BMW 528i M Performance Edition – 100 units, RM364k

BMW 528i M Performance Edition (5)

BMW Malaysia has quietly revealed a new limited edition version of the F10 5 Series. Dubbed the BMW 528i M Performance Edition, the car – which celebrates BMW’s 100th anniversary – gets a number of M Performance addenda, and at a cheaper price than the standard car.

How much cheaper? Well, the M Performance Edition retails at RM363,800 on-the-road without insurance, a full RM15,000 less than the regular 528i. As usual, that price is inclusive of a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty and a five-year free service programme.

The additions include gloss black kidney grilles, a carbon fibre front splitter, black side skirts with M Performance badging and a carbon fibre bootlid spoiler. Otherwise, equipment should remain the same as the regular 528i.

On that car, standard kit includes adaptive LED headlights, 19-inch double-spoke Style 351M alloy wheels, a sunroof, four-zone climate control, keyless entry, a head-up display, a 16-speaker Harman Kardon surround sound system and the updated iDrive system with ConnectedDrive and Concierge Service. The wheels, sunroof and new iDrive system are part of the revised specification introduced in March.

Powered by a 2.0 litre TwinPower Turbo four-cylinder engine, the 528i makes 245 hp and 350 Nm, all sent to the rear wheels through an eight-speed ZF automatic transmission. Zero to 100 km/h is done and dusted in 6.2 seconds, and the car will go all the way to 250 km/h.

Want one? You’ll have to hurry, as only 100 units will be offered for sale. The BMW 528i M Performance Edition will be available at all authorised BMW showrooms from this weekend.

GALLERY: BMW 528i M Sport in Malaysia

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Ex VGM staff on Jul 19, 2016 at 3:10 pm

A very powerful 2.0 litre four indeed.

• End Of Life on Jul 19, 2016 at 5:58 pm

Yup the G series around the corner. bye bye F

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 20, 2016 at 8:58 am

Pity current owners who bought the 528i for RM420k. This is how BMW treats existing owners. Their prices drop drastically kononnya due to EEV and the 2nd hand market just sees RM60k wiped out overnight.

BMW Malaysia should compensate all BMW 528i owners who bought this car the past 1 year..

• Geoff_kl on Jul 20, 2016 at 7:51 pm

I bought mine exactly a year ago and got a nice fat discount off the 420k price, almost as much as the revised price. If I got it, I’m sure they offered it to most customers…

• ecoboost on Jul 19, 2016 at 7:49 pm

can get the same hp & nm from rm200k mondeo, what so special?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
      • Bimmersakti on Jul 20, 2016 at 8:47 am

Its not a Ford that costs 200k. Thats good enough reason to buy this Bimmer.

• Geoff_kl on Jul 20, 2016 at 7:52 pm

Stupid response…you think a Mondeo is the same quality as a 5 series?

• gaviny on Jul 19, 2016 at 3:32 pm

BMW also got on the bandwagon of ‘ this carbon fire lip wahlau boss i tell add 10 horsepower ok’

• meeGorengCina on Jul 19, 2016 at 3:49 pm

“Want one? You’ll have to hurry, as only 100 units will be offered for sale”

u sounded like it’s a RM1 per piece pisang goreng..i would rather hurry to get a Dawn as only one unit here this weekend at bangsar shopping center.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Anything but P1 on Jul 19, 2016 at 4:37 pm

That is because the 530i is launching soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Ben Yap on Jul 19, 2016 at 4:44 pm

civic 1.5 turbo with racechip can beat BMW?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 34
  • Johan Kia on Jul 19, 2016 at 6:50 pm

pls get the hybrid x5 instead.

• Sam john loo on Jul 19, 2016 at 10:21 pm

Early buyers suffer bad RV?

• Bimmersakti on Jul 20, 2016 at 8:48 am

Early buyers will continue to be early buyers of any new release. They dont worry about pennies like you do.

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 20, 2016 at 9:52 am

I seriously doubt early owners would care very much about RV. These things depreciate 50-40K a year in the first few years anyway. If they can stomach that, RV isn’t an issue.

Besides BMW has always been selling “pre registered” cars for very cheap.

• Dorea on Jul 20, 2016 at 8:47 am

At this price, very dai mai. Cheap. Affordable.