SPIED: Hyundai AE HEV caught again, debuts in 2016

hyundai-ae-hev-spyshots-germany-8

Not too long now before the global debut of Hyundai’s dedicated Prius-fighter, it seems. First spied back in December 2014, and then once more earlier this year undergoing winter testing, the Hyundai AE HEV has now been captured again, the time plying the roads of Germany.

Scheduled to go into production in the middle of 2016, the Hyundai AE HEV has yet to receive its finalised name – the AE represents its internal codename while HEV stands for ‘Hybrid Electric Vehicle’. Aside from its nomenclature, development of the car appears to on schedule as proven by this batch of spyshots.

Despite brisk progress on the development of the AE HEV, Hyundai has chosen to retain more or less the same amount of camouflage from previous mules, preventing us from getting a clearer look at the Korean offering. What Hyundai cannot hide, however, is the AE HEV’s wedged, Prius-like silhouette.

Peer beneath the camouflage and one might be able to notice the car’s front grille, replete with horizontal bars. Other details include the headlight assemblies and its accompanying blue highlights and LED daytime running lights, arranged in a vertical layout. The rear of the car appears to sport a Honda Civic-esque spoiler while a sole interior shot reveals what appears to be two-toned, fabric seats.

Despite being a completely new model, the Hyundai AE HEV will, reportedly, sit atop the same platform that will underpin the next-generation Hyundai Elantra. Under the bonnet, expect a parallel hybrid setup to feature, comprised of a 1.6 litre four-cylinder petrol engine and an electric motor juiced up by a lithium-ion battery pack. A five-door model will debut first but several body styles are expected to follow soon after.

Aside from the addition of different physical variants, sources indicate that the Hyundai AE HEV will also be offered as a plug-in hybrid. Said variant will likely be presented to the market a year and a half after the debut of the original, at the earliest.

GALLERY: Hyundai AE HEV undergoing winter testing

GALLERY: 2012 Toyota Prius Plug-in Hybrid

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Sam Loo (ori1 ) on Jun 03, 2015 at 6:40 pm

My son proton saga better than this Kimchi 10 times.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Khairuddin Azlan on Jun 03, 2015 at 10:47 pm

You said you earn a lot every month, but only able to buy saga for your son? ok…. i get it…

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 04, 2015 at 10:05 am

I said sibeh gaolak times: If I have any junk at home, I will give out for free.

Junk is best with pests (paulnut, steven see etc).

• kenot2 on Jun 04, 2015 at 1:36 pm

Pakcik Sam, apa yang nak malu kalau pakai proton? Just admit, ramai yang tau you own a saga.

• Low Budget on Jun 04, 2015 at 10:08 am

Yeah, the long lasting Saga, with rattling windows, dashboards and seats, the boot can’t close any more and need rafia string or bungy cords to secure it.

• sam proton on Jun 03, 2015 at 7:34 pm

I saw you Sam driving yr son black color proton to work.you bazh proton but bought proton. Lol

• there is nothing wrong for copying the best practice..

Kimchis are still learning from Japanese.
    Good Luck and work hard Kimchis…

• Low Budget on Jun 04, 2015 at 10:13 am

Still learning from Japs.? Technology advancement in Korea has flourished not only in cars manufacturing, but in all other fields. I bet you have Korean products in your home too.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 04, 2015 at 1:00 pm

Correction, kimchis are still trying to copy from the Japs

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 03, 2015 at 9:48 pm

This car will have RV, but only its batteries.

All the other parts can go to the scrap metal shop