Mazda 2 prices set to increase from October – RM3k increase with LED headlamps, RM2k with halogens

The Mazda 2 is due to receive price hikes come October 1 – according to a dealer, there will be a RM3,000 increase for the LED headlamp-equipped models and a RM2,000 increase for those with halogen headlamps. The Bermaz website currently states the prices as RM85,466 for the halogen headlamp model, and RM90,766 for the LED headlamp model.

After the price hikes, the halogen headlamp model will be priced at RM87,466 and the LED headlamp model will be priced at RM93,766. All prices are on-the-road without insurance, and the popular Soul Red paint commands an additional RM500.

According to another Mazda salesperson, the price increases are due to the weakening of the Ringgit against the US dollar; trading with Thailand – where the Malaysian-market Mazda 2 comes from – is conducted in US dollars. Aside from the existing differences in headlamps, no changes in specification are forthcoming according to Bermaz, despite the mention of i-Activsense in the sales blurb above.

GALLERY: 2016 Mazda 2 in Deep Crystal Blue Mica

GALLERY: 2016 Mazda 2 in Smokey Rose Mica

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Das Auto on Sep 23, 2016 at 7:03 pm

VW Vento > Mazda 2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Return of Kunta on Sep 24, 2016 at 9:14 am

This is another gift from Najib to us. He promised us car prices would come down by 30%. But we see car prices going higher and higher.

Why does it need to go higher? Simple. We need to upkeep the lifestyle of the rich and famous. When people use Birkin handbags that cost US$200,000 (RM800,000) each, we the rakyat need to pay high car prices to support this lifestyle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 24
      • Return to lie again on Sep 25, 2016 at 12:09 am

Get a better job, dont be a keyboard warrior. Your life must be miserable

• Return of Kunta on Sep 24, 2016 at 9:18 am

this is another gift fro Najib to us. He promised us car prices would come down by 30%. But we see car prices going higher and higher.

Why does it need to go higher? Simple. We need to upkeep the lifestyle of the rich and famous. When people use Birkin handbags that cost US$200,000 (RM800,000) each, we the rakyat need to pay high car prices to support this lifestyle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
      • Main owner is korni of old man. So by upping price, he is actually helping to Save MY. So u must support this Price Rise (oops!) and not persoal, otherwise ur BN lapdog.

• TongHoi on Sep 23, 2016 at 7:04 pm

Current price already so hard to sell still want to increase….aiyoh

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 2
    • Operation Manager on Sep 23, 2016 at 8:49 pm

WHO cares…? WHO sohai… wanna pay 95k for a small 3rd country B-segment car…? Almera: 5x,xxx City:6x,xxx Vento 6x,xxx Vios:7x,xxx

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 13
      • Ms Check Pick on Sep 24, 2016 at 2:18 pm

The smartest choise for this segmen is Honda City! These Mazda2 can repacking send back to land of smile with sour face! Stupid who’s gonna buy that price for a small car.Same price with Honda HRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Operation Manager on Sep 23, 2016 at 8:54 pm

A/B-segment score 0-star under GLOBAL NCAP, poor quality non-safety mainly for 3rd world countries…

• Jimmy on Sep 23, 2016 at 9:24 pm

You aim theview.

• Almighty Snack Bar on Sep 23, 2016 at 7:38 pm

Our almighty RM is the best. Just by depreciating our currency will make us become a 10th world country so that you all can rule us forever. Thank you very much for making our RM depreciate at such rate. Terima kasih!! Thank you!! Very appreciate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
    • Konti Kinte on Sep 23, 2016 at 9:27 pm

Luckily I am Malaysian but have mentality like first world country which is I doesn’t concern about other factor as long as I’m rich enough to pay whatever price they throw me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Jimmy on Sep 23, 2016 at 9:31 pm

Nevermind, the kampong folks are not affected wat. Mulu and China-Widow are still heavens wat, chak chak pom chak chak pom, bukan hal saya; ringgit terjunam ke rm6.5 (vs usd 1) itu hal usa.

Kasi saya air electrik jalan brim8, saya x pada awak.

• Just up market share a little bit, alredi show lansi wanna up price. Real chinamankompeni. Lets see how long Berjaya can tahan b4 it throws prices… again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Ms Check Pick on Sep 24, 2016 at 2:22 pm

Pls change our nation currency to USD.We don’t like our currency weirdly called Ringgit.Sound so kampung.Since Jibby really like that blacky obamak,why don’t dispose our notes.Replace with Dollar! We love Dollar not Ringgit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • U wan to CAN! Just go to mamak money changer and change all ur RM to USD lah! Easy as that!

But u will go hunger cuz “hanya mata wang ringgit sah diperakukan bagi pembayaran barangan dan perkhidmatan” signboard….

• old horse on Sep 23, 2016 at 8:38 pm

car dealers can raise as much as they can to gain the profit, as no sales making them profit zero..

• lithium on Sep 23, 2016 at 8:40 pm

its already expensive compared to the competitor. lets wait for cheap sale when all the cars sits at the warehouse gathering dust. Bermaz is too greedy.

• JB_KIA on Sep 23, 2016 at 9:35 pm

lol…increase summore. Later your salespersons gotta give more discount from their commission. Dun laaa…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 23, 2016 at 9:43 pm

lol still can increase price….mazda salesman told me barely any car can be sold lately

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Janji X ditepati on Sep 23, 2016 at 9:59 pm

Cakap turun 30%. Naik plak dh :((

• malaysian driver on Sep 23, 2016 at 10:14 pm

With that kind of price, might as well get a Ford Fiesta Ecoboost, same agile handling, fun to drive at corners and ample torque at low rev range.

The Fiesta 1.0 only loses out in premium cabin feel, but has a more agile tail to exit corners and better NVH.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
    • Christmasligh on Sep 24, 2016 at 7:25 pm

Both cars suck to the max. You will get blood vomit go wait for warranty claim

• Matchy on Sep 23, 2016 at 11:05 pm

Still cheaper than Vios TRD Sportivo! (before discount)

• Golfer on Sep 23, 2016 at 11:24 pm

Honestly why people even bother paying such a high price for this car. Not worth the money at all.

• Pour tone on Sep 24, 2016 at 1:18 am

Are u sure Mazda 2? Now already hardly seen one even in the busy klang valley traffics. This will made u lost futher to vios and city.

• Bermaz No No on Sep 24, 2016 at 2:07 am

Bye Bermaz..Oh ya before you Tapao, can you please tell me when the M2 received the previous price hike, the USD vs MYR is in what rate ya? And now what is the rate? I already have the answer, but still want to compare with yours…

• This time is not USD…is YEN……hahaha
      So either increase,they will increase the price.
      What will be happen if curency decrease,will they decrease price also?

• hulunbalang man on Sep 24, 2016 at 1:24 pm

Other countries give LED and halogen as standard items…..

In Malaysia?? standard milo tin car already cost a bomb. Now this????

Might as well put lil sticker on the Mazda2, and charge another 1K.

• That tactic alredi used by TRD sportivo. But instead, add stickers only alredi up price a whooping Rm10k. Yet theres still sohais who go for it. So…

• cendol (Member) on Sep 24, 2016 at 5:05 pm

At least they give option to get LED lights

Honda Accord VTI-L only gives halogen light and no upgrade option,

• Christmaslight on Sep 24, 2016 at 7:23 pm

What so special about led lights?

• Nuuujib on Sep 25, 2016 at 3:43 am

Because LED lights give more premium look …are brighter and most importantly last longer than Xenon. Haish u don’t know ka ?

• Applegreen on Sep 25, 2016 at 10:34 am

Berkira betul mazda ni. Kalau laser headlamp takpelah naik harga

• steve-kok on Sep 25, 2016 at 10:04 pm

Now Mazda 2 CBU from Thailand..price will go up a bit.
    Next year CKD at Kulim plant.. then selling at RM88K

• ben yap on Sep 26, 2016 at 3:22 pm

blame it to the weakening ringgit, that’s the easiest way out.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 27, 2016 at 1:27 am

the weaker ringgit excuse no longer applies this year la dei