VIDEO: 2015 Honda StepWGN Spada variant seen in Japanese TVC – showcases power and spaciousness

Honda’s little mid-size MPV has been given a pretty little advertisement. The tall eight-seater StepWGN which Honda claims has the largest cabin space in its class, has officially gone on sale in Japan back in April, the ad which is called ‘Arrow,’ seems like an attempt to highlight the new engine in the MPV.

Sitting in the bay of the Honda StepWGN, is a new 1.5 litre four-cylinder VTEC Turbo that makes 150 hp at 5,500 rpm and 203 Nm of torque from 1,600 to 5,000 rpm, while paired to it is a CVT transmission, those figures are nice seeing that it’s a medium-size MPV, that’s priced attractively from 2,288,000 yen (RM69,030) to 3,081,400 yen (RM92,967) for the all-wheel drive Spada Cool Spirit in Japan.

Honda StepWGN Spade Ad Screenshot

One of the key selling points of the StepWGN is the ‘Waku Waku’ rear tailgate that doubles up as a door as it opens just like one, which is perhaps why Honda chose to feature a ‘Kyudojin’ or archer with a bow as the main character in the ad, that, and the fact that it fits even the smallest of families.

Couple the rear door with the Magic Seat option, where the third-row seats can actually be tucked away into the floor aside from a 60:40 split folding function, and you will actually be able to fit a bow in to the StepWGN with ease. The variant seen in this ad is the StepWGN SPADA which features a black interior, deeper-toned colours and harder materials. Would you fancy Honda’s StepWGN if it ever makes it to our shores?

Posted by auto motor und sport on Tuesday, 21 July 2015

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• comparo on Sep 08, 2015 at 5:56 pm

205nm torque exora more power. but this is torquey at lower rpm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • comparo on Sep 08, 2015 at 5:57 pm

Oh and do we need turbo kicks in everytime when doing start stop in traffic jam?

• albag on Sep 08, 2015 at 6:49 pm

pretty innovative rear door there… nice design too… grey import pls

• farghmee on Sep 08, 2015 at 8:09 pm

from the specs, this is a good substitute for estima.

1.5L turbo – cheaper tax, sliding doors – better ingress/outgress.

i guess it sells better than odyssey if it’s available here.

yeah freed is no more, no vsc no good.

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 08, 2015 at 7:07 pm

C’mon Honda Malaysia, bring this in!

• Pant_y on Sep 08, 2015 at 8:05 pm

Wow Honda Spander…for sure can keep all the underwear in the world…worse your friend will make a joke on you – which car are you driving…pause pause Honda Spander…yes Honda Spander.

• Sell Here Please on Sep 08, 2015 at 9:11 pm

Please excuse my ignorance, but i see a great market for mini wagons like these in malaysia, almost like a mini Alphard / Odyssey.
    Suitable for small family with babies, with older folks where climbing up n down a conventional door is difficult, OKU requiring wheelchair access… etc.

So is there a reason why they are not marketed over here? fuel requirement? maybe price?

• Really impressive the design & space. Yet the innovative back door. Engine = 2.0l performance, which is quite good. Wonder how it would compete with toyota wish. Should be a tough fight.

• budleee on Sep 08, 2015 at 11:53 pm

oh honda, you and your magic seats…..
    love them

• affendy on Sep 09, 2015 at 8:04 am

Yey honda please come this in, my family can’t fit anymore..this is more suitable

• Would like to see how is the interior design is. So far, I think the Serena is the nicest when compared to Biante. Serena’s moving centre console is brilliant tho its not a new thing and the fact the left seat can move slightly to the right/left for side excess or centre excess to the back row seats.

• Honda and any manufacturers in fact, IF you don’t intent to sell here dun buy ad and show here lah… it’s so tiringlah…

• Spada on Sep 09, 2015 at 7:06 pm

Would you rather not know about whats happening around the world of cars? The easier way would be don’t come to paultan then…

• Julian Lee on Sep 09, 2015 at 5:53 pm

this is spada!!!

• JohnLegend on Sep 09, 2015 at 11:07 pm

be proud…that headlamp design and made by malaysian engineers

• JohnLegend on Sep 09, 2015 at 11:17 pm

be proud….this headlamp design and made by malaysian engineers..

• JohnLegend on Sep 09, 2015 at 11:19 pm

be proud…this headlamp design and made by malaysian engineers..

• Andrew Chin on Dec 21, 2015 at 4:54 pm

ANY IDEA WHEN THIS MPV AVAILABLE IN MALAYSIA ?
    PAULTAN WHEN CAN BUY THIS MPV IN MALAYSIA?