CES 2015: BMW M4 Concept Iconic Lights showcases laser and OLED technology for automotive lighting

bmw-m4-concept-iconic-lights-0023

Earlier on, it was reported that BMW was set to present a concept car featuring an advanced version of its Laserlight system at the 2015 Consumer Electronics Show in Las Vegas. Well, here it is – arriving in the form of the BMW M4 Concept Iconic Lights.

As far as concept vehicles go, this BMW M4 is quite the looker with its Cool White metallic paint scheme coupled to the company’s trademark halo running lights – this time in an alien shade of blue thanks to the fine blue strips housed inside the headlight assembly.

Moving on to the rear, the lamp clusters on the M4 are comprised of OLEDs (organic light-emitting diodes). Measuring just 1.4 mm thick, the OLEDs are featured in both the tail lamps and rear indicators assembly and are arranged to produce a three-dimensional effect.

bmw-m4-concept-iconic-lights-0015

The OLEDs themselves are said to consume far less energy than conventional lighting systems, effectively helping to reduce vehicle CO2 emissions. Apart from that, production of OLEDs require no rare earth metals, leading to lower costs. Unlike conventional LEDs, OLEDs produce light uniformly across the entire surface.

BMW’s laser lighting technology – first seen on its i8 electric sports car – takes another step forward on the M4. Said technology utilises an optical system that directs the rays from the “high-performance diodes onto a phosphor plate inside the light,” turning the monochromatic blue laser into harmless, bright white light.

Compared to conventional LED, xenon or halogen light sources, BMW’s laser lighting system consumers “30% less energy” and “has a beam range of up to 600 metres.” Coupled to BMW’s camera-based Selective Beam platform, the laser lights are, essentially, turned into always-on lights.

With the laser lighting system paired up to most of the car’s onboard electronics, such as the Adaptive Headlight and navigation system, it is able to illuminate corners as the car approaches said bend. In addition to that, BMW’s Night Vision system gets a boost in ability.

By being able to pinpoint objects, animals or people from a distance of up to 100 metres using an infrared camera, the laser-based Dynamic Light Spot will highlight said obstacle, further decreasing the chances of an accident. A “narrow clearance” feature ensures that the laser rays illuminate the entire road ahead.

The system calculates the width of vehicles in front before adjusting the beam clearance to ensure that the road and only the road ahead receives the full intensity of the laser rays. BMW claims additional benefit in terms of lighting design as such systems enable a wider range of light shapes to be employed on future models.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Wow Wow on Jan 07, 2015 at 11:00 am

Audi just lost its edge

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • venven81 on Jan 07, 2015 at 12:23 pm

Audi showcased the OLED tech at last year’s CES. Nothing new now mate.

http://youtu.be/3Y9VYCj8MiE?w=200

• WOW! Tak boleh tahan!

• Iriz design just went outdated…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • nzain on Jan 07, 2015 at 11:06 am

no way..frankly this is perfect but if the tail lamp brighter is better coz it look so dim

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Walao..The way of the future.

• This is true R&D, unlike some national carmaker that claimed to do R&D but Rest&Dining shj

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • You mean only changing bumper and never equip VDC?

• Only 1 national carmaker claimed to do R&D, the other assembler

• springan on Jan 08, 2015 at 4:38 pm

P2 also have R&D. But their R&D only do cosmetic study to improve their car appereance.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 07, 2015 at 11:23 am

Eventhough Beemers sui kwan and kwai tai, it still has pretty decent RV.

Kimchi can have all the gimmicks but they will never have RV

• Freedom on Jan 07, 2015 at 11:25 am

Wow! future is coming:-)

• Bimmer on Jan 07, 2015 at 2:27 pm

BMW the best. Proton? Add more “VSC” lol

• Unleash your stupidity by comparing mass and luxury car

• Bimmer on Jan 07, 2015 at 8:27 pm

Proton is mass production? Why Iriz more rare than Axia and BMW? Or your stupidity tells you that it is a luxury car?

• I AM NUTELLA on Jan 07, 2015 at 8:55 pm

Mass production not equal to sales. Please. Leave a comment is easy but think twice before you make a joke

• @Bimmer
            Bodoh tu simpan sikit,
            Production number =/= sales figure

• Yes, very weird that mass production car is more rare than luxury car. Maybe can call Proton “mass unwanted” car instead. Haha

• I AM NUTELLA on Jan 08, 2015 at 3:38 pm

TV3, if with Bimmer sense, BMW also mass production, so you can see many BMW on the road is not a weird thing. Because it is MASS PRODUCTION CAR

• Jaybond on Jan 07, 2015 at 11:31 am

A technical tour de force in vehicle lighting technology.

• ANOTHER stupid bright rear light like Kia Cerato making other road user uncomfortable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
    • frossonice on Jan 07, 2015 at 11:57 am

I don’t mind the Cerato but I definitely hates those new Vios drivers switching their rear fog lights on thinking they do it right.

Sakit mata oi!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Sammy on Jan 07, 2015 at 11:45 am

Why is car turning into Christmas tree now adays??

We will have to start judging how a car look in the dark now…

• lights on Jan 07, 2015 at 12:02 pm

eeuuu,,im having this phobia just staring at that rear bulb lights. makes my bulu roma naik.

• nicefrontlight on Jan 07, 2015 at 12:12 pm

If I ever got this car in my garage. I can just sit there and look at its front light all day all night…

• shawal on Jan 07, 2015 at 12:12 pm

oooo…
    flashy….

waiting for taiwan 3rd manufacturer to come up with cheaper alternatives

• ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 07, 2015 at 12:45 pm

Looks awesome,Such porn,looks futuristic like in Back To the Future. But the problem is it is very reliable? Forget it its BMW.

• Innovation comes with it own set of flaws, don’t like it, get a Toyota from Sam Loo.

Either you be on the frontier or be turtle-ing in your underground cage.

• Jimmy on Jan 07, 2015 at 12:53 pm

Cantiq, the multicolour lights especially the light blue strips in front lights.
    Please limit these to 5-series and above. None in any vehicles of yours priced less than 350K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • I AM NUTELLA on Jan 07, 2015 at 5:14 pm

M4 still the best looking car in BMW.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 07, 2015 at 6:45 pm

Nice but it will take some time before this is implemented into massed produced vehicles. BMW just intro laser lights in their upcoming 7 Series core model and here in Bolehland we finally have LED lights but only for higher range models…

• where's motorhead? on Jan 07, 2015 at 10:26 pm

Impressive tail lamps

• rear lights is just so ugly…hope it remains a concept

• I AM NUTELLA on Jan 07, 2015 at 11:14 pm

Your face ugliness can easily beat the rear light of this concept