Volvo S60 T6 Drive-E gets EEV incentives – now RM238,888 for 306 hp sports sedan, RM42k cheaper

2016 Volvo S60 T6 Drive-E 2

Just a few months after being launched in Malaysia, the locally-assembled Volvo S60 T6 Drive-E is now recognised as an Energy-Efficient Vehicle (EEV). As such, the S60 is now priced at RM238,888 (on-the-road without insurance), a full RM42,000 off from its earlier price (RM280,888).

In terms of specifications, the car remains unchanged from before, including what lies under the hood – a 2.0 litre four-cylinder petrol engine that benefits from turbocharging and supercharging. The T6 Drive-E mill outputs 306 hp at 5,700 rpm and 400 Nm at 2,100 to 4,800 rpm.

Power is sent to the front wheels via an Aisin-sourced eight-speed automatic transmission (with steering-mounted paddle shifters). Performance-wise, the S60 will accomplish the sprint from 0-100 km/h in just 5.9 seconds, before continuing on to a top speed of 230 km/h.

Safety kit includes the City Safety autonomous braking system (works at speeds up to 50 km/h,) radar-operated Blind Spot Information System (BLIS) with Cross Traffic Alert (CTA) and Collision Warning with Full Auto Braking. Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC), Lane Keep Aid (LKA), Pedestrian Detection and Cyclist Detection, as well as Road Sign Information (RSI) are also fitted.

Just to reiterate, the S60 T6 Drive-E now retails at RM238,888, which comes with a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty, and five years’ free Volvo On Call roadside assist. For detailed specifications of the Volvo S60, head on over to CarBase.my.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• 306 hp at this price. WOW !!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
    • Tornado on Sep 08, 2016 at 11:21 am

same price. Just bought VW Golf R last week :((

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • 1MDB (Malas Dolop Bodoh) on Sep 08, 2016 at 2:05 pm

So shy our Proton. Volvo can come out with 306bhp from a mere 2.0 litre unit. Our Proton apa?

And yet, Proton has the highest number of engineers of any car company in the world. Simply give them jobs. Company no money also, simply give them jobs to shake leg in office.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 23
        • Jimmy on Sep 08, 2016 at 10:00 pm

Do you know where Kunta Kinte is?

You last paragraph is sweet. Do you think this kind of thing only happen in Electron in USA? I can name you a few dozens more if I am truly free.

This S60 price and Q50 price are two indicators to show us how greedy some distributors are. Check ES prices in USA.

• oh mak lu cina on Sep 08, 2016 at 11:43 pm

306hp is not bangsat-segment car. On the other hand why can’t proton even make a 100hp EEV ? 306hp and they are EEV!

• Tanjung malim is not EEV compliant. Thats why.

• Oh nama u cb on Sep 09, 2016 at 11:31 pm

@ mak lu cina, from yr name, we know you talk nonsense herr

• fire&ice on Sep 09, 2016 at 11:35 am

i think u referring to satria neo R?

• 310hp Civic Type R !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • tokmoh. on Sep 08, 2016 at 11:46 am

Volvo S60 > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • Lexus IS > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 31
    • XC90 Owner on Sep 08, 2016 at 11:56 am

Volvo car is Good but after sales servis by distributor sucks big time.

Regret. no more Volvo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • For Volvo service, go find the Federal Auto center with the chubby Indian fella as the service manager. He is good.

• Her service is poor. My V40CC sent to them last week, the door lock and others cannot be solved until today. She asked to wait for parts from Sweden, about 3 weeks. The door lock has been repaired for more than 3 times.

No more Volvo.

• s60 owner on Sep 08, 2016 at 2:09 pm

A car is only as good as its after sales service. Volvo service centers in Malaysia is utter rubbish and this is a deal killer.

no more volvo here too.

VOLVO SWEEDEN, PLEASE HEAR OUR WOES and fix Volvo Malaysia!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Mesedisbimmer on Sep 08, 2016 at 10:58 am

Brand conscious people will buy mesedis or bimmerw…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
    • Sadly, that is also why T Malaysia survive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • hamid on Sep 08, 2016 at 11:40 am

Yea Volvo no RV summore.

today buy @ RM238,888, 1month car RM138,888 only.
      Lost RM100K….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 45
    • Bavarian on Sep 08, 2016 at 11:45 am

Volvo purely syok sendiri.

Zero prestij & no luxury

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 55
      • ducatiscrambler on Sep 08, 2016 at 5:13 pm

Said by someone who only has money to deck out the house with IKEA goods. As the Japanese saying goes : Before you point your fingers at other, direct the problem to yourself. Sweden is a Nordic country with high civil liberty, economically well off, and very good social security. Income tax and GST is high, but you get free lifetime education and almost guaranteed employment. Do we have any of that? Car product is a physical manifestation and embodiment of a country’s achievement and spirit. Zero prestige and no luxury? what do P1 and P2 have? still have a long way to go mate..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
        • Guaranteed employment is now a myth in Sweden. My kolik there says even his factory stopped generational hiring like before (father-mother-son), now its contracted temp workers (that r semi permanent there) from East EU like Poland, Czech, Romania, etc. Basically the EU version of Nepals- with lower pay, insta 24hr layoffs and hirings, very little social security, no citizen benefits (if sick sendri godai), and no mid/long-term future. If kena sack, they can stay there indefinitely cuz of EU laws. Imagine our foreign workers that laid-off can stay here indefinitely. Thats what happen there. Oh, plus with 100k refugees.

• Duderte on Sep 08, 2016 at 11:58 am

Volvo China car. Geely owned

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
  • alalo on Sep 08, 2016 at 11:00 am

Is this FWD or RWD?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Ganesh on Sep 08, 2016 at 11:00 am

This is better value than bmw 330e then. S60 is C Segment or D segment?

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 08, 2016 at 11:05 am

This competes with the C, 3 and A4 while the upcoming S90 will do battle with the E, 5 and A6.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Jimmy on Sep 08, 2016 at 10:07 pm

If you have limited budget but still want a luxury brand, then the best to go is 318i as you can get a pre-reg at around 180-185k, without the future hassle of a hybrid as in the case of 330e.

If you want to choose a Volvo in the Mat Salleh countries, it is okay; not here perhaps, not yet.

The best buy of course is X5 PHEV, if you have the budget. Think about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • seancorr (Member) on Sep 08, 2016 at 11:03 am

Big price cut which will help it sell a bit more units I guess…but that top speed is a little low for the output the engine is giving.

• Nah.. this is what I said before. Volvo gets EEV for their CKD S60 and no less equipment offered, price drop RM42K. But for Japs, got EEV mean price hike, awesome. In term of technology, Volvo beat those Japs, where the hell the price hike for Japs ckd hybrid/eev car come from.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
    • klguy on Sep 08, 2016 at 11:14 am

the japs know how to screw malaysians kow kow

• tokmoh. on Sep 08, 2016 at 11:44 am

Honda lagi sohai, announce EEV for City/Jazz, no price drop cuz price is already “introductory” offer.

Volvo S60 > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
    • Basheer on Sep 08, 2016 at 12:46 pm

This makes the Accord and Camry EEV pricing seem like a big rip-off. Shameful of Honda and Toyota.

• Mr. Loba Loba on Sep 08, 2016 at 11:24 am

cheap. i want five. with a large fries pls.

• CKD XC60 plug in hybrid sell $200k

• Tammy Loo on Sep 08, 2016 at 1:17 pm

Camry good..RM175k onli

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
      • Jimmy on Sep 08, 2016 at 10:11 pm

They wanted to sell the Hybrid one at RM200k konon; even at 175k now, it is still overpriced. Should be cheaper.

• WHAT IS THE REQUIREMENT FOR EEV ??

Why there are so many BMV, Mercedes and now Volvo is recognized as EEV car in Malaysia? Isn’t that the Honda City, Toyota Vios, Myvi, Persona emitted less pollution than any of this EEV BMW, Mercedes or Volvo??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • tokmoh. on Sep 08, 2016 at 11:59 am

Harga kereta turun, janji ditepati, puji kerajaan. Cukur.

• Volvo has more value than Samy on Sep 08, 2016 at 12:05 pm

335i levels of performance for the price of a 320i!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 08, 2016 at 12:09 pm

this car > all

• God Almighty Taib Hampden on Sep 08, 2016 at 12:27 pm

I be like : I’m an older gentleman. I only like big and boxy car with key ignition and a traditional internal combustion engine. I have a problem with everyone on the internet.

• nabill (Member) on Sep 08, 2016 at 12:38 pm

I know it’s alot cheaper n looks like a spanking bargain… But i dont actually think its gonna sell by alot…. Spec sheet/price ratio looks good…
    Bt volvo will always be a side choice…. Lack of enough showrooms, even fewer authorized service centers…be it something wrong with customers, or volvo itself… But whoever buys, will be a brave soul, n will be getting performance on the cheap….
    But there is one issue we shouldnt ignore, WHAT ARE THE GUIDLINES OF GETTING THE EEV STATUS….. WHY SOME CARS CAN, SOME CANOT, AND WHY SOME DIDNT HAVE IT LAST TIME AND ALL OF A SUDDEN, SUDDENLY ALOT OF MODELS FALL INTO THAT CATEGORY??

• Sonyman on Sep 08, 2016 at 2:07 pm

I m that brave soul. So far so good. Service is fine and expectations is up to class. Maybe because they call you. Doctor…. So and so. Cause in history most of the volvos are driven by doctors. Well to get EEV. You need to be ckd made in Malaysia. That’s what I know. Then probably either it’s a hybrid. Plug in hybrid. And then efficient low emissions engine like drive e.

• nabill (Member) on Sep 08, 2016 at 3:01 pm

Good on you….u r different, n that deserves respect!

• Mikey on Sep 09, 2016 at 5:27 pm

Thumbs up Sonyman. People buy a car for a reason. A Volvo is sold on it’s safety feature more than horsepower. If a man buy a car base on RV, he is not buying something he like/love.

Same goes for Alfa Rome. Those Alfa Kaki buy alfa bcos it is sexy in their eyes. They get organism by driving in one. So my point is buy anything that is to your NEED & not WANTS. Cheers …

• passion on Sep 08, 2016 at 12:39 pm

buy conti need to keep till besi buruk!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • Maslan on Sep 08, 2016 at 1:19 pm

Poor man’s mindset. #5kerja

• Jimmy on Sep 08, 2016 at 10:15 pm

Go and buy your kura-kura 368k then. But I don’t think you have that kind of money. Your mind is not open yet; it can be opened with multi-millions; not just two or three.

• Mikey on Sep 09, 2016 at 5:33 pm

passion, people who buy conti have a perception that it is safer to drive one. While people who buy Japanese/Korean have a perception that is is cheaper to maintain. There is no fast or hard rule here. Just buy what is good/desirable & affordable to U. Is that too difficult to do ??

• embee on Sep 08, 2016 at 1:25 pm

I just zeroed on the 330e….with this s60 im all confused again. Haiz.

• Volvo’s warranty is 3 + 2 like VW. Better get BMW which is giving 5 years manufacturer’s warranty.

• the neat party trick of this car is, it cn drive itself in traffic jams

• eeeriz on Sep 08, 2016 at 3:34 pm

I used to own S60 T5. Where the performance and comfort are almost second tp none, the reliability and handling were a bit questionable. But was made to understand, the car was born under Ford stewardship, hence overall package not so nice. Now, since Geely took over the company, i can see lots of improvement that i wished had on my previous T5. 2 things that most major car manufacturers couldn’t beat are safety and long-drive comfort especially on highways. Those who have owned or currently owned a modern Volvo will know what I mean. Best of luck to Volvo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • nabill (Member) on Sep 08, 2016 at 8:30 pm

The t5, though i didnt own, bt drove many times, had a pretty hard ride actually… Highway expansion joints wd send shudder into the cabin… Power was addictive though, but very understeer-y….
      And it has a very nice bassy exhaust!
      Now u remind me.. Let me chck how cheap it is selling on mudah!

• Jimmy on Sep 08, 2016 at 10:22 pm

The diehard fan of Volvo is someone who survived a collision when his S80 had a moderate crash with a medium lorry; he was not even admitted to hospital despite major damage to the cars front end.

Have a friend like this?

• Michael on Apr 26, 2023 at 2:36 pm

This S60 T6 was selling at RM238k back in 2016 or 2017. Fast forward to today 2023 (April), 2nd hand dealers are posting this model for RM89k on classifieds. If from direct owner, I presume the value would be lower, perhaps around RM65k to 70k. However, not many units available at the moment. Perhaps in another few more months or next year then we’ll likely see more of this model hitting the 2nd hand market at below RM80k.