Volvo sedans can now match the Germans, says CEO

Location Front Quarter Volvo S90 Mussel Blue

Volvo is now confident that its latest sedan offerings will be able to match their German rivals, CarAdvice reports. That wasn’t always the case, as admitted by Hakan Samuelsson, Volvo CEO and board representative.

“I think we have not been on their shopping list, to be quite frank. I think we did not have a real offering that could compete with those cars,” Samuelsson said. That could all change now that current owner, Geely Automobile is strongly backing Volvo, allowing it to come up with competitively-equipped premium sedans.

Touching on the Volvo S90, which made a debut at the 2016 North American International Auto Show in Detroit recently, Samuelsson stated, “for the first time we, with this car, have an offering for customers who want to buy a sedan but want something different than the Germans.”

According to Samuelsson, model lines, including the S60, V60, XC60 and the V40 and XC40 will be equally as good as premium German offerings. “Yes, all our cars should, we should be a true alternative to the germans with our very distinct, very special brand offering which is premium but not a copy of them, that we should offer 40, 60 and 90 for SUVs wagons, sedans and crossovers,” he said.

The 90 Series will be the first of the Swedish brand’s product offensive. With a financial backing of USD$11 billion that will see the entire range turned over by 2019, Volvo hopes to increase sales by twofold in 10 years to approximately 800,000 units. It is said that a large contributor to that figure will come from China.

In the years to come, new S (sedan), V (wagon) and XC versions of its 60 and 40 will be launched. Coupe models, however, will not be on the list until all the core models listed are introduced in the market.

On top of that, Volvo remains committed to being a safety leader with a prime focus on autonomous driving. “Safety is part of our heritage and it would be very unwise not to be building on that,” he said, adding, “it is definitely not boring. Safety is going to come back into the focus, especially with autonomous drive. Safety will be a very exciting area to be within and we will do that.”

GALLERY: Volvo S90

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Jan 21, 2016 at 10:23 am

Back then Tun DrM already comfirm Proton “match BMW(Germany car)”
    Volvo now only dare to say can match Germany cars. JUST TO LATE Proton way ahead of this hahaha !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
  • Ze Germans on Jan 21, 2016 at 11:24 am

Oh really Mr Volvo??

How many models do the Germans make n sell successfully compared to u?

Only 2 models that are really good at the moment xc90 n s90 … already wanna talk big?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 36
  • VOLVO=Mahal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • Jimmy on Jan 21, 2016 at 1:32 pm

Why do they use German cars as benchmark, rather than Lexus? In case you didn’t pay attention.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • seancorr (Member) on Jan 21, 2016 at 2:31 pm

It’ll do well in other markets but here it will be a tough fight and the price will play an important factor to lure customers. If the S90 is going up against the E200 and 520i then we can expect it to be around the 300k mark with full laden features? I personally like how Volvo is now and can’t wait to see the new S60 and XC60

• mr1031 on Jan 21, 2016 at 3:12 pm

S90 looks very nice, unfortunately the rear butt spoils the party

• Winter Soldier on Jan 21, 2016 at 3:35 pm

That is Volvo opinion.
    But in Malaysia,Volvo is consider as a premium line in car market. Who ever use Volvo, people automatically will think that you are affordable and deep pocket person.Wondering outside there (Outside Malaysia) people perception about Volvo car.

• Winter Soldier on Jan 21, 2016 at 3:38 pm

In Malaysia,Volvo is very expensive car.
    Price almost similar to Mercedez and BMW.
    In Malaysia,people will think that you are a rich people because you can afford to buy a Volvo.In Malaysia,Volvo is consider as car in premium line.

• the best on Jan 22, 2016 at 12:18 am

Sorry .. ugly.. and fwd is for the feeble

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 22, 2016 at 12:38 am

volvo is a great car…problem is…it just doesnt have that luxury status like merseelee, bmw or owdee