VIDEO: Toyota C-HR previewed, launching soon in Oz

The Toyota C-HR, one of the most anticipated new models in these parts, will be launching in Australia very soon. It will surface in the first quarter of this year Down Under, which means that the crossover will either be launched this month or in March. “The wait is nearly over,” Toyota Australia’s official website says.

Toyota’s edgy-looking rival to the Honda HR-V and Mazda CX-3 will be powered by a 1.2 litre turbocharged engine with 114 hp and 185 Nm of torque there, mated to either a six-speed manual gearbox or CVT automatic.

The entry variant will come standard with front/rear parking sensors, 17-inch alloys, heated folding side mirrors, navigation, LED DRLs and fog lights, reverse camera, hill start assist, a 4.2-inch display in the instrument panel, auto high-beam, six-speaker sound system, dual-zone climate control, automatic wipers and fabric seats.

The generously-equipped starter trim will also come with active safety kit including autonomous emergency braking, lane departure alert, blind spot monitoring, rear cross traffic alert, forward collision warning and adaptive cruise control.

The high-spec Koba (named after the model’s chief engineer Hiroyuki Koba) gains leather, LED headlights, keyless entry and start, heated front seats, privacy glass, LED taillights, ambient lighting (blue) and 18-inch rims. Local reports say that Toyota is looking at a “premium” positioning for the C-HR, which could start from around A$25,000 (RM84,682).

The video above shows 20 lucky Aussies selected to sample the new SUV at a closed-door event in Sydney. As they put the C-HR through its paces, we get to see the B-SUV’s bold shape stand out under the sun. Like what you see?

Many do. One of the more common questions I received over CNY (aside from ‘when are you getting married?’) is when will the C-HR arrive in Malaysia. Well, early testing is underway in Thailand as we speak, and the Toyota should be launched there early next year. Mid to late 2018 for Malaysia perhaps?

GALLERY: JDM Toyota C-HR

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Great..
    I will keep my car as it is until C-HR coming..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Feb 03, 2017 at 6:52 pm

Toyota C-HR…vehicle of the decade for the millennium…bravo toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
      • Nosushi on Feb 04, 2017 at 8:42 am

Lol it is a joke car, looks like rhino with thick skin

• Kunta Kinte on Feb 04, 2017 at 2:52 pm

I hope our bodoh gomen brings in Honda HRV Hybrid or this CHR Hybrid version and CKD it here. In Singapore the Hybrid version is sold and car is really cheap compared to the 1.2 Turbo.

If this is done, we can benefit from cheaper HRV as it will have tax incentive. Can even sell the HRV for RM70k. The same with CHR.

But will Malaysian gomen allow this?

• karam singh on Feb 05, 2017 at 6:34 pm

118hp 185Nm fast ?
        slow car & wobbling handling
        still wanna ads as sportier car.
        Handling – Mazda & Honda better
        Power – Mazda 154hp/204Nm , Honda- 142hp/172Nm
        C-HR ? Yes it got good design & sportier look , but its heart a bit small & underpower
        = ricer wannabe

• Kelab Penyokong Kunta on Feb 03, 2017 at 7:08 pm

I am still waiting for Proton SUV. I rather support my local brand SUV or HRV/CHR version by Proton.

But I know I have long wait cause Proton is still fast alseep

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
    • applegreen on Feb 04, 2017 at 9:35 am

If the turbo version tag price is rm130k and petrol price around rm2.50/L, would you like to buy this car?

• Fish - - Ugly on Feb 05, 2017 at 1:52 am

This car has lost it’s excitement.

• Prabanathan Muthusamy on Feb 05, 2017 at 1:54 am

Shut up.This car will make Toyota to the highest.Best in the world.

• Slowly la. By the time Toyota reaches our shore, is already full of Honda everywhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • Just saying on Feb 03, 2017 at 6:34 pm

What’s the big deal of losing the battle to Honda in Malaysia when Toyota is already dominating the rest of the world? Can Honda achieve that? It’s no wonder they won’t start selling the model here anytime soon knowing it’s a losing battle and rather they focus more on countries where their core business is. Believe it or not this car won’t be a game changer locally as there are many avid Honda fans here but it will be in other parts of world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
      • I think it’s mostly cause of UMW and not of toyota to decide when to bring this model in

• Ananz on Feb 04, 2017 at 9:40 am

It is not that Malaysia has more Honda fans as from sales record from 2000-2015 Toyota has always been the market leader for non-national segment and sells more vehicles than Honda, Nissan, Mazda, Subaru, Mitsubishi combined. This shows that Malaysia has much more Toyota fans. What made these fans change its due to consumers getting smarter and know that UMW Toyota has been ripping them off with under spec, low safety, higher priced vehicles than its competitors. One good example its the current Vios which until now has no crash test rating while City has scored highly in Asean NCAP and ANCAP also.
        So Toyota fans should thank Honda for forcing them to give better specs and safety as we can see with all the latest offering by Toyota here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Feb 03, 2017 at 6:51 pm

Let it be..honda is like a car for the masses…too many on the roads..like kapcai oredi…no exclusivity…almost evertwhere you car see all those cheap2 small2 honda cars representung 3rd world country…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
      • But..but..but..toyota are the car for the masses in african country..isn’t that means toyota are the one who actually REPRESENTUNG 3rd world countries?according to your simpleton logic, too many in the road is not exclusive..

• You make it sound like Toyota, Nissan, Mazda, Mitsubishi, Kia, Hyundai all which also produces many small cars locally and internationally ain’t for the masses?? So do you mean Toyota Vios, Nissan Almera, Mitsubishi Mirage, Mazda 2, Kia Rio are very exclusive??
        You want exclusive go get Pagani, Bugatti, Koenigsegg, Lykan Hypersport. Now those are exclusive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • seancorr (Member) on Feb 03, 2017 at 6:34 pm

By the time this arrives the facelift HRV would have arrived to do battle with it.

• apamau on Feb 03, 2017 at 7:09 pm

next year ? they better early, else recond come 1st.. may hv better specs as usual.

• Registrar on Feb 04, 2017 at 7:08 am

Dear Danny, happy CNY. When are you getting married? thank you.

• Ahmad Ariff on Feb 04, 2017 at 9:31 am

This is what comes out when you try a bit too hard to beat HRV in terms of the design….

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Feb 05, 2017 at 7:28 am

Obviously it looks better than hobda hrv and nissan joke errr juke combined…most people all over the world are waiting for this vehicle…even before it goes on sale its already an icon…thats the beauty of toyota..ohh what a feeling…why u jelos issit…

• aji taib on Feb 04, 2017 at 1:53 pm

mid to late 2018 to come to our shore?…seriously too late

• Soon lee on Feb 04, 2017 at 4:53 pm

Next year? That time Honda HRV already produce new good facelift better than CHR. That’s why Malaysian Honda always number 1. UMW working very slow and that’s why Toyota have very poor achievement even they have a very nice CHR’s car.

• Lpost on Feb 04, 2017 at 7:49 pm

Honda malaysia will sell facelift hrv with 1.5l turbo once the CHR introduced in malaysia.