Lotus SUV to make global debut in 2019, China-only crossover “will be better” than Porsche Macan – report

lotus-apx

More news regarding the oft-reported Lotus SUV – this time with concerns about its performance. It’s no secret that the sports car manufacturer from Hethel will be looking to introduce its first-ever crossover in 2019 but now more details have been disclosed surrounding the unnamed model.

According to Auto Express UK, the new crossover will be introduced as a China-only model at first. Should said crossover become a sales success, Lotus could very well bring it over to Europe and, of course, its home market of England in the subsequent five years to come.

“The first market will be China but we haven’t yet decided if it will be sold anywhere else. But obviously if the car is a success there – and I strongly believe it will – we will go outside of China,” said Lotus CEO, Jean-Marc Gales. Aside from that, he has also fired the first warning shot to the model’s arch rival, the Porsche Macan, by openly declaring that “ours will be better.”

Porsche Macan drive 1

While exact specifications remain murky, the crossover will be expected to weigh around 200 kg less than the Macan, which in S trim, tips the scales at 1,865 kg. Apart from that, it has been reported that Gales is keen to maintain his relationship with Toyota – expect the 3.5 litre V6 to feature as a result. Additional info include the possibility of a hybrid version to cater to the Chinese market.

Should the Lotus SUV hit Europe, a diesel engine has been mooted to sit under its bonnet, making it the first-ever diesel-powered Lotus model in the marque’s history. Assembly of the Lotus SUV is scheduled to begin once licences have been granted. Earlier, Lotus’ owner, DRB-Hicom, signed a joint venture agreement with Lotus Group and Goldstar Heavy Industrial to assemble Lotus cars in a new facility in south-east China.

GALLERY: Porsche Macan driven in Malaysia

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• sudonano (Member) on Jun 29, 2015 at 1:49 pm

LOL that’s cute.

Deliver it first, and make sure it doesn’t fall apart, then we will see.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • megavalve on Jun 29, 2015 at 2:29 pm

Make sure keep Toyota engine inside. If Campro sure kena makan Porsche punya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
      • proton no.1 on Jun 30, 2015 at 12:20 am

Yes, Proton did the “syiok sendiri” thing again like the last time with BMW and Volvo. Still using Toyota engine but want to say it will be better than Porsche? Malaysia is known to “jaguh kampung” but Proton is No.1 in the world!

• hahaha on Jun 29, 2015 at 5:07 pm

I’d like to see them prove it. Saying is easy… Anyways, by 2019 who knows what Porsche will come up with then…

• Gargantia on Jun 29, 2015 at 1:52 pm

Lotus under Proton but Rakyat Malaysia can’t even enjoy the new car?!!!

Another cronies marketing by DrM decision… He make non-bumi policy permanent now he global the car to non-bumi market?!!!

No wonder Rakyat keep suffer expensive car price and 20-30 years behind develop country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 32
  • Wiwiwiwiwiwwiwiw on Jun 29, 2015 at 2:05 pm

oh he he he he ah ha ah ha e he he he…and I thought my jokes were bad.

• megavalve on Jun 29, 2015 at 2:35 pm

Lotus no need to talk loud like Proton lah. Look at Preve, Suprima. Global car success konon.

If Lotus SUV better than Zotye Macan clone is good enough already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • sincewe on Jun 29, 2015 at 4:44 pm

Global success? Since when p1 claims it?

• megavalve on Jun 29, 2015 at 5:24 pm

Ah Beng sing it everyday.

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 29, 2015 at 6:23 pm

Pathetic Proton can’t even cross Kedah border or JB bridge.

For Ah Beng, Wangsa Maju is the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
          • samelorsark on Jun 29, 2015 at 8:25 pm

Lol you have been in cave for too long. Pity.

• samelordupe on Jun 29, 2015 at 8:20 pm

Then you have to repair your sarcasm joke troll sensor

• jaguh on Jun 29, 2015 at 5:54 pm

Yes, you’re right. Global failure is more like it

• notakata on Jun 29, 2015 at 8:28 pm

Yes same as toyota bmw honda nissan etc that been recalled because of faulty airbags. Theor failure is not only gkobal but fatal

• WaJib on Jun 29, 2015 at 2:08 pm

Its that a joke..Better than Germans

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 29, 2015 at 2:13 pm

The marketing has begun. But where’s the car?

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jun 29, 2015 at 2:17 pm

Hahahaha… Joke of the day. When it launch, it’ll be joke of the century.

• azrai on Jun 29, 2015 at 2:18 pm

Last time I heard this not a long time before,”We make the BMW of Asia”. Sam Loo’s expected comments; “Sure it will be better than Macan, it used Toyota’s engine. Easy to find spare part and not forgetting; Rv, RV, RV..”

• sabahan on Jun 29, 2015 at 2:29 pm

better than 2015 Porsche Macan? I believe…..

better than 2019 Porsche Macan? do you believe?

• Ong Chee Boon on Jun 29, 2015 at 2:29 pm

A Bold Statment.

To say it will be better than Porsche Macan, This SUV will have to give:

1) A better and more reliable engine than Macan (Normal engine is not going to cut it, you need a far better engine to do so)

2) An awesome interior design. Porsche Macan is a luxury SUV, so it is needless to say the interior is made of high quality material and designed in that manner. If we are to judge based on Lotus previous design, i would say no chance unless they hire a pro to create a whole new interior concept. Lotus is well known for its “performance and handling comes first, no fancy interior” motto.

3) Better Driving dynamics and comfort. On this aspect i actually have hopes as Lotus has one of the best handling in the world automobiles. But that’s all. Macan offers a full refined package as a luxury vehicle, and Lotus will need to focus on its suspension, NVH, and responsiveness.

From the info on we got from lotus, 2019 is still not enough unless they have a drastic strategy plan to make it successful.

• Shut up and take my money….

hahahaha…. them Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Same L0rrrr on Jun 29, 2015 at 2:53 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 159
    • kzm (Member) on Jun 29, 2015 at 5:46 pm

toyota oso do carnival

• azrai on Jun 30, 2015 at 7:49 am

Not only carnival and road shows, now they even give uo to RM6k discount on Vios, free reverse camera, free tinted, free LCD din, free chrome handle, free blue illuminition inisde the car. Hahaha…same loo..

• donno on Jun 29, 2015 at 3:00 pm

What they should do is sell this for the 1st batch for china and also for malaysia.

But they did not tell where this 1st batch would be build. Hethel? Or china?

• landwin on Jun 29, 2015 at 3:30 pm

If Lotus build it in China, sure Zotye will clone it and sell it half price cheaper.

• Can Do on Jun 29, 2015 at 3:32 pm

Lotus is planning to only launch this Apanama SUV in 4 years time! And they dare claim it to be better than Macan? Give me a break! Why not say it would be better than RR? First and foremost, Porsche makes all of its cars in their Porsche factory in Germany only. They take pride of their quality. Even their paint factory alone cost Euro800 million. Their SUVs are built sports car first and SUV second. Because of their success in building sports SUV, almost every luxury car company are starting to get into the SUV business except Ferrari. Porsche SUVs comes with full time 4 wheel torque vectoring plus for superb handling. So Hethel/Lotus, if you are so confident that your Apanama SUV is better than Macan, why only sell in China first? Where is it build? Test market? Do a global launch like the Macaan if you are so confident.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • tokmoh. on Jun 29, 2015 at 3:56 pm

Proton : that’s my boy.

Cakap lebat no.1

• shawal on Jun 29, 2015 at 4:18 pm

Hey! stop making stupid statements
    let the finish product speaks for itself…..

Porsche is among the most valuable and reliable brands around….

• superman on Jun 29, 2015 at 4:20 pm

maybe by 2019, there is not proton and lotus already sold to China.. is this a joke????

• roadmap on Jun 29, 2015 at 8:23 pm

So what, they can scrap or continue even under diff company

• Ha ha ha on Jun 29, 2015 at 4:41 pm

I would rather put my money on German car. I spend aud 120k to get good quality car, not cheap lotus car which is made in China. Rather spend aud 20k to buy Toyota Corolla.

• takatoot on Jun 29, 2015 at 4:48 pm

Corolla = perfect moving coffin

• Ha ha ha on Jun 29, 2015 at 5:09 pm

Much better than car made in China. Have a look at the safety rating.
        Korean car is much better than Chinese and Malaysian car

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 29, 2015 at 4:49 pm

That’s a lot of promise to keep especially when you just touted your non-existent SUV against the industry’s best SUV.

• obviously 2019 car should be better then 2014. Its like saying 2030 proton better than toyota altis or something along the lines.