we/ you are using e.g. Tag Heuer using Seiko parts. VW and Audi are doing it too.

• Sam Loo on Sep 01, 2013 at 2:11 pm

This statement is specifically for instictive kimchi buyers who will regret the decision immediately after

• Even Sonata is better than Lexus ES. No need to campare to new accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
  • Isn’t this a Camry in a Lexus badge?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • DSG sucks on Sep 02, 2013 at 6:59 am

What ?? I need to pay 100k extra for being green ? Not sure whether the country tax or the manufacturer is punishing us

• joyrider on Sep 02, 2013 at 9:40 am

Why should the Lexus ES 300 Hybrid priced higher than and Audi A6 Hybrid in Malaysia?

• alldisc on Sep 02, 2013 at 12:02 pm

at 259,800 ringgit.. it is about the same price as A6 hybrid. in fact, slightly cheaper too.

a6h is at 280k OTR, without insurance

• Hei, ES300h is at RM353k la. its exensivs than Audi A6. Because its due to Lexus using 2.5 litre which isnt included in the tax-free incentive scheme. However, Lexus can give some benefits to the G in order to received some tax free scheme. Like what Audi and BMW does. Audi’s advisor is Mahdey and BMW is under Sime darby which is a crony company. =)

• joyrider on Sep 03, 2013 at 12:14 pm

The combined system output for ES300h is only 202hp as opposed to Audi A6H’s 245hp. Audi is still a better performance vehicle, and the extra money is only paid to the government, and not Lexus Malaysia.

• Maserati(Official) on Sep 02, 2013 at 4:51 pm

It’s pretty overpriced.

Why buy such expensive car when you can buy an equally good car in Mazda 3?

In my unbiased opinion, the Mazda 3 can beat A4, 3 series and C class, so no doubt it will fare well with this Lexus

• Arr…High class Camry?