Volkswagen Jetta facelift specs released – xenon headlights, keyless entry, powered leather seats go on

2016-volkswagen-jetta-in-malaysia-1-1

Official distributor Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) has released the full equipment list of the Volkswagen Jetta facelift on its website ahead of its launch. The revised C-segment sedan will be offered in three trim levels this time around, these being Trendline, Comfortline and Highline. In case you’ve missed it, it’s open for booking now, with an estimated price range of between RM110k and RM130k.

The entry-level Trendline slots in slightly under the current model in terms of specs. Much of the kit remains the same, including halogen reflector headlights, 16-inch alloy wheels (in a new ‘Sedona’ design instead of the existing ‘Navarra’ items), front and rear fog lights, ‘Sienna’ fabric upholstery and rear air-conditioning vents. The ‘Zebrano’ decorative trim inserts are new, however.

There have been a few notable omissions – air-conditioning is now manually-operated instead of the previous Climatronic dual-zone automatic system, while the head unit has been downgraded to an RCD 220 system with a USB port, an SD card slot, AUX-in and six speakers, but no Bluetooth. Cruise control and multifunction controls on the steering wheel have also been removed from the Trendline model.

Comfortline adds those items back (except for cruise control), swaps the alloy wheels for more intricate ‘Mambo’ ones and bumps up the head unit to an RCD 330G unit – first equipped on the 2016 Polo, it gets a five-inch touchscreen, Bluetooth and MirrorLink. It should be noted, however, that MirrorLink supports only a handful of phones right now, so don’t expect to be able to use Waze on the system with any phone.

At the top of the range sits the Highline, adding bi-xenon headlights with LED daytime running lights, LED tail lights, 17-inch ‘Queensland’ alloys, keyless entry, push button start, cruise control, black Vienna leather upholstery and a 12-way power-adjustable driver’s seat. The high-spec model also adds paddle shifters that were removed from the pre-facelift locally-assembled (CKD) models.

All models are powered by the same 1.4 TSI turbo four-cylinder petrol engine that replaces the previous twincharged (turbocharged and supercharged) mill. Identical to the one in the 2016 Golf, it makes 150 PS between 5,000 and 6,000 rpm and 250 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 3,500 rpm.

Drive is sent to the front wheels via a seven-speed DSG dry dual-clutch transmission. An automatic engine start/stop system with regenerative braking is standard on all variants.

SPIED: Volkswagen Jetta facelift in showrooms

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Das Auto on Sep 23, 2016 at 11:37 am

Best in class specs. DSG no poblem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Operation Manager on Sep 23, 2016 at 5:37 pm

Even DSG & PISTON CRACK issues solved, but in case defective found, refer back to VW dealers, the service/repair cost almost near to a Vento/Polo price… oh sohai… who DARE to own a VW, used VW even no1 will touch…

• Operation Manager on Sep 23, 2016 at 5:40 pm

With service/repair cost almost ~ a new car built cost… this is crazy, insane from VW dealers… HOW VW to develop the VW branding in Malaysia…?

• Memang xde problem mah. Plenty running on the road also. (Vote down if you’re blind)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Sep 24, 2016 at 12:38 pm

Consider a used Sonata/Elantra.

Great value for money

• Eternalgl0ry on Sep 23, 2016 at 11:50 am

Oh my gawd that DSG again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • alex chan on Sep 23, 2016 at 11:55 am

previous jetta with supercharger + turbo was very fun to drive, although the DSG have received negative comments (mostly from non user and never drove a DSG equipped car hahaha), the DSG really very efficient in energy transfer and very fast gear changing albeit some issues arise and bad mouthing by some salesman, many buyer who love the driving experience and safety of european car braved enough to purchase it.
    hope the new mgmt will sort out the negative feedback and continue the positive changes.
    BTW the HP stated in the previous jetta was 168hp, but when ive dyno it, its 160whp – 8hp loss thru transmission is very good.mileage is now 76k km and going strong with minor issue.
    there will be negative comments & bashing here, (Not only to VW..but toyota,proton,perodua,nissan,honda..heck..even a bentley hahaha) but like always..they never drive the brand, just their hobby.
    a 1.4 engine capable of 240kmh + 5.4l/100km (eco driving mode) is very hard to find nowadays

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 49
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Sep 23, 2016 at 3:52 pm

Alex Chan is a VW owner that is scared his RV is dropping. Hello, Alex, your RV is not just dropping, it is ZERO.

Yes DSG is smooth, but always breakdown and have to call tow truck…..however smooth DSG transition also no point.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 22
      • timbuktu on Sep 26, 2016 at 9:44 am

AutoFrenz’s panties seems too tight. Why do you assume Alex Chan cares about the RV? When you said RV is zero, it clearly shows you’re talking without sense but just full of emotion. Maybe you were an owner that got gang bang by the salesman, but hey that’s your problem. Not every DSG owner here had to call tow truck all the time. Don’t despise other people’s happiness with DSG when you clearly is butt sore.

• VW Salesman Confession on Sep 23, 2016 at 4:04 pm

Even VW salesman in Glenmarie told me don’t ever touch a VW ever. He asked me to go beside VW, Volvo and buy their cars. Also under Federal Auto.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
    • Acrix on Sep 23, 2016 at 5:05 pm

Mechatronic issue twice check
      Turbo leaking check
      Electrical problems check
      Total days car parked in service center in 4 years ownership of Scirocco 1.4TSI is 135 days.
      Complimentary vehicle absent due to fully booked during those 135 days.
      Oh and my brother has a Golf TSI which is going through the same problems i faced one by one.
      No more VW ever for my family.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
    • alex chan on Sep 23, 2016 at 6:24 pm

Stick to your Proton! Losers..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
      • Kenny Fang on Sep 23, 2016 at 8:29 pm

Hello Alex, how many weeks has your car been immobilized in the workshop in your period of ownership? Don’t be shy, tell us the truth.

• Henry on Sep 23, 2016 at 8:33 pm

Those Proton “losers” will laugh at your face as they drive pass you and your VW stricken by the roadside. LOL. Heck, even a Kancil owner will laugh at you.

• abukik on Sep 23, 2016 at 6:48 pm

VW will be very happy got a big fans like you. Keep it up to hypnotize yourself

• Tkhengong on Sep 25, 2016 at 11:42 am

I was a Jetta 1.4TSI owner. Whilst I have no complain of the handling and comfort, I had in my two years ownership not achieved 5.4l/100km. My best average for town use was 9.8l/100km. On highway commute the best I got was 6.5l/100km. My mileage was about 70k when I sold the car. There was a high pitch whirring sound originating from the undercarriage when I sold the my car. There was also knocking sound from the engine compartment that was rectified but came back after driving a couple of 1000km.

• I saw the polo video, although the RCD 330G MirrorLink can’t use WAZA, but can connect to Google Map for navigation right?

• jeffwhlim (Member) on Sep 23, 2016 at 12:00 pm

Dry Clutch again? Good luck! According to Engineering explained Youtube, One MUST NOT CREEP the Car @ Traffic Jam. It’ll speed up Dry-Clutch Gearbox Damage. But you can’t change Malaysian Driving habits…

• yoyo2020 on Sep 23, 2016 at 12:14 pm

seems like the 0-100km/h lower than current pre-facelift jetta.

• TKHENGONG on Sep 23, 2016 at 12:28 pm

Given VW’s marketing strategy of leaning heavily on price reduction, I would advice anyone planning to get one to wait 6 months or more before buying. I sold my 2 year old Jetta at a huge loss during their “Everything Down” campaign. Fortunately, I took a small hp loan when buying; so don’t have to pay off the balance of my hp loan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Return of Kunta on Sep 23, 2016 at 2:52 pm

When you go to a village and you are about to cross a river, some villagers tell you there are many crocodiles. Infact few months ago a boy was killed in the river eaten by a crocodiless (DSG issue still there).

But some villagers on the other hand tell you, that was the past, now the river is free from crocodiles and not to worry. Now got no more crocodiles (DSG has been cured)

Would you dare to cross the river now? After all the lies for the past 10 years, who to believe? This is Rm130k, big money. Who to trust now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 7
    • Return of Kunta on Sep 23, 2016 at 2:58 pm

Everybody in Malaysia now knows that selling your VW is near impossible. Because VW name stinks so bad, used car dealers don’t want to touch your car. They outright tell you, they cannot take your car.

People are complaining. 1 year old Passat, to sell for RM70k also, impossible. This is private sales in Mudah. Owner bought for RM170k. Rm70k also nobody wants to touch. Put in Mudah, Oto, carlist for 6 months also, NOBODY call.

how lah like this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
      • Adjuster on Sep 23, 2016 at 6:30 pm

The trend now..VW owners claim cars got stolen.

Got back insurans $$$ & peace of mind. Finally!!

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Sep 23, 2016 at 3:59 pm

bodoh, beli lah Proton Perdana, lagi prestige dan lagi power. 2.0 bro!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
  • Sklew you superman on Sep 23, 2016 at 12:57 pm

They need to assures that the dsg will not give problems anymore. Not just quiet like this

• crash on Sep 23, 2016 at 7:14 pm

At least give 10 years warranty on the powertrain like what Volkswagen China is doing.

• Gaviny on Sep 23, 2016 at 1:00 pm

Have to make sure enough of medical leave

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • VW Salesman Confession on Sep 23, 2016 at 4:06 pm

VW salesman in Glenmarie said in a year, at least need 15 times to visit SC for repiar. not service. Just repair alone. So, if you got 21 days annual leave….all will be in SC I suppose

• vincent on Sep 23, 2016 at 8:49 pm

In 2 yrs, I visited 3 times 2 times regular maintenance service, one time replaced dead battery. That’s all!^^

• Cynical on Sep 23, 2016 at 1:35 pm

“… via a seven-speed DSG dry dual-clutch transmission”

Some people never learn

• Ben Yap on Sep 23, 2016 at 1:44 pm

still got problem kah?

• Return of Kunta on Sep 23, 2016 at 2:25 pm

Another slap by Volkswagen Malaysia to VW owners in Malaysia. Already 3 slaps

first slap is the DSG scandal and the lies and denial about the DSG scandal. Then the Dieselgate Scandal. The VW name became so busuk and nobody wanted to buy these cars in the 2nd hand market in Malaysia

second slap is when VGM themselves throw prices. They sold brand new Jetta and Passat for half the price in recent Fire Sales. A brand new Jetta was being sold for RM80k. Imagine the owner who bought few months before that for RM150k. That is the 2nd slap. A very hard slap because, already used cars dealers pantang VW cars, now somemore they don’t want to touch

Third slap is now saying their Jetta is EEV and selling for RM110k. Somoremore existing VW owners will see their cars drop. Selling a 1 year old Jetta for RM50k also will be lucky

4th slap (forseeing the future) When sales of this Jetta is so bad and near ZERO, VW Malaysia will throw prices again and sell this Jetta for RM60k brand new.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 31
    • alex chan on Sep 23, 2016 at 3:10 pm

Please dont spread lies (either VW or any other brand). the previous price before the price drop to 88,888rm was 130k RM with NO interest + dpayment.
      If you calculate the monthly paid – it will be the same as the price Rm130k – NO interest charges.
      amd please, using almost 50+ nicknames to bad mouthing and spread lies just to prove that u are right is just pathetic bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
      • Bro. Dun take this what this guy (& his dupes) say to heart. Althou I still not confident to get Jetta, I wud still prefer it over unsafe junk altis. Enjoy ur car but do prepare spare cash in case of DSG problems.
        My fren said try to avoid long jams, and take breaks if foreseen >3 hour jams. I sat in his jetta once and its solid, responsive and quiet at 180kmph.
        Just too bad got too much hard plastics everywhere inside.

• Gip u expensive, u bash.
      Gip u cheap, u oso bash.

Walauweh!

• Trendline spec vs civic 1.8 (lowest spec) = civic win
    Highland spec vs civic turbo premium (high spec) = civic win
    RV (all spec) = Civic always win.
    reliability = Civic always win.
    aftersales = Honda win.
    Anyway good luck VW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 11
    • Alex259 on Sep 23, 2016 at 4:02 pm

No choice, Malaysians never worry(bother) about own safety and life of his/her own, as well as their families. That’s car with 0%safety like Myvi, Avanza, Innova, Bezza selling like hot cake.
      They simply abandon the car with 5 star ratings safety just because of technical and RV issues. They compromise between life and RV!! You thinks its funny??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • the.mechanic on Sep 23, 2016 at 7:06 pm

Exactly! You guys better stick to your own cars lar. Dont like kueh teow, order something else. Dont go bash people kueh teow

• John is otak batu on Sep 24, 2016 at 8:18 am

No, they bash people selling satay. That’s the scenario now. They bought VW, other ppl bought vios and alza but somehow they got mad at ppl buying Hyundai and renault

• Top speed 220 km/h
      0-100 8.6s
      Fuel consumption av. 5 L/100km
      By,by Civic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • 0-100 8.6s, after 8.6s u can call tow truck.

• real dato on Sep 24, 2016 at 12:07 pm

My car still ok leh.. hardly call tow truck ever since driving my Jetta except battery kong. 3 Years of ownership and once in workshop for 2 days due to central locking issue. Other than that, worth to buy. In my opinion, I felt safe when driving it as I had an accident once and I’m surprised the car is pretty strong.

To those who wants to bash, bash all you like lah! For me, although a little wear and tear here and there, my jetta still serve me good mileage and protect me safely. I heard many rumours on the DSG clutch and breakdown, I have never experience it before maybe because the way I drive it?

To those who is reading comments to decide to buy a car is oblivious. Go to the VW showroom and test your own. Go an experience it lah.. buy because you like the driving experience and fun of it and not because of RV or will breakdown. Its like you want to eat mcdonalds but you think you going to cirit birit 2 hours later.. doesnt make sense lah!

• Henry on Sep 23, 2016 at 2:57 pm

There are only two happy days ~ the day you buy it and the day you sell it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
    • Mikey on Sep 23, 2016 at 4:28 pm

Ha ha ha Henry, good one. However I fail to understand why or how U can be happy when U sell it at a BIG loss !? Just asking bro. Nothing personal.

• newbie on Sep 23, 2016 at 5:19 pm

Being ABLE to sell it in the first place is the happiest part.

• Ex VGM staff on Sep 23, 2016 at 6:38 pm

Happy because felt so relieved. Now the value for trade in is just enough to buy all new proton persona for cash.

Wait!! Vios facelift is coming soon. CVT? ESP? Ur guess is as good as mine. But definitely a better buy than jetta.

• Henry on Sep 23, 2016 at 8:41 pm

It is called good riddance. My friend just sold his five year old Passat CC 2.0 @ 70k. Bought new in 2011 at almost 270k. He had enough.

• Acrix on Sep 24, 2016 at 10:34 am

When you are able to sell your VW it is the day of ultimate relief. First being you got to sell the car and second you are free of the frustration of having a car where you pray daily for it not to have any problems.

• inb4 sam tow truck arrive.

• Sure or not on Sep 23, 2016 at 3:56 pm

My friend owned Passat and gti. Nice when new now he cry Bcoz his cars are sensitive, always Rosak and expensive to maintain. Anyone buy vw in Malaysia jaya jaga lah . He now drives Toyota … Very happy man.. But feel kurang compared to conti. Older n wiser , money in pocket more important.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Alex259 on Sep 23, 2016 at 11:24 pm

Ya,he is happy by putting the whole family life at stake!! Malaysian spirit, human life is cheaper than “money in pocket more important”, sad to have father like this! I wonder why peoples keep blasting the DSG issue, and no one even mention Takada Airbag issue?? Which is way way serious when we depend on it to save our life, Malaysian people life so CHEAP? Inferior than the DSG gearbox?

• Well he didn’t mention which Toyota vehicle he switched to and if its the Camry Hybrid then it beats all VW cars sold here in terms of safety.
        However you forgot that VW also suffers from the Takata airbag recall so VW has BOTH DSG and TAKATA airbag problem which is a double whammy!!!

• Alex259 on Sep 25, 2016 at 6:05 pm

Did you see VW Malaysia recalls any vehicle over Takada issue? Bro, heavy sour grapes smells, do not jealous simply becoz you can’t afford one! Poor soul

• orang biasa on Sep 23, 2016 at 4:50 pm

Only the VW dry dual-clutch transmission got problem or everything of VW gearbox also problem? Mind to share more info, guys!

• Ex VGM staff on Sep 23, 2016 at 6:40 pm

Dry clutch is more prone to fail. Wet clutch absorb heat and vibrations better

• Acrix on Sep 24, 2016 at 10:29 am

If its the dry clutch then avoid it like the plague!! My Scirocco 1.4 and brother Golf 1.4 suffered a total of 3 DSG breakdown in total between both cars in 4 years and 2 years ownership.
      However my dad uses the Passat CC which has wet clutch and had to DSG issues even after 5 years.

• blaster88 on Sep 24, 2016 at 4:27 pm

Wet Clutch on the GTI is more durable but also eventually would kaput….by 60000 km it would come like a tsunami….i know. Used to own a MK6…

• powershot (Member) on Sep 23, 2016 at 5:05 pm

Still no reverse camera

• the.mechanic on Sep 23, 2016 at 7:08 pm

bezza and iriz got reverse cam. those two you can afford.

• Alex259 on Sep 23, 2016 at 11:26 pm

Mr. the.mechanic, your life even cheaper than a reverse camera?? One simple features much more precious than your life?? OMG

• Pak Lah on Sep 23, 2016 at 5:13 pm

VW Malaysia, please consider to bring the 6 speed manual trans Golf. I have rent the car for a month in Swiss during business trip. It was superb driving experience….

• Henry on Sep 24, 2016 at 9:06 am

You are right. One of my cars is a manual and I like it. Gives you more control of the car. From past experience a manual hardly breaks down. Over here the main deterrent to driving car is the bloody traffic jams.

• still using the DSG dry dual-clutch. where is the dual wet DSG clutch??

• Polo T_Shirt on Sep 23, 2016 at 9:31 pm

Jetta is just a town car. No need for super fast gear changes. Just use a 6 speed torque converter.

• policeman on Sep 23, 2016 at 6:27 pm

Ewww… the front looks like the new Proton Saga. Dashboard also similar to new Saga.

Just get the Saga instead of this Jetta. Save RM100K. Save your family’s life as well. In this car, when the transmission fails, you’ll be stranded by the roadside late at night. Robbers with parangs will come slash y’all and rape your wife/daughter. Hospital bill another RM100K. Handicapped for life. Get unwanted child/grandchild.

But you get to claim insurance though. So decisions….

• New Civic on Sep 24, 2016 at 5:27 am

I believe in new Civic, much better than VW Jetta

• Joholan on Sep 24, 2016 at 9:10 am

I don, t know , but my 2007 EOS still performing good…never hv tow experience before.

• kena burned by VW on Sep 24, 2016 at 10:24 am

let me tell you about VW.

“Don’t touch VW”