BMW 330e iPerformance coming to Malaysia soon – 248 hp, 420 Nm plug-in hybrid sedan, from RM240k?

BMW-330e-iPerformance-0002

Quick on the heels of the X5 xDrive40e’s successful arrival in Malaysia, it appears the BMW 330e iPerformance will be here next, as soon as the end August, in fact. Another juicy bit of information we can now offer is that the new plug-in hybrid model looks set to follow the X5’s outstanding pricing, with an indicative range of RM240k-RM260k!

That will put the 330e in between the 320i Sport Line (RM231,800) and 330i M Sport (RM297,800) in the local F30 LCI range. Effectively, it looks to replace the 320d and 320i M Sport models (previously priced at RM269k and RM259k respectively) in the line-up, both of which were discontinued earlier this year.

With the range indicated (RM240k-RM260k), it’s possible that BMW Malaysia will offer the 330e iPerformance in two flavours: Sport Line and M Sport. We will know soon enough, of course. The X5 xDrive40e, launched at RM388,800, undercutting all its rivals, comes in M Sport guise only.

Under the hood of the 330e will be a similar 2.0 litre four-cylinder engine, electric motor and eight-speed gearbox combo as the larger X5 xDrive40e and 740e. Here, though, the engine is rated at 180 hp and 290 Nm, paired with an 87 hp, 250 Nm electric motor. Combined system output is 248 hp and 420 Nm of torque, compared to 252 hp and 350 Nm for the petrol-only 330i.

The 330e iPerformance will get from 0-100 km/h in 6.3 seconds, on to a top speed of 225 km/h, very close to the 330i’s 5.8 seconds/250 km/h. But on the other hand, the plug-in hybrid model is claimed to average just 2.1 litres per 100 km, compared to 6.1 l/100 km for the 330i. The 330e also has an all-electric range of 22.5 km, at speeds of up to 120 km/h.

We will know more very soon. In the mean time, what do you think of the BMW 330e iPerformance, if the indicative price range proves accurate? A great way to take full advantage of the EEV scheme, don’t you think so?

GALLERY: BMW 330e on-location at Garching/Munich

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• 240k? sell like hot cake

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
    • Msport on Aug 02, 2016 at 12:32 pm

Oh no!!
      just took my new 300K
      BMW 330i M Sport last week :((

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 27
      • oh shit, my 2013 328i trade in value might be below 100k…:(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • buy 328i on Aug 02, 2016 at 5:15 pm

u can sell it to me at 101k

• i mean if i trade in…of course i know the used car dealer can resell it at 170k…the blood sucker bm dealer only traded in my friend 2001 320i for 60k last year…no more conti car for me

• Operation Manager on Aug 02, 2016 at 11:19 pm

Bodoh-Msian-(kena)Wreck, the moment you walk in service center, you will get con by no ending story of wear & tear & unexpected problem fix; that accumulated will cost u another unit new vehicle.

• sorry, should be 2011 320i

• Jimmy on Aug 02, 2016 at 1:21 pm

1. M Sport = looks beautiful to some people.
      2. Expensive, if compared to X5 PHEV.
      3. Picture didn’t show sunroof.
      4. 10 airbags ar? Super-safe ar?

My suggestion is to fork out a bit more and get yourself an X5 PHEV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
      • sohai on Aug 02, 2016 at 1:44 pm

Another RM150k for a X5 is abit more to you?
        You are the man lah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
      • BMW X5 on Aug 02, 2016 at 1:45 pm

A bit more?? You are talking about RM388k – RM240k = RM148k here. If your budget is around RM250k would you look at a BMW X5? The answer is No. If you can afford a RM400k car would you look at a BMW 3 series, the answer is No either, so what are you talking about?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
        • Jimmy on Aug 02, 2016 at 10:36 pm

When you spend > RM30k every monthss on luxury stuffs, this amount is really ‘a bit’.

Or do you think I must be in great desire to purchase every models of Proton, no? You are not new to Paultan.org, right?

Finally, one thumb up for Mr Trump.

• Beautiful!

• That will make the 1 series buyer look like stupid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
    • BMW X5 on Aug 02, 2016 at 1:46 pm

Not exactly, people who bought the 1 series is looking for a small hatch back or have a budget of <RM200k, different segment of buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 02, 2016 at 11:44 am

this is going to sell well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • seancorr (Member) on Aug 02, 2016 at 11:46 am

Very cheap and will effectively kill the 320i sales and news is that the 330i is no more. But it’s a plug in hybrid so not many people will like it since u need to charge to take full advantage but the price is very tempting for new buyers…existing 3er owners will want to wait for the next generation 3 Series hybrid to fully take advantage of the EEV incentive which should be launching in 2018.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • thepolygonal on Aug 02, 2016 at 11:56 am

Yup this is what I was talking about… plugin hybrids… now if only we have the toyota / honda flavor?

• Leafable on Aug 02, 2016 at 11:56 am

EEV? Wheres that extra RM40k came from? They sell these bad boy for only RM200k in the UK and it’s fully loaded M sport with 20% VAT/GST included. Scamed by BMW Malaysia….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
    • Ex VGM staff on Aug 02, 2016 at 12:36 pm

The D segment salesman would not approve if bmw sells this at 190k. It will kill the camry. Accord. Passat. 508. And the A class merc. And Audi a3.

• Kluxklan on Aug 02, 2016 at 12:52 pm

Yea right. We are in EU. We were robbed.

• contender on Aug 02, 2016 at 12:02 pm

Expect long waiting period, was told SA BMW X5 Hybrid is 18 mths waiting period …

• dpillai on Aug 02, 2016 at 12:20 pm

The actual price should be closer to RM200k, with all the tax incentives. BMW should share the savings with its customers. Otherwise, it would just be a scam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Bmw 330e !!! on Aug 02, 2016 at 12:22 pm

I want I want.

• The Saint on Aug 02, 2016 at 1:10 pm

Exciting times ahead…..

I am holding my breath for Mercedes to introduce their range of PHEV. Models like the E350e, GLC 350e etc….

• Can buy 2 Perdana. Buy Perdana better, support Proton so Proton won’t close shop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
  • paparadzi (Member) on Aug 02, 2016 at 1:55 pm

Would be nice to have this in a 4-series coupe body.

• C. P. MOHAN on Aug 02, 2016 at 2:01 pm

This is what I mean moving forward by introducing electrical car technology in small steps/bites by comparison big steps/bites, to me anyway, are those DRIVERLESS CAR TECHNOLOGY.

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 02, 2016 at 2:04 pm

Who cares if it’s got a small boot (unless you have a big family to haul). When else can you get a brand new powerful 3 Series for a bargain, relatively speaking of course. Of course, you will need to fork out a bit for the fast charger or whatever it’s called. But you will save money on petrol, to the detriment of electricity bill.

• BMW X5 PHEV on Aug 02, 2016 at 2:05 pm

I would wait another 2 years before buying a plug-in hybrid to be honest, there are only 4 charging stations in KV at the moment and 3 of them are located in a shopping mall car park, that means you will have to leave your car there for 8-10 hours (or more) for a full charge on a weekend, with RM4 an hour for parking you are paying RM32-RM40, and worst scenario is if the bay is already taken, what do you do? If you envisaged to install a charging station at your home, what’s the cost? For people who live in a condo, how do you charge?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 02, 2016 at 2:32 pm

use xiaomi powerbank

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • gaviny on Aug 02, 2016 at 2:47 pm

That’s why plug in hybrids can be charged from normal wall socket except that it takes longer time to charge compared to a charging station. Which is more than suitable for the everyday user to charge in their own home.

And if the battery is out, well there’s still the petrol engine to take you home.

• This is not a pure electric vehicle. Doesn’t need 8 hours to charge. The x5 needs only 3.5 hours using normal home socket. Even with the battery down, 2L turbo engine is surely enough to move the car acceptably well until you recharge battery at home or on the move

• Kunta cockLoo on Aug 02, 2016 at 3:18 pm

Pergi baca betul betul get the fact right first. Simply write and pretend u know everything

• alfarabi on Aug 02, 2016 at 3:38 pm

check out ChargeEV’s facebook page. they are installing many charging stations. more than just 4 locations as mentioned.

• waters on Aug 02, 2016 at 4:43 pm

To fully charge a flat battery, you would need about 2-3 hours.

But, you’re right on one count. Wait 2 years or so. Too early to buy a plug-in at the moment. Unless you live in a house and BMW gives the charger for free.

• You can still run on engine power alone if you used up all the battery charge. The cost for home installation of the charging station is mentioned in the X5 xDrive40e article. If you can afford a 200k+ car, I am sure 6k won’t be a big problem to install it.

• Boot space?

• think twice on Aug 02, 2016 at 2:37 pm

what? i thought plug-in hybrid can be charged at home…then i have think twice to own this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • -BigBalls- on Aug 02, 2016 at 2:39 pm

22.5 km range from 3-4 hours charging

whats the point….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Sammy_should_have_little_value on Aug 02, 2016 at 3:42 pm

The C class would soon be blown out the window

• PROTON BEST on Aug 02, 2016 at 8:09 pm

Aiyo this plug hybrid doesnt really runs fully electric…
    Buy tesla more cheap la, overpowered and save fuels.
    and proton perdana 2017 coming with plug in hybrid……
    sells about 80k

• Trump on Aug 02, 2016 at 8:15 pm

40e give about 33% incentive.
    330e estimate at 57k (based on 330i 297k selling price) .
    That’s less than 20% incentive. Which is not bad.

X5 is at very expensive price with x5 40e incentive that able to draw much potential buyers.

But…. On this popular Bmw model, is this pricing(240-260k) attractive to potential buyers to try out this plug in hybrid? Or petrol/diesel version of it? Is the incentive worthy to the worry on battery life and future cost, charging hassle, lesser storage,dated interior, heavier for handling, lifespan of the hybrid, ….etc

Potential for all those 318,320,328 buyers to pay more to this? Mercedes c class potential to switch over?

I would said if it have the same percentage of incentive as x5 40e. That will b very attractive and worth to take up this new plug in hybrid. At the same time Bmw can have their sales till new generation of 3 series arrived( 2/3 years perhaps).

• Autodriver on Aug 02, 2016 at 8:18 pm

I won’t go for hybrid car consider the current fuel price is low. this kind of car is more practical in high price of fuel countries as it dos save lots of money compared to electric bill. It is pain when it comes to change of battery the price is anytime more than 10k since it is BMW and even it charge from household electric, the electric bill isn’t cheap too. Look at the current fuel price, it hardly goes up as the demand getting lower due to more and more hybrid or electric car meanwhile the global petroleum is over supply. Don’t be naive the poor petroleum supply countries will reduce the supply as they have to sustain the volume in order to “survive”. Who the hell will give a shit to listen to OPEC, especially those highly depend on petroleum export.

• old horse on Aug 02, 2016 at 8:37 pm

conventional model all killed by Merc, by the car sales figure, if their hybrid still price high? bye bye…

now Merc plug in hybrid please…lol

• Hi Paul,

I heard BMW Malaysia discontinue 330 M sport since they launch the 330e. However BMW website for Malaysia is still featuring 330 M sport. Care to comment?