Mercedes-Benz GLC – locally-assembled version soon

Mercedes GLC 250 Review 1

Not long to go before the locally-assembled Mercedes-Benz GLC enters the market – the announcement of the impending CKD version of the SUV was made during Mercedes-Benz Malaysia’s first half 2016 performance briefing earlier today.

No indication of pricing, but as is usually the case, the local route should bring the price of the X253 down. The five-seat SUV made its Malaysian debut in January this year, arriving as a GLC 250 AMG Line variant and priced at RM328,888.

A limited-run GLC 250 Edition 1 came about next, going for RM360,888. In May, the GLC 250 Exclusive was introduced in the country, and that went for RM325,888.

Mercedes-Benz SLC 43 Nice-80

The GLC 250 is powered by the familiar M 274 DE 20 AL 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbo petrol engine, which is also seen on the current W205 C 250 and new W213 E-Class E 250 models. Here, the unit offers 211 hp at 5,500 rpm and 350 Nm of torque from 1,200 to 4,000 rpm.

Aside from the CKD X253, the company is set to introduce a number of offerings over the remainder of the year. At the briefing, it was divulged that there were seven items on the cards for the second half of 2016 – the upcoming cast is made up of two new vehicles, two additional variants, the introduction of two new engines as well as a facelift of an existing model.

Though not detailed, models that could well be on the list include the SLC and A217 S-Class Cabriolet as well as the big seven-seater GLS and the GLC Coupe, while the facelift is likely to be the CLA.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Better assemble in tomyam. MY pipu now all hi-keras dun wan do 3D jobs. All want to sit inside MB, not assemble MB.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
  • Dr Mamak on Jul 21, 2016 at 4:22 pm

Looking forward to ckd GLC Coupe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Kunta Kinte on Jul 21, 2016 at 5:05 pm

This car is a big failure in Malaysia. MBM also told me cannot sell. Who wants to buy at RM329k and above? Somemore got no tech.

Most people wanting real SUV will go for BMW X5 plug in Hybrid. That is a real SUV unlike this, a tipu SUV ie not here, not there. Just add RM60k more, you get a sophisticated and advanced plug in Hybrid engine

Real people who want proper SUV go for size. X5 Hybrid is far far bigger

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jul 21, 2016 at 5:43 pm

Kereta penjajah ni. Siapa nak? Beli Proton, lagi baloi!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
      • Germany never jajah our fxxking Tanah Melayu land but your master Great British did.

Sebelum terfikir nak beli Proton berhenti dahulu, lagi berbaloi untuk memiliki Perodua.

• Tapi jepunis pernah jajah kita woh. Juga potong kepla woh.

• Diamlah John. Balik drive your Proton lah hahaha. Kalau boleh tukar proton baru lagi selamatkan syarikat Proton barulah patriotic dalam istilah kau. Premium brands tidak sesuai bottom lower class like you. This brands deserve better.

• pomen on Jul 21, 2016 at 7:52 pm

bro..competitor for GLC is X3 la…why compare with X5??of course la X5 more sophisticated and ckd if im not mistaken(got EEV incentive)…GLC are expensive because of cbu…

• Jimmy on Jul 22, 2016 at 12:08 am

You are right this time.

Every vehicle looks relatively overpriced in the presence of brandnew X5 at 388k. No thanks to taxes.

It may make me wonder, if X5 are not able to sapu the whole market of 300k-500k, when the statistics is out.

Sorry Q7, my wife made her decision.

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 21, 2016 at 5:10 pm

Pity Malaysians. GLC in the US cost US$38k. Rather small money there. Even McDonalds worker get US$38 per annum salary.

In Malaysia, it becomes RM328k. Thanks Najib. thank you so much. We are still waiting for your promise to reduce car prices by 30%

Quickly do it before FBI comes to Malaysia and looks for you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
  • old horse on Jul 21, 2016 at 10:12 pm

under RM300K and sure killing the market..

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 22, 2016 at 3:40 am

Going for under 300k will confirm to steal some sales from the X3 since this model comes with 4 wheel drive by default while the X3 doesn’t and if they upgrade the Audio 20 system to the COMAND Online I think we have a winner here.

• Wilson Yong on Jul 22, 2016 at 11:17 pm

The best SUV I ever own, no regrets for upgraded from x1 to GLC. I would still recommend to my friends even if it’s CKD.

• Sauber Petronas on Jul 25, 2016 at 11:09 am

The old SLK R172 before facelift model look much better, the things i like from SLC is the rear LED light which just plug n play to SLK.