New Nissan X-Trail open for booking in Malaysia – 2.0 2WD and 2.5 4WD, CKD starts from below RM150k

Nissan X-Trail Malaysia 7

The new Nissan X-Trail will be open for booking in Malaysia tomorrow. The mid-size SUV, which will take on class favourites Honda CR-V and Mazda CX-5, will be available with two engines – 2.0 and 2.5 – and with estimated prices starting from below RM150k for the 2.0 and below RM170k for the bigger engine.

Readers of this website should be fairly familiar with the third-gen X-Trail – we covered the SUV live from motor shows in Tokyo, Jakarta and most recently Bangkok. Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) revealed back in August that the X-Trail will be unveiled at the end of the year in CKD locally assembled form, and that has now come true.

Underpinned by the Renault-Nissan Alliance’s Common Module Family (CMF) platform, the new X-Trail ditches the previous two generations’ boxy shape and tough image for a curvy crossover form that’s more in line with the mainstream. First shown to the world at Frankfurt 2013, the production design doesn’t stray far from 2012’s Hi-Cross Concept.

This time, the X-Trail is a 5+2 seater, and those two emergency seats could prove valuable in its fight against the Honda and Mazda here. The small seats, which come with three-point seat belts, can be flat folded 50:50 into the floor. When they’re needed, there’s a compartment under the boot floor to keep the tonneau cover in place. With the third row folded, boot space is 550 litres. Fold the (60:40) second row and you get 1,520 L.

The 2.0 litre engine is a new direct injection unit with 144 PS and 200 Nm of torque at 4,400 rpm. The Twin CVTC MR20DD unit is paired to the latest Xtronic CVT gearbox with ECO mode and a seven-speed manual mode, a feature that’s absent in both Sylphy and Teana CVT sedans. The QR25DE-k2 2.5 litre engine puts out 171 PS and 233 Nm at 4,000 rpm, and uses the same gearbox.

The 2.0 is 2WD (FWD) while the 2.5 comes with Nissan’s All Mode 4X4-i system. In the latter, a knob on the centre console allows the driver to select between 2WD, Auto (on demand) and 4WD Lock (50:50) for off-roading. The 2.0 gets an extra cubby in that place. In Auto mode, Yaw Moment Feedback Control improves handling by distributing torque to the rear wheels according to steering and accelerator positions.

Nissan X-Trail Malaysia 40

The SUV also gets an Active Chassis Control package that includes Active Ride Control, Active Engine Brake and Active Trace Control functions, on top of more common Hill Start Assist (for slopes above 5%) and Hill Descent Control (only in 4WD Lock mode, speed locked between 4-15 km/h). No new components needed – all the above are manipulated by the engine, CVT and Vehicle Dynamics Control (VDC) modules.

In Active Ride Control, engine torque is varied slightly according to the bumps on the road surface (plus small amounts of braking) to reduce pitching movement. Active Engine Brake tells the Xtronic CVT to add a degree of engine braking when cornering or coming to a stop. Active Trace Control brakes individual wheels during cornering to cut understeer. It will engage at any point in the corner, whether at entry, mid-corner or exit.

We finally come to equipment. The 2.0 2WD is pretty well kitted, with DRLs, automatic (halogen) headlamps, keyless entry with push start button, Advance Drive Assist Display (five-inch colour display between the dials), cruise control, steering buttons, leather steering/shift knob, and Nissan’s Around View Monitor + reverse camera to greatly assist parking.

The 2.5 4WD gets all of that plus LED headlamps, auto wipers, leather seats, a 10-way powered driver’s seat (including lumbar), four-way powered passenger seat and different trim.

Safety wise, both models get dual-airbags, ABS, EBD, BA, Vehicle Dynamics Control, Hill Start Assist, Isofix and the Active Chassis Control suite detailed above. Hill Descent Control is only for the 2.5 4WD. Both roll on identical 17-inch wheels and 225/65 rubber so the only external way to tell them apart is from the headlamps – halogen vs LED.

Five colours are available – Brilliant White, Tungsten Silver, Diamond Black, Graphite Blue and Titanium Olive. To recap, the 2.0 will start from below RM150k and the 2.5, below RM170k.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Monster on Dec 12, 2014 at 3:13 pm

That’s a nice looking interior. I’m wondering is it made of soft touch material or just acres and acres of hard plastic? I hope they up their game just like Mazda

• Wesley on Dec 12, 2014 at 5:32 pm

The plastic on top dashboard and top door is soft. You will be amazed by the plastic chosen, trust me. Hard plastics are found on the bottom of the dash and door, as usual in the same segment. However, the screen size is not up to today’s standard.

• zencr on Dec 12, 2014 at 8:47 pm

RV drops badly after 5 years. Especially for SUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 42
        • Head Unit Worst than China Made on Dec 12, 2014 at 9:21 pm

Everything nice including the girl….well…everything except the Head Unit. Not only it looks cheap and plasticky it also scratches too easily by just wiping it

• TokKok on Dec 12, 2014 at 9:41 pm

after 5 years, what also will drop la… including your pants

sometimes the shit that ppl talk here … TOKKOK

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 4
    • Same L0rrrr on Dec 12, 2014 at 5:53 pm

As i always said, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 21
      • Fuel guzzler SUV. Previous gen the plastic is hard. Ride is so and so at high speed. Cabin is quite crampy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • Samelorrr CCB on Dec 12, 2014 at 9:23 pm

Huh… Who gives a shit what you say anyway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Irlan Norris bin Ikhwan Kasbon on Dec 13, 2014 at 12:15 pm

I rather get a Santa Fe crdi. Its a real full size Suv and the crdi has abt 200hp and 450nm torque. So powerful. Price after nego can get abt 150k. I test drove its fuel efficient as well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
    • karam singh on Dec 12, 2014 at 8:42 pm

Steering wheel hideous…
      boring interior as always

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • reall on Dec 12, 2014 at 3:13 pm

It looks great but it doesn’t look as tough and rugged as the old one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
  • MitchelJohn on Dec 12, 2014 at 3:19 pm

Hmmm…. dual air bags, as feared…

CX-5 it is

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
  • *until I saw BOTH version give ONLY dual air bags… Thought my eyes got problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • kenny on Dec 12, 2014 at 5:42 pm

RM170k for 2 airbag? Gosh! Now the wordings of Tun M on Malaysians are stupid enough are now make sense. I think the buyers should on hold the booking for two good reasons:
      a) to give a clear message to TC that a TWO airbags car is no longer relevant in the market.
      b) TC maybe give discount after 6 month due to the poor respond from the market.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 2
  • 2 airbags? Why cant they give it 6?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
    • 4 roda sekarang on Dec 12, 2014 at 10:44 pm

Why … U expect to get into a horrific accident ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 80
      • Why ?? on Dec 13, 2014 at 12:49 am

Is not about expecting into horrific accident, is the stuff we should get at price range. Besides, airbags do save life. Better safe than sorry, brother. I just don’t understand why some consumer dislike more airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
        • lollipop on Dec 13, 2014 at 8:03 pm

But but but some people say we dun use airbags everyday lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • getting fed up with CVT :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • abdullah on Dec 12, 2014 at 3:26 pm

Overprice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • BooHoo Nissan on Dec 12, 2014 at 3:27 pm

2 air bags only for RM150k and !70K …wat a shocker !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
    • sammy on Dec 14, 2014 at 11:34 pm

I guess TC didn’t get the memo from PM on the reduce car price policy that he promised…

• Disappointing, why malaysia car maker like to take away the feature from original design e.g. auto parking NO, side airbag NO, departure lane NO….

Since TC introduce 2.5 for higher premium modal pls put all the feature into this modal.

I’m waiting a year for this moment to come, but still disappointing have remote this car from my purchase list favourite.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 0
    • simon on Dec 12, 2014 at 5:56 pm

End of nissan, and welcome to new era of MAZDA.

Even 3 year old CRV better than this new x-trail. 2.4 with all round airbag, and better tail look.

TC, please re-think your strategy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
      • Agree, next year CRV introduce to malaysia, looking forward their surprise update. Fully import Mazda cx-5 2.5 with full spec more worth as compare this new x-trail, also below 170k

Nissan Malaysia love to cut feature here and there, to makeup good profit for them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Diesel Power!!! on Dec 12, 2014 at 3:30 pm

Expensive!!

Shd be sold at rm13xk for 2.0, rm15xk for 2.5!!

y no diesel??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
  • Daniel O on Dec 12, 2014 at 3:30 pm

Much more beautiful than the ugly CRV facelift.Specs also not too bad. Hopeless CR-V junk. Shit man, even mazda cx 5 also better looking than CR-V.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 23
    • Dun worry, I know that the CRV has an ugly body design.Ugly looks aside, I sold off my 2 year old 2.4 model. Engine had numerous problems. The dashboard cracked easily. Overall quality is Extremely poor from melaka plant.The facelifted CRV has more hideous looks. Now Honda M charges rm 128 for labour cost at service center! Ridiculous maintanance costs.Lesson learnt, just get the new beautiful X- Trail like u said or Mazda cx5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
    • CR-V fan 1 on Dec 12, 2014 at 10:45 pm

Specs not too bad? Are u insane!!The hopeless CRV junk u mentioned is much better equipped than this X-Trail JUNK!!.CR-V 2.4L features auto HID projector headlamps, chrome door handles and 18-inch wheels with 225/60 tyres, one inch up from the 2.0L 225/65 R17. Safety kit incudes SIX airbags with the addition of curtain airbags. The 2.0 has four airbags, front and side.Bro Daniel, the X-trail has oni 2 airbags which is just put simply, garbage safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • fd2 r on Dec 12, 2014 at 3:31 pm

Better go for Santa Fe or Sorento. Bigger, looks better, and value for money. Even the used 1 or 2 years is a better buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 20
  • Maserati(Official) on Dec 12, 2014 at 3:31 pm

Where is Najib’s promise? Najib promised us before the election that he would reduce car prices by 30%. Najib assured all the voters that if we voted for BN, he would 100% keep to his promise of reducing car prices.

He said BN could be trusted and BN NEVER cheated on their promises.

Now, more than 15 months since the election, all we see is higher car prices than before the election. This X Trail has gone up from its older pricing.

Why has not Najib kept his promise to the rakyat? After all this car in the USA is about US$20,000. (RM65,000). At this prices, Nissan USA is already making a big profit and the US Government already collected their taxes from Nissan USA.

So, likelihood that this car actual cost far cheaper than US$20,000. Maybe even US$15,000. Tan Chong being the official country distributor will get this car at US$15,000 or less from its Principal Nissan Japan.

To make matters worse, you CKD, the price is even cheaper. Maybe US$12,000 just to manufacture the car (RM40,000)

So, where is Najib’s promise. The car cost hardly RM40,000 but Najib allows this car to be sold for RM150,000?

Pity Malaysians. BN has really cheated us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 108
    • jibby on Dec 12, 2014 at 10:58 pm

I just got a call from Najib…he asked me to tell you this… you can choose one of two options he has for you

1) dream on
      Or
      2) f -off

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 16
    • NoPolitic on Dec 13, 2014 at 8:46 pm

I can see this political guy making samd comment at almost every new car forum. This assholx is one real loserbin his life. He is truing to stir thing up here to create unhappiness. No politic here in this forum please. You can continue to fail in your life but please leave tis forum you dixx head.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 16
  • Why 233Nm and CVT only? It should get little more POWAAA!! like Nissan Navara

• Big and clumsy on Dec 12, 2014 at 10:52 pm

Have you driven a Navara? Cause if you did you will realise the Navara is not as powerful as it claims … the engine is noisy and rough when pushed.

The torque and power of the Navara is only for towing and carrying cargo….those that expect performance power will be very disappointed.

Navara is so wide it’s not suitable for off road too… as off road tracks are narrow.

No wonder why so many ppl get the Ranger instead.

• navara4ever on Dec 13, 2014 at 12:49 pm

If you have not owned one, no need to say la bro..! Obviously you don’t know any shit about Navara. I have owned one 4×4 2.5 manual since 2010 and now looking forward to upgrade to the next model. The best pick-up truck I have ever driven for handling and power, since I ditched my crap Hilux and Ranger. Hah..penat I nak explain, beli sendiri je la, baru tau. Jangan cakap aje.

• Navara macam Tahi Hidung on Dec 13, 2014 at 5:05 pm

You are right, I also don’t own one.. because after I test drive I terus muntah. Clumsy and looks like shit.. Navara is for small ppl with big ego… asalkan besar cukup

I also malas mau explain to ppl who know nuts about 4×4

• navarapowah on Dec 13, 2014 at 8:07 pm

What is its FC like?
            14km/l in heavy traffic jams?

• Niamavara on Dec 13, 2014 at 6:36 pm

Yup like their advert clearly states… Navara is for Mother Fakers ..

so you my fren is a proud #navara4ever-motherfaker

• Looks good and value for money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
  • Urzu3 on Dec 12, 2014 at 3:37 pm

why 2.0 no 4×4..? and 4×4 around RM170K.. @_@

• CRV lover on Dec 12, 2014 at 3:38 pm

Yeah u are right bro. I just sold my 2.4 CRV away.So disappointed with it after 2 years.Suspension stiff like hell.Only 17k on odo, the engine give somemore problems.Dashboard cracked even hardly use it everyday. Honda Melaka quality sucks man.Now service price aka labour cost rm128. Stupid Honda CR-V.Might get new X-trail instead!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
  • tishaban on Dec 12, 2014 at 3:40 pm

How come the Sylphy and Teana get the full safety kit (6-airbags etc) across the whole range but the X-Trail doesn’t? Strange decision by ETCM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
  • Legend (Member) on Dec 12, 2014 at 3:48 pm

“Safety wise, both models get dual-airbags…..”
    ok i won’t finish reading then…
    A little bit disappointed lo compare to last time when Teana launched…
    “Six airbags across the range…”

• wendy on Dec 12, 2014 at 3:52 pm

2 airbags?? Seriously?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • KitKat on Dec 12, 2014 at 5:14 pm

If you like the design, convince urself 2 air bag is enough. You will never use it.

But more is better. So if you live in Malaysia, live with it, if you don’t like, go live else where.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 48
      • Why ?? on Dec 13, 2014 at 12:57 am

“So if you live in Malaysia, live with it, if you don’t like, go live else where.”

Stupid mentality… We are the consumer. They should meet our demands. Not the other way round, brother.

• Ananz on Dec 13, 2014 at 9:48 am

Very shallow mentality. You should be ashamed of yourself.

• drMpower on Dec 12, 2014 at 3:56 pm

i studied the specs and compared them with thai version as the benchmark. if the above list is the one coming for us, then for the 2.0 2WD/4WD it sits more than the base thai model (2.0S) 2WD but not to the maximum 2.0V 4WD. but it isnt similar to thai 2.0E as well. so assuming that the 150k is for 2 WD, then we may discard the thai 2.0V 4WD.

thai 2.0E is having LED projector but the spec above tells the 2.0 coming with halogen. as for thai, halogen is on the basic 2.0S model. but then again, our spec 2.0 got cruise control, which equal to middle spec thai 2.0E. etc etc.

why i do the above study? because i want to figure how much it cost. or atleast give me somekind of price range. to give another perspective in term of thai price and our price, i looked at sylphy price for both. my calculation show our price is 13-15% more than thai’s equivalent.

so with these little information, i figure the price for the upcoming xtrail may reside between 130k RM to 150k RM but i doubt it will be close to 150k RM. more appropriate, it would be between 130k RM to 145k RM give and take. and for a 2.0 2WD, this range is quite okay considering the 2WD mazda is 130k RM + and the AWD 2.0 crv is over 140k RM.

i notice this webpage says 2.0 2WD/FWD, then again the spec may be very very similar to thailand’s. if that so, then we are looking at lower 130k RM for a 2.0 low spec 2WD with 13-15% included to the thai’s 904,000 baht.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Maserati(Official) on Dec 12, 2014 at 3:56 pm

Nissan Rogue with 2.5 in the USA is only US$22,000. Comes with 8 airbags also. CBU Quality.

We get CKD Quality with fewer airbags at RM170,000

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
  • Maserati(Official) on Dec 12, 2014 at 4:00 pm

In today’s day and age, a RM170,000 car can still have 2 airbags?

We Malaysians are fed up of being cheated. Government should regulate the safety equipment. After all Government regulates everything about what car we get and how much we pay for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
  • slk3879 on Dec 12, 2014 at 4:04 pm

It could be a success, only if Nissan had priced it lower.

Face the fact, many Malaysians would choose the CR-V over this if they are priced more or less the same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • naqib on Dec 12, 2014 at 4:11 pm

kudos to nissan, but why still 2 airbags for 2.0 and 2.5 models? since the cars are being assembly in ckd form, this xtrail and serena hybrid should be equipped with 6 airbags at least for the highest spec car

• Maserati(Official) on Dec 12, 2014 at 4:12 pm

ETCM are big cheats. How can you charge RM150k for a car with just 2 airbags? And the car is CKD. CKD supposed to be cheaper for Malaysians.

How can the CBU in the US cost far cheaper than the CKD in Malaysia?

Where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 22
  • Maserati(Official) on Dec 12, 2014 at 4:16 pm

Might as well get a CBU Mazda CX5. Pure Japan made, more airbags and more advanced Skyactive engine which just sips petrol.

This junk will be like all other Nissan, using old engine which suck petrol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
  • Looks like lots of improvement from current model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • spongewai on Dec 12, 2014 at 4:20 pm

er, 2 airbags??

• 2 airbags ? Looks like Nissan is moving backwards again . Thought they include 6 airbags as standard for teana and the slyphy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Jimmy on Dec 12, 2014 at 5:28 pm

I guess the 6-airbags Sylphy and Teana have poor sales, thus they are discouraged to put in 6 airbags or 7 airbags.

Be wise ya, we Malaysians.

• Not Nissan moving backwards, is ETCM.
      Look at JDM version, it is equipped with active and passive safety kits and 6 airbags and larger head-unit with navigation ready.

So,
      ETCM eats money.

• SaySomething on Dec 12, 2014 at 4:37 pm

Having 2 air bags for this price range is totally OUT in Malaysia.

• kanazai2001 on Dec 12, 2014 at 4:47 pm

no AWD for 2.0?!
    somemore need about 150k?!
    forget about it…

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 12, 2014 at 4:53 pm

Nissan actually brought in a lot of kit for the SUV…we even get the Around View Model which isn’t even available in cars like the 5 Series and Audi A6 but heck why only two bloody airbags??

Nissan did it with the Serena MPV and now with their X-Trial SUV – they never learn their lesson!

• Ibuyairbags on Dec 12, 2014 at 5:01 pm

We dont use airbags on our everyday driving, to put it more precise we dont see our car’s airbags come out everyday.
    Just look at the new Xtrail precautions safety features, active chasis control, safety zone-body designs VDC,TCS and lots more. Where all these really helps in preventing accidents or reducing impacts when a crash is unavoidable.

I myself will never purchase a kancil (no offence) eventhough it equips with 8 airbags because the car body alone cant even absorb any solid impacts.

Maybe that’s just my input over here. Theres alot of safety features can be seen with this new X-Trail. I am buying a solid car here, not airbags or waterbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 34
    • Jimmy on Dec 12, 2014 at 5:38 pm

As if CX-5 doesn’t have MAIDAS and ESP.
      Many gimmicks, probably cheaper (using ECU / programming, without much hardwares?) than installing additional 5 airbags.
      Toyota saleman in ESP omission issue.

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 13, 2014 at 8:49 pm

All your active safety gear isn’t going to protect you when someone jumps a red light and T Bones you.

comprende?

• yeah. u don’t use it everyday but when the time comes, u are going to really really really need it more than anything

i’m not saying that airbags will guarantee the your life during accident, at least u have a better chance to survive the crash

• Almost perfect except airbag, both models should get 6airbags as standard

• cendol (Member) on Dec 12, 2014 at 5:14 pm

Malaysian lives are cheap a dozen, hence the 2 airbag.
    Most Malaysian don’t care bout safety spec, they just care about monthly installment,
    asal papa tapi bergaya

• For high spec 2.5 at least give 6 airbags. What about the auto parking and lane departure safety?

CKD RM 170K, 2 airbag. Seriously?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Jimmy on Dec 12, 2014 at 5:42 pm

Auto-parking is not safety equipment, it is for convenince, we are good at parking and hence don’t need it; ask TC to focus on airbags.

• Nissan hit it right with the 5+2 seats. There are no other similar seating configuration at this class and price (if it’s at ~140k)

• Jimmy on Dec 12, 2014 at 5:48 pm

Top up a bit and wait for new Everest, should be much more solid, heavy duty offroader, with 7 airbags, antiroll, ESP, panoramic sunroof etc, and lastly proper 7 seats.

Or just get a CX-5.

Sorento is 155K or 255k? And it is smaller than this X-trail?

Safety comes first.

Boycott unsafe vehicles.

• spongewai on Dec 12, 2014 at 5:21 pm

Nissan Serena S-Hybrid CKD also give 2-airbag
    upcoming Nissan Almera facelift also in 2-airbag

c’mmon la ETCM, safety pls

• Should hv 2 variants for 2.0L … 2WD & 4×4!

• Dissapointed on Dec 12, 2014 at 6:24 pm

Real disappointed when saw the words ‘2 airbags’. So looking forward to buy this car… now thinking thrice…. ETCM.. please move forward….

• it’s hardly any value with these kinds of price range!
    Malaysians deserve a better valued cars with our hard earned money!

• Riddle on Dec 12, 2014 at 6:31 pm

Tell me, what’s one thing this new nissan xtrail and leng yein have in common?

• X mau cakap banyak maa. I sudah booked.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Shut up and take my money IF it was 6 airbags than 2

• CX-5 is still a better choice. Cheaper, more safety features, more goodies (automatic wipers, lights) to play with, and looks better (subjective); unless one really needs the 3rd row seat.

• Sharu on Dec 12, 2014 at 7:57 pm

ETCM were greedy in pricing the new X trail, knowing that the Sunny and Serena were doing above average. Dual air bag, tea bag or whatever, Malaysian will still buy…

• hahaha on Dec 12, 2014 at 8:15 pm

omg.. 2 airbags.. zzz.. but AVM is a sweet addition <3

• CRV 2.4 launched in Malaysia 1.5 years ago, that CRV lover is bluffing through his nose

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • prefer the subaru xv

• shawal on Dec 12, 2014 at 8:30 pm

lets just for the next sorento to arrive…hopefully dis time with diesel power

• In Malaysia CKD mean you’re expected to satisfy with drawbacks, namely:

1-Relatively lower assemble quality since the distributor need to allocate their assembly set up cost instead of CBU from ASEAN. I don’t care whether the vehicle is CKDed or SKD as long as we got cheaper car. This business model works before (substantially cheaper CKD) but now NO PRICE SAVING SINCE TCEAS had extra cost for CKD facility. To make matter worse, some of their CKD models really hard to sell. I never met any 2nd gen 2WD Indonesian made Xtrail 2.0 in by neighborhood. Nissan dealers also realized about this fact. Nissan Serena hybrid really saleable like Almera before but the same couldn’t be said for other models especially Latio, Teana or Sylphy.

2- Never learn from mistake worse case scenario is their pricing-amenities. Slightly lower than RM150K just never justify for the 2nd gen 2WD’s RM148,815 since 2 extra seats only for kids unlike those found in Livina. Remember RV of Nissan never in Toyota-Honda region. In this case CRV and cheaper and more economical but smaller CX5.

3-Maximum price is RM129K or you can’t pish this XTRAIL.

• Why 5+2 seating options only, what about those who want 5 seaters and a bigger booth volume to accommodate to bicycles?

The head unit 5″ for 2.4, what happened to the 8″ with gps and navigation function?

2 air bags for 2.4?

Sighhhh … when is the facelift cx5 coming ….

• I got a feeling they will price it at RM169,999 which is below RM170k.

• old dog on Dec 12, 2014 at 9:38 pm

THis qashai is rated very high in UK..

• ajo haterzs on Dec 12, 2014 at 9:58 pm

People can talk and talk and talk being a keyboard warrior, but when in reality no money to buy car. Car makers can put 6 airbags or even 9 airbags, tapi ada duit ke for monthly installment? Same goes to features, LDW, BSW, Auto parking, MOD,Auto open tailgate so on and so forth….and if we add up, malaysian willing to pay or not?

Like it or not, we live in Malaysia, take it or leave it. No need to compare with other places, specs or price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
    • Jimmy on Dec 13, 2014 at 12:57 pm

Are you curious why they decided to put so many safety gimmicks instead of the basic ‘6 airbags + ESP’.
      Will they put these gimmicks on their future models and go one step ahead to omit ABS/EBD/BA?
      Malaysians willing to pay or not? Just look at CX-5, it carries 2 airbags I presumed.
      To me, Elgrand and Murano both are not attractive, and the saleperson still thinks that it’s about price. Then you can never improve.

• So you admit that you cannot afford it?
        Haha pity next time you add airbags on your own lor

• Limahpek on Dec 12, 2014 at 10:22 pm

Formerly had the gen1 xtrail.. Superb car and really good 4×4 DNA and practicality. Then moving on second generation xtrail was floppe and rubbish specs! Insult to the 1st gen owner looking for upgrade. Then now generation 3 xtrail with much matured family and knowledge who love suv and a little off road… But still same two airbags! Why a good product compromised by the important safety??? You still need passive safety irregardless of multiple active safety features… Shame on TanChong! Was so looking forward for it.. But it seem looking backward for Nissan TanChong

• Jimmy on Dec 13, 2014 at 1:02 pm

One of the reason being the fact that you may be hit by other vehicles, and it is not you fault.

Avoid staying too close to certain vehicles in rainy days, witnessed twice, one of the victims was a 5-series hit by a haiwan yang berpusing.

• TC should Learn from Proton at least Preve got 6 airbags across range, Suprima Std no ESC but at least Exec and Premium still have it.

• submarine on Dec 12, 2014 at 10:57 pm

When TC standardise 6 airbags across the range for new Teana and Sylphy I thought maybe they’ve smartened up to listen to the needs of would-be customers. Disheartenedly both the Serena and Xtrail come only with 2 airbags! TC if you’re listening: don’t take buyers as fools, in this age and time consumers are informed, they buy the seller not just the product. To me the dual airbags will be a deal stopper in the market today.

• Jilbaber (Member) on Dec 12, 2014 at 11:03 pm

Interior looks ugly and outdated and cheap..and only 2 airbags really disappointing..

• After waiting & waiting…. today I decided go for CX5 which is more value for money compare to X trail.
    Very disappointed with Nissan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Sam Boo on Dec 13, 2014 at 1:44 am

Their Teana & Sylphy not quite selling well with full safety kit & 6 airbags. And now comes the new X-trail CKD 170K with only 2 airbag…god bless u…ETCM

• Jimmy on Dec 13, 2014 at 1:10 pm

The ETCM salespersons think that I am a devil to them.

Anak ku, kau pandai sangat, umur 12 tahun sudah pandai bawa balik rumah 3 biji durians.

• next year, there will be new sorento, new everest, new fortuner & this xtrail…i will test drive all of them before put my money in. Choose wisely

• Red chilli on Dec 13, 2014 at 2:38 am

TC if u are reading all the feedback, Must putting back the 6 air bag. I’ve been waiting & looking forward for this car since the news has been out last year. But today You let everybody feel very disappointed & angry .!!!why only got “2 air bag…”!!!!!

• Iron man on Dec 13, 2014 at 3:03 am

TC ,please recall all the new x-trail for 6 air-bag ,if not then u will be waiting to die lah…..! We will go for other suv.

• suvtan on Dec 13, 2014 at 3:49 am

Attention ..attention..attention to Etcm ,u better put 6 air-bags before launching

• Now it’s clearer reason for those thinking between CX5 or Xtrail 2wd. The former seemingly better bet.

Nissan made a lot of mistake and except Almeria, Livina and Serena the rest of their lineups were hardly come to the consumer mind.

Vios vs City vs Almeria? No brainer unless you’ll settle for the cheapest or perhaps a slightly more trade in.

Sylphy vs Altis vs Civic- RV alone no Sylphy in the consumer’s evoke set.

Accord vs Camry vs Teana vs Pug508 vs Hyundai Sonata vs Kia Optima K7- so many option

Avanza vs Livina vs Exora- Livina easily win

Mazda Biente vs Serena hybrid vs Innova etc? Pretty good choice

• glivine on Dec 13, 2014 at 8:20 pm

Livina 3rd row quite crampy, Exora more powah, turbo maaa. Only FC GL wins

• Singh on Dec 13, 2014 at 8:20 am

TC probably thinks Malaysians are really not too bothered with having more than 2 airbags.. Just look at the Myvi. Best selling car, nine years in a row! – but only comes with 2 airbags, still almost everybody buys it.

• Jimmy on Dec 13, 2014 at 1:14 pm

In higher end market, buyers are getting wiser.

Myvi : price factor and Proton’s factor (lousy competitor, if you don’t get it).

• I think Singh has made a good point. How many of those ‘only two airbags’ bashes out there owns a Myvi or any other 2 airbag car?
    So who’s actually to be blamed here?
    I guess unless malaysian drivers together make a stand for more safety features, the specification of cars that we are now getting might just take forever to change.

• bagabazz on Dec 13, 2014 at 8:32 pm

P1 bashers will condemn if the old or new p1 cars dun have ESC, even if there are variants equipped.

p2 and T are gobcar, cannot persoal.

True story.

• wa the screen at middle way too small. look at oversea they give at lease 7″ screen laaa

• Angry bird on Dec 13, 2014 at 11:00 am

Most of the people choosing 5+2 seats do have family, But 150 & 170k only with dual airbags . Hey..ETCM using your brain my family members safety is the most important same with infront driver

• KeyboardWarrior on Dec 13, 2014 at 11:44 am

I am amazed with the amount of Keyboard Warriors every single time the web posted some new coverage for cars. C’mon guys stop bashing cars. I feel the design of this car and the interior has greatly improved based on the previous model. Nissan has come out with some really decent design recently. Company is doing great under Carlos Ghosn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • Jimmy on Dec 13, 2014 at 1:18 pm

People with wisdom and intelligence will understand that a lot of people still put hope on Nissan and hence gave comments. I am different, I want safety for all rakyats and more competitions.

• It is not about the design of the car. Out side Msia, X-trail got more options to offer to it owner but here ETCM give us 2 options only!.

• Herman Low on Dec 13, 2014 at 12:08 pm

TCM not Nissan Japan is moving backwards with only 2 air-bags when Sylphy & Teana have 6. I believe more air-bags is crucial as when accidents happen we’re not like 007 movie ” You Only Live Twice”.
    The navi screen is too small. I had one China-made 7″ for my 06 model for RM700. But the body design is totally new and also a 7 seater with rear air-con. Will consider getting one after TCM official pricing. BTW maintenance is rather high for this esp. for buyers used to sedans.

• sadsa on Dec 13, 2014 at 2:15 pm

it up to owner , no matter 6 or 2 airbag .evem livina only got 2 airbag but the sales…thumb!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • torquey on Dec 13, 2014 at 8:26 pm

Livina is much cheaper vehicle, below 100k lor. But Exora can outrun it even if it’s heavier.

• Ibuyairbags on Dec 13, 2014 at 3:34 pm

Please dont buy New X-Trail, dont force yourself to buy it (provided you a eligible buyer with dufficient income). Since its so bad as all comments here lol.
    I am going to buy CX-5 as everyone recommendedv here. Afterall its just a 150K car no big deal ^_^.

• Ckechook on Dec 13, 2014 at 4:32 pm

I Sudah booked’ happy customer’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • carfan on Dec 13, 2014 at 6:29 pm

The Japanese are still behind on the engine – still no small turbo engine for power and efficiency like the European. First turbo 2 litre is in Lexus NX100 -hopefully something in the 1.0L and 1.6l coming.

• couldron on Dec 13, 2014 at 8:28 pm

But Japs fans will say Turbo is not new tech too, been ages in auto industry.

• abeng on Dec 13, 2014 at 10:55 pm

serena cbu when launch 150k.. (Hybrid rebate)
    Now they clear stock 115k can get.. (Mfg 2013)

35k++ untung sebijik kereta.. (Manufacturer untung)

Government lagilah untung buta2..

Consumer? hahaha.. Pls stop buy if u think not value for yr hard earn money.. dont just said but diam2 booking sebijik new car…

• Adviser on Dec 14, 2014 at 1:18 am

this car haven’t launch its already received so many bad feedback especially about safety airbags .i think it will b not well selling car .TC u better wake up your idea ! Good luck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • ah hian on Dec 14, 2014 at 1:43 am

Serena 2014 FL selling at 115K!!! abeng selling?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Dec 14, 2014 at 10:39 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

If its a KIA, it can no longer be traded in

• thedarkside on Dec 14, 2014 at 11:07 am

After looking at the specs, ive decided to go for the range rover instead…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • shawal on Dec 14, 2014 at 3:11 pm

again with all these black and grey color schemes!!!

• ETCM!!! pls read this!!!! im a VERY SERIOUS BUYER waiting for this x-trail..most interesting for me is 5+2 seater…7 is better..BUT with just 2 airbags, so dissappointed..need to rethink which car for my HARD EARNED MONEY should go…

• I’ve let my customers to test drive it,I must say that the Manual 7 Speed mode will totally blow your mind. :)
    (Haters gonna hate,hate,hate,hate)

• Went for test drive today. To summarize – Really disappointed. Stupid move by TCM. Rubbish spec for the price they r asking for the 2.5 and 2.0. For rm170k 2.5l only I get 4×4. N not far off spec difference from 2.0l. I don’t know who in right mind would pay rm170k for 2 airbag n small 5inch screen. No power tailgate. No sunroof.
    Book this weekend n get 8k discount. B4 announce final price already discount. That’s how confident they with this suv.

• Ong Chee Boon on Dec 14, 2014 at 11:07 pm

Wow a lot of negative comment yet constructive advice here.

I rarely drive a SUV. And i have never drive a Nissan X Trail before, so i am not gonna harp on the driving experience and handling and the accessories.

Like most of the posters above, ETCM had made a serious mistake this time. Choosing to compromise on the number of airbags is simply unacceptable. Reason? Life.

Pricing wise, 2.0 CKD need RM150k? Come on ETCM you can do better! RM130k would be attractive. Now suddenly Mazda CX-5 becoming mouth-watering.

I repeat, ETCM, please do not become another UMW Malaysia.

• How come the Sylphy and Teana get the full safety kit (6-airbags etc) across the whole range but the X-Trail doesn’t? Strange decision by ETCM.

——————————–

ETCM aware that the 6 airbags will not sell the product.

As you are aware, the new slyphy and teana had failed miserably in the marketing except the cheap 2 airbag Almera.

Nissan want to sell 6 airbags witn a premium price which is same as T & h. They fail and now any new product selling on par with T & H will commit suicide.

New X-trail selling above RM 130K will had another suicide product again.

Anything above RM 130K will have an option for buyer to get the Mazda CX5 and high depreciation in 2nd hand value for nissan car will make the buyer think twice.

Look at the 2 years Teana and Sylphy 2nd hand value in the market and will be having a shock if compared to H&T.

I Owned Nissan for the past 12 years till now but never ever aget a new car from ETCM unless they price the new car lower than T&H by 10% margin.

Just look at the New serena from mudah, they are many new 2014 AP serena selling at RM 118K *(before discount) and you can imagine your 2nd hand value for your 2013 1 year old serena will be priced around RM 100K.

• Wrong_analysis on Dec 21, 2014 at 10:19 am

Honda is the only one offer competitive product by my book.

Both T&C and UMW are selling us crap in comparison. Just look at the Honda City high-spec, see that in Teana or Xtrail? No navigation, no ipod integration, no connect functions? Airbags, leather?

In this age of technology functions and connectivity trumps all. A good products needs to provide value. All TCM and UMW product are just not that. They still think that a radio + CD function is good enough.

Sure and uncle like you may not care for connectivity or know how to operate the new fang danger connectivity features. For the younger market that needs a car or the young middle class looking for near luxury, these are feature they care for. TCM and UMW can hope that their target Uncle buyer outlives and continues to buy their substandard fleet.

The operative word is value for money, neither TCM or UMW is customer oriented and wants to give you that. They want to line their pocket 1st before customer satisfaction. Avoid like the plague.

• jimmy on Dec 15, 2014 at 9:29 am

outlook is good, but the inside ar………look cheap

• fastd on Dec 15, 2014 at 9:38 am

Can’t wait tiger touch in CRV, same did to Accord… LOL

• Moneybag d'Anus on Dec 15, 2014 at 7:28 pm

…in other economies like the us it takes one 6months to armotise an automobile but in this country a bloody 9years…wt r we paying for laah….

• darkermarker on Dec 15, 2014 at 11:42 pm

why the steering wheel looks like spender??

• Curious on XTrail on Dec 15, 2014 at 11:58 pm

2 Airbags is really disappointing esp knowing Sylphy and Teana has 6 AB …
    I also noticed there are no reverse sensors indicated in the features .. nor is there any visual indication on the car … It seems it only depends on the reverse camera?
    If so .. It will be same like the Renault Fluence which has no sensors but just the camera …
    BTW … it also doesn’t come with stuffs like auto dim rear view mirrors too … hmmm …

• no reverse sensors on Dec 20, 2014 at 12:59 pm

No reverse sensors? From the pictures, it seems there is no reverse sensors at all.

• Curious on XTrail on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:03 am

To add on … Why is the Thai X-Trail 2015 so much superior … they have reverse sensors, better players, auto boot open like the Ford Kuga and even moon roof!

• aleef on Dec 16, 2014 at 8:51 am

really got auto boot? i know oversea xtrail got this but paultan didn’t mention in this article.

• Kepala keras on Dec 16, 2014 at 12:25 am

yang cakap banyak tu..mesti tak jadi beli,
    yang diam-diam tu….pasti sudah booking.
    100 biji X trail pertama dah habis dibooking,
    yang akan datang tunggu bulan march !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Omg!! 2 airbags ???? 6 airbags should be a basic safety package to protect driver & passengers reduce the risk of injury .

• 2 airbags, 5 inches LCD, no touch screen, 1 power seat (2.5 version), 17 inches wheels, no bumper sensors, door/foot lights, etc. – how to classified as Premium spec. and asking for MYR170k?

No diesel engine option? :(

• i guess ANSWER is here why 2 Airbags?

1. Sylphy import from Thailand.
    2. X-trail CKD, malaysia ETCM couldn’t figure out how to install additional airbags.

This skill haven’t learn yet. But TC already send technician to Thailand learning process.

Perhaps next year they find out, will put in eventually.

• Worldclasssafety? on Dec 16, 2014 at 1:13 pm

World class safety feature (read from new x-trail brochure) with only 2 air-bags….? That is SO FUNNY ETCM !!!!!

• jollygoh on Dec 16, 2014 at 9:49 pm

what the LCD HU..??

• CRV anytime.

Go for something you like , it is your money . Go and do some research on USA reviews or forum.

• ashroff on Dec 25, 2014 at 10:29 pm

Just as comparing to other SUVs . Is the new xTrail suitable for our North south expressway..esp the passengers seats . .what about the shock absorbers . .and I remember the first batch of xTrail launch . .There was a picture in the local newspapers of the unit turned turtle . .hope some one explains on tis issues

• i am looking for an SUV and like the idea of 7- seater….. But 2 airbags while others thrown in 6. Is ETCM joking? I will certainly spend my money elsewhere. Bye2 XTrail…. You will loose without trail.

• fendi on Dec 28, 2014 at 9:58 am

At least diz better than fortuner

• Nice exterior. On the safety side however, 2 airbags gives a bad rep for any car brand nowadays. People have become more safety-conscious and safety-savvy. 4 should be the absolute minimum for sedans and SUVs priced in the medium range. Wonder why these established brands keep making the mistake of skimping on the safety aspect. These are after all not the times before the seat belt was invented. Come on…

• X buyer on Jan 07, 2015 at 9:39 am

Those airbags is not so important. You all comment so bad about this car and yet there is still lots of buyers.
    Since you all don like this car, what car do u recommend?

• nexus2238 on Jan 21, 2015 at 6:01 pm

I am in the market for a SUV.
    Been waiting for X-Trail.
    2 air-bag is a big turn-off for me.

Just put my deposit for the CRV 2.4.

• jollygoh on Jan 27, 2015 at 7:07 pm

actually…
    i don’t like black interior for those “family or luxury” car…
    no luxury feel or family feel…