BMW i8 Celebration Edition in Protonic Red for Japan

BMW i8 Celebration Edition Japan 1

Remember the BMW i8 Protonic Red Edition from this year’s 2016 Geneva Motor Show? Well, BMW Japan has decided that the special edition model would be the perfect gift to commemorate the German marque’s 100th birthday. However, you’ll have to buy said gift.

Visually, the car is identical to the one shown in Switzerland. Aside from the obvious Protonic Red paint, there are also Frozen Grey accents on select areas of the i8’s body. The wheels in this case, are BMW’s 20-inch W-spoke 470 lightweight alloys finished in Orbit Grey metallic.

Other exterior bits include BMW’s Laserlight headlamps that are superior to LED units. As for the cabin, there is a generous serving of carbon-fibre trim pieces alongside the leather upholstery. There are also unique door sill plates, and a serial number plate to indicate the model’s rarity as you’ll find out later.

Everything else however, is status quo. Therefore, the 2+2 hybrid sports car is powered by a 231 hp 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder BMW TwinPower engine, paired with a 131 hp electric motor. Together, the system provides a total system output of 362 hp and 570 Nm of torque.

BMW Japan is asking 22,000,000 yen (RM813,963) for the BMW i8 Protonic Red Edition, and only 20 units will be offered exclusively for the Japanese market in a mix of left- and right-hand drive configurations. So, this or the 600 hp M6 Coupe special?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• proton for life on May 31, 2016 at 10:55 am

now even bmw is using proton.. haters will always be haters

• Cukurlah Proton ‘BMW of Asia’. When i buy Proton, it means i own ‘BMW’

• p1 better than BMW on May 31, 2016 at 5:30 pm

Even better coz BMW = banyak makan wang, with p1 i save my money!

• Protonic Cap Gajah on May 31, 2016 at 11:04 am

Isn’t Protonic Red the colour of the balance sheet before goverment give big loan?

• tokmoh. on May 31, 2016 at 11:31 am

Inb4 all we see is PROTON, straight activate butthurt mode

• Looking above, butthurt alredi activated loh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • basher1 on May 31, 2016 at 12:17 pm

Because they think if no p1 can get Civic Turbo 69k.

Even in Thai you cannot get that price, if butthurt again they show 1985 car prices, lol

• psychiatrist on May 31, 2016 at 12:19 pm

Isn’t that a mental disorder symptom?
      So many mental patients in PT, pity.

• PT shud start a psychiatry business on the side for these poor souls, and call it Psychiatry Treatment (PT). Lol!

• Kunta Kinte on May 31, 2016 at 11:40 am

our normal i8 already about Rm1.3 million. This car will be RM3 million. Syukurlah, walaupun harga kereta mahal, negara masih aman damai

• Sgt Scoop on May 31, 2016 at 11:49 am

Stealing marketing ideas from the Honda City? Hahahaha

• Simple on May 31, 2016 at 12:16 pm

And how is this relevant to the Malaysian market? Don’t just simply print press release la

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on May 31, 2016 at 1:09 pm

This website serves both the Malaysian car buyers and car enthusiasts in general. This limited edition model is certainly worth writing about, in our opinion.

• Simple on May 31, 2016 at 2:07 pm

As a reader I beg to differ. Why is it worth writing about if it’s just meant for one market and in similar configurations as something that has already been displayed before? Or you should at least try to expand on how such an article relates to readers outside Japan (in this particular instance). Will BMW do similar releases elsewhere for their 100 year celebrations? The possibilities are endless.

• noneedtosay on May 31, 2016 at 3:50 pm

Bashers think nothing is right, all are wrong
          Go and build your own blog lor

• Dun worry, Hafriz. U and other PT writers post what u feel is newsworthy. U have my full support. Dun listen to those posers and bashers that try to dictate what PT shud post or not post.

If these pipu think they r talented and knows what MY pipu want, they shud start their own autoblog. Then we can see which the consumers choose.

• Simple on May 31, 2016 at 6:50 pm

If u think nothing to improve ok loh. “U dont like, build your own blog.” Simple BN formula ya.

• Smokin' on May 31, 2016 at 9:04 pm

If only want to know what is relevant to the Malaysian market and ignore about what is happening on the international stage, can improve ah?

• Simple on May 31, 2016 at 9:21 pm

@Smokin’ I mean relate this to the Malaysian market because that would be more meaningful than just copying official press releases meant for another market. I guess people like you wouldn’t understand this concept. The news above is not about new technology or any kind of innovative breakthrough. Do you grasp the difference….?

• Henry on May 31, 2016 at 12:50 pm

I hope to see a Protonic Red Proton.