2016 BMW 435i ZHP Coupe – limited to 100 units only

435i Coupe ZHP Edition

In a proper nod to the glory days of yore, BMW has unveiled the 435i ZHP Coupe. Originally conceived as a performance pack for the E46 BMW 3 Series, the ZHP pack consisted of the M-Tech II bodykit, a ZHP shifter knob and shifter along with uprated suspension parts and increased horsepower by up to 235 hp.

This time round, a treatment with similar intentions are showcased on the F32 BMW 4 Series. On the surface, the BMW 435i ZHP Coupe sports a M Performance front splitter, fashioned from carbon-fibre reinforced plastic. Out back, a relatively subtle M Performance rear spoiler sits atop the boot while a rear diffuser, replete with integrated “bars”, complete the physical transformation.

Additionally, the 435i ZHP Coupe gets a stainless steel M Performance Exhaust setup that promises to shed a total of around 4 kg while reducing back pressure for added performance. Said system has also been calibrated to deliver a “burble” in Comfort mode while engaging Sport mode further amplifies the music.

Further enhancing its dynamic credentials, the car receives the Track Handling Package which adds on 18-inch Orbit Grey wheels as well as M Sport Brakes – the latter is made up of four-piston and twin-piston calipers, front to rear. Adaptive M Suspension and Variable Sport Steering is also included on the menu.

435i Coupe ZHP Edition

Individuals after more power will be delighted to know that the M Performance Engine Kit is also part of the package. Said setup promises an increase of 35 hp and 43 Nm of twist – the latter applies to the eight-speed automatic transmission as the six-speed manual brings along a torque hike of 23 Nm. All in all, the 435i ZHP Coupe packs 335 hp and 450 Nm (430 Nm with the manual transmission).

As a result, the century sprint gets cut down by 0.2 seconds compared to the standard 435i Coupe while the 80-120 km/h run is improved by half a second. The final, and perhaps most enticing add-on is the M Performance limited slip differential (LSD) that employs a total of three clutch plates with a 30% lockup on acceleration (9% on deceleration) for improved traction out of tight corners.

On the inside, things are a lot more muted with the sole exception of the M Sport steering wheel, part of the M Sport Package. In typical German fashion, the car is available with a choice of two colours – Alpine White and Black Sapphire Metallic. Due to go on sale in July, the car will be available for order at selected BMW M Centres – prices are expected to be announced at a later date.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• sudonano (Member) on May 25, 2015 at 6:35 pm

I actually can’t wait to see the 4 series LCI. I think it will carry the new headlight style really well, cause of the swept up look…

• Beng P1boy on May 25, 2015 at 10:02 pm

Boring who’s going to buy this over Proton.

MITI comfirm Proton same quality as BMW and Volvo.

Just closed shop jer BMW !!! Proton still the best over this junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
      • sedate on May 26, 2015 at 8:30 am

Never read MITI confirmed it
        You must be too obsessed with this all-class-same-front car!

• Beng P1boy on May 26, 2015 at 9:35 am

You must be new in this news go check… I malas layan you…

• safetyno.1 on May 26, 2015 at 12:12 pm

Clearly you don’t understand simple English, go back to school kid

• win liao lor on May 25, 2015 at 11:47 pm

100 units available, 0 in Malaysia

• elson on May 25, 2015 at 6:39 pm

boring

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Nice!

• Nice !

• nice smiley front with dimples

• seancorr (Member) on May 25, 2015 at 9:10 pm

They actually added LSD in it…nice but I have some issues with all the 4 Series models…their interior looks the same as their 3 Series brother. Here’s hoping there’s a differentiation between the 3 and 4 in the next generation models to pull them further apart and make them special in their own way.

• Seancokk on May 25, 2015 at 10:07 pm

Confirmed you don’t owned F30 although you are putting its picture. You can’t even tell different of 3 and 4 series on its interior.

• sick&tired on May 26, 2015 at 12:18 am

dhei, there is very minimal difference la. no need to own the car, just look at the pictures! too much masturbat!on can cause blindness!

• seanxoxk4 on May 26, 2015 at 10:10 am

You must be seancoxk family members. i guess you do not sit in both cars before. Dont play yourself too often at homenlah bang.

• KarTiN (Member) on May 25, 2015 at 10:21 pm

Looks average. I was expecting quite a bit more for M Performance. Overall is average. Performance means more oomph, or BMW will introduce another more potent engine to wow fans, hope only.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 26, 2015 at 1:02 am

i was all meh…until i saw LSD>….nais

• GTArrghhhh on May 26, 2015 at 2:43 pm

mehhh My GTR is fastrer than this beast!

• it’s different class to compare.
      Bmw is not about speed and speed only. It’s engineer to give you comfort and luxury in everyday day and give you performance at the same time. Gtr had only 1 goal. To be the fastest.