Perodua sedan rendered based on new Toyota Passo

Perodua B-segment sedan Theo Passo render

How about this for a Perodua B-segment sedan? This “interesting” creation by skilled renderer Theophilus Chin hints at a very unlikely third-gen Myvi sedan, and will no doubt get the masses talking.

Based on the all-new Toyota Passo (pictured below) that was unveiled recently, the “sedan” sees the standard compact hatchback undergo a physical transformation, where its boxy rear is reshaped to feature a steeply-raked rear window, promoting the overhang that gives it the sedan look.

A side-by-side comparison provides a clearer look at what Theo has done here. If only Toyota released the new Passo several days earlier, this would have made for a great April Fool’s joke.

carlineup_passo_grade_3_001_pc

The Toyota Passo is powered by a 1.0 litre 1KR-FE three-cylinder petrol engine, providing 69 PS at 6,000 rpm and 92 Nm at 4,400 rpm, mated to a CVT with front- and all-wheel drive available. Aside from its new exterior looks, the Passo also gets a revamped interior and updated safety kit featuring Daihatsu’s Smart Assist II collision avoidance assist system.

These specifications are nigh identical to the new Daihatsu Boon. Perodua enthusiasts will be quick to point out that the current Myvi is based on the second-gen Boon.

With both B-segment superminis now completely redesigned inside and out, could the third-generation Myvi be based on the new Boon/Passo, adopting its technological (and visual) upgrades?

GALLERY: 2016 Toyota Passo

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Blind pipu can see this is worse than new Saga, yet bashers will still praise to sky high. All cant wait afterlife.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 32
    • Warren Wong Yee Ket on Apr 13, 2016 at 1:39 pm

Aha you see, but there’s a contradiction in your statement. Blind people (which you spelled wrongly), can’t see, but bashers, assuming they’re not blind, can!

• undertaker on Apr 13, 2016 at 1:53 pm

Hahahahaha…

• Deadpool on Apr 13, 2016 at 2:02 pm

blind people can’t see because they are blind. please, you having issue to read and write, go back to school, your level probably can start from primary 3 but this time study harder

• Pepoyoje on Apr 13, 2016 at 2:42 pm

The myvi sedan in confirm slated to be launch on August.That’s why current myvi is giving up to 3k discount for clearance.Whether it will be replacement or additional new model is still unknown but based on what the salesman said myvi will be phased out! Really? I don’t think so,Mr Salesman!

• Ok next stage can wrap up with newspaper and then if tak laku then p2 can close shop

• dugongx on Apr 14, 2016 at 3:53 am

Same Loor and p2 salesman are mostly like that. They will talk any bullshit and kok story just to pressure you to buy their paper cars.

• Hulk Guy on Apr 13, 2016 at 2:45 pm

John just trying to be sarcasm but this guy get to boiling points easily.Chill dude

• Hehe. Wait till he sees what bashers says in P1 thread. Maybe he secretly P2 admirer/trooper :)

• WT Fuchhh on Apr 13, 2016 at 7:34 pm

Somebody, pls help get this ugly sedan thingy from my face. Urrrgh!!!

• nice Cute Little Back

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Ugly

• what the f did i just saw? lol that’s hideous.

i noticed that this site’s comment full of p1 supporters/haters, p2 supporters/haters, jepunis supporters/haters, conti supporters/haters. although conti supporters are rare maybe cause only a few here can actually afford them. if this is the case why don’t we just make a blog about specific brand?

this is an automotive blog of all brands. come on don’t be so closed-minded. if it’s good say that it’s good, if it’s bad say that it’s bad. why the need for brand preferences clouding our judgement?

• Mozilla Chrome on Apr 13, 2016 at 1:58 pm

No please..

• ong chin aun on Apr 13, 2016 at 2:10 pm

HAHA… SO LAU BEH. ANTIC DESIGN ?? If this can attract people.PERDUA SEDAN ??? My…. Non … no.

• Hentamajela on Apr 13, 2016 at 2:15 pm

Another tin sardin coming soon from toyota….same lorr gonna lick this car till it shine…..just for puki lorr

• Seriously Theo’s ‘renders’ are getting worse everytime

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 13, 2016 at 2:45 pm

Looks like the Mazda 121 in profile….

Regardless of what Theo has come up with, I personally think tagging on a boot on a tall’ish B segment is never ever going to end up looking right.

But unfortunately, it hasn’t stopped them. Suzuki x90, The swift based Marauti Dwize, the old Toyota Echo Sedan, Nissans’ Latio and the “upside down sampan” 2nd gen Honda City…..and the list goes on.

I never understood the appeal of a sedan. After 20 years of car ownership and 8 cars between them, I’ve only had 2 sedans, and both were the same model of the same car. The rest all had a hatch (Fastback coupes, hatchbacks, MPVs…).

• If I act as Proton basher thinking, i will said KNS, Perodua no designer ka? This junk can throw to rubbish bin n close up laa

• Reminiscence of Mazda 121 DB… Great job though. If it can just be extended At the back by 1 feet, may look better.

• farghmee on Apr 13, 2016 at 3:55 pm

U did this Theo?

Ugly beyond definition

• rider on Apr 13, 2016 at 3:58 pm

this is a best example showing how to not design a car!!!

• Robcar on Apr 13, 2016 at 4:20 pm

This is so ugly!

• Same L0rrr on Apr 13, 2016 at 4:27 pm

Very smart sedan A segment! Good RV.. RIP saga..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • optrim on Apr 13, 2016 at 5:30 pm

Ahahahahaha you better get your eyes checked!

• Same L00rong 18 Geylang on Apr 13, 2016 at 6:51 pm

It shows UMW & Same L0rr tasteless life!

• This junk n New Saga compare? New Saga design far far best than tat lousy look lo…
      U not agree meh?

• Newbie to go on Apr 13, 2016 at 5:10 pm

This is the most ugly car i saw fr theophilus chin creation.

If not mistaken. Theophilus chin did b4 perodua sedan draft which far more nice than this.

• Boboy on Apr 13, 2016 at 6:08 pm

Ugly design but, when P2 launched the sedan car before P1 Saga, then the sales goes to P2. Again. Then P1 can go back home and start cooking nasi lemak

• Same L00rong 18 Geylang on Apr 13, 2016 at 6:49 pm

I only give 2star to this render.

• Same L00rong 18 Geylang on Apr 13, 2016 at 6:53 pm

Hard to digest Theo did this.U wanna job in UMW Theo? Welcome in Same L0rrr’s club

• Bad Theo on Apr 13, 2016 at 6:56 pm

P2 can kolos shop with this render.Pack up & sail back to jepunis

• Nobody on Apr 14, 2016 at 8:29 am

Another Tin Milo in the making..yeah! go go go P2!

• The interior looks pretty good actually ,but exterior….i guess p2 will redesign the facelit

• Rashuk_Khan2 on Apr 14, 2016 at 9:06 pm

Looks like CATDOG

• Faisal Haroon Uppal on May 06, 2016 at 8:45 pm

Looks like Mazda 121 Sedan in 1990s.
    (Can see images in Google )