VIDEO: Volkswagen Golf through the years, the Mk7

We arrive at the current model in the Volkswagen Golf’s through the years journey with the Mk7, which is the first Volkswagen that employs the company’s modular transverse matrix (MQB) platform.

First introduced in September 2012, the Mk7 Golf featured a sleek new design that was more contemporary when compared to the previous Mk6. Along with the new MQB architecture, the Mk7 also incorporated updated versions of Volkswagen’s internal combustion engines.

Not only that, the Mk7 was also the first to be available as an all-electric model (e-Golf), as well as a plug-in hybrid (Golf GTE). Start-stop technology and brake energy recuperation were also part of the Mk7’s green credentials.

During the Mk7’s time in production, Germany secured its fourth FIFA World Cup in Brazil, and Pharrell Williams’ hit song Happy dominated the airwaves. In 2013, the Mk7 Golf also won its fair share of accolades when it won the World Car of the Year and European Car of the Year awards.

Moving forward, Volkswagen is set to introduce the updated Golf in Wolfsburg really soon on November 10 at 12.30pm central European time, or 7.30pm in Malaysia.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Hj Sam on Nov 09, 2016 at 6:30 pm

Say what you may. This is still the best hatchback ever made and remains the best ever!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 12
  • gk goh on Nov 09, 2016 at 6:32 pm

The Mark 7 takes the cake as the best ever. VW at its finest

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
  • dimitriy on Nov 09, 2016 at 7:41 pm

At this MK7 price, i would undeniably choose Volvo V40 latest E-Drive.better equipped n performance.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 09, 2016 at 8:31 pm

Nobody wants to know about VW anymore lah. They are known as cheaters. Now even Audi also caught in the US for cheating last week with new defeat device.

Malaysians must be stupid to spend RM200k for a car that comes from cheater company

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 44
    • Salleh M on Nov 09, 2016 at 9:52 pm

Hey Kunta Kinte. Maybe you are not interested, so you can go back to Africa and stay away from VW stories. Many in Malaysia are interested. Let them comment whatever they want. Its their right, not yours.

• Hahaha on Nov 09, 2016 at 10:09 pm

You hate this car in your country does not mean people here dont like it

• county on Nov 11, 2016 at 2:33 pm

If it is so good, why the sales number is bad?

• Tommy on Nov 16, 2016 at 6:23 pm

Maybe you should look at the sales figure that’s available in paultan website before you start commenting on this. VW sales is increasing.

• lao yee on Nov 10, 2016 at 10:22 am

Sounds like you never owned a Golf before. Probably can’t afford one :)

• intermilan on Nov 09, 2016 at 10:12 pm

Why there are so many similarly kind of articles regarding vw golf in PT in the past 1-2 months?

• Is the DSG issue with the dry clutch problem resolved? The sales girl told me 2013 or 2014 (I can’t remember) model already resolved. Any advice from all VW Sifoo?

• Movember on Nov 10, 2016 at 1:41 pm

Well, mine has been running 80k km without any problem. Just that u need to know how to operate it, it totally different from the standard cvt

MK7 1.4

• Saw on Mudah ads it comes with 5 years free service..