Toyota C-HR stars in drive-through immersive theatre

Launch gambits have always been an exercise in thrilling and impressing a crowd, and Toyota has taken a more involving approach with the UK launch of the Toyota C-HR. Titled The Night That Flows, the stage play was the world’s first drive-through immersive theatre experience, according to Toyota. The 100 guests in attendance were treated to the story of a fictional night as it unfolded across five European cities, narrated by actress and model Milla Jovovich.

Starting the sensory journey in Berlin, the audience was given the experience of a high fashion catwalk, where Italian fashion designer and founder of ‘The Bespoke Dudes’ Fabio Attanasio and Italian model Giorgia Palmas led them through the workings of the fashion show. Naturally, the C-HR was the star of the virtual location, where surrounding mirrors showcased the crossover’s aesthetic.

Moving on virtually to a Parisian casino, French croupier Etienne Pradier invited the audience to a game of chance, and once bets were placed on the displayed roulette table, French rally driver Guerlain Chicherit did a demonstration drive around said roulette table, aimed at showcasing the C-HR’s driving dynamics.

Next stop on the tour was Barcelona, where Spanish DJ Cuartero led the musical stylings of a club scene, with the accompanying audio played through the C-HR’s JBL sound system. The virtual journey concluded in a London bar, where mixologist duo Alex Kratena and Simone Caporale joined Jovovich in welcoming the audience back.

“I was thrilled to be asked to be a part of this event – I love that immersive theatre takes everyone on a completely unique journey and that no one experience is the same. It’s something I’ve always wanted to do, so when Toyota approached me with the idea, I was intrigued and knew I had to be a part of it, the Resident Evil lead actress said.

“Bringing everything to life was a creative challenge, but we found our flow eventually, and we hope everyone who came to the event left feeling inspired to find their perfect flow too,” she added.

GALLERY: Toyota C-HR at the 2017 Singapore Motor Show

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Love Milla.

• Malaiyur Cainisdoll Association on Feb 10, 2017 at 1:37 pm

We want Perrodua rebadge it Kembara Nautica neo please

• Mikey on Feb 10, 2017 at 2:43 pm

I think this teasing & wheezing has gone on too far that even our john & Kunta have been jaded. Just bring the damn car here la. Then only we can have some comparison with all the RV(not Resale Value but Recreational Vehicle) of Honda.

• Stephanie on Feb 10, 2017 at 10:49 pm

Please be faster lah UMW. I can’t wait anymore. Waiting this car come to Malaysia make me crazy. Hope the price also same as HRV. Also hope CHR come with better safety specification same as it stylo image.

• Ibnu bakrin on Feb 12, 2017 at 10:03 pm

This car already outpaces HR-V in Japan and most of Europe countries. Soon it will enter America and Australia. Their main target is reclaim their throne from VW.