Updated 2016 Toyota Rush 7 launched in Indonesia

2016 Toyota Rush TRD Indonesia-07

PT Toyota-Astra Motor (TAM) has launched the 2016 Toyota Rush TRD Sportivo Ultimo and Rush TRD Sportivo 7 in Indonesia with two new ambassadors – athlete Richard Sam Bera dan beauty queen Nadine Chandrawinata.

The two new variants (the SUVs) fit in seven seats in three rows, which could be TAM’s response to the new Honda BR-V’s presence in the seven-seater dominated market. The base Type G continues as a five-seater.

The Rush TRD Sportivo 7 (white car) comes with an extra row of seats plus two extra seatbelts and handgrips. The exterior gets a TRD Sportivo aerokit and stickers on the sides.

The Rush TRD Sportivo Ultimo is the new range topper. It’s based on the TRD Sportivo 7, but adds on a red highlight strip on the front grille, decals on the rear spare tyre cover, new design TRD Sportivo wheels and ‘Ultimo’ badging. There’s also a new colour for the flagship – Nebula Blue.

But the most significant feature on the Ultimo is the TRD Sportivo suspension, which is a joint development between TAM engineers and TRD Indonesia, designed to suit the market’s road conditions, weather and usage. Comprising shocks and springs, the TRD Sportivo suspension has an increased ground clearance of 200 mm and is designed to be more comfortable.

Prices start from Rp.245.85 million (RM77,665) for the TRD Sportivo 7 M/T to Rp.262.45 million (RM82,750) for the TRD Sportivo Ultimo A/T. The Rush facelift was launched in Malaysia in April last year.

GALLERY: Toyota Rush facelift in Malaysia

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Tin Kosong on Feb 29, 2016 at 12:09 pm

Another year, another facelift. So, what is new other than some cosmetics add-on? Increasing centre-of-gravity for an already not very stable vehicle is not a good idea at all.

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 29, 2016 at 2:00 pm

Peak period is coming soon. Everyone is waiting thus our sales figure currently not so good.

• Sam Protn Supporter on Feb 29, 2016 at 6:02 pm

As a umw sales man, you still buying proton. How can toyotak sales naik?

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 01, 2016 at 11:14 am

you can talkok whatever you wants, as I said, no one like to keep junk at home. If I have any, I’ll give you for free. I always give those empty can/tin to garage collectors.

• Rempit Putrajaya on Feb 29, 2016 at 12:36 pm

New grill then call it facelift,new skirting then call it trd,new bumper then call it sportivo,new fog lamp then call it ultimo.Next year will be new side sticker then call it dreamo.. Same old engine made use of many names for greedy umw too

• shawal on Feb 29, 2016 at 12:38 pm

I recently rode one around kuching, friend’s one, i sat at the back, it was comfy , and the rear aircond vents helped too , with the seats folded u have plenty of space to lug your things around ,

not a bad car considering what is on offer ,tho price shubbe 10-15k cheaper , and the facelift looks overdone, at least the pre facelift one looks like a mini rav4

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Pls at least go n try test drive other brand compact suv ie cx5, asx, hrv, xv, even the great wall & if you still think this rushbish is better than the rest…..well i don’t know what else to say unless that is you r a toyota salesman selling your fake experiance

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 29, 2016 at 1:01 pm

This model is long overdue for a refresher…

• Consumer on Feb 29, 2016 at 1:09 pm

The funny part is they has endless top range.

• Tin Kosong on Mar 01, 2016 at 12:26 am

The even funnier part is they have the gall to charge ever higher prices for basically just some cosmetics add-on.

• horrayooi on Feb 29, 2016 at 1:11 pm

What is the TRD Sportivo Ultimo AT? I suspect it is 4 speed auto. Try to cover up with fancy name. Very cunning this UMW toyota people.

• Sammy Loo on Feb 29, 2016 at 10:15 pm

Did you even read? It is for Indonesia market and there is nothing to do with UMW.

Pure basher for everything related to government and UMW.

• 4×4 compact mpv 7 seat.. there is no other car like this in Malaysia..

• The tagline should be: all new rushbish, experiance True Retardness Dumbass…
    Buy this car n get the sam looo like fr free

• Don’t worry ev’ryone. At least this car will be discontinued this year (probably) in our nation, Indonesia. Rumour says that the new C-HR will change its position…..

• Tin Kosong on Mar 01, 2016 at 12:23 am

Either you only travel through smooth roads while you are on board or you have a high tolerance for motion sickness. The bumpy ride of the Avanza/Rush duo is well-known because of the van-like suspension. Otherwise, they don’t have to come up with these TRD Sportivo suspension to make the ride more tolerable.

• camtakpro on Mar 01, 2016 at 7:37 am

200mm is freaking 20cm. 20cm height increase!!!
    Is that a typo of 20mm?