Lexus ES Malaysian brochure reveals specs, variants

Lexus ES brochure 1 WMD

It seems the arrival of the sixth-gen Lexus ES on our shores is more than likely, as reader Lam Thye has kindly sent in these snapshots of what appears to be a Lexus Malaysia brochure for the Toyota Avalon-based FWD luxury sedan.

The brochure uncovers the specs of three variants: ES 250, ES 250 Luxury and ES 300h. The former two are powered by a 2.5 litre Dual VVT-i twin-cam four-cylinder engine that produces 181 hp at 6,000 rpm and 235 Nm of torque at 4,100 rpm. With the aid of a Super ECT- and AI Shift-equipped six-speed auto, the Lexus ES 250 does the century sprint in under ten seconds and can exceed 200 km/h.

The Lexus ES 300h sees a 2.5 litre single VVT-i twin-cam Atkinson cycle four-cylinder unit (158 hp at 5,700 rpm and 213 Nm of twist at 4,500 rpm) joining hands with a 105 kW electric motor that’s fed by a 650V nickel-metal hydride battery for a combined 202 hp output.

Equipped with an eCVT system, the Lexus ES 300h does 0-100 km/h in 8.5 seconds before maxing out at 180 km/h. Its boot holds 425 litres of luggage (ES 250: 490 litres).

Lexus-ES-brochure-3-WMD

All variants get 17-inch aluminium wheels wrapped in 215/55 tyres, LED DRLs, auto adjustable and folding door mirrors, puddle lamps, keyless entry and start, a sunroof, an eight-inch Electric Multi-Vision Screen, auto tri-zone air-con and much more.

Among the extra equipment that the ES 250 Luxury and ES 300h have over the base ES 250 are self-levelling HID headlamps with washers, sat-nav and side window sunshades. The range-topping ES 300h gets a 15-speaker Mark Levinson sound system and Hill Start Assist all to itself.

Safety kit is standard across the range – 10 airbags, VSC, traction control, EBD, tyre pressure warning system and whiplash injury-lessening front seats. Bear in mind that all this has yet to go official, so there may be some changes along the way.

The only question left is when, and how much? We can safely expect the Lexus ES line-up to cost more than the IS range (RM270-383k) but less than the GS range (RM366-465k) when it launches sometime in Q4 this year. Click here for more info on the sixth-gen Lexus ES and a treasure trove of pictures.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Grandma police on Aug 12, 2013 at 5:16 pm

That engine sounds exactly like the Camry engine, I’m guessing it is indeed the Camry engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • Deal with it on Aug 12, 2013 at 6:36 pm

That’s because it IS a toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
      • frenzyaustin on Aug 12, 2013 at 8:09 pm

New Lexus isn’t a Toyota….except this.
        ES is really a full spec Camry, but problem is it’s top seller in America. Looks like American love to drive boring car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
        • NYolk on Aug 12, 2013 at 8:51 pm

They don’t enjoy fun driving on highway. Most of them do relaxing drive not to surpass the speed limit even if they drive sport car. The handling of cars are not much tested. In place such as NY you even can be car-free person but not in KL where the public transportation sucks big time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
        • the ES uses a different platform from the camry…

• frenzyaustin on Aug 13, 2013 at 11:15 am

Yup, it based on Avalon but the overall driving experience is an upgraded Camry, except no cheap plastic everywhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • dbter on Aug 13, 2013 at 2:22 pm

how do you know it’s not cheap? you supply the material?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
    • It is a different engine but they are in the same engine family. Camry 2.5 is using 2AR-FE engine while this ES is using 5AR-FE engine.

Anyway, when traced back to its roots, the 1st generation Lexus ES is based on the Toyota Camry Prominent/Toyota Vista.

• drrif on Aug 12, 2013 at 8:55 pm

This is how the Camry should have looked. Toyota screwed up and I dont see many Camrys on the road.

ES looks great, but where does it fit in?

IS = 3series
      GS = 5 series
      LS = 7 series
      ES = um…dunno…Alternative to Passat CC /Mondeo maybe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • I wonder why Lexus choose to de-tune the ES300h to just 158hp, which is even less than the Camry’s 2.5 which i assume is the same engine. If the reason is to save fuel then it’s a bit silly, i’m sure they can fit a 2.0 producing similar power, as many other manufacturers did.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Aug 12, 2013 at 6:47 pm

While the ES250 may use a similar engine as our Camry, the ES300h uses a 2.5l Atkinson-cycle engine, which is similar to the Camry Hybrid (found in Thailand)… Atkinson cycle engine always have a lower output compared to NA of similar cc…

Good question, why ES250 on a 2.5l I4 while the GS250 uses 2.5l V6… Someone here did mention his kins got 2 petrol guzzlers ready for sale…

• SH Loo on Aug 12, 2013 at 7:20 pm

Sam “So High” Loo

It is because GS250 is rear wheel drive, this ES250 is front wheel drive.

• japsuck on Aug 12, 2013 at 9:00 pm

any numbers that can show how much it can save the cost petrol? don’t tell me:

1.it’s just gimmick because who’s on earth buy expensive vehicle coz cannot afford petrol

2.it’s normal to lower output but put higher number such as 300.

if that way why not put ES500H so some people might guess it can tarpau 5000cc car!! Haha!

• sonyman on Aug 12, 2013 at 10:24 pm

ada duit beli Fisker Karma, why waste time on this so called fuel green saver. Drive something from the future. Really, marketing gimmick

• 4g63tdsm on Aug 13, 2013 at 8:02 am

That’s because a v6 is more expensive to build and is of higher refinement due to balance and each cyc being smaller.

The ES has always been Lexus’ entry level car and based on the FWD Camry platform for people who wants a better equipped Camry. While the IS may look like the entry level model due to size, it’s actually targeted at different demographics.

The real odd ball is the CT.

• this is normal, as the total power is 202hp combined with the battery…as written above…

• Car lover on Aug 12, 2013 at 5:22 pm

Erm, is this the new “Camry” ??

• What?!! 4 cylinder!! Isn’t this engine used in the Camry 2.5??

Thus, I believe it should cost less than the Lexus IS… why should one paid additional RM100k plus for a “Camarised Lexus” ??

• toyoltakong on Aug 12, 2013 at 9:05 pm

Because it’s Lexus ma, prolly mimicking conti cars like BMW and Merc so they can charge price higher that normal Jap cars.

They should try to test cars in Bukit Putus so they know how bad their handling are, not on those sissy straight highways.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Stardust on Aug 12, 2013 at 5:43 pm

The Toyota ES looks good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • 215/55/17 tyres? Can share with Honda Civic 2.0 lah? Century sprint in 10secs? The Golf does it in 8.5 and yes, DSG haters, the gear will fail but 99.99% of the time when it’s working, it’ll be faster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Im a bg fan of this ES in tems of design..but the 2.5 has only four cylinders?? the smaller IS250 has a V6 and more power. And definitely it will b more expensive than the IS.. Lexus malaysia will hv a hard time selling it..Im puzzled by the purpose of bringing the ES with 4 cylinders…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • Why not, they can sell 4 gears cars in vios like hot cakes, they should be sell 4 cyl cars too, lol

Pity Malaysians to buy underspecced cars from their beloved brand.

• kingston on Aug 12, 2013 at 6:09 pm

That’s kinda good looking.

• this is seriously can’t wait!!! ES has always been the one that looks the most elegant in Lexus range, so it definitely will help Lexus to gain some ground here!

• Yes, it uses the same Camry 2.5 engine. Well, good thing to note – there will be thousands of half-cuts available when your ES ever faces issues in the next 2 decades!

• LeJohn on Aug 12, 2013 at 7:00 pm

With this engine, it makes it not much of a difference from the camry. And a Lexus is still a Japanese car at the end of the day and they price it as high as the Continental car category. They have no one to blame but themselves for the pathetic sales in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • BeenerFreak on Aug 12, 2013 at 8:08 pm

Well it is no wonder as Lexus has among the worse resale value among premium brands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • Developing Stupid Gearbox (DSG) on Aug 12, 2013 at 8:11 pm

Nah, stop hating on Lexus, except you are a tow truck driver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
      • If it stalls, can it fly to SC like vios?
        I bet they still love the tow truck service, muahahahaha

• Grandma police on Aug 12, 2013 at 8:26 pm

A car is not just the engine. Look at that amazing elegant interior, all the detail, where got not much difference from Camry?

• LeJohn on Aug 12, 2013 at 8:56 pm

If you were smart and had that kind of money, why not an A6 hybrid ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • paparadzi on Aug 13, 2013 at 12:10 am

Short answer, boot space.

• ABTguy on Aug 13, 2013 at 4:55 pm

Do you drive in cabin or in the boot ? How often you need to carry cargo where you load the boot full ?

When you need to do that, get a Iswara or Exora, I would not want to fill up the boot to be a delivery man !!!

• bootant on Aug 13, 2013 at 6:49 pm

audi fails to give good boot space
            booo!!!!

• Now this looks really sharp and classy, but the engine’s kinda disappointing when compared with its younger bro IS.

Lexus is doing really well in the states. Wonder why us Malaysians don’t like them. Probably because of this?

• BeemerFreak on Aug 12, 2013 at 8:10 pm

Well we don’t like them because UMW has already cheated us on Toyota now it is doing it again

• Developing Stupid Gearbox (DSG) on Aug 12, 2013 at 8:14 pm

GS and IS developed to be a BMW killer, but ES is a better Camry for the American. It’s drive like a Camry which somebody likes it, except it has much better quality, looks and refinement which I think it worth the price bump. The major plus for sharing it’s parts with a Camry is it’s parts availability is much much better than it’s competitors and price is very low too.

• cheapo on Aug 12, 2013 at 9:16 pm

Cheap car is always cheap. Drive cheap, feel cheap, only price is not cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
    • Most probably because it starts with a same name as certain biscuits. I know this is an old joke but i just couldn’t resist.
      Previous generations of Lexus ES were the dullest cars in premium category to drive, according to reviews by car magazines. With 10 secs 0-100kph and front-wheel-drive retained for this latest iteration, it looks like going to retain that title.

• dugong on Aug 13, 2013 at 2:50 pm

Thats because UMW can cheat the poor and middle class only but not the rich. Naturally the rich make smarter financial choices and find lexus extremely poor value for money compared to conti cars.

If you compare to Europe, people in the states are backwards when it comes to cars. Most of their cars there still look and handle like it was 20-30 yrs ago. Lexus can only flourish in these sort of environment…not forgetting they are generally priced slightly below equal conti cars , while the reverse is seen in bolehland.

• jolly_idiot on Aug 12, 2013 at 7:57 pm

A reskinned toyota.

It’s still a toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
  • Pro-San on Aug 12, 2013 at 9:39 pm

anybody with a sane mind won’t buy this. in fact any lexus. puik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 14
    • Victor on Aug 13, 2013 at 10:33 am

When you make such comments, do you mind to reveal what car you’re driving now? Proton, honda, perodua? Have you really go and test drive the car before you make any comments?

Just like someone said, when you want to comment on something, you must test it before you can comment on it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
      • blebla on Aug 13, 2013 at 11:56 am

Leksus@Toyotot salesman detected!!!!
        Booooooo!!!!

• dugong on Aug 13, 2013 at 2:54 pm

Sometimes no need to test already know is shit la. Spec sheet states it all already. Eg. do you need to taste shit to know how bad it taste like?

• Victor on Aug 13, 2013 at 6:44 pm

Reveal the truth to the world…..are you afford to buy a Lexus?

By the way, I’m not a Lexus car sales person. I just don’t understand those who can’t afford a premium car come here and make such comments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 32
          • vicksark on Aug 13, 2013 at 6:51 pm

Caaaannn…10 also can

• dugong on Aug 13, 2013 at 7:04 pm

and how you know i cannot afford? I rather by a bimmer or audi cash than this overpriced camry junk!

don’t bullshit here la. you have such a childish mentality telling ppl that cannot afford not to give comment. Lexus is shitty overpriced crap that’s y the rich ppl don’t buy it and it is doing so badly in bolehland. Only the CT200h is selling well. serves them right for their arrogant higher than conti pricing!!!

• lexus is junk on Aug 13, 2013 at 7:06 pm

lexus salesman detected!

• dugong on Aug 13, 2013 at 7:08 pm

yes…i can afford to buy a dozen LS460 cash also. You got a problem now?

• LeJohn on Aug 13, 2013 at 11:24 pm

Just because you can’t afford a premium / continental car doesn’t mean other’s cant. And this car is premium only for its interior, the engine is no where near premium….. Its like giving an S-Class a kancil engine but still price it as an S class. What is the point ?

• tanabe on Aug 13, 2013 at 11:11 pm

ah..bohong lah lu dugong…lu pakai kancil buruk je ada hati pulak dgn ls460.

• Maserati on Aug 12, 2013 at 10:15 pm

The maths doesn’t add up really.

A base model Mazda 6 can easily outperform this overpriced Japanese wannabe model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Prince Power on Aug 12, 2013 at 11:37 pm

My 408T can easily handle it…

• Prince Power on Aug 12, 2013 at 11:50 pm

Seems 408T overpowered this….

• eVaz88 on Aug 13, 2013 at 10:00 am

Well, if I read correctly, it mentioned that ES300h combine output is 202hp. Did someone mentioned ES300h power output only 158hp? Don’t bother to comment if you cant read properly. Saw this car in Taiwan and it looks great. If price below IS250 Std, i’m sure it’ll sell like hot cakes.

• goose on Aug 13, 2013 at 12:02 pm

I dun care if it’s 202hp. The model number should give idea about its output, not to cheat blind people. It should be ES250H coz 2.5l engine or ES200H coz 202hp. So funny.

• eVaz88 on Aug 13, 2013 at 12:24 pm

Dude. Do you know Lexus model? My friend bought a Lexus CT200h and it means 1.8 with output of 2.0 liter power. As for ES300h it means 2.5 engine with 3.0 liter power. Well, i cant blame you since you don’t know anything bout it. Besides Hybrid car is for environment friendly. Unlike Beemers whom use their “hybrid” to increase HP and not environment friendly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Victor on Aug 13, 2013 at 10:39 am

Lexus is a Lexus. I don’t know why those people like to compare it to Toyota? Just because they’re from same company?
    If like that, can I say proton is similar to lotus? No right? proton is no where near to lotus.

As I said in the previous comments, please go and test the product before you comments on it. Maybe you’re a bimmer or benz lovers, for me every car got their own unique characteristic.

One more thing, Hybrid car is always more expensive than petrol car. Sometimes driving a hybrid car is not meant to just to save petrol, is to go green, more environmental friendly. Hope those who against hybrid car can understand this fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • gontut on Aug 13, 2013 at 12:04 pm

Show off lame hybrid car make me vomit

• Victor on Aug 13, 2013 at 6:46 pm

Do you own one at the first place?

Hope one day you got the chance to feel the premium feels. Try to drive a Bimmer hybrid and Audi Hybrid.

Oh ya, I forgot Proton don’t have hybrid, no wonder you don’t have a chance to drive one.

• aikk. bukan camry punya lampu ke. dashboard macam MPV Chery

• Fahmi on Aug 13, 2013 at 4:40 pm

In USA, Lexus ES is meant to compete in entry level luxury (FWD) with other luxo-barges such as Buicks and Lincolns.. While Lexus GS is meant to be sportier (RWD) to compete with the likes of Cadillac and BMW…. Lexus IS is more compact than ES though price is about the same..

Lexus ES = Buick LaCrosse (Entry-level luxury)
    Lexus IS = Cadillac ATS = BMW 3 (Compact exec)
    Lexus GS = Cadillac CTS = BMW 5 (Exec)

• tanaka on Aug 13, 2013 at 7:13 pm

In japan those lexus are badged with toyota emblem, model corresponds to Toyota is as below:
      Lexus IS = Toyota Altezza
      Lexus ES = Toyota Windom
      Lexus GS = Toyota Aristo
      Lexus LS = Toyota Celsior

• ES350 on Aug 14, 2013 at 3:03 am

All you cheap talks up there…have you been into one to know?…no, cause you cant afford to touch one! So what if it’s based on Camry or Avalon? A smart consumer will buy an ES to enjoy a cruise with family, an IS to cruise to work and a Cayman S to show off to you a$$’s that only sit here to talk trash! Yes, i have all 3 of them in my garage and am taking them out to California highways. This boring American is enjoying life when some of you still admiring what you cant afford! Dont get mad now!

• Al Banjari on Aug 14, 2013 at 2:16 pm

Normally the bad negative comments comes from haters or sick man!Lexus is the one of the most successful premium brand n reconized globally this is fact n knew by the professional n high class person!Lexus can be seen every where in Singapore of course they are more advance compare Malaysia!Over price Car only in Malaysia n you can blame Mamma Kutty!I Love R Royce,R Rover,Acura,Audi,Bmw,Cadillac,Infiniti, Ferrari,Lexus,Merc etc they all are great machine ever built!but i m more proud with succesfull Asian product bcoz i am a Sabahan,i am a Malaysian n i am Asian!Malaysian mostly like that lol always PANDAI CAKAP TAPI TAK PANDAI KERJA!that why we always behind Singapore n far behind S Korea But TV3 said we ll become progressive By 2017??? jangan marah ya Selamat hari raya Aidilfitri maaf Zahir Batin.

• Sansrico on Sep 05, 2013 at 8:41 pm

If you cannot afford, don’t discriminate. No one pointing gun at your head and ask you to buy also. So what if it’s based on the Camry? People got money let them buy la. Have to ask permission from you first is it?

• Seaman and seagulls on Apr 24, 2014 at 12:46 am

Well said everyone!! I have owned all Mercs models since the E230 series up to the latest S300 and the E250….And of course most Ford and Toyota models including Toyota camry2.4……..AND THROUGH 1973 to date I have clocked personally driving milage equal to 5times around the globe circumference and gone throughmost Asian countries by road and driving at an average of 140 and 200 km per hour…..I FORCIBLY SOLD MY CAMRY after 1 year and the latest Merc E250 after 7 months ! Recently I tested drive the LEXUS ES250….and found the ultimate car to finally ” settle down with”…for its speed on our forever jam packed highways where speed of even 190km per hour can be sustained only for a few minutes before you must step on your breaks..good for town driving…elegant and spacious…sturdy and give as much confidence as driving my Merc S300…can take me to Bangkok and elswhere further and not worry over too complicated electronics that the car will “breakdown “at remote places as they are fitted with quite basic and “comforting” electronics .Most of all the whole member of the family ..young and old between ages of 5 and 40 and me at 60 love thiis new model and awaiting delivery…And of course for my next trip right up to the extreme north of Thailand to Mae Sai/Taichelek Burma….What else ???