BMW Welcome Light Carpet – how does it work?

bmw-welcome-light-carpet-1

BMW 7 Series owners who are also night owls will probably appreciate this little gimmick that comes standard on all variants of the new 7-er in Malaysia.

It’s called the BMW Welcome Light Carpet, essentially a a striped pattern of light that’s projected on the floor, guiding the motorists to the front doors of the car.

The light projection extends to the ground outside the rear doors as well so although it’s not quite as “welcoming” for back seat passengers, it still does its job as a puddle light for the rear doors so you know what’s on the ground outside your car in areas that are not well-lit.

bmw-welcome-light-carpet-4

The light doesn’t come from below the wing mirrors as you would imagine – doing so would cause the projection to be blocked by a person walking up to the car. Instead, the projector is mounted under the car on the body sill below the front door as you can see from the photo above.

This feature was developed together with the Fraunhofer Institute for Applied Optics and Precision Engineering IOF. It uses 150 different microoptic projectors in a honeycomb array to create the pattern we see. The projectors are protected by a glass cover and angled to the rear of the car to reduce the chance of damage from stones.

I suppose this requirement limits the kind of patterns that BMW can create, which is why the light carpet is shaped the way it is. As for dirt, the projectors will still operate with reduced brightness.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 29, 2016 at 3:43 pm

Isn’t that pattern same as the ecoPro mode display? Anyways, it is gimicky, though still cool to show off to your buddies when you golfing at 6AM.

• Does it has self-cleaning function? So it won’t block by mud

• The lighting is so like aftermarket installation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • gaviny on Feb 29, 2016 at 3:59 pm

oh yes sir we can replace the light if broken, it’s only 6000 per side not including GST.

• albag on Feb 29, 2016 at 5:13 pm

I will install this shit on my myvi soon!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • policeman on Feb 29, 2016 at 6:02 pm

Can the projection be modified to project an image of a cuckoo bird?

• Jimmy on Feb 29, 2016 at 6:07 pm

Desirable.

Mentioned before.

• chanmali chan on Feb 29, 2016 at 6:44 pm

Ah beng will definitely love this feature. Perhaps they will do it at their milo tin vios cars…

• Mr. G on Feb 29, 2016 at 6:52 pm

I can’t wait to see those new owners scratch the bottom of their BMW at some high areas… Hahahaa!!

• good…can see got thief hiding underneath car or not

• heynekko on Mar 01, 2016 at 12:01 pm

Still cannot see whether there is a dog or a tiger hiding beneath the car. I think the tried and true neon at the bottom of the car is still a better solution