BMW’s M Division has officially unveiled the new BMW X5 M Sports Activity Vehicle (SAV) and BMW X6 M Sports Activity Coupe (SAC). Both variants come with a similar powertrain setup, a new M TwinPower Turbo V8, which is said to be the most powerful engine developed for the firm’s all-wheel drive models.
The mill is equipped with a pair of twin-scroll turbochargers, cross-bank exhaust manifolds, VALVETRONIC and direct injection which help the 4.4 litre V8 produce 567 hp from 6,000 rpm to 6,500 rpm and 750 Nm of torque between 2,200 rpm to 5,000 rpm.
Both models send their power to all four wheels via the xDrive intelligent AWD system with Dynamic Performance Control, which is coupled to an eight-speed M Steptronic automatic transmission with Drivelogic. The 0-100 km/h sprint in the BMW X5 M and X6 M is completed in exactly 4.0 seconds.
Top speed for both models are electronically limited to 250 km/h. BMW quotes a 20% drop in fuel consumption pending official EPA figures, with C02 emissions down to 258 g/km.
A myriad of electronic features are present in the new models, most of which lean towards the performance spectrum rather than the economy side. Launch Control, for instance, helps the driver achieve an optimum getaway from standstill and the Dynamic Stability Control (DSC) allows for different parameters.
Three modes are available under DSC – DSC on, MDM (M Dynamic Mode) and DSC off – with the levels of electronic assistance decreasing respectively. New on both models, various safety and comfort features have been programmed under the DSC umbrella, such as Brake Drying, Brake Standby and Start-Off Assistant.
The BMW X5 M and BMW X6 M both come as standard with non-runflat Michelin Pilot Super Sport UHP tyres, measuring in at 285/35 for the front and 325/30 for the rear. They wrap 21-inch forged wheels. Stopping power comes courtesy of six-piston fixed calipers at the front and single-piston calipers at the rear.
Compared to its predecessors, the brake pads are now 50% larger and weigh 1.6 kg less. All four discs on both models are perforated and inner-vented with the calipers painted in blue.
Looks wise, the front of both cars are not exactly what one would describe as subtle with large air intakes being required to aid cooling for the transmission, engine and front brakes. The flaps located down under help to reduce lift and improve aerodynamics, another cue taken from the track.
The Air Breathers, located behind the front wheels, help to reduce turbulence generated in the front wheel arches when the vehicle hits a certain speed. At the rear, a distinctive quad-exhaust setup integrated into the diffuser help distinguish it from lesser models, with the X6 M getting a rear spoiler.
Step inside either model and a M-specific leather steering wheel with paddle shifters are present along with electrically operated M Multifunction seats, trimmed in Merino leather and embossed with M logos. Added features include a power tailgate, four-zone auto climate control and Harman Kardon surround sound system.
Two new exclusive paint options are available, Long Beach Blue Metallic and Donington Grey Metallic. The BMW X5 M and X6 M are expected to make their debut at the upcoming 2014 Los Angeles motor show.
BMW X5 M
BMW X6 M
Nice to own both in my terrace house garage
Anyone still thinking of buying an Audi now ? Audi only selling point is their DRL headlights. Use to heads turning, now that its no longer a novelty… Audi looks so dated
I regret getting an Audi, Audi transmission is problematic like hell, ride is hard and harsh, and the bloody engine consumes engine oil !
Screw Audi !
Are you sure bro? I have an Audi Q5 for 2 years now and so far so good.I also own a Merc C250 coupe 2013 and there have been some problems such as windscreen leaks and gearbox problems. Oh yeah about the X5M and its X6M. I think the first car looks much better than the 2nd generation
I Googled it.
Just as I type “Audi Q5 engine”… before I can even finish typing “Audi Q5 engine problem ” … Google already recommended
” Audi Q5 engine oil problem ”
Yes Audi SUXXS. I have a Q5
Ride is hard, car interior is small esp the rear seats …. and I need to top up engine oil every 2k-3k km
Now stuck with it, no choice
Hahaha…I try to type as you said, First recomendation from google ready is ‘Audi Q5 engine oil problem’
Never mind bro… when come to problematic… BMW is on par or even worse than Audi… radiator leak, engine oil leak, faulty sensor etc…. if only if u experienced them yourselves, then u will understand… 1 disappointed and regret owner here…
Those wanting to buy this car, just wait 1 year after it has been launched. You can buy the car for half the price.
This what happens to BMW cars especially the high end ones. Like even now, you can buy a 2013 BMW M5 for RM500,000. A brand new unit cost over a million.
Be a wise consumer. Let the first owner bear the bulk of depreciation. Let the first owner lose at least half a million in cash. You are after all buying a 1 year old car. Still got warranty. Nothing to fear. But you will be getting the car for half the price.
That is BMW in Malaysia. Within 10 to 11 months, the car loses so much in depreciation. But 2nd year onwards, it stabilises. Maybe RM30k to 40k a year from the 2nd year onwards.
there is a saying…
“If you need to ask the price, you cant afford it”
I might add, if you are losing sleep over depreciation, you’re DEFINITELY living beyond your means.
Try get some sleep now
This fat ass can run
The Ultimate Bullying Machine !!!
absolutely impressive 4.0s for such a heavy machine
this beauty definitely going to shame Macan
BMW engine is the best
i think this compete with cayenne turbo.. Only the future X4M will compete with the macan
How about proton Preve?
im sure it will beat hell out of it.
what kind of sarcasm is it?? lol
When will Malaysia launch this? But I am sure it will be sky high pricing. Only those kerabat diraja can buy, not because they are rich. Its because they are corrupted and tax-free for imported Conti cars. TMJ is goina get one. wait and see. And those filthy cronies.
a very fragile car…
what is the kerb weight for both car?
I want that side mirror
That x5m looks awesome…if i remember correctly,last gen x5m auto bavaria did bring few units for around 900k…i doubt tjis gonna be cheaper
Ganas looking…that’s what the designs of those two M models give me the impression of and rightly so for the kind of monsters they are on the road.
4 sec century sprint is insane for this 2.5 ton monster!
And look at those F1 sized 325mm rear tyres. Gonna be a bomb to replace them I bet. Banyak makan wang lol
I still think the SUV-crossover-coupe X6 (and X4) looks like a giant sedan from the rear. A really nice giant sedan, but a giant sedan lookalike nonetheless.
Bmw wat a job wow audi and merc eat my dust! And what is this talk about bmw not beeing releiable I hade a bmw 325i 2004 for six years no probs I now have a 5series bm 530i nu probs so suck it