In the lead up to the 2017 World Car Awards, the official list of nominees for each of the five categories has been released. The nominees will later be shortlisted to the top three finalists in each category, which will be announced at the 2017 Geneva Motor Show, before the overall winners are revealed later on at the New York International Auto Show.

The entrants for the latest iteration of the awards sees many new important models, including the Audi Q5, Honda Civic, Toyota C-HR, Mercedes-Benz E-Class, Bentley Bentayga, Volvo S90 and many more.

Last year, Mazda took home the top prize when the MX-5 was crowned the 2016 World Car of the Year, edging out the B9 Audi A4 and Mercedes-Benz GLC. The roadster also took home the World Car Design of the Year award as well. Other winners in 2016 include the Audi R8 Coupe (World Performance Car award), the G11 BMW 7 Series (World Luxury Car award), Toyota Mirai (World Green Car award).

The full list of categories and nominees are as follows:

2017 World Car of the Year

2017 World Luxury/Performance Car

2017 World Urban Car

2017 World Car Design of the Year

2017 World Green Car