Volkswagen Golf TSI BlueMotion – 1.0L, 4.3 l/100 km

Volkswagen-Golf-TSI-BlueMotion-0008

See the word ‘BlueMotion‘ and you know straight away what this entails. But there’s a slight twist here. This is the first petrol-engined Golf BlueMotion, and fittingly, the most frugal petrol Golf ever, to join the diesel-powered Golf BlueMotion already on sale.

The Volkswagen Golf TSI BlueMotion, to give it its full name, is powered by an EA211 1.0 litre three-cylinder TSI engine that develops 115 PS and 200 Nm of torque (the diesel BlueMotion does 110 PS/250 Nm). VW says the 200 Nm per litre of displacement is the highest specific torque of any large-scale production petrol engine.

Regardless of whether it’s connected to a six-speed manual or seven-speed DSG, an impressive 4.3 litres per 100 km and 99 grams of CO2 per km are claimed. Not bad against the oil-burning BlueMotion’s 3.2 litres per 100 km and 85 grams of CO2 per km.

Thanks in part to a 0.28 drag coefficient, the Golf TSI BlueMotion is still capable of 204 km/h. Trendline and Comfortline trims are available, with air-con, seven airbags, Automatic Post-Collision Braking System, XDS electronic diff lock, start/stop, regenerative braking, an exclusive colour-coded rear spoiler, 15 mm lower suspension and 15-inch ‘Lyon’ wheels all standard.

Starting from 20,450 euro (RM82,670), this is the most affordable Golf BlueMotion at present. Estate and Sportsvan Golf BlueMotions will also launch – efficiency figures for the Estate are 4.3 (manual) and 4.5 (DSG) litres per 100 km; Sportsvan 4.5 (manual) and 4.6 (DSG) litres per 100 km.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• future vw owner on Jun 02, 2015 at 10:31 am

Is DSG reliability issue resolved? plus other recurring problems even after send to SC many times…

• VW_rocks on Jun 02, 2015 at 11:37 am

Yeap. DSG much lesser nowadays.
      1-litre Golf rocks!

• Number of cars being repaired in SC?
        Still many complaints on FB?

• adam lebih on Jun 03, 2015 at 4:43 pm

last week i went to sc sg besi. so far there is not much car at the sc. the mechanic said people cam here just for normal service and he said no more complaints

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 02, 2015 at 3:26 pm

Better buy our Prius C. Same fuel consumption but you are worry-free of the DSG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
        • samfiend on Jun 02, 2015 at 4:16 pm

Battery price how much?
          Killer Takata airbags inside?

• lao yee on Jul 15, 2015 at 9:52 pm

Comparing Prius with Golf’s performance oriented car? You gotta be kidding. Before talk bout DSG, try to open Golf door and feel the differences when you close Prius car door, if you can’t afford to drive one.

• safetyno.1 on Jun 02, 2015 at 11:44 am

No airbags issue?

• Bruise on Jun 02, 2015 at 2:04 pm

VW SA told me Jan 2014 all problem solved including DSG gear box when I went VW show room test drive Polo Gti at Nov 2014

• trust 0 word from SC……..truth need to find out ourself.

• Acrix on Jun 03, 2015 at 12:09 pm

They said the same thing in 2013 and my 2013 Scirocco 1.4TSI suffered mechatronic issue twice.
        In 2014 yet again promised DSG issues no longer exist but my brother 2014 Golf 1.4TSI suffered mechatronic issue before it is 1 year old.
        Conclusion: Don’t believe the crap SA talk. They don’t give a crap about you once you paid for the car. Buy a VW at your own risk.

• Tiamat on Jun 04, 2015 at 2:31 pm

One of your bro car than conclude vw is bad. But u didn’t know that there are still more than hundred happy owners are driving vw.

• kazanixm on Jun 03, 2015 at 11:55 am

I knew someone will said this everytime there is post about VW in PT. Was waiting for this!

• Tanjung Malim on Jun 02, 2015 at 10:48 am

The price here easily RM180k due to nonsense car tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • mr1031 on Jun 02, 2015 at 12:00 pm

the normal golf 1.4 is priced from rm160k if i’m not mistaken..this model should be below that, unless the gomen revised their crazy taxing aagain..

• alldisc on Jun 02, 2015 at 2:02 pm

go check custom papers. in 2011 golf tsi 1.4 CIF was 47k. golf gti 49K. yes, the difference is that much – just 2k.

but the retail price was ranging from 150-220K. a staggering 70K gap.

i am telling you even though the 2 models were imported from Germany and South Africa and subjected to import tax, the final price should somewhere around 120-130k only with reasonable profit margin.

biggest problem was VGM being greedy.

• The cake need to be shared bro

• robani on Jun 03, 2015 at 4:45 pm

dont think so. vgm not greedy but country policy made imported cars being expensive compared to local cars especially conti cars. cars price may vary in different countries

• Lyrai on Jun 04, 2015 at 2:39 pm

U gonna know that where are we living. What kind of tax you are paying. Every country is the same set the imported cars expensive. Or else no one will buy local cars.

• U thought this is rubbish Camry?

• due to DRB Hicom is very money minded.

selling overpriced low quality VW..

• faker on Jun 04, 2015 at 2:42 pm

only those who cannot afford a vw only can tell this kind of rubbish.

• DSG Fanboy on Jun 02, 2015 at 10:57 am

Hi Jonathan,

The DSG tranny higher fuel consumption than manual tranny?

• kzm (Member) on Jun 02, 2015 at 11:31 am

most of time manual gb give better fuel consumption than automatic gb..I tot everybody know this?

• Beng P1boy on Jun 02, 2015 at 11:29 am

1 litre same like first gen Myvi underpower and have nothing good compare to Proton…

Proton saga Campro more efficient then this BlueMotion.

Rakyat won’t be fool by the expensive price !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • viosturbo on Jun 02, 2015 at 12:24 pm

Vios is much more efficient than this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • Proton Really Stupid on Jun 02, 2015 at 2:21 pm

sorry la, that 1 liter engine is much more powerful that the ancient toyota vios’s 1.5liter, and some more you want to compare it to the saga???

• boyo poyo on Jun 03, 2015 at 4:46 pm

didnt see yet in which part proton can beat vw? so maybe thats the reason why price of vw more high than proton.

• OMG So nice, I mean the building

• Pondan on Jun 02, 2015 at 10:46 pm

Dunno is it me or what….. bluemotion is like shit. I mean what is motion in the morning. Sounds like blue shit to me