New Ford Mondeo EcoBoost – test drive it in March?

New_Ford_Mondeo_Malaysia_11

Remember the teaser page for the new Ford Mondeo that appeared on Ford Malaysia’s website last week? Well, it’s been updated, and the ‘Coming soon in April’ text has been replaced by a test drive schedule that begins in early March 2015.

Four locations in the Klang Valley are listed starting with Publika from 11-15 March 2015, Bangsar Shopping Centre from 1-5 April 2015 and Desa Park City from 22-26 April 2015, with the final location being Setia City Mall from 6-10 May 2015. So if you’re interested in Ford’s new D-segment sedan, keep those dates free! You can register your interest in the car too.

mondeo-test-drive

The page retains the initial details for the handsome D-segment car. You’ll find under the hood a 2.0 litre EcoBoost engine producing 240 PS and over 340 Nm of torque driving the front wheels, but a notable change over the previous generation Mondeo is the switch to a six-speed SelectShift gearbox, which is a more traditional torque converter automatic similiar to what you’ll find in the Ford Kuga, which replaces the wet dual clutch Powershift gearbox.

Also mentioned are multi-adaptive LED headlamps, dual-zone auto climate control, SYNC 2 infotainment with a big 8.0-inch touchscreen, reverse camera and MyKey (check out Ford’s description of this feature here), Electronic Stability Control (ESC), adaptive cruise control and Lane Keep Assist.

Register your interest with Ford Malaysia here: Ford Mondeo – Keep Me Informed.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 27, 2015 at 10:02 pm

Ford Fusion is a better name than Ford Mondeo….I don’t know but that the only words pop from my mind.

• Let us vote for the exterior design.
      New Mondeo — click Yes
      Facelift Mazda 6 — click No

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 19
      • Vote also for the interior design.
        New Mondeo — click Yes
        Facelift Mazda 6 — click No

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 24
        • Kanah Mazda on Jan 28, 2015 at 11:38 am

Exterior design
          Mazda 6 Skyactiv

Interior
          Mazda 6 Skyactiv

This American shit no where to compare to Japanese Skyactiv car.
          Always support kereta Jepun!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 42
          • Kanah Mazda on Jan 28, 2015 at 11:40 am

Better wait for 2015 Mazda 6 Skyactiv.
            New model and also Ckd.
            Price also will kill those Accord Camry.
            Support Skyactiv forever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
          • simpan sikit kedunguan utk hari tua

Ford Mondeo is not an American car

• sudonano (Member) on Jan 27, 2015 at 10:08 pm

Wow, that is fast…

Looks very well equipped and after seeing the Fusion in China two years ago, this face is a million bucks. Especially with the LED headlights.

Absolutely stunning. Though it is such a pity we still get a Powershift transmission, honestly if they just dumped the AWF21 Aisin 6 speed auto, that would be perfect, after all Jaguar Land Rover have been using the AWF21 on the evoque, Freelander, and the early batches of the Jag XF with 6 speed auto without any drama. Not to mention the entire Peugeot lineup that has a 6 speed auto also uses this transmission.

The only threat I can see is the next generation Passat but that is only in 2016 for us, and the chances of VW pricing stuff right with all the toys is slim. The Peugeot 508 is due for facelift but the facelift still can’t update the looks to the new bar set by the Mondeo and Passat.

• Sudopico on Jan 27, 2015 at 10:45 pm

Ford Kuga uses normal auto. But not aisin. Ford-GM six speed

• sudonano (Member) on Jan 28, 2015 at 6:10 am

Ford Kuga uses a different engine, not a 2.0 EcoBoost but a 1.6. And the main reason for the auto over the DCTS is most likely the incompatibility of the DCT with the AWD in challenging situations.

Also, dumping the Ford transmission into the 2.0 EcoBoost may not be a good idea cause I don’t think they have done that before so it would mean additional development costs to test out durability.

But most of all, a GM transmission, LOLOL.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 27, 2015 at 11:54 pm

But it’s wet clutch, so maybe better… maybe…

VW shot themselves in the foot too many times with DSG, dunno if they can have Msians buying them again… ah heck what am I saying.

Msians worship Godcar, super empty dinosaur age junk, buy BMW with world’s stingiest warranty, what’s stopping them buy endless nightmare from VGM.

• zlateng on Jan 29, 2015 at 2:37 pm

i think people bought cars from what they want to drive, their passion and love and their affordable to buy that. sounds like nof fair if we blame people for what they believed.

• 6 speed wet clutch have no problem la like Volkswagen Golf GTI, and the DSG problem already been resolved, it has been ages for this matter. Well I believe it’s all about self preference when comes to buying cars. You like then you buy, if you don’t like you can choose other alternatives.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 28, 2015 at 11:09 am

The new Evoque runs on an all new 9 speed auto to replace that inefficient old gearbox to so speak.

Anyhow it is indeed a good car with a good kit list just have to wait for the price and pray their after sales improves…

• ecoboost engine on Jan 27, 2015 at 10:23 pm

i m interested in this car. however, the complainta on the ecoboost engine quite worry me. if anything goes wrong i doubt our local service center can handle it.

• What kind issues? First time i heard the engine got complained, normally is the gearbox.

• sudonano (Member) on Jan 28, 2015 at 6:12 am

I have had a car with the Ford EcoBoost engine, in fact the same engine, and so far it has been absolutely fantastic. I won’t worry about the engine but rather the transmission that worries me.

• My mondeo 240ps 2.5yrs old is still staying strong and healthy both the engine and DCT.
        Pls dont relate DSG with Powershift.

• Painter on Jan 27, 2015 at 11:32 pm

Tres belle!! Combine coute cette voiture?

• sudonano
    you sure all Pug used AWF21 Aisin 6 speed auto ?
    I’m looking for the info high and low but found none…

Any url ?

• gaviny on Jan 28, 2015 at 8:59 am

200++k?

why not german?

• AnythingFast on Jan 28, 2015 at 10:06 am

Which German make is 200k++ with 240bhp 340nm Torque? New, not recond.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jan 29, 2015 at 10:08 am

Why? This is a German car… at least in parts. The previous Mondeos were more German.

• 240ps????? Not 280ps spec?

• Berann on Jan 28, 2015 at 10:21 am

Really Nice car. Best design in D-Segment. Good if Ford can provide another lower spec varient Mondeo with 1.6 Turbo same with Kuga(180hp/240nm) and price it around RM 150k. This will definitely steal some sales from 2.0 Teana/Accord/Camry/M6 etc.

• Krishna on Jan 28, 2015 at 10:51 am

I drive a Focus TDCi and have been imensely happy. Why? Really good car, fantastic handling, feels very very safe, good mileage (full tank gives more than 700km). What is more important is that it is not popular with the thieves..so I can park anywhere I want without having to worry.

But I hope to upgrade to fulfil my childhood dream..Merc C class. Cars like Mondeo, Pug 508, Volvo S60, Citroen DS5 are of almost the same quality, if not better and yet costs abt 40% lower than Beemer/Merc/Audi. Sighhh…tough decision, heart says C Class but brain says dont waste money and go for Mondeo/Pug/Volvo. New Mondeo is really very nice!

• blaster88 on Jan 28, 2015 at 12:04 pm

I really dig the Aston Martin front looks….with that kinda of performance and specs, if Ford/Sime price it right, improve on their after sales support and maketing – there would be many worried faces in VW, BMW, Audi, Merc and esp the Pug….

If you could see past the branding, its a beautiful car. Check out the u tube videos.

• peminat proton on Jan 28, 2015 at 12:49 pm

kenapa proton tak boleh buat kereta macam ni? ini balik2 kereta syok sendiri… iriz belum sampai setahun dah nampak outdated…

• Swap the ori rims to 19 inches Vossen CV5 – Killa.