Volvo XC60 facelift offered with RM1,999 Engine Remote Start option in Malaysia until July 16

Parked under the hot sun? You can now cool down your Volvo's cabin temperature remotely with Engine Remote Start (ERS)!From now until July 16, 2015, enjoy ERS for only RM1,999.Speak to our dealers for more information and to check compatibility: bit.ly/DEALERS-MY

Posted by Volvo Car Malaysia on Friday, 15 May 2015

Volvo Car Malaysia has announced on Facebook that from now until July 16, it is offering Engine Remote Start as a RM1,999 option on Drive-E-engined models.

The XC60 facelift is the only Volvo model in Malaysia at the moment to be equipped with Drive-E engines (note that the XC60 in the video above is the pre-facelift model).

Using the Personal Car Communicator (the key fob), the driver can remotely start the engine to cool the cabin before he or she gets in.

The climate control system will cool the cabin at the same temperature settings that were in place when the car was turned off. The engine will run for a maximum of 15 minutes, but once the desired temperature is reached, the engine will turn off.

Volvo XC60 T5 facelift

Volvo XC60 T6 facelift

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on May 19, 2015 at 12:14 pm

Haha waste more money !!!
    Proton can have all that we still charge less. Lousy Volvo.

Proton same quality like Volvo and BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 34
  • dy246 on May 19, 2015 at 12:33 pm

Is it for new cars or retrofit?

• Remote started the car.

Oh shit, I forgot to pick something up.

Car left started.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • dodgeviper88 on May 19, 2015 at 1:46 pm

Seeing proton is just like volvo, i expect to see this feature available to proton models in the near future

• ??? I remember my friend able to start his Proton Pesona while we drink at mamak 7 years ago… just go accessory shop will do.

• 4G63T DSM on May 19, 2015 at 5:30 pm

And a cheap one too.

I remember buying similar unit for my winter car for 50 dollars and installed it myself. Comes with a remote control, a module box you hook to your ignition harness, a gear selector sensor and clutch switch (for manual car) and bits of wire.

Heat the car up before driving, easier to break up ice or snow from the car. Damn nice when its -20C outside.

• gaviny on May 19, 2015 at 3:14 pm

plug in laptop, check two boxes, commit, restart, test, done

5 mins, charge 1.7k

• My mom had this on her proton saga 30 years ago!

• Rover (Member) on May 19, 2015 at 3:53 pm

Engine turn off automatically when cabin is cooled. Good feature, BUT, in our weather the temp will rise in no time…

• shawal on May 19, 2015 at 6:28 pm

Why cars dun hv 1 touch button to roll all 4 windows….

On the dash or the keyfob…

At least u cn let all d hot air out before going in…

Nobody has thought abt dat idea, maybe open the sunroof as well and let all d hot air out and blows the aircond…

N u happily standing next to the car for a good 10 seconds grinning

• New vw cars have one touch all window down and up on the key for.

• Poor-Sodd on May 20, 2015 at 3:03 pm

You poor sod. No offence but you probably own one of the few cars that doesn’t come with that function. Most cars now have the ability to roll all the windows down (and yes pop the sunroof if your car is so endowed with one) from the remote fob. And you can even roll them back up from the remote. In fact the Germans have had this in their cars for close to 10 years now. And you thought you woke up with a bright new idea this morning… :)

• xem6861 on May 19, 2015 at 7:50 pm

most of the 2 way car alarms have this function, up to 10th storey high buidling range. I got my Naza Citra installed with SteelMate.

• I thought people always say to put aircond to 0 or off first before switch off engine. Nanti aircond can rosak ooo.
    Or maybe applies to protons only…