SPYSHOTS: Toyota Camry – next gen car starts testing

CP4I3492

Toyota has started road testing the next generation Toyota Camry, which will be built on Toyota’s new TNGA platform. Thanks to TNGA, the new Camry is expected to maintain its current dimensions but get improvements in terms of weight as well as body rigidity.

As this prototype was snapped by our freelance spy photographers in Ann Arbor, Michigan, this is most likely the US market version of the Camry, which looks completely different compared to the version we get in this region (although Thailand does get it in the form of the Camry ESport).

CP4I3534

There’s bits of the new design’s tail lamp sticking out here, but like we said as this is the US version it might be irrelevant to what we will eventually get here in Malaysia.

There are rumours that the 3.5 litre V6 engine might be replaced by the 2.0 litre turbo engine found in the Lexus NX. The 2.0 and 2.5 litre engines should continue, as well as the 2.5 litre hybrid version.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Susukotak on Jul 15, 2016 at 5:57 pm

sekali baca mcm TGNA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Malaysians are stupid. All only know how to kow tow to the Jepunis overlords. We should have faith in Proton like how we have faith in our leader, Najib. Our Proton has been tested extensively with spyshots here and there so that the whole nation knows that we are testing our cars. We even tested until Matt Damon came. P2 and Toyota, on the other hand only test for a short time, no publicity like Proton. When you support Proton, you support the economy of Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 38
      • Sam cockloo on Jul 15, 2016 at 11:18 pm

Toyota is a good car but in malaysia it had spoiled by the arrogant sales man by the name of sam loo. He himself is now suffering for years. Dont talk bad on others uncle. Serve u right

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
    • Hudus on Jul 15, 2016 at 10:15 pm

Nothing exciting to expect from another new from Toyota,..same typical boxy & square design.Hidiously overdone additional accessories to cover up hidious flaws.Cant even have an idea to change same taillight,red & white stripe like national flag.

• Steve Jobs on Jul 16, 2016 at 8:06 am

Yeah, the body is square and the wheels are round, no innovation like Perdana’s tailpipes

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 482 Thumb down 667
    • Kunta Kinte on Jul 15, 2016 at 6:49 pm

Again john is still calling Matt Damon. Hello john, Matt Damon still cannot help your people who like to sleep during work hours.

Try to get someone else to help your people with this sleeping culture first. MAS Union and Perkasa defended the right to sleep during work hours and it was the laughing stock of the whole world to hear that.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 558 Thumb down 417
      • How dare you persoal our budaya! Tidur budaya kita. But since tonight is Malam Jumaat, i’ll give an exeption

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 399 Thumb down 595
        • John Budaya Tidur on Jul 16, 2016 at 12:25 am

Efficient in SLEEPING kot… Everything else is inefficient… Hahaha…!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 21

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 239 Thumb down 456
          • Troller on Jul 16, 2016 at 8:37 am

Go and chase customers much better rather than wating time here trolling

• Of caused I’m efficient in sleeping, or else how can Proton can get donation of RM1.25B from our beloved MoF, easy money!

• keyboard on Jul 16, 2016 at 11:01 am

john is efficient in clicking ‘like’ for himself :)

• I gotta feeling there gonna be a big fat Toyota emblem at the front of that grill

• C. P. MOHAN on Jul 15, 2016 at 9:37 pm

“john” is so appropriate for this bloke and his comments.

• U called?

• What you mean?

• syahwaz on Jul 16, 2016 at 9:34 pm

jan marah k? kw pikir positif la , saya cuma menegur awak:) ini untuk masa depan awak :)

• syahwaz on Jul 16, 2016 at 9:30 pm

eja blog pun tak pandai, p lah sekolah balik belajar membaca abcd..ohhh pasal yuran sekolah tak perlu kisah ;), kau p lah minta duit yuran kat bapa mama kw ;)

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jul 15, 2016 at 10:45 pm

Don’t bother to buy brand new sushis

Head to the Hyundai showroom instead and get yourself a spanking new Sonata instead.

Can’t wait for you to come to my yard within 12 months

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jul 15, 2016 at 11:59 pm

I like how john and kunta kunte play bad cop good cop…john tan is john while kunta kunte is all the other writers…bravo…

• Like Jobless said this is testing how well the rubbish plastic stick on car. If involve accident can pack n throw to sea.

• Toyota has no confidence in their own designed car, thats why need to test here, test there, test until Matt Damon comes home from Mars. They not confident, unlike small pinkie brother P2 that just releases Bisa w/o road test. What does that tell u about their cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • applegreen on Jul 16, 2016 at 1:56 am

Sleeker, bigger tail lights. Not boxy as like current model

• toyotalover on Jul 16, 2016 at 11:04 am

So many of bad comments, still everyone end up buying Toyota. Lol. Toyota dont force anyone to but it. hehehe