Proton launches new #BangsaRekaCipta web series featuring Malaysian inventors

Here’s something interesting from our national carmaker Proton. In conjunction with Malaysia day, Proton has launched a new web video series called #BangsaRekaCipta today that will feature Malaysian inventors.

The first documentary-style video features Robest Yong who created the Polyclone instant rubber stamp machine and most recently the VisionTouch screen protector and app to allow the blind to use braille for text messaging on touch screen phones.

If you know of any other Malaysian inventors that you think the series should feature, drop a message at this status message on the Proton Cars Facebook fan page.

Happy Malaysia day everyone!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Promoting shit car to the public

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 29
    • Briss Cangle on Sep 16, 2015 at 9:09 pm

Proton should get Peter Schreyer as new design chief. Only then it can sell 1 million cars globally and enjoy RM1 billion profits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • Same L0rrrr on Sep 17, 2015 at 2:15 pm

Just paint it red, pair with loud exhaust pipe, then it match the prospective drivers’ character a lot.

Reliable or not, fuel saving or not, who care? The drivers every year has BR1M. Walking on the street also get allowance.

• Design is not the only key point. wuts d point of design if the engine and quality is poor? everything must come out as one la. engine, quality and design must have quality and in line with the current trends.

if chinaman car company hired peter schreyer as the design chief and come out with a car, i dont think so you gonna buy the car.

• John Doe on Sep 16, 2015 at 10:00 pm

Well said, rubbish cars, I know first hand

• Another proof that Malaysians thinks Buatan Malaysia is shit. Im glad that my point below was proven. Thank you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
  • nabill (Member) on Sep 16, 2015 at 3:52 pm

it takes an inventor to turn a commission into a ‘donaion’…jus sayin’!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Reka? Proton more like copy and paste. See Inspira and Accordana

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 15
    • Cakap serupa bikin on Sep 16, 2015 at 9:27 pm

Dulu Proton hantam Perodua kaki cut paste Daihatsu. Sekarang sendiri mau copy kereta Honda dan Suzuki pula. Hipokrit first class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Another proof that Malaysians thinks Buatan Malaysia is shit. Im glad that my point below was proven. Thank you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • Not all Perodua model copy and paste meh?

• Jezebel on Sep 16, 2015 at 4:52 pm

weird. this website takes a longer loading time than Jalopnik. Jalopnik’s loading time is like lightning-speed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • Bravo Proton for coming up with this series to honour our own inventors. Hope the series will inspire the inventors among all Malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
  • Malaysians still minda penjajah. All import products, import technology, import pipu, import thinking is veri gooding.
    Local things are useless and full of shit. Local efforts are worthless (except what they do for their own work). To them even homeless Rohingyas dun even wanna use Buatan Malaysia products. Need to kick that far far away.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 30
    • Cakap serupa bikin on Sep 16, 2015 at 9:16 pm

Menteri2 also don’t buying much Proton cars. Lagi bagus pakai Porsche. Itu macai2 saja pakai Proton. Apa lu mau cakap sekarang? Siapa hipokrit?

• You mean like the MPs up north using Camrys and S-keras, but critise others who are using Perdanas? Siapa hipokrit?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
        • Orang KL on Sep 17, 2015 at 12:51 am

MP up north? He did not say Proton good woh. Your Proton founder rather use Porsche than the cars coming out of his factory while your king encourages people to use local products but sendiri guna RR/Bentley. Hipokrit much?

• Orange on Sep 16, 2015 at 10:23 pm

You mean like Air Asia, Bonia, Manhattan Fish Market, Gardenia, Flipper etc.? Wow, so hated. No business semua – boleh tutup kedai forever /s.

Go back to your red shirt rally lah you.

• Why not called Air Malaysia, why use a Italian name, why Manhattan Market not Central Market, why Gardenia has US mascot & theme, why call Flipper not Slipar?

Why do we need to hide behind something foreign when it is homegrown? Do we only think that only our own efforts and creation are the best, the rest are shit and will be looked down upon? Are we so embarrassed to proudly say this is made in Malaysia?

This is what your nonstop politics did to the country. I say you should be the one to go back, you RBAs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
        • Orange on Sep 17, 2015 at 9:16 am

Seriously? Now arguing that our Malaysian products aren’t Malaysian enough? Apa lagi you mau? Hypocrite much? Who’s the one saying Malaysian products aren’t good enough now? Don’t know what to say to people with your mentality. Everything oso not good enough. By your logic, if Proton were successful, people like you would insist that they make kereta lembu instead of conventional cars.

If you want your own Malaysian brand, you start it lah. Put in the effort. Stop trying to force others to adapt to your preferences.

• Hanan on Sep 17, 2015 at 8:43 pm

I am proud of Fareeda. Homegrown brand name.

• jobless on Sep 16, 2015 at 7:21 pm

speechless

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • jobless on Sep 16, 2015 at 8:26 pm

sales r down and instead of cipta model baru (bukan copy paste or rebadge) they keep coming up with more contest, tv gameshows and documentaries

• jobless on Sep 16, 2015 at 8:30 pm

how about RekaCiptaBaru current dinosaur Persona and Saga

• syioksendiri on Sep 16, 2015 at 9:25 pm

1. When we think ‘Innovation’, ‘Invention’, ‘Creativity’ ‘Efficiency’ etc we DON’T think PROTON. In fact quite the opposite. What is PROTON trying to prove by launching this web series? Are we to believe that we have misunderstood PROTON’s ability? Is PROTON an inspiring organisation making innovative products?

2. With due respect to Robest Yong, I am sure he isn’t the only inventor out there. There are probably many that go unrecognized. Many more in academia. Probably some receive accolades and awards too like Mr Yong but what I would really like to see are inventors who touched your lives and mine meaningfully by improving our quality of life significantly. These are the Steve Jobs, Elon Musks, Bill Gates, Richard Bransons of the world. These are inventors who knew how to get ideas to market and make a real difference. Ideas are cheap. Delivery is what matters.

Otherwise this video suggests Malaysian are typically ‘jaguh kampung’. Perhaps quite apt for PROTON.

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 17, 2015 at 5:53 pm

http://says.com/my/tech/everyday-things-you-didn-t-know-were-invented-by-malaysians
      8 malaysian Inventions.

Interesting read there.

See if you can find 1 or 2 things in common.

I’m sure this is a short list and many other inventors should be mentioned in due.

• wiwiwiwiw on Sep 16, 2015 at 9:28 pm

Damn, this dude met Stephen Hawkings. Respect!!!!

• John Doe on Sep 16, 2015 at 10:03 pm

Another shit story. I think all the gen y who are gonna study abroad, they are most definitely not coming back to this shithole of a country. Just look at this. I’m a gen y myself and all my friends not even one wants to stay in this shithole. Eventually I think most Indians and Chinese are gonna leave this country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
  • Hugo Andore on Sep 16, 2015 at 11:48 pm

Robest Yong

Ok, I’m convinced that the nurses who handled his birth registration misspelled up his name!

• superman on Sep 17, 2015 at 10:33 am

Do DRB and Proton realy even care about inventor and innovators they had and lost or fired by them??? I know many of them who were pissed on by drb and proton. reason, being smart is not good for their business….