SPAD to act against errant express bus operators

express-bus-coach-1

The Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) will take stern action against express bus operators conspiring with ticket touts to sell tickets at higher prices outside counters, especially during festive seasons or holidays, Bernama reports.

SPAD enforcement chief Datuk Che Hasni Che Ahmad said they can be charged under Section 205(1) of the Land Public Transport Act 2010, which may lead to a RM50,000 maximum fine or imprisonment not exceeding five years, or both.

“We hope passengers who experience this situation will report to SPAD,” he was quoted as saying, adding that there were ticket sellers who did not issue tickets to passengers to cover the price increase.

According to Che Hasni, an express bus en route from Larkin, Johor to Kuala Lumpur is suspected of foul play – passengers paid different prices, with some not even having any tickets. “SPAD will conduct further investigation on the driver, passengers and bus operators,” he said.

Meanwhile, the enforcement chief said a total of 3,637 vehicles – taxis, buses and lorries included – were inspected in 2,100 daily operations between January and April. Taxis recorded the most offences at 1,495 cases, with 1,056 cabbies found not to be using their meters, he added.

SPAD recently launched MeterOn, a mobile app that makes it easier and quicker for passengers to lodge complaints against errant taxi drivers.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• BNaik on May 18, 2015 at 2:56 pm

That’s the problem with buses all lousy and uncivilised hope they will listen to Govt rather complaints like shit.

BN please good care for them and no next time lousy driver ! You’re not alone Najib.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • OMG…this spad always talk only…long long time ago it happened …till now baru take stern action…Raya mau mari, buat wayang sedikit…puihhh…

• BNaik on May 18, 2015 at 4:51 pm

We talk and with action not like lousy PKtroopers just keep keep talk No action !!!

Like GST we say we action. We care for Rakyat future !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • Albert on May 18, 2015 at 8:37 pm

Yes, they talk 3,talk 4 only.Useless bunch of spineless jellies.

• Albert, mind your language. Don’t put us in the same basket with those cronies or politicians. They maybe racist like u but not majorities of other Malays.

• Sound good but more questions than solution. Just another story, based on past experienced.

• Otakudang on May 18, 2015 at 3:06 pm

Jangan kata larkin..kat pudu sentral yang ada “pusat transformasi bandar” pon bersepah ulat2 tiket. TV informasi perjalanan tah kemana, kaunter polis tutup dah

• BigBalls on May 18, 2015 at 3:14 pm

Ini Malayisa, whenever the gov introduces a rule, there will be weaker enforcement and ultimately corruption.

-BigBalls-

• drMpower on May 18, 2015 at 3:21 pm

I everyday hoping there will be bus crashes where many people die. I know it is a terrible wish but when there is catastrophic ends as such then only spad or the police jpj sprm the whole jokers come and do work. They do work then after some time things got cold again. Thats why i wish for bus accidents with lots of death happen every now and then

I can report atleast two or three cases involving overspeeding buses EVERYDAY. But come to think of it, this report thing isnt my job. I can assist but not my day job. The guys should be doing these stuffs are not doing their job

Of course i can do their job just give me the salaries they got combined and the power they possess all combined as well then we see how

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • TopsyBoXyTurvy on May 18, 2015 at 4:23 pm

SPAD, Dont make us laugh…the scene of METRO buses which look like junk and emit THICK SMOKE on the road has been going pn for the the longest time….need to say more?

• Balik_kampung on May 18, 2015 at 5:07 pm

SPAD, JPJ, Police Traffic, Black List, Waran Tangkap, Kastam, GST, AM, RM. Haih…What’s next? Who is doing what… There goes my money.

• Dodgysnakeguy on May 18, 2015 at 6:32 pm

SPAD must also take action on pedophile scholar

• SPAD the toothless tiger coming out again to show some fang. If the tiger kept a low profile, they might be missed or forgotten but alas.

• 4G63T DSM on May 19, 2015 at 9:02 am

First and foremost, you have to ask who does SPAD work for.

Certainly not for regular rakyat. It looks after its real stakeholders, ie, license holders and service providers.

The soonner you understand that, the quicker you will understand why SPAD has no teeth.

• mr1031 on May 19, 2015 at 3:23 pm

aaahhhh..banyak cakap la SPAD! tiap tahun pun cakap macam ni!

• Joe Whiner on May 20, 2015 at 2:32 pm

Complaint when action is not taken against those who break the law but when action is being taken also complaint. Then come up with lame comments and twist the issue like Sunway lagoon roller coaster.