SPYSHOTS: G30 BMW 5 Series registered in Malaysia

The G30 BMW 5 Series has once again been spotted roaming in Malaysia, in what should be a regular occurrence till the sedan’s official launch on March 29. It appears to be the same batch of camouflaged mules caught on video in Cyberjaya last week, but the cars are now registered, and have fresh KL ‘V’ plates on them.

So far, we know that the 530i will be part of the local launch range, which will initially be CBU fully-imported, before CKD local assembly eventually takes over. The 530i is expected to the the range topper, and it will be offered with an M Sport package and 19-inch M double-spoke style 664M alloys.

In Thailand, where the G30 was launched last month, the latest challenger to the W213 Mercedes-Benz E-Class is also available as a 530i M Sport, together with a 520d Luxury. It’s likely that the oil burner will also be deployed in our market in a similar line-up.

The 530i is powered by a B48 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbo offering 252 hp at 5,200 rpm and 350 Nm from 1,450 to 4,800 rpm, while the turbodiesel equipping the 520d is the familiar 190 hp and 400 Nm B47 2.0 litre turbodiesel seen in current outings. Both mills will be paired with a ZF eight-speed automatic transmission.

No word yet on what the Malaysian-spec cars will have in terms of kit, but the Thai cars should be a good guide. There, the diesel G30 comes standard with 18-inch wheels, adaptive LED headlamps, Comfort Access, a 10.25-inch touchscreen (with iDrive now equipped with gesture control), a digital meter panel and the fancy Display Key first seen with the current 7 Series.

The Thai 530i, meanwhile, comes with M Sport exterior and interior appointments as well as a sportier suspension setup. Other bits include a panorama glass roof, Parking Assistant, 360 degree camera view, paddle shifters, a Harman Kardon surround sound system and a wireless phone charger.

BMW Malaysia has set up a registration of interest website for the new 5 Series a.k.a. the Business Athlete, and you can check it out here.

GALLERY: G30 BMW 5 Series

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kelab talkok perempuan kunta on Mar 14, 2017 at 12:52 pm

Later some one wilk come here to compare US price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
    • Gonzales on Mar 14, 2017 at 1:13 pm

Pre-owned cbu G30 VQ389 ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • Yes talk about:
        US pricing, pre-owned, CKD, hybrid, second hand, banyak masuk workshop, banyak makan wang…..
        Jeolousy will make a person just say anything.

• Operation Manager on Mar 14, 2017 at 1:41 pm

Now we get con by Toyota Honda Mazda compared Europeans auto makers. Comparison among EEV incentives @tax break, price reduction @-30% mainly from Luxury segment @Mercedes Benz, BMW… & non-Luxury @VW- Jetta 1.4Turbo(C-segment) 135k to 92k. Latest Honda Toyota Mazda *Increase price under EEV incentive –> this is ridiculous & dishonest business ethics. We seeing Honda Civic 137k (C-segment at D-segment selling price). Honda City also selling at 92k (B-segment at C-Segment selling price)

• Lucy Tan on Mar 14, 2017 at 1:48 pm

If not, someone will come here to warn not to buy the car. Pity the jeoulousy of those people.

• Capt Joe on Mar 14, 2017 at 3:54 pm

I thaught i saw kunta post just now? It is deleted due to nonsense post again?

• Derick Teo on Mar 14, 2017 at 5:56 pm

I’ll get one to do uber.

• passion on Mar 14, 2017 at 1:15 pm

can fill with B10 diesel ?

• If McD worker can buy BMW Merc Audi in just 3 months salary, why cannot see all Americans using luxury cars?

• Boring samy on Mar 14, 2017 at 1:41 pm

Boring, same copyband paste story from ex proton operator

• Ahock on Mar 14, 2017 at 1:21 pm

What about wireless Apple Carplay?

• basherlogic on Mar 14, 2017 at 1:24 pm

Even camo is better than p1, basher said, citing ministers “statement” but at the same time bashers still comparing luxury and mass produced cars. And yet they become what they always mock here. How pathetic.

But this is overlord car so they dun persoal anything. Why test here test there in era of VR tested cars. Why tease here tease there to get cheap publicity. Why cannot just launch ady. Why why why, but why no bash? Oh wai . jpg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • Wow very nice!
    Er i mean the lorry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • Jealousy at its max! until the lorry is nicer than G30! OMG!

• basherutd on Mar 14, 2017 at 4:45 pm

Here we bash everything, waiting for someone to compare axia with BMW

• leyland on Mar 14, 2017 at 4:46 pm

Why not? He is avid fan of lorries, for him cars are ugly

• kakaka on Mar 14, 2017 at 1:47 pm

Bashers who dun have proper edu will the quote anything on the net without thinking. No wonder if someone asks them to bash p1 they bash, if someone asks them to pansai also they do. Kahkahkah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • applegreen on Mar 14, 2017 at 2:40 pm

The outlooks almost same like previous model. People knew this is new model because of camauflaged. If no sticker on the body nobody knows

• Kunta Kinte on Mar 14, 2017 at 4:11 pm

Utter waste of money with this overpriced car. Just wait 2 years and you can get a used 5 series for rm150k.

• Diana Prince on Mar 14, 2017 at 7:45 pm

Jealous people will start spewing nonsensical stories about sime darby giving their thousands and thousands of VPs BMWs every year

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 15, 2017 at 1:37 am

Wow of all the comments here none are about the car except for Ahock’s question about Apple Carplay and passion’s question about B10 diesel acceptance and maybe applegreen’s comment on the camo lol. Well the camp does mask the design and this G30 does not share any cues with the F10, in fact the new 5er looks like a small 7er except for the rear end design.

• Had the privilege of seeing the bmw g30 530i luxury line model on display in the foyer of the Gate building at Dubai International financial centre, on my way to work. In summary agree that this model packs much technology and includes part of the 7 series carbon core construction etc; the car is more of an evolutionary change rather than a drastic departure. Good on BMW, but seriously I wished they had a small displacement, high output, force inducted straight 6, instead of a 4 cylinder engine, powering the car. Admit that the output is high, efficient etc; Call me old school but I prefer a d-class size BMW to come with a 6 cylinder engine as minimum…just my 2 cents.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 15, 2017 at 11:04 am

is that the new honda city?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5