Peugeot 2008 previewed at KLIMS13, Jan 2014 launch

peugeot-2008-klims 143

The Peugeot 2008 has surfaced at the ongoing KLIMS13, nine months after its Geneva world debut. The order books for the B-segment crossover are now officially open, and we’re told the official launch is likely to happen in January.

But what you see here is what you’ll get, and the price is expected to be RM118k – just like the oto.my ad said. At the heart of things are a 122 PS/160 Nm 1.6 litre VTi four-cylinder engine and a four-speed auto – the same combination you’ll find in our 208.

On the equipment list are Smart Park Assist, a panoramic roof with mood lighting, a seven-inch colour touch-screen with USB and Bluetooth connectivity, a Smart One-Touch Foldable rear seat, auto dual-zone air-con and a six-speaker Arkamys 3D sound system, while safety kit includes six airbags and ESP.

At 4,160 mm long, 1,740 mm wide and 1,550 mm tall, with a wheelbase of 2,540 mm, the 1,045-kg crossover is 96 mm taller and 200 mm longer than the 208 supermini on which it’s based, with a 25-mm higher ground clearance. The interior is largely similar to the 208’s, but the 2008 gets an interesting-looking aircraft-style handbrake.

The Peugeot 2008 is set to be joined by the Ford EcoSport, which will be unveiled soon, also at KLIMS – watch this space!

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Mahathir Gen 2 on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:34 pm

What the hell ?? new car but OLD TECHNOLOGY ??

Who still uses FOUR SPEED AUTO nowadays (apart from Toyota) ??

I guess the French just wants to dump their old tech disguised as new cars in our Malaysian Market

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 33
    • frenzyaustin on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:51 pm

Kia Rio, Picanto, Peugeot 208, Suzuki Swift, Perodua Viva, Myvi, Nissal Almera, Hyundai/Inokom i10. These are few example of popular 4 speeder car in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
      • Overpriced Rip Off on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:29 pm

Not worth it lah. I just read the keyword, “B segment”

That means, its a small kuci car. Its like the space and size of an Avanza. Try sitting in an Avanza, you will freak out. Its so small.

I think people getting excited here missed the keyword. “B Segment”

You want Crossover or SUV, get proper cars lah like Tucson, X Trail, Mazda CX5 etc

At RM118k, its way overpriced. People want size and economy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 14
        • zalendo on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:39 pm

ya i agreed with u. the size is too small . and 4at is damn high fuel consumption i wonder why not put a manual gear haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
      • Vader on Nov 15, 2013 at 8:08 am

Dont miss out the vios and camry too!!!

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 15, 2013 at 2:09 pm

My yard is full of Peugeot. In one year, the car can lose 50%. Peugeot in the King of Depreciation in Malaysia. All Peugeot people, when buying time so happy, say they buy French. Tehy think it is Bordeux wine from France. But sell time, all cry. All say who is going to top up my car loan? Only one year and I get 50% back.

Dont believe Sam Loo? Go ask any dealer that you got Peugeot to trade in, be sure you got your wife beside you to catch you from falling when you pengsan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
      • Hilux is a stupid truck on Nov 15, 2013 at 9:45 pm

Why talk about resale value when u got a good car. Peugeot buyers are not with toyota mindset. When they buy the next gen Peugeot, its a total improvement. NOt like toyota model which generation after generation give same old granpa technology. We buy European cars for driving satisfaction and finesse. If you want to invest, dun buy a car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • Then i suppose that makes peugeot is a most valued for money second-hand car.. perhaps can consider to buy 1 year Peug 508 at cheap2 50% reduction.. why need to buy new..

• lembu on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:36 pm

Still good, anything but toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
    • Samuel Tong on Nov 14, 2013 at 8:08 pm

Our government sucks our hard earn money till the last drop.
      See the car price in China.You will be amazed.

• pasomalam.com on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:43 pm

Interesting price.. at first i thought it was a fake price. will it hurt the 4308 sales ?

• eddie89 on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:43 pm

is there any chance the 1.2 turbo coming to Malaysia?

• well, at least the 2 chicks have something underneath that can be proud of.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Better buy Subaru XV by adding a lil bit more. Specs wise etc is much better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
  • imran on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:12 pm

1,045-kg crossover ? are you sure? 1st time seeing a crossover weighting lighter than a proton saga

• Hilux is a stupid truck on Nov 15, 2013 at 9:47 pm

Yup google it, came out its 1040kg. Must be real lightweight material. But with 6 airbags, ESP n 5 star Euroncap. Not bad..Goin to KLIMS to check it out tomorrow.

• sam69 on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:18 pm

omg..zombie car!

• totti on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:21 pm

Peugent brand with 1.6cc small car selling at RM 118K.

This naza is opening his big mouth.

RM80k also consider too much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
    • you may want to consider a spelling class.

• Totti tutti on Nov 15, 2013 at 9:49 pm

Ford ecoboost event more stupid selling 1.0 for RM100k. CRZ is smaller and smaller engine more expensive..dumbass..even with hybrid duty exemption

• sam69 on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:29 pm

those girl are much better looking!! thumbs up if u agreed! :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • what a cheap way to get thumbs up. shame on you. no girls for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • hondaman on Nov 14, 2013 at 5:47 pm

Those half leather half fabric seats always look cheap, even if it is intalled on a Beemers 118i

• Totally mix feelings about this car. On one hand, seems like a good and safe car that handles well too. On another, seem like too overpriced for a 1.6 non-turbo variant. Not to say there must be an unusable sized glove box too, like all Peugeots in right hand drive countries. If it was a 1.2 turbo version though, we will buy it now!

• vixen on Nov 14, 2013 at 11:59 pm

Is this a new engine or same prince engine with the awful unreliable 4 speed auto gearbox ?

It may looks good but the reliability of peugeot gb and stupid DPF error is scary.

This morning i spotted a quite new pug 408 broke down on the mrr2 fast lane.

• Sgt Scoop on Nov 15, 2013 at 12:21 am

It’ll be interesting to see how many of these are sold in Malaysia. These B segment crossovers are popular in Europe but you have a lot of choice for RM120k in Malaysia.

• PauKaya on Nov 15, 2013 at 5:17 am

nothing to be excited…this car was greatly panned in europe

• gOOsh on Nov 15, 2013 at 8:31 am

too much see Peugeot’s lines-up… rasa muak plak tengok the design…. all are plain same…

• Sabri on Nov 19, 2013 at 10:04 pm

I own Peugeot 408, love Peugeot and SUV but this Pug 2008 look too small for that high price. By the way, It’s still nice looking.

• zurusan on Dec 18, 2013 at 11:37 am

Brochure: http://media.peugeot.com.my/downloads/brochure/2008.pdf

Pricelist: http://media.peugeot.com.my/downloads/price/2008/20081_6VTi-Peninsular.pdf