Toyota Calya MPV revealed in Indonesia – RM40k tentative price, official public launch at GIIAS

The new Toyota Calya has been revealed in Indonesia, ahead of its launch at the 2016 Gaikindo Indonesian International Auto Show (GIIAS). The budget seven-seat MPV, an an Indonesian Low Cost Green Car (LCGC), comes in a total of two variants – E and G – with prices expected to be between 129.65 million rupiah (RM40,146) and 150 million rupiah (RM46,450), according to Otomotif.

All Calya variants come equipped with a 3NR-VE 1.2 litre four-cylinder petrol engine with 88 PS at 6,000 rpm and 108 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm, due to the LCGC cap. This Dual-VVT-i motor should be related to the new NR 1.3 litre unit that features in the Toyota Avanza facelift and Perodua Bezza. Two transmission options are offered for both variants – a five-speed manual and a four-speed automatic, with power sent to the front wheels.

Compared to the Avanza, the Calya measures 4,070 mm long (-120 mm), 1,655 mm wide (+5 mm) and 1,600 mm tall (-95 mm), with a wheelbase spanning 2,525 mm (-130 mm). The vehicle’s chassis features MacPherson struts and disc brakes at the front, while the rear gets a semi-independent torsion axle beam and drum brakes instead. Electronic power steering is also part of the package here, and all variants get 14-inch two-tone alloy wheels (with 175/65 R14 Bridgestone Ecopia tyres).

Visually, the Calya looks to draw inspiration from the latest Avanza, with the lower grille joined to the badge and chrome upper grille. As for the rear, there are L-shaped tail lamps, similar to those on the new Innova.

In terms of equipment, both the E and G variants come with halogen reflector headlamps, reverse sensors immobiliser and remote alarm, manual air-conditioning (with second-row vents), power windows (all doors), an ECO indicator, multi-info display, one touch tumble second row 60:40 split-folding seats and one-piece third row seating.

However, the range-topping G variant does gain a few extras over the E, including front fog lamps, electric-folding side mirrors, side mirror indicators, silver trim on the door and dashboard, as well as chrome accents on the air-con vents and gear knob.

A double-DIN multimedia head unit is fitted to the Calya as well, but only unit fitted to the G variant gets Bluetooth connectivity and four speakers. The E variant meanwhile, only has CD, USB and AUX inputs, along with two speakers.

Safety-wise, the entire Calya range comes as standard with dual front SRS airbags and Isofix child seat anchors. As for brakes, both transmission versions of the G variant, and only the E in automatic guise receive the anti-lock braking system (ABS). The manual E variant does not come with ABS.

Daihatsu Sigra Indonesia official

The Toyota Calya isn’t the only model to be revealed in Indonesia today as its sister car, the Daihatsu Sigra, also shares the stage with it. Price-wise, the Sigra goes is expected to be priced between 106 million rupiah (RM32,710) and 149 million rupiah (RM45,980).

For the Sigra, four variants – D, M, X and R are offered to Indonesians, but only the first two retains the 1.0-litre 1KR-VE four-cylinder engine from before, with only a five-speed manual mated to it. This powertrain setup is likely targeted at lower segments. Higher variants (X and R), get the 3NR-VE, with a choice of either a five-speed manual or a four-speed automatic.

Design-wise, the Sigra is differentiated from the Calya thanks to its own hexagonal bumper design at the front. However, both the Calya and Sigra ride on the Perodua Axia platform, which also underpins the new Perodua Bezza sedan. This “sistership” between Toyota and Daihatsu also includes the Avanza and Xenia.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 02, 2016 at 5:57 pm

i had no idea 3 point seatbelt was still a selling point

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • Operation Manager on Aug 02, 2016 at 9:27 pm

ABS also a selling point for p2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • Operation Manager on Aug 02, 2016 at 10:15 pm

ABS also a selling point for City S, S+

• Operation Manager on Aug 02, 2016 at 10:18 pm

Auto Air-cond also a selling point for Mazda3 mid/high spec; GL only manage to get Manual Aircond.

• Operation Manager on Aug 02, 2016 at 10:20 pm

Alloy Rim also a selling point for City S+/E/V bcoz S only manage to get steel wheel with plastic cap.

• Operation Manager on Aug 02, 2016 at 10:26 pm

World auto moving to Autonomous Driving while world top-10 valuable brand car maker City/Vios/Almera still no VSC across all models. Basic safety ABS/VSC/TractionControl should applicable all.

• Missing Kunta ? on Aug 03, 2016 at 8:14 am

Good price for the right market.

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 03, 2016 at 9:16 am

Lucky Indons. Can get a pure Toyota for RM40k. We Malaysians, can we get a good Japanese car for RM40k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
          • Sam VHL Loo on Aug 03, 2016 at 12:08 pm

There is, our Poodua Bisa (now using ‘modern’ 1.3 Toyota Dual VVT-i engine, ‘enhanced’ tradisional 4-speed auto, got push start, tinted film etc.), all for RM45k, if want topkek spec with VSC, add another RM6k, still value for money what (coz if we use ‘pure’ Toyota badge for our exactly same car, surely we are ‘forced’ to add more RM20k -RM30k towards selling price).

• This is jepunis car but with rubbish specs no wonder can get 40k.

• Albert on Aug 02, 2016 at 11:01 pm

Datuk Samy
      UMW will price this vehicle SKY HIGH with minimum SPECS.
      REMEMBER,PNB has a new CHIEF, a former Maybank ceo and gomen minister.HE wants MAXIMUM PROFITS,in order to generate 8-10% dividends,by year end.
      if u guys still want a brand new Toyota,please go ahead and enrich this distributor.
      But Toyota Japan….please let other bumi distributors distribute Toyota with a decent profit.I am dead sure there are many out there dripping saliva waiting for an opportunity.
      UMW pricing is PREMIUM PRICE with skeleton SPECS.

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 03, 2016 at 9:56 am

UMW Camry cost RM160k, only got 2 airbags and no VSC. Global Camry cost only US$22k and got VSC and 10 airbags as standard.

Then the people in Malaysia say, syukurlah, Malaysia masih aman dan damai

• jolly_idiot on Aug 02, 2016 at 6:29 pm

WTF? 7 seater for 40k? Bisa is a ripped off.

• transformer on Aug 02, 2016 at 6:49 pm

this product are meant to be sold in 3rd world countries suitable for low end market where “people carrier” are priority rather than safety…. the more souls it can cramp inside the better…. Toyota won’t ever think of selling this in US, sure will faced lawsuits from consumer and even DOJ, NHTSA, Consumer Assoc and more… Lets hope Asean-NCAP or what-so-ever will test their base model soon……. *finger crossed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
  • Perodua shud sell this as the little brother version of Alza. Price between RM39-52k. And then the larger Alza which is overdue for replacement based on the new Toyota Passo Sette between RM53-65k. This will guarantee Proton funeral ceremony.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
  • wawasan2020 on Aug 02, 2016 at 6:56 pm

im waiting bezza lover to drool over this car…

this is like alphard as pair with bezza…

bring it to malaysia and it will selling hot like in india!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Dual airbags and ABS only for topkek spec. Jepunis overlords treat ASEAN lives like lifestock and we accept this cuz we dun persoal our jepunis overlords.
    All is well in the world, even when owners go early afterlife.

• Calya-lah! Now even big bro toyota is learning the way of small bro P2 by confidently releasing new car without testing. And nobody in ASEAN, much less puny MY, dare to persoal my jepunis overlords! 1000000 times better than lousy P1! Even if they care about their car occupants, our superior RV will still be better than saving their pitiful lives during accidents. This we r confident what MY pipu want. Not surviving accidents but to proudly die in our moving deathtraps.

So I say again, buy my Bisa. And buy it from me cuz I confident gip u bestest most pau package from road to Nirvana when early afterlfe. U will have peace in mind when rest in peace, knowing ur deathtrap has higher RV than a safer competitor.

So have confidence in my confidence on my untested Bisa! Otherwise u r P1 supporter and BN lapdog! What r u waiting for, PM me NOW!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • JasonX on Aug 02, 2016 at 10:10 pm

They did their testing on the roads in Indo la. It is all over the place in the past few months. Go do your search and stop showing off your stupidity.

Wonder how much P1 is paying you to be an annoying troll here.

• Then u better buy my Bisa.Cuz it havent been tested yet at all. Much much more confident inspiring car than any others before it. P2 has pioneered the future of car making by going from prototype straight to showroom. Others like Mesidis, BMW, Honda, Hyundai, Toyota even Rolls Royce too cannot fight. All of them wanna test here, test there, test until Matt Damon comes home from Mars.

So remember buy Bisa from me! I confident gip u bestest package until early afterlife ya! PM me NOW FOR CONFIDENCE!

• Lim Ann Hock on Aug 02, 2016 at 7:33 pm

If sold in MALAYSIA with the price you mention, P1 & P2 can tutup kedai Liao.

• JB_KIA on Aug 02, 2016 at 8:22 pm

wow Toyota uses perodua’s bezza platform!

• You are saying it as if Perodua has its own platform. P2 is using Daihatsu’s platform, and Toyota owns Daihatsu.

• Dei! Just cuz it comes from jepunis overlords, it only looks like jepunis platform, feels like jepunis platform, macam jepunis platform, but it is NOT jepunis platform!

So jangan persoal the malaysianess of my jepunis platform! As instructed by my jepunis overlords!

• horrayooi on Aug 02, 2016 at 9:11 pm

Where is the temperature gauge? Only thermometer icon visible( using bulb to light up the icon which can fail when running ). With gauges it is visible if they malfuntion. They just want your car to be overheated so that you buy another new car. Perodua Bezza, Toyota Vios, Honda City also don’t have temperature gauge. They are in some kind of agreement or cartel. How much can they save for one gauge? Not much.

• Sam VHL Loo on Aug 03, 2016 at 12:59 pm

Even most ‘cikai’ (spartan) spec such as Kancil 660 (square headlight) and Wira/Satria 1.3 also have temperature gauge although it doesn’t have rpm meter. Worst is Axia E (don’t have both temperature gauge and rpm meter). Those temperature icon without proper gauge, once the red icon comes out, most probably the engine gasket already gone.

• zero01 on Aug 21, 2016 at 12:44 pm

go get after market temperature and rpm gauge..
        don’t blame maker.. a lot of modified car came from basic car

• thomas on Aug 02, 2016 at 9:12 pm

Bukan mobil yang aku sukai

• Henry on Aug 03, 2016 at 10:47 am

It will cost 75k when it arrive on our shores.

• Not to insult but curious, does the 1.2L or 1.3L with 7 people able to overtake on single land highway or uphill?

• Indon guy on Aug 05, 2016 at 9:43 am

We have Xenia 1.0 in indon with 63 hp yet still able to climb with 7 people inside

• Jack 9999 on Sep 04, 2016 at 10:53 pm

comes to malaysia at least 70k WTF -_-
    lucky indon