VIDEO: G30 BMW 5 Series on the road in Cyberjaya

Earlier this month, the G30 BMW 5 Series was spotted in the country, being ferried on a transporter. Now, the seventh-gen 5er – which was unveiled in October last year – has been sighted on the road. Reader Prabakar Naidu caught a fleet of camouflaged mules in Cyberjaya, and managed to take a video of the clad vehicles, which were running in formation.

The evaluators are likely the same units as seen on the trailer. Revealed in the earlier spyshot set was the 530i – likely to be the range-topping model sold locally – with an M Sport package and 19-inch M double-spoke style 664M alloy wheels.

Thailand is set to sell two variants of the 5er initially, these being the 530i M Sport and 520d Luxury. Both go on sale as fully-imported CBU units, as will also be the case here before CKD local assembly eventually takes over. It’s likely that the oil burner will also be deployed in our market.

VIDEO: G30 BMW 5 Series on the road in Cyberjaya

The 530i is powered by a B48 2.0 litre turbo four-cylinder offering 252 hp at 5,200 rpm and 350 Nm from 1,450 to 4,800 rpm, while the oil burner equipping the 520d is the familiar 190 hp and 400 Nm B47 2.0 litre turbodiesel seen in current outings. Both mills will be paired with a ZF eight-speed automatic transmission.

No word yet on what the Malaysian-spec cars will have in terms of kit, but the Thai cars should provide a good approximation. The diesel 5er comes standard with 18-inch wheels, adaptive LED headlamps, Comfort Access, a 10.25-inch touchscreen (with iDrive now equipped with gesture control), a digital meter panel and the fancy Display Key first seen with the current 7 Series.

The 530i, meanwhile, comes with M Sport exterior and interior appointments as well as a sportier suspension setup. Other bits include a panorama glass roof, Parking Assistant, 360 degree camera view, paddle shifters, a Harman Kardon surround sound system and a wireless phone charger.

GALLERY: G30 BMW 5 Series

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• longjohn on Mar 09, 2017 at 7:27 pm

Overheating g30 engine are commons.

• March on Mar 10, 2017 at 10:20 am

Common where? Your dream?

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 10, 2017 at 10:56 am

When they launch the 530e few months time at RM270k, the 530i buyers will cry so much

• BowArrow on Mar 10, 2017 at 12:39 pm

330e RM 250k , 530e RM 270k??? more like RM 330K ish.. after ckd eev hybrid tax

• alldisc on Mar 09, 2017 at 7:33 pm

Not really a spy shot since we all know how it looks like.

• Unknown Number of spies in M’sia… apa hapak pun Donno? Totally incompetent & putting country at high risk.
      Still M’sia has highest gomen servants. Interesting facts .

• maXref (Member) on Mar 09, 2017 at 7:49 pm

Is there any point to covering the cars with camo when its already been launched overseas and we know EXACTLY how it looks like? Kinda redundant isn’t it

• why even bother with the camo? isnt the car launched in europe ? google and u can see the car …LOL

• old horse on Mar 09, 2017 at 9:53 pm

doesnt matters now as the lazy bmw designer screw it up…

e-class killing them this round…miss the e60 days..

• GT Fan on Mar 09, 2017 at 10:29 pm

This weekend got special preview in Cyberjaya.

• Kelab mental problem kunta on Mar 09, 2017 at 10:32 pm

Cant wait to see it here, proce below rm380k pls

• Holofanboi on Mar 09, 2017 at 11:15 pm

The most desirable car is finally here ;_;

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Mar 10, 2017 at 8:37 am

Wow camouflage…as if the whole world hasnt seen it yet…wow..next time cover with manila card better…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 10, 2017 at 9:37 am

7 series look like camry, 5 series look like city, so will next 3 series look like almera. syabas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
  • Semi-Value..are you sick ..which part of 7 series look like camry .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
  • Mikey on Mar 10, 2017 at 10:48 am

BMW 3/5-series are a dime a dozen on our streets. I can hardly tell the difference between a 2012 3/5-series from the current models if it passe me by. U can only tell the difference if U are an expert or an owner who drive one.

This “new” 5-series is not much difference from the 2016 model. It looks like a lady trying too hard to put extra mascara & lipstick on her face. Maybe john can share his experience since he likes to “ride” on BMW nowadays.

• azrai on Mar 10, 2017 at 12:01 pm

B10 compatibility test?